Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast

Oooooooh, tickets will be available this week, Eagles are being allocated 50 tickets, hopefully Suns will allow Adelaide the same... What a time to see us.... Unfortunately lose live to Suns for first time ever :(
Have to think if we get soem tickets any pledging member in QLD would get a ticket..

You can this to the bank. This group as you said needs to get us to the place to get to the place.........

I said it before I can see less than 5 players on our current list being a part of our next major premiership tilt. Thats sobering.

End of the year, it'll be 8 or so. No list is as bad as it seems, nor, as good as it seems.

Just vital we give kids game time and see who shines.

I hope youre wrong, thatll mean another 10 years without a flag

I would love to be wrong, I would love to eat humble pie.

There was some (not me) that predicted doomsday scenario after the 2017 GF. In hindsight they were right.

Another 10 years without a flag, will make it ~ 30+ years without a premiership. :'(

He should be playing the ‘Lynch’ role; Sloane has great endurance, is a quality mark, can actually apply some defensive pressure up forward, is a decent kick for goal and tackles hard.

Also creates some needed midfield time for Smith, Milera, Jones etc.

And Lynch is a liability. Not sure what's happened but the guy can not kick and simply doesn't impact games, well not in a positive way. Anyone else think we should have traded Lynch and retained Greenwood? It's going to be very interesting this week.

Assuming they stay and we get decisions right, Jones, McHenry, Fog, McAsey, Doedee, Milera, Stengle all look to have enough quality, even if they’re not the prime movers. ROB I’m not sure about and it’s hard to know with a couple of others without seeing them at the highest level. Our problem isn’t so much that there’s so few on our list, it’s how many will stay and will our footy strategy decision makers keeping ******* the club over.

Probably controversial to say, but I dont care. I only rate Fog and McAsey (of what very little I have seen of him) of capable of being elite blue chip players in that group.

In our next tilt, I can honestly see only Fog and Milera being on our list. Jones will end up in Tassie when their team eventually breaks into the AFL, most Victorians leave our Club. There is solid reasons external reasons why we were able to hold Talia and Sloane. I dont see Stengle or McHenry being a part of it. Early days of course.

In fairness to the Crows, when you have 10+ Vic Clubs circling your Vic players it makes it very difficult to hold them.

Less then 5 players? That’s not even the current draft class.

I think you may be a touch over dramatic there mate.

I think youre being a touch under dramatic.

When exactly do you think we will push for our next flag? Conservatively its going to be a solid 5-6 years. By then its goodbye to all of Tex, Talia, Sloane. Crouch bros wont be here either IMO. Thats our ~5 best players already, current day.

You need to look at the age of our players, go home factor and player movements and delisting in general.

Im curious of who you think will be around in our next prelim team in 5-6 years at least???

I think youre being a touch under dramatic.

When exactly do you think we will push for our next flag? Conservatively its going to be a solid 5-6 years. By then its goodbye to all of Tex, Talia, Sloane. Crouch bros wont be here either IMO. Thats our ~5 best players already, current day.

You need to look at the age of our players, go home factor and player movements and delisting in general.

Im curious of who you think will be around in our next prelim team in 5-6 years at least???
Milera, 1 X Crouch, Laird, ROB, McAsey, Stengle, Fogarty, Jones, McHenry, Worrall, Butts.

And Lynch is a liability. Not sure what's happened but the guy can not kick and simply doesn't impact games, well not in a positive way. Anyone else think we should have traded Lynch and retained Greenwood? It's going to be very interesting this week.
Not if that meant signing Greenwood for 4 more years, which is what he was demanding (and what GC offered him).

Trade both.

Oooooooh, tickets will be available this week, Eagles are being allocated 50 tickets, hopefully Suns will allow Adelaide the same... What a time to see us.... Unfortunately lose live to Suns for first time ever :(
Have to think if we get soem tickets any pledging member in QLD would get a ticket..

Gee, you're a hard man.

You want to punish the people who pledged their money by making them go and watch us!!

Tickets should go to those who pulled out their membership, make them suffer.

Wouldn't need to, I'd be done.

Him or Gibbs would be crushing. All we've got is hope that we're accepting the pain that comes with bottoming out and are gearing to the future, if either of those guys get a gig, it'll be hard to watch that game. Even seeing a Keays or Crocker dropped after 1 game will be pretty hard to take, regardless of who replaces them. It would tell me that it's unlikely that we've got the right group for the task ahead. That said, I'm accepting of no unforced changes this week. As long as Mackay or Gibbs don't replace any forced changes.

You've obviously never checked the Crows "score involvement" stat over the last few years...

Him or Gibbs would be crushing. All we've got is hope that we're accepting the pain that comes with bottoming out and are gearing to the future, if either of those guys get a gig, it'll be hard to watch that game. Even seeing a Keays or Crocker dropped after 1 game will be pretty hard to take, regardless of who replaces them. It would tell me that it's unlikely that we've got the right group for the task ahead. That said, I'm accepting of no unforced changes this week. As long as Mackay or Gibbs don't replace any forced changes.
What will be amusing would be a good read from you😉

Bicks mentioned the other day he thinks Gibbs and Dmac have been told they are last resorts in case youngsters are all injured.

Would be utterly futile to bring them back in given where we're at.

I posted this in the GBU thread. I thought it was also appropriate here:

Selection priority right now, for the senior players at least, should be based on:

1. Players who are willing (and able) to compete and not be lazy, and have good disposal
  2. Players who are willing (and able) to compete and not be lazy, with poor disposal
  3. Players who are willing but unable to compete and are not lazy (regardless of disposal)
  4. Players who are unwilling to compete and are lazy (regardless of disposal)
Here's how I'd categorise them:

Category #1 - Willing & Able to Compete, Good Disposal
Sloane (maybe...)
Brown
Doedee

Category #2 - Willing & Able to Compete, Poor Disposal
Lynch
Laird
Matt Crouch ** compete offensively, poor defensively
Brad Crouch ** compete offensively, poor defensively
O'Brien
Talia

Category #3 - Willing but Unable to compete (players with limited ability, but who reliably give 100% on the field)
Walker
Murphy
Crocker
Keays
Mackay
Hartigan
Kelly

Category #4 - Unwilling to Compete
Seedsman
Knight
Milera
Smith
Gibbs
Atkins
Gallucci

** Only players with 20+ AFL games included. Youngsters get a free pass, due to the need to give them experience.

There's probably not a lot of difference in output between categories #3 and #4, but I have a lot more sympathy for players who are actually trying with limited ability, ahead of those who can't be bothered putting in the effort.

Players in category #4 can **** off and never be seen again in the red, blue & gold.

Feel free to debate my groupings. I've got a feeling that some of my cat #1 players really belong in cat #2.

Couldn't agree more the writing was on the wall after 2018, experienced players had trade value but were kept and too top things off the most exciting young talent to come out of SA for a while was there to be traded up too. But if your lukoscious or Rankine why would you go back, gold coast look closer to playing finals then the crows

Look at port they replenished in that draft gettingduursma, rozee and butters have invigorated the club, it's exciting, add in Marshall Powell pepper there future looks Rosey.

We're port less experienced than the crowd on the weekend.

Galluci where is he? He has pace and shown glimpses in the past,

Round 1 was ok, last week was insipid,
Sloane
Crouch x2
O'Brien
Talia
Milera
Jones
Fogarty

Are the only players that should be pencilled in for the remainder of the year

Atkins
McKay
Gibbs
Shouldn't play again

Laird
Smith
Lynch
Trade bait
Port were the 4th oldest team in the AFL last week.

There is of course a sense of excitement about youth because of their 2018 picks.

But they are in no way shape or form a rebuilding side. They are for the now.

What will be amusing would be a good read from you😉

I think I'd be like HS, I can't begin to imagine how deflating it would be. That said, if I'm already a few in, I might get a sudden rush of energy. Sunday game, so Friday arvo we find out the 22 from the 26, being half cut at the time is a reasonable bet at this stage. And no more encouragement from you this week please.

And Lynch is a liability. Not sure what's happened but the guy can not kick and simply doesn't impact games, well not in a positive way.
You've obviously never checked the Crows "score involvement" stat over the last few years...

I think you're both right.

He's a notoriously slow starter, especially coming back from injury.

He can do a lot of good linking scoring, but he needs to be dragged into a game, I don't recall him ever starting fast and dragging the team along with him.

Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast