Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc)

He has adopted a risky strategy and passed the point of no return? Maybe Mick isn't quite the scholar of History he might think he is.
Unless he has 'read' Greek and Latin - he is just another wiki reader...like most..

Say what you will about Arizona, I don't think there's any doubting how strongly we've finished the last two seasons. If we could just get that early season going, that'd be perfect.
It's useless. You'd need to train there for 5-6 weeks for any real benefits. More of a psychological, team bonding thing more than anything I reckon.

There's a reason AFL clubs are abandoning it.

Classical languages were more commonplace during the late 60s of Mick's teenage years than in the classrooms of 2014.

mate the bloke is full of rat cunning - he is a fierce competitor and great manager of football performance business -

and he isn't a scholars behind...;)

It's useless. You'd need to train there for 5-6 weeks for any real benefits. More of a psychological, team bonding thing more than anything I reckon.

There's a reason AFL clubs are abandoning it.
Yeah there is. It's because of the cap on football spending.

It's not by chance that we've really run out the end of the season better than most. Same goes for last season. Out ran the fittest team in the comp to even make the finals. That wasn't happening under the previous training camps.

Overseas training camp are just about team bonding and finding leaders. Clubs have altitude rooms at their training bases. The cost to send 40 plus players and staff overseas is prohibitive.

Spending cap doesn't affect St Kilda and Norf who have dropped them too. They don't have the revenue to spend as much as Collingwood, WC, Hawthorn, etc.

We're running out games due to key players and younger players having interrupted pre-seasons. They had to get the miles into their legs by playing games.

We went trained in the heat before Port went there. Didn't help us.

Yeah there is. It's because of the cap on football spending.

It's not by chance that we've really run out the end of the season better than most. Same goes for last season. Out ran the fittest team in the comp to even make the finals. That wasn't happening under the previous training camps.
Science indicates that one week of training does nothing.

2012: (Ratten) Slump between rounds 10-14 (0 wins, 5 losses).
2013: Lost first 3 games. Slump between rounds 11-15 (0 wins, 4 losses, bye).
2014: Lost first 4 games. Slump between rounds 11-15 (0 wins, 5 losses).

No point in finishing the last 8 rounds of the season on a high note if our season is shot by the first week of July. Ask Richmond what it feels like this year when they finish agonizingly close to the finals after losing 4 games in a row between rounds 11-14. (Poor Tiges! :(:p)

Whatever techniques Buttifant is employing on the mountain, they're not rectifying our inability to win mid-season.

2012: (Ratten) Slump between rounds 10-14 (0 wins, 5 losses).
2013: Lost first 3 games. Slump between rounds 11-15 (0 wins, 4 losses, bye).
2014: Lost first 4 games. Slump between rounds 11-15 (0 wins, 5 losses).

No point in finishing the last 8 rounds of the season on a high note if our season is shot by the first week of July. Ask Richmond what it feels like this year when they finish agonizingly close to the finals after losing 4 games in a row between rounds 11-14. (Poor Tiges! :(:p)

Whatever techniques Buttifant is employing on the mountain, they're not rectifying our inability to win mid-season.
Absolutely agree. If we can start the season well and continue our late season dominance, we could be a surprise packet next season.

We just need to play consistent footy, beat the teams we should beat (Melbourne, Brisbane, GWS) and have a crack at the top sides and hopefully pull off a few wins. Had we beaten those three sides, as well as Geelong and Freo who we should've beaten, we'd be sitting in 7th position today

Is it just me, or has anyone else not heard Judd sound so happy in years? Cracking jokes, having fun in interviews etc. Great to see. After seeing his interview for On The Couch and also Malthouse actually being nice in his presser on the 14th, it actually seems like the club is happy.

Crazy!