Unofficial Preview Changes - Lions v Pies (Easter Thursday)

It has been so long since the three-peat and I can't remember whether Lethal operated much like Fages and basically stuck with a best 22 and only rotated others into the team due to injuries and replaced "like with like" or not. I do recall Lethal saying that players did not necessarily play their best football when under the duress of being dropped.

There was a clear best 20 or so back then but we had enough injuries and niggles that the fringe players got semi-frequent game time and reserves form would often see those last few spots cycled.

LOL at some of the suggestions for changes. Zorko is borderline AA squad right now after 4 rounds. Yeah, drop him.. for sure.

Mitch Robbo was good againts port and dons, bad night againts the Cats. He is just as likely to come out and add that aggression and spark in Easter Thursday. It should be his last year, but he doesen’t get dropped at this point.

Rayner stays in and builds confidence in his knee, just being out there after an ACL is enough, some of y’all just unrealistic. Anyone remember how slow Rich was off an ACL?

The only change I’d think perhaps has some validity is Dev for Cocky, not necessarily on form, just because we need another genuine mid in the mix. With Rayner, Bailey, McCarthy, Cocky in the team that’s a lot of X factor - we might need a bit more hard hat and lunch box to start winning more ball in the midfield.

In reality it will be Fullarton for Big O, barring injury.

In terms of the game, I wouldn’t say it’s a danger game, we should win it at home. I do think, given it’s a prime time/blockbuster/standalone game - we will be average, timid and make it harder than it needs to be.

We are 5-12 since 2019 in prime time/stand-alone games - we do not respond well to expectation and the bright lights, Easter Thursday is all that. A capable pies team will make a game of it, for sure.

Close first half then we get rolling and win by 27 whilst leaving them to hang around for longer than is required.

Players who are AFL standard, but who haven't played enough games in recent history to be really at form: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner.

Players who aren't at form now but who, if we keep getting games into them, will be there by finals: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner

Players people want to drop: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner.

WTF

Geelong ran us ragged Friday night. They made late changes that gave them increased run and speed. We were locked into a team and structure that made it hard to counter the Cats changes. Sly coaching by Scot. A fast hard running team is our weakness at the moment.

I'm not expecting too many changes for the pies. I reckon Fages believes our current structure and game plan is good enough to beat Collingwood. It should be too. So it's probably only Oscar in for Fullerton, and if Berry's shoulder doesn't come up, Dev steps in for him.

We do need to look forward and start to plan for the teams that run both ways all night, Melb, Dogs, Geelong just did it, Richmond at their best did, others will switch on to it. Not only do we have to be able to counter these attacks, we gotta be able to implement it as well.

Dev, T Berry, Sharpie, Madden and Prior, are probably some of the answers. I think it's time to try things with J Berry's crook shoulder, Robbo, Cockatoo and others reduced impact.

Time to stop talking about best 22 each week, and acknowledging the best 30. I think the team can get stagnant if we rely on the same 22.
Add to the 22 that played against Geelong, Dev, Matho (remember him), T. Berry, Prior, Eli Smith, Lester, McFadyen, and at No.30 take your pick of Wilmot, Lohmann, or Tunstill (all three have shown a bit).
Ely over Sharp? Interesting call.

Players who are AFL standard, but who haven't played enough games in recent history to be really at form: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner.

Players who aren't at form now but who, if we keep getting games into them, will be there by finals: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner

Players people want to drop: Berry, Cockatoo, Rayner.

WTF
Do you think there are other players in our squad who might also be AFL standard and will be in form by finals with games in the seniors? Perhaps their skills are better to fill the shortcomings we experienced against Geelong. I think we need an extra midfielder and it's possible Dev could be the missing piece of the puzzle if he got an opportunity.

Ely over Sharp? Interesting call.

Do you think there are other players in our squad who might also be AFL standard and will be in form by finals with games in the seniors? Perhaps their skills are better to fill the shortcomings we experienced against Geelong. I think we need an extra midfielder and it's possible Dev could be the missing piece of the puzzle if he got an opportunity.
I agree that Dev is a missing piece. I've read on here he had a interupted prep so when he's up to speed he's gotta be in there somewhere. If T Berry continues to pull good numbers in the two's he has to be considered. Could be a step up year for him, ready to break out. Both could add to and evolve our midfield.

If I was Fages I'd be telling Payne, Lane n H Smith to show us what ya got, cos one of ya is going to get a run next time a tall goes down or gets suspended. Fullerton's performance showed a need to try something else. Should we show Henry a bit encouragement, or give Lane a test. Are either of them up to being fast tracked?

LOL at some of the suggestions for changes. Zorko is borderline AA squad right now after 4 rounds. Yeah, drop him.. for sure.

Mitch Robbo was good againts port and dons, bad night againts the Cats. He is just as likely to come out and add that aggression and spark in Easter Thursday. It should be his last year, but he doesen’t get dropped at this point.

Rayner stays in and builds confidence in his knee, just being out there after an ACL is enough, some of y’all just unrealistic. Anyone remember how slow Rich was off an ACL?

The only change I’d think perhaps has some validity is Dev for Cocky, not necessarily on form, just because we need another genuine mid in the mix. With Rayner, Bailey, McCarthy, Cocky in the team that’s a lot of X factor - we might need a bit more hard hat and lunch box to start winning more ball in the midfield.

In reality it will be Fullarton for Big O, barring injury.

In terms of the game, I wouldn’t say it’s a danger game, we should win it at home. I do think, given it’s a prime time/blockbuster/standalone game - we will be average, timid and make it harder than it needs to be.

We are 5-12 since 2019 in prime time/stand-alone games - we do not respond well to expectation and the bright lights, Easter Thursday is all that. A capable pies team will make a game of it, for sure.

Close first half then we get rolling and win by 27 whilst leaving them to hang around for longer than is required.
Agree with a lot you say above except the bolded part. Statistics might tell a different story but in my opinion being a "prime time/blockbuster/standalone game" has zero affect on the players who run out on Thursday night. Once the siren sounds and the ball is bounced its the same as any game they play pre finals time.

This game is going to come around so quick, only 4 sleeps to go already, can not wait to get there, going out to dinner at The Morrison before the game for a rib fillet.... need the boys to top off a great evening and slay the scum.

BTW we went to Frankie's Smokehouse before the Port game, highly recommended if you're a carnivore.

That is an interesting stat. Does that include the finals games? Would have a decent chunk of these games at home as well, we've had a few Friday night games at home last year.

I agree that Dev is a missing piece. I've read on here he had a interupted prep so when he's up to speed he's gotta be in there somewhere. If T Berry continues to pull good numbers in the two's he has to be considered. Could be a step up year for him, ready to break out. Both could add to and evolve our midfield.

If I was Fages I'd be telling Payne, Lane n H Smith to show us what ya got, cos one of ya is going to get a run next time a tall goes down or gets suspended. Fullerton's performance showed a need to try something else. Should we show Henry a bit encouragement, or give Lane a test. Are either of them up to being fast tracked?
Lane is likely to make it imo but I don't think he's up to Senior football as yet and is probably a couple of years off.

I know everyone's bagging Fullarton and he was like a deer in the headlights on Friday Night.

I'm not totally giving up on him just on that and know he can do a whole lot better. Possibly a confidence thing.

But it was disappointing to see an apparent lack of improvement in one match that was an important match for him.

I know everyone's bagging Fullarton and he was like a deer in the headlights on Friday Night.

I'm not totally giving up on him just on that and know he can do a whole lot better. Possibly a confidence thing.

But it was disappointing to see an apparent lack of improvement in one match that was an important match for him.

Probably doesn't help that he trained as a defender for the preseason and shifted forward on the VFL. Hard to improve ruck craft when you're training predominantly in other areas.

Fullerton is listed as 23 years old (I assume that is at 1 Jan) been on the list since 2018. That’s four years of development (interrupted due to COVID). He really didn’t show any aptitude as a ruckman on Friday night. He was monstered by a ordinary Cats ruck decision. Playing him in the ruck in the seniors can’t be doing any good for his confidence.

I think we have got to stop thinking about him as a ruck option. Next time Oscar/Fort are unavailable we have to gamble on Payne, Lane or HSmith as replacement. ( a potential train wreck I concede) Fullerton maybe gets a try as a key position player. He probably gets another year on the list as key position depth, where I think he still has some potential,.

Fullerton is listed as 23 years old (I assume that is at 1 Jan) been on the list since 2018. That’s four years of development (interrupted due to COVID). He really didn’t show any aptitude as a ruckman on Friday night. He was monstered by a ordinary Cats ruck decision. Playing him in the ruck in the seniors can’t be doing any good for his confidence.

I think we have got to stop thinking about him as a ruck option. Next time Oscar/Fort are unavailable we have to gamble on Payne, Lane or HSmith as replacement. ( a potential train wreck I concede) Fullerton maybe gets a try as a key position player. He probably gets another year on the list as key position depth, where I think he still has some potential,.
I dont believe the Fort/Big O combo is thought of as a full season thing. I do believe Fort was brought in to give Big O a bit of relief throughout the season when he is fatigued so he can be fresh enough come finals time. (unlike last season) Once Hippy get's back I believe the plan will change to having Big O as our main ruck with Joey giving him a short rest throughout games. Should Big O need a full games rest or needs time to recover from injury, Fort is our man.

Next time Oscar/Fort are unavailable we have to gamble on Payne, Lane or HSmith as replacement. ( a potential train wreck I concede) Fullerton maybe gets a try as a key position player. He probably gets another year on the list as key position depth, where I think he still has some potential,.
I agree Fullarton looks highly unlikely to make it as even a 2nd ruck/fwd option at AFL level, I'd be going with Payne at the present moment, I do like the look of Lane and H. Smith long term but their endurance levels are nowhere near the standard required for senior footy... they were probably the 2 worst performers in any endurance work I attended at pre season training.

Agree Lane and Smith 2 years off. Only suggested them because the cupboard is pretty bare.

Also agree With MM, when Hippy’s back we play one ruckman. thought Fort was better than a VFL player. Solid second ruck at AFL level.

There are a few on here, probably the same person with multiple accounts, who have gone hard at Fort every game. From what I have seen, he is a decent tap ruckman who is very strong mark above head. He cost us nothing and is producing what we need.
Hey Big Sauce 21...all good. Dont need to get so hot regarding Fort and start calling other posters Flogs. I like what he has done so far this season as well. He's been a pleasant surprise how well he can perform and I am sure the club is more than pleased with their decision to bring him in.