When did freo trade away future picks?Freo won't have pick 22. They traded it last year.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
When did freo trade away future picks?Freo won't have pick 22. They traded it last year.
With the Bennell trade, we traded away the 2016 2nd round pick, not the 2015 2nd round pick is the short answer.When did freo trade away future picks?
How can you say Bennell? he hasn't even played a game this year and 1 or 2 in a trial??Mate we're shocking.
No Fyfe, Johnson, Sandilands or Bennell for at least the next 8-10 weeks...we're done
Our next few weeks are going to be horrible.
Ok, not sure what I'm missing. The article on the AFL website says freo 'announced they had sent draft picks 16 and 35 to the Suns in exchange for Bennell and pick No.22.'With the Bennell trade, we traded away the 2016 2nd round pick, not the 2015 2nd round pick is the short answer.
Ok, not sure what I'm missing. The article on the AFL website says freo 'announced they had sent draft picks 16 and 35 to the Suns in exchange for Bennell and pick No.22.'
Doesn't say anything about any future draft picks.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-10-14/harley-bennell-becomes-a-docker
Apologies, you are correct. For some reason the AFL website didn't find it necessary to mention that.There was a second trade where we swapped our 2015 2nd round pick, for our 2016 2nd round pick. (Which is why i said the short version is ............)
We did a 6 place pick swap for Bennell, who even with his issues has shown more and has a higher ceiling than Cam.
Something similar might be possible I guess
I seriously question the health of the Fremantle fans who think a 2nd or 3rd rounder will seal the deal. You're seriously kidding yourselves.
2017 1st for McCarthy + 2nd or 3rd. PSD will be gone by then also.Our health is just fine. We can wait another 12 months if necessary and just use the PSD I guess. I think GWS want him off the books ASAP so they can direct his contract to retaining their players.
They will want something in 2017, 2016 picks are more or less useless to them. Given how shit we are; that might be a 2nd rounder.
2017 1st for McCarthy + 2nd or 3rd. PSD will be gone by then also.
Yeah, I'm siding with you on this one. The team just lost to Carlton and have lost Fyfe for the foreseeable future. I'm sure there's going to be some 50/50 games against bad teams and they'll knock over some teams who struggle heading west but as it stands currently it's going to be a tough year - and Freo won't be trading a top 4 pick for someone who sat out a year unless it's just for a downgrade to 15 or something... which probably won't be of interest to GWS as it doesn't really get them much other than academy points.
Depends where the GWS academy picks are going to get bid. If GWS can jump over those bidding positions by getting from pick 16 to pick 4 (e.g if they have a gun academy recuit who is likely to get bid on around 8-10) then it's very worthwhile doing the deal as they'll get an extra gun at the top of the draft and can burn extra round 3 - 6 picks to get their academy guns in. The academy rule makes GWS, GCS etc very very favourable from both sides to trade the very top picks to for players. Think the McCarthy trade will be pretty easy for that reason.
Why should the Giants have to do it?Agree they need 2017 picks. But if GWS get 2016 picks they can be easily traded for 2017 picks with other clubs.
Why should the Giants have to do it?
You want him you do the trading to get the deal done.
Not up to the Giants to help.
I seriously question the health of the Fremantle fans who think a 2nd or 3rd rounder will seal the deal. You're seriously kidding yourselves.
Why should the Giants have to do it?
You want him you do the trading to get the deal done.
Not up to the Giants to help.
Correct, they already have heaps of picks this year plus more they may get from guys like Tomlinson wanting out. Reckon they will be looking for 2017 picks so Freo should be able to get a deal done.It'll be a 2017 pick. GWS don't need anymore 2016 picks.
Not at all.That is such a childish thing to say, teams do make 3 way trades!