Recommitted Chad Wingard [contracted and staying at Hawthorn]

This flake played silly buggers in the draft and the Hawks are obvious they are trying to sell retirees for 1st rounders.

Am very much against us getting him or any of these fire sale retirees for any cost unless Hawks pay his entire salary and it cost a pick in the 50s.

Don't think he wants to go anywhere but I'm not sure why supporters would be thinking "please no".

Seems to be one of the most misunderstood players - tries his guts out every week but is labelled very differently.

Enters next season in incredibly hot form - he got 36 Coaches votes in the last month of football - nearly double the next best player in the comp.

Hopeful we keep him and he carries on in that fashion. If someone else does pick him up, learn from Port and Hawthorn and play him predominantly in the middle with stints up forward rather thn the other way around. Super damaging that way and is part of the reason he was best on ground four weeks in a row to finish the season which helped see Hawthorn start winning games.

Don't think he wants to go anywhere but I'm not sure why supporters would be thinking "please no".

Seems to be one of the most misunderstood players - tries his guts out every week but is labelled very differently.

Enters next season in incredibly hot form - he got 36 Coaches votes in the last month of football - nearly double the next best player in the comp.

Hopeful we keep him and he carries on in that fashion. If someone else does pick him up, learn from Port and Hawthorn and play him predominantly in the middle with stints up forward rather thn the other way around. Super damaging that way and is part of the reason he was best on ground four weeks in a row to finish the season which helped see Hawthorn start winning games.
Great we are in agreement. He stays at the Hawks.

Do people even watch football anymore?

The flaky, downhill rhetoric is so 2 years ago.

Excluding the game he left early injured, do people realise Chad Wingard was the #1 goal assist player in the league this year?

Or that he averaged over 23 disposals despite spending a fair amount of time forward?

You'd be hard pressed to find one other player in the comp that did that. He puts in every week, is very damaging and ended the season in the best form of his career (and arguable the best of any player in the comp over the last month or so).

Do people even watch football anymore?

The flaky, downhill rhetoric is so 2 years ago.

Excluding the game he left early injured, do people realise Chad Wingard was the #1 goal assist player in the league this year?

Or that he averaged over 23 disposals despite spending a fair amount of time forward?

You'd be hard pressed to find one other player in the comp that did that. He puts in every week, is very damaging and ended the season in the best form of his career (and arguable the best of any player in the comp over the last month or so).

Yeah, and he could easily disappear next season. He has proven that reliability is not his strength over the course of his career.

Used car salesmen incoming.

Take him or don't, Hawthorn supporters would happily keep him.

GWS are the ones showing the interest.

In another thread we were discussing his value in this type of trade, I think for Hawthorn to accept it would need to be something close to
Hawthorn give: Wingard, picks 5 and 21.
GWS give: pick 2 & 13

Did you miss the vision of him barking at Jacob Koschitzke at 3 quarter time for not kicking to him?

Who'd want a guy like that at the club?

Take him or don't, Hawthorn supporters would happily keep him.

GWS are the ones showing the interest.

In another thread we were discussing his value in this type of trade, I think for Hawthorn to accept it would need to be something close to
Hawthorn give: Wingard, picks 5 and 21.
GWS give: pick 2 & 13
I’m hoping it’s more of a walking past a shop window before moving on.
Surely 1st rounders won’t be brought in and absolutely not pick 2.

Used car salesmen incoming.

Ha ha, is that me? or Hawthorn list managers?

Cos I am definately not trying to sell him. I think most Hawthrn supporters prefer he is kept. He offers a point of difference in our midfield. I just enjoying posting corrections to mistruths and balancing the 'worth a pick in the 50's' kind of garbage.

I’m hoping it’s more of a walking past a shop window before moving on.
Surely 1st rounders won’t be brought in and absolutely not pick 2.

The only way it would get done is if it significantly strengthened Hawthorn's draft hand, and it's already been spoken about how keen the hawks are to get ahead of the crows in the draft order to get Finn Callaghan.

Pick 5 and Wingard for 2 is overs.

Pick 5 and Wingard for 2 & 13 is unders.

GWS have no other picks that would interest us other than futures....could possibly work in a swap of Hawthorn's F2 for GWS's F1 which would likely be pick 19-24 for pick 10-16.

'It could see the Hawks ask for pick No.13 in exchange for Wingard, though any deal would hinge on the Giants convincing the player of a move to a third AFL club. On Friday, he posted the 'I'm not f***ing leaving' clip from the movie Wolf of Wall Street on Instagram.'

GWS must be paying the rest of their players peanuts, if they can still target Lobb and Wingard...

Josh Kelly - 1 MIL
Stephen Coniglio - 1 MIL
Lachie Whitfield - 1 MIL
Toby Greene - 700-800K ?
Phil Davis - 500K+ ?
Tim Taranto - 500K-ish
Jacob Hopper - 500K-ish
Callan Ward 500K+
Nick Haynes 500K+
Lobb 500K+ (if he takes a paycut)
Wingard 500K+

Leaves 5-6 MIL for the other 30 or so players. They're probably close to breaking point with the possible recruitment of Lobb...no idea how the hell they think they'll fit Wingard in too.

Probably a lot of backending, but bringing Lobb and Wingard in would basically erase the Cameron money they freed up, and no room to move when all their first round picks like Ash, Taylor, Bruhn, Stone etc. garner increased pay rises.

That's not to mention others like Green, De Boer, Daniels, Perryman, Cumming, Hogan, Preuss etc. - who are all likely Best 22 next year.

Davis and Ward should retire in the next couple of years and Hill is going now, but genuinely curious how they can keep bringing in all these players and think they won't need to pay their up and comers moving forward.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist with caps like some, but I do reckon that making plays for guys like Wingard and Lobb, is problematic when you have the sheer amount of talent that they do.

Given the above, and the fact Wingard doesn't even want to leave, can't see who this move makes sense for IMO.

Did you miss the vision of him barking at Jacob Koschitzke at 3 quarter time for not kicking to him?

Wingard is probably the most passionate, "heart on his sleeve" type player on our list. He looks like someone ate his first born after every loss. He fist pumps in elation when we win (whether he played well or not). He tries his guts out (sometimes trying to do too much).

He has feedback, instructions, after nearly every quarter.

He probably went a bit too far with Kozi as he was particularly frustrated and the media dined out on it. I have no problem with senior players giving critical instruction to younger players, particularly after the judgement errors Kozi made. No doubt he went way too far on that occassion but to say "who would want a player like that" is even more overboard.

Wingard is probably the most passionate, "heart on his sleeve" type player on our list. He looks like someone ate his first born after every loss. He fist pumps in elation when we win (whether he played well or not). He tries his guts out (sometimes trying to do too much).

He has feedback, instructions, after nearly every quarter.

He probably went a bit too far with Kozi as he was particularly frustrated and the media dined out on it. I have no problem with senior players giving critical instruction to younger players, particularly after the judgement errors Kozi made. No doubt he went way too far on that occassion but to say "who would want a player like that" is even more overboard.
There is passion, and there's barking at a kid like a goddamn moron. Wouldn't want someone like him anywhere near my club, especially a young club that's trying to develop kids.

GWS must be paying the rest of their players peanuts, if they can still target Lobb and Wingard...

Josh Kelly - 1 MIL
Stephen Coniglio - 1 MIL
Lachie Whitfield - 1 MIL
Toby Greene - 700-800K ?
Phil Davis - 500K+ ?
Tim Taranto - 500K-ish
Jacob Hopper - 500K-ish
Callan Ward 500K+
Nick Haynes 500K+
Lobb 500K+ (if he takes a paycut)
Wingard 500K+

Leaves 5-6 MIL for the other 30 or so players. They're probably close to breaking point with the possible recruitment of Lobb...no idea how the hell they think they'll fit Wingard in too.

Probably a lot of backending, but bringing Lobb and Wingard in would basically erase the Cameron money they freed up, and no room to move when all their first round picks like Ash, Taylor, Bruhn, Stone etc. garner increased pay rises.

That's not to mention others like Green, De Boer, Daniels, Perryman, Cumming, Hogan, Preuss etc. - who are all likely Best 22 next year.

Davis and Ward should retire in the next couple of years and Hill is going now, but genuinely curious how they can keep bringing in all these players and think they won't need to pay their up and comers moving forward.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist with caps like some, but I do reckon that making plays for guys like Wingard and Lobb, is problematic when you have the sheer amount of talent that they do.

Given the above, and the fact Wingard doesn't even want to leave, can't see who this move makes sense for IMO.

I would assume that any plays for Hawthorn's 'star' players is with the knowledge that Hawthorn are in a position to cover some of their salary as well for improved draft compensation. GWS has had to make tough calls for their salary cap over the journey and I have no doubt that they are continuing to manage it well. Some clubs (including your own) just know how to balance these kinds of things (and they have moved Cameron and Williams off their books in the last 12 months).

There is passion, and there's barking at a kid like a goddamn moron. Wouldn't want someone like him anywhere near my club, especially a young club that's trying to develop kids.

I've conceded that that wasn't a good look and most, including the club and Wingard himself, seem to agree. To extrapolate an incident like that into "I wouldn't want someone like that anywhere near my club" is going way overboard to 1 relatively minor incident.

If clubs had that approach, there'd be about 6 registered footballers in the AFL.

Spent much time around footy clubs mate? It ain't rare to see that sort of shit.

I would assume that any plays for Hawthorn's 'star' players is with the knowledge that Hawthorn are in a position to cover some of their salary as well for improved draft compensation. GWS has had to make tough calls for their salary cap over the journey and I have no doubt that they are continuing to manage it well. Some clubs (including your own) just know how to balance these kinds of things (and they have moved Cameron and Williams off their books in the last 12 months).

Oh definitely agreed with all that. Like I said in the comment, I'm not one who spouts all that 'they have no cap' nonsense.

With that said though, I still think they should be keeping a fair bit aside for the talent on their list they have coming through - rather than paying (even if it is half the salary) of older players from other clubs that aren't an actual 'need' (when considering the cost/benefit perspective of who they might lose in the future to pay for these guys).

We're different, as we have about 10 geriatrics who'll all be retiring in the next two-three seasons and nowhere near the talent coming through that the Giants do, so our tight sal cap will be history come end of next year. Giants 500K-1 MIL players are nearly all around the 23-27 range, so there's no relief on the horizon for them.

Did you miss where Kosi was not named the following week.

Recommitted Chad Wingard [contracted and staying at Hawthorn]