Prediction Changes for Round 8 vs Carlton

Not sure, let’s give it a shot.

I'm not sure we're playing consistently well enough to be trialling random experiments.

From what I've seen, Wills is a see ball, get ball, crash and bash style inside mid who offers little accountability for his opponent unless that opponent get between him and the footy. I'd be worried Cripps would kill him on the spread.

I'm not sure we're playing consistently well enough to be trialling random experiments.

From what I've seen, Wills is a see ball, get ball, crash and bash style inside mid who offers little accountability for his opponent unless that opponent get between him and the footy. I'd be worried Cripps would kill him on the spread.
What better way to tag a player than to take the ball that he is supposed to win.

I don’t think Cripps can beat anybody on the spread, he’s pretty slow...similar to Wills.

He’s playing for his career, he’s not a new player...he should be able to stay disciplined and play as a tagger at the contest. Either way we win, we need some depth in the grunt department. Give the beast a crack.

Who comes in then, we too often get smashed at the clearance. Grunt for grunt in My view.

I expect Brown will spend more time in the midfield.

He did well in the second half after Adams left the field.

Aish to return.

Cox another week out with injury.

What better way to tag a player than to take the ball that he is supposed to win. .

Hmmmmmm.

I don’t think Cripps can beat anybody on the spread, he’s pretty slow...similar to Wills.

You must be watching a different Cripps. He's not quick but he spreads as well as anyone.

He’s playing for his career, he’s not a new player...he should be able to stay disciplined and play as a tagger at the contest. Either way we win, we need some depth in the grunt department. Give the beast a crack.

Playing Wills on merit because he's deemed the best replacement for Adams is different than picking him to take on a task he's shown no propensity for. And he needs to earn his chance and I thought he was pretty ordinary against the Bombers. Ball use, never a strength, was extremely poor.

Apart from the fear of losing against Carlton, I don't understand the angst.
Will they be able launch a fightback when we give them soul destroying pummeling in the 1st qtr?
And will be able to keep up with us for the whole match.
I doubt it

The way the Blues are playing today we could debut Tom Wilson against them next week after one weeks training.

Well, GWS did thump them late last year playing only 17 (sometimes 16) players on the field for the last quarter.

Wouldn’t want us to muck around and take it easy for the Carlton game.

It was only two years ago they embarrassed us in the 125 year game. Traditionally Collingwood v Carlton games didn’t follow ladder position.

I hope we go into this game treating this like a game against Geelong. I’m sure we will.

It was only two years ago they embarrassed us in the 125 year game. Traditionally Collingwood v Carlton games didn’t follow ladder position.

I hope we go into this game treating this like a game against Geelong. I’m sure we will.
Seriously 76?
We are a professional team. We will analyse them, and take them apart on game day.

So play terribly and lose

Out: 125-127-4
In: 126-127-4

Are we still in front? After the 20 years we've had? Unbelievable.

I am not sure why Collingwood would look to change anything, to be honest. Yes, you need to replace Adams this week. But I reckon the way to the flag is to keep playing the way (and the system) you have been playing. You don't need more talls to beat West Coast (and the Eagles actually have to get there - cracks appearing already, I think), you need your midfield to beat theirs, the way it looks like it should.

Much more interesting than Saturday's game. Can't help feeling only Kreuzer stands between us and a bloodbath.

I am not sure why Collingwood would look to change anything, to be honest. Yes, you need to replace Adams this week. But I reckon the way to the flag is to keep playing the way (and the system) you have been playing. You don't need more talls to beat West Coast (and the Eagles actually have to get there - cracks appearing already, I think), you need your midfield to beat theirs, the way it looks like it should.

Much more interesting than Saturday's game. Can't help feeling only Kreuzer stands between us and a bloodbath.

You will come out with a point to prove after the last game so it won't be a bloodbath but would be a minor miracle if you won.

Reid can , Mihocek can
We could play musical chairs.
All our talls can play ruck, forward and back.
Opposition would have no idea what is going on
They can but they won’t, Backline has been really solid this year doubt the club will risk unsettling it and opt to keep stability instead.

Lots of options

If cox is fit a forward line with Reid cox and checkers with stepho whe Jamie and josh has a lot of merit
De goey midfield
Or
Bring wills in and see what he's got
Or
Aish and Levi

Me I like the first
Perhaps a Good time to try against Carlton

Wills came along 3 or 4 decades too late. Would have been a star in an era where winning the ball and simply moving it forward was the go.

You will come out with a point to prove after the last game so it won't be a bloodbath but would be a minor miracle if you won.

I wish I shared your optimism. This week we were sick of honourable losses and wanted to make a statement... but I think something might have gotten lost in translation this arvo...

Brad Scott may not be the best coach in the game, but he has our number, and it's not complicated. Everyone knows the umpires have put the whistle away, so you just hold and scrag Cripps, because there is no downside. Even if he gets the free, you get time to set up your defence. And most of the time, he won't get the free. Both options are much better than giving him the chance to win the ball at the clearance, especially from the centre bounce with the 6-6-6 thing.

It will start in the middle, and we need Kreuzer in there to compete against Grundy and your inside mids. None of our other options are tenable, and we need pressure in the middle of the ground because we don't have answers to (or opponents for) De Goey, Elliott or Stephenson - those guys could kick 10+.

Not only that, we now have to worry about the talls as well - I would have backed Weitering and Jones, but if Jones is in hospital tonight, it's hard to imagine him playing on Saturday. Which means an untried KPD.

A lot of these issues are structural, so bringing more effort on Saturday (and surely we could hardly bring less!) is not in itself a guarantee of a better result, especially against better opposition. We haven't faced any good sides yet...

They can but they won’t, Backline has been really solid this year doubt the club will risk unsettling it and opt to keep stability instead.
You're probably right, but how do we handle it when Darcy and Roughy have a spell on the bench? I certainly haven't noticed. Does everybody roll up a size to a bigger player? Eg. Darcy is playing on the KP1 and goes off - Roughy moves up to KPD1, Howe to KPD2, Langdon to 3rd tall. I'd assume that they must be doing something like that. Surely it would be less disruptive to just Darcy with Reid. Probably a big assumption that Reid can still do a good job at KPD.

I wish I shared your optimism. This week we were sick of honourable losses and wanted to make a statement... but I think something might have gotten lost in translation this arvo...

Brad Scott may not be the best coach in the game, but he has our number, and it's not complicated. Everyone knows the umpires have put the whistle away, so you just hold and scrag Cripps, because there is no downside. Even if he gets the free, you get time to set up your defence. And most of the time, he won't get the free. Both options are much better than giving him the chance to win the ball at the clearance, especially from the centre bounce with the 6-6-6 thing.

It will start in the middle, and we need Kreuzer in there to compete against Grundy and your inside mids. None of our other options are tenable, and we need pressure in the middle of the ground because we don't have answers to (or opponents for) De Goey, Elliott or Stephenson - those guys could kick 10+.

Not only that, we now have to worry about the talls as well - I would have backed Weitering and Jones, but if Jones is in hospital tonight, it's hard to imagine him playing on Saturday. Which means an untried KPD.

A lot of these issues are structural, so bringing more effort on Saturday (and surely we could hardly bring less!) is not in itself a guarantee of a better result, especially against better opposition. We haven't faced any good sides yet...

Do yourself a favour and cross over... we won't tell noone. ;)

Your mob always seem to turn up to play against us, no matter how rubbish they are. I don’t know what the ledger is over the last 20 years, but I’d be surprised if it’s far off 50 / 50.

Can't help feeling only Kreuzer stands between us and a bloodbath.

Carlton have been playing some decent footy this year. I watched most of the Bulldogs game and there were glimpses of the future on display. I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if it were a close game - CvC games usually are, and they rarely seem to respect ladder position.