Strategy Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 22 vs. Geelong, MCG, Fri 11/08, 7:50pm

I cannot seeing us winning either of the next 2 games against Geelong & Melbourne, respectively. Then I reckon that the game against Essendon - given our current form - is totally line ball. It is quite possible that we could end the home & away season with 5 straight losses!!!!!
You lose all credibility when you can’t even be bothered to check the fixture and see who we play.

What I'd like to see on Friday night is players actually committing to the aerial contest again and not being suddenly so worried about getting hurt.

Lost count over the past 2 weeks of how many players haven't gone when it's their turn. Pendlebury and Crisp have done the "stick one mit up" a couple of times. Even JDG tried to take one with one hand on Saturday.

Then Maynard just pulling out letting their ruck take an easy chest mark 🫣

But you play at the level the oppo allow. Hence, we've been worked out. Oppo aren't allowing us to play at our level.
If the players believed that we’d never win a game.

You got me, such an obvious and emphatic point of difference that makes Ginnivan the superior choice.
My bad 😜
I know you try to hide your shallow analysis by whipping out your thesaurus, but it reflects an obvious difference - Ginnivan has excelled at AFL level over a long sample size, Reef has not.

Ginnivan in for Nick. Ruscoe in for Murphy. McCreery in the middle, Ginnivan forward. Maybe cox or frampton for Johnno. Two games clear needing 1 more win ahead of finals. I think we can win any of our next 3 with Nick missing. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

What garbage. This endless rubbishing of a kid who should have kicked 50 plus goals last year because he was so poorly treated by the umpires kicked many goals with classy reading of the play and good goal sense as well as being an excellent set shot.

He has his flaws as do all players but to minimise his performance last year is beyond pathetic.
Just stating facts.

I know you try to hide your shallow analysis by whipping out your thesaurus, but it reflects an obvious difference - Ginnivan has excelled at AFL level over a long sample size, Reef has not.
If my analysis is shallow, then I would have expected it to have been exposed by now.
Ginnivan is struggling and has deficiencies that have kept him out of the side. Many here including yourself want to give him a free pass based on his reputation, despite his lack VFL form.

Clearly the club thinks otherwise and want him to earn his spot - that makes complete sense IMO.

Leaving aside the tragedy that is Naicos, our biggest problem is the drop off in form and effectiveness, in the second half of the year, of Checkers, Mitchell, Cameron, Cox, even De Goey. Add Lippa to that. Because they are banged up, carrying niggles, or still NQR after returning from injury.

It seems to be a difficult fix if the fix is resting/nursing them through to the finals. That would be ‘playing with form’. However, poor form has caught up with us anyway because of these underperforming players.

I want Ginni back, and in terms of justification for that - he’s fit, he’s a known goal kicker, and he adds spice to the forward line.

I wanted AJ back last week, and that didn’t work, but he needs another week. Maybe give Checkers a break?

If my analysis is shallow, then I would have expected it to have been exposed by now.
Ginnivan is struggling and has deficiencies that have kept him out of the side. Many here including yourself want to give him a free pass based on his reputation, despite his lack VFL form.

Clearly the club thinks otherwise and want him to earn his spot - that makes complete sense IMO.
At this stage he is not in our best team but he is close , been emergency the last couple. This week we have 2-3 out so he has to be strongly considered. Think when you are saying someone like Reef should be ahead of him is showing you clearly don’t like him. Reef apart from the games he has been sub has been worse than what Ginnivan has been when he has had a chance. Also versatility is like saying Jack of all trades masters of none which goes for WHE and Reef who would be fighting it out with Ginnivan for a spot this week. Still hope we seem him back this week.

Mate are you actually saying Ginnivan had the same influence and impact today, as Mcstay?
I'm not saying that at all, I'm saying that you are too harsh on your assessment of ginni. We put up with 2 years of you telling us how good Grundy is, that's enough for me to take your assessment of ginni with a grain of salt

What’s our opinion on AJ? Is he another VFL star but can’t bridge the gap at AFL level?

Patrick Karnezis comes to mind.

I'm not saying that at all, I'm saying that you are too harsh on your assessment of ginni. We put up with 2 years of you telling us how good Grundy is, that's enough for me to take your assessment of ginni with a grain of salt
For 2 years Grundy was the best ruckman in the comp by a long way.

If we can’t win two out of the last three rounds, I can’t see us going anywhere in September. There is no magic button to push when the month ticks over. Hoping desperately that our recent poor form is ‘just’ a slump or a blip which can be rectified. Fly and the coaches are facing their biggest ever challenge.🫣

My assessment of Grundy has got nothing to do with Melbourne’s failure to intergrate Gawn and Grundy into the same team.

My assessment of Ginnivan is based on facts - if you want to dispute those facts then feel free to do so.

I have no idea why you guys are so emotional, about dispassionate assessments of the kid, and the simple conclusion that he needs to get better to make the team.

I WANT GINNIVAN TO MAKE IT.

What’s our opinion on AJ? Is he another VFL star but can’t bridge the gap at AFL level?

Patrick Karnezis comes to mind.
I’m worried that he lacks competitiveness despite his brilliance.
If Kreuger keeps improving I think his competitiveness will be a clear advantage that will see him pass AJ.

Not sure why Ginni isn’t being mentioned more. I feel he’s a real barometer for both players and fans, imagine if he snags 3 or 4 Friday night, the MCG will explode.

Out - Daicos, Murphy, Johnson, Lipinksi
In - Ginnivan, WHE, Cox, Frampton

You can't get 6 touches and 1 tackle in the magoos and get selected in the seniors. His form has been all over the shop.

One thought I had. The injury report last week suggested that Fin Marcrae was a chance to be right to play this week. Given an opportunity to come into the senior side has come up this week, would you bring him into the senior side if he is fit to play given his form prior to the injury more than warranted it, and as it was a hand injury he likely wouldn’t have lost any fitness?

It really isn't.

It started with Brisbane as early as round 4, continued with Melbourne and has been consolidated over the last 2 weeks. Hell even in many of our wins the opposition has had quarters or halves played on their terms.

This isn't even a criticism, you expect your opposition to dissect your game plan and put tactics in place to take away your strengths and expose your weaknesses.

We would be no different.

So yes we have been worked out but we were worked out also 2 weeks ago against Port but still found a way to win in a game with finals like pressure.

While history would suggest back half teams aren't Premiership winning ones and right now history is making a strong argument, I'm not going to throw in the towel on a side who has given us so many wonderful moments these past 2 years.

We are still capable of winning the flag from here but no game plan stands a chance if we bring the same level of effort and application we've witnessed these past 2 weeks.

It's time to become the hunter and not the prey.

This is more important than any game plan.

We looked a million dollars in the first half of the year because we were winning contested footy.

Our transition game relies on a strong midfield presence. We can't just rely on one method to win the whole thing.

We've seen average clearance sides like Hawthorn and Richmond go nuts in finals footy, so it can be done.

Not sure why Ginni isn’t being mentioned more. I feel he’s a real barometer for both players and fans, imagine if he snags 3 or 4 Friday night, the MCG will explode.

Out - Daicos, Murphy, Johnson, Lipinksi
In - Ginnivan, WHE, Cox, Frampton
I feel like Ginni is suffering second year blues (I know this is his third season, but it is the follow up season to his break out year, so I feel that description is apt). He hasn’t been able to consistently string good form together unlike others going around at VFL level, and if you are going to drop someone from the senior team for form, the person you bring in needs to be in better form, which I don’t feel fits with Ginni this year unfortunately.