Traded Cameron McCarthy [traded to Fremantle with picks 7, 33 and 71 for pick 3]

Correct, they already have heaps of picks this year plus more they may get from guys like Tomlinson wanting out. Reckon they will be looking for 2017 picks so Freo should be able to get a deal done.

The overly generous start up concessions given to GWS will continue to bear fruit for years to come.
Better start blaming the all clubs who gave it to us. Which includes your club.

Basically get over it.

Not at all.

A 3 way trade is possible.

But trading with us and expecting us to then go and try and find value from that trade with someone else is not the way itll go.

Freo need to make sure the Giants find value in it. Wether with a 3 team trade or with what freo bring to the table.

Way to go personal again Joker. You just cant have a regular conversation.

It happened last year with another team that Fremantle traded with, just saying...

Yeah sorry about that! I can and will say sorry if ive hurt your feelings by going over the top even when i dont mean too!

Enlighten me on what other aspects impact his trade value.

Clearly nothing!

Our health is just fine. We can wait another 12 months if necessary and just use the PSD I guess. I think GWS want him off the books ASAP so they can direct his contract to retaining their players.

They will want something in 2017, 2016 picks are more or less useless to them. Given how shit we are; that might be a 2nd rounder.

Lol. After all this you think Freo making this poor kid spend another year off the books is going to get sanctioned by the AFL? He's a confused and slightly desperate kid not a toy to be played with. This has to be sorted this year for his mental health and the AFL will ensure a fair deal gets done. There won't be any cheapies but you won't have to pay overs.

Right now he has zero association with Fremantle. It's GWS responsibility to manage him appropriately. I think the AFL should have stepped in last year and mediated. Or at least investigated his claims. But that's a different story.

Freo is up to its nuts in why he is sitting on the sidelines this year. It's blatantly obvious "in principle" terms were discussed between Freo and his manager that gave his manager the confidence to push GWS's buttons and push them hard. To say it's GWS's responsibility is ludicrous at this point. Both clubs, and more importantly the AFL, have a vested interest to resolve this in the interest of the kids mental health. The media would go absolutely ape-shizel if Freo decided they didn't want to pay a fair price at this point. Regardless, both clubs management and the AFL will agree to what this trade will look like way before trade week is upon us to ensure the problem goes away. Gil is a "fixer" which is a good thing for McCarthy.

Hang on, how in any way were Freo responsible for his mental health? We chased him. So what, we put an offer to the club he was contracted with and it didn't get through. In hindsight GWS should of taken it and run. Didn't Ryan O'Keefe have an in principle agreement with Collingwood that didn't work out. Pretty sure he stayed and won a flag? If he'd gone awol was that Collingwoods fault?

We aren't at fault in any way shape or form. His club is responsible for him, in fact they gloated he would be fine once amongst the boys. Just a few months before the guy doing the gloated, ended up packing his bags and returning home for family reasons.

Hang on, how in any way were Freo responsible for his mental health? We chased him. So what, we put a offer to the club he was contracted with and it didn't get through. In hindsight GWS should of taken it and run. Didn't Ryan O'Keefe have an in principle agreement with Collingwood that didn't work out. Pretty sure he stayed and won a flag? If he'd gone awol was that Collingwoods fault?

We aren't at fault in any way shape or form. His club is responsible for him, in fact they gloated he would be fine once amongst the boys. Just a few months before the guy doing the gloated, ended up packing his bags and returning home for family reasons.

His mental health was fine when he signed an extension before playing a game.

Funny how his home-sickness kicked in when the much larger $ contract came knocking from the Dockers.

Timing's a bitch....

Hang on, how in any way were Freo responsible for his mental health? We chased him. So what, we put an offer to the club he was contracted with and it didn't get through. In hindsight GWS should of taken it and run. Didn't Ryan O'Keefe have an in principle agreement with Collingwood that didn't work out. Pretty sure he stayed and won a flag? If he'd gone awol was that Collingwoods fault?

You're wrong, in my opinion, but you know what? It actually doesn't matter anymore. The AFL brand would be damaged if this continues and that and money are the only two things AFL House actually seems to give a damn about. Well, that and player welfare so the deal will actually get squeezed on three fronts. What does that mean.....?

No cheapies for you young Freo :p

His mental health was fine when he signed an extension before playing a game.

Funny how his home-sickness kicked in when the much larger $ contract came knocking from the Dockers.

Timing's a bitch....

That was 6 months post being drafted? We came knocking 12-18 months later. His home sickness peaked what 2 years later when he returned home and hasn't fronted up since. But of water under the bridge, mental states are fluid, things can change.

Gubby Allen returning to Victoria to be close to family is ultimately hilarious. Especially since he was most vocal about committing to staying, being fine when he's around the boys. Knowing he wasn't really homesick and just looking for extra cash.

Surely you don't believe he's sitting at home in WA and not playing footy purely cause he could be earning an extra 100-200k this year? He's legitimately depressed / unwell. It's beyond a contract size issue. Many players miss out on big dollar contracts and don't lose it. He's reducing his potential earnings because of his actions, not increasing them.

You're wrong, in my opinion, but you know what? It actually doesn't matter anymore. The AFL brand would be damaged if this continues and that and money are the only two things AFL House actually seems to give a damn about. Well, that and player welfare so the deal will actually get squeezed on three fronts. What does that mean.....?

No cheapies for you young Freo :p

Should have been solved last year. It'll be much cheaper than what we offered then.

I've never heard such shit in my life and ive been here for 10 years now!

We'll see in a few months won't we :D Out of interest, what's your prediction for the deal that gets done and do you think it's early or late in trade week?

I say: Done inside the first three days of the trade period and,
Involves a first rounder (maybe a future year) plus something going to GWS.

That was 6 months post being drafted? We came knocking 12-18 months later. His home sickness peaked what 2 years later when he returned home and hasn't fronted up since. But of water under the bridge, mental states are fluid, things can change.

He was happy to sign his life away. I'm unaware of any "guns to heads" type list management meetings.

Gubby Allen returning to Victoria to be close to family is ultimately hilarious. Especially since he was most vocal about committing to staying, being fine when he's around the boys. Knowing he wasn't really homesick and just looking for extra cash.

So you agree he isn't homesick?

Surely you don't believe he's sitting at home in WA and not playing footy purely cause he could be earning an extra 100-200k this year? He's legitimately depressed / unwell. It's beyond a contract size issue. Many players miss out on big dollar contracts and don't lose it. He's reducing his potential earnings because of his actions, not increasing them.
Ever seen kids kick and scream in the shops when they don't get their way and sulk for hours after?

This, is that.

We'll see in a few months won't we :D Out of interest, what's your prediction for the deal that gets done and do you think it's early or late in trade week?

I say: Done inside the first three days of the trade period and,
Involves a first rounder (maybe a future year) plus something going to GWS.

I think <1st rounder. This year or next. Probably 2017 2nd rounder. Done early.

He was happy to sign his life away. I'm unaware of any "guns to heads" type list management meetings.

So you agree he isn't homesick?

Ever seen kids kick and scream in the shops when they don't get their way and sulk for hours after?

This, is that.

What I'm saying is Gubby Allen was full of shit and misread the situation completely. He thought he would return, play well and be happy. Didn't work out that way. What's funnier is the man himself packed his bags and went home citing family reasons, which is exactly why Cam McCarthy wanted out. Which he blocked.

Which he had to.

We had to take a stand and enforce the contract otherwise the next little turd on the list who got a bigger offer to go home would feel he was entitled to waltz out the door.

Actions have consequences.

Gubby didnt complete his contract? Cam had not thats for sure and infact extended for 2 years

I have no doubt he is homesick and has not handled playing in an Australia wide competition where you are expected to play anywhere in the nation.

And his player and future club have no doubt taken advantage of that.

He goes on the cheap to the club of his choice for a nice big contract.

I wonder if these same "concerned" freo fans are against the Northern club academies.

Which he had to.

We had to take a stand and enforce the contract otherwise the next little turd on the list who got a bigger offer to go home would feel he was entitled to waltz out the door.

Actions have consequences.

I actually agree with you, it's like Port with Stevens?

Ultimately it may be a good overall decision for the club. But it hasn't worked out for Cam's health and it means you'll take slightly less compensation as a result. I think the message to the list might be worth the loss though.

The AFL won't like the PR if it's not resolved promptly this trade period. Imagine if you had struck the deal though, looking at a top 5 pick this year and pick 16/22 from last year. Though you'd throw away a pick 5 to keep your current list together, which I think is ultimately what you've done.

You mean he thought Cam and his manager would be professional.

Instead his manager played the media angle and took advantage of the young bloke to play his games between the clubs.
Freo in turn thought they could do a cheap trade for a fwd who kicked over 30 goals in his 1st proper year and when it all fell apart they stood back and watched siting their concern was for Cam. Garbage.

Traded Cameron McCarthy [traded to Fremantle with picks 7, 33 and 71 for pick 3]