Preview Changes: R4 vs Fremantle, Saturday April 8, 1.15pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval

I've got nothing for this, seeing Butts offensive game has also dropped this year.

I've mainly noticed I'm frustrated by other things, i.e. our lack of protecting leading lanes, or not killing a contested marking situation then I have been with Butts defensive efforts.
Smith and Milera need to block off these leading lanes but they aren't exactly the type to get in the hole.

After watching Nick's it sounds like Butts is playing even though he didn't train this week and sounds injured, Berry won't play but probably back for Carlton, McHenry will be in for Pedlar. Schoenberg or Crouch in for Berry. Probably Crouch. Bit of a danger game this week. Hopefully Nick's gets the selection right.
Crouch isn't coming in off his preparation with just 1 game back from an injury that saw him unable to run for 3 weeks. He was OK in the 2's in his 1st game back but nowhere near his usual standard at that level.

Nicksy… Back to the old shitfilled well that is Ned Mchenry..

Its just so boringly predictable..

Why dont you ring up Rowe Nicks?.. see if you can organise to bring him back too you dickhead.

Ned has played dozens of games and barely any of them really good..

I dont reacon I’ve ever seen another player expel so much energy on a football field for so little a return as Ned Mchenry… maybe Ben Keays?..

Just give someone else a chance.. Ned has been granted enough games for us to all know he’s not an AFL standard player. The only reason they are persisting with him is because they used a high pick on him.. if he’d been a third rounder they wouldve delisted him by now.

🤦‍♂️

I’d say the most likely changes are as follows:

Scenario 1: Butts and Berry are both declared fit to play:

Out: Pedlar, (Jones)
In: McHenry
Sub: any of Jones, Cook, Brown or Schoenberg

Scenario 2: Butts is declared fit, but Berry is ruled out:

Out: Pedlar, Berry, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Schoenberg
Sub: any of Jones, Cook or Brown

Scenario 3: Butts is ruled out, Berry is declared fit:

Out: Pedlar, Butts, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Keane

Scenario 4: Both of Butts and Berry are ruled out:

Out: Pedlar, Butts, Berry, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Keane, Schoenberg

Personally I would absolutely be dropping Smith and bringing either of Jones or Cook into the 22 to replace him, but I just don’t see us pulling that trigger.

It’s absolutely possible that we rest Tex for Himmelberg also, especially if both Butts and Berry are declared fit (we clearly like to minimise total changes when possible).

The following week against Carlton, Gollant makes way for Fog, Pedlar comes straight back in for McHenry, and if we do rest Tex this week, he comes straight back in for Himmelberg.

It’s not impossible that we rest Tex for the Carlton game if he does play against Freo, in which case Gollant would play a 3rd consecutive game there.

Parnell is a sneaky contender to return against Carlton also. It’s not likely, but it’s possible, especially with Smith and Milera both displaying that they aren’t in our best 18.

Crouch isn't coming in off his preparation with just 1 game back from an injury that saw him unable to run for 3 weeks. He was OK in the 2's in his 1st game back but nowhere near his usual standard at that level.
Crouch also reverted back to type, in the SANFL game .....in the PS game, Crouch really tried to play longer & direct ....you could see how conscious he was about it, whenever he got the ball, much improved

But last week, he simply did what comes naturally to him, short dinky possessions, going no-where, except to teammates under pressure

I’d say the most likely changes are as follows:

Scenario 1: Butts and Berry are both declared fit to play:

Out: Pedlar, (Jones)
In: McHenry

Scenario 2: Butts is declared fit, but Berry is ruled out:

Out: Pedlar, Berry, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Schoenberg

Scenario 3: Butts is ruled out, Berry is declared fit:

Out: Pedlar, Butts, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Keane

Scenario 4: Both of Butts and Berry are ruled out:

Out: Pedlar, Butts, Berry, (Jones)
In: McHenry, Keane, Schoenberg

Personally I would absolutely be dropping Smith and bringing either of Jones or Cook into the 22 to replace him, but I just don’t see us pulling that trigger.

It’s absolutely possible that we rest Tex for Himmelberg also, especially if both Butts and Berry are declared fit (we clearly like to minimise total changes when possible).

The following week against Carlton, Gollant makes way for Fog, Pedlar comes straight back in for McHenry, and if we do rest Tex this week, he comes straight back in for Himmelberg.

It’s not impossible that we rest Tex for the Carlton game if he does play against Freo, in which case Gollant would play a 3rd consecutive game there.

Parnell is a sneaky contender to return against Carlton also. It’s not likely, but it’s possible, especially with Smith and Milera both displaying that they aren’t in our best 18.
All 4 options of yours include McHenry. I’m probably sounding like a broken record but, why? Is there something that people see that I don’t? Surely we have better or untried options. He’s one of the least talented players to put on a Crows guernsey in the last 30 odd years.

Someone needs to be the tactical sub, and McHenry has produced at an adequate level before.

Pedlar needs to be replaced?..

Put jones in his spot..

Mchenry sub..

Anything but mchenry thanks.

Anyone reacon mchenry wouldve kicked that goal Jones kicked in the final quarter the other night?…

Pfft.. mchenry wouldnt have even made the distance..

Put jones in his spot..

Mchenry sub..

Anyone reacon mchenry wouldve kicked that goal Jones kicked in the final quarter the other night?…

I would prefer McHenry no where near the firsts but if we must he can be sub. Would rather literally anyone else even if it means a significant shuffling of the team. Ned isn't part of our future so stop wasting games on him.

Our forwardline looks a million times better recently due in part to not having the impotent headless chook Ned.

McHenry has produced at an adequate level before.

Sorry I didn't catch that game

I doubt we take Tex to Tassie in round 6
This would be in line with Rahillys comments

It's why I think Fogarty gets a rest (plus the club said he was) but long term thinking. Which is good

Put jones in his spot..

Mchenry sub..

Judging by McHenry's kicking this year, he may have kicked it.
Not that I want him anywhere near the 1sts. Not even as sub.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sorry I didn't catch that game

Took 2022 off, I take it?

When it comes down to it, adequate was the best way to describe McHenrys '22. Above average for disposals (12.4), tackles (3.3), kick efficency (66%), effective disposals (9), ground ball gets (4.2), pressure actd (16.8) and spoils (0.5). Average at goals (0.7), score involvements (3.3), goal assists (0.5). Didn't make the side worse compared to the rest of the league, didn't make it better.

He'll do a solid job for a week whilst Pedlar is suspended as a sub. Then he'll be dropped to the SANFL as he lost the job that was keeping him in last year to Keays, and Pedlar is an auto-in. That's the reality Ned faces now, deph and nothing more.

Took 2022 off, I take it?

When it comes down to it, adequate was the best way to describe McHenrys '22. Above average for disposals (12.4), tackles (3.3), kick efficency (66%), effective disposals (9), ground ball gets (4.2), pressure actd (16.8) and spoils (0.5). Average at goals (0.7), score involvements (3.3), goal assists (0.5). Didn't make the side worse compared to the rest of the league, didn't make it better.

He'll do a solid job for a week whilst Pedlar is suspended as a sub. Then he'll be dropped to the SANFL as he lost the job that was keeping him in last year to Keays, and Pedlar is an auto-in. That's the reality Ned faces now, deph and nothing more.

He was so good last year he's not got a job this year?

Pedlar is already streaks ahead of him with 5 games under his belt.

Ned is another Crouch. Fills up the stats sheet with zero outcome to show for it. An impotent headless chook. Pedlar the opposite, few disposals but highly effective.

Let's not lose sight of the fact we're rebuilding here. You've got it or you don't and Ned has proven beyond doubt he ain't got it.

I doubt we take Tex to Tassie in round 6
Yeah.. i reacon the times we rest Tex isnt for home games at AO.. its for games like the Tassie game or games over in Perth.. maybe even a game at Docklands which is considered to be a hard ground that is taxing on the body..

But AO?.. nup.. if he’s uninjured he plays all home games..

Nick's loves the little bloke. Probably thinks he's his son. If I was in charge of the list he would have been traded or delisted. Nick's has shown a knack for not playing players such as Worrell (who actually have talent) for 18 months after they should have been played and instead gift games to players with no future such as McHenry. I think Nick's coaching mantra has been containment instead of attacking.

He seem to be able to kick 50m now.........

Butts in doubt, thought his shoulder was only a niggle ;)

VB: we saw a couple of weeks ago we had a shuffle and Dawson played back there, we could go back to that again.

Yeah VB, let’s take Dawson out of midfield, go short again and the last time we did that, we conceded 8 goals to their tall forwards.

Or how about given Butts has a crook shoulder we look more long term, rest him for a few weeks and play Keane or Borlase. If we never intended playing Borlase, why did we retain him?
He got a laceration on his calf in the last match.

Yeah.. i reacon the times we rest Tex isnt for home games at AO.. its for games like the Tassie game or games over in Perth.. maybe even a game at Docklands which is considered to be a hard ground that is taxing on the body..

But AO?.. nup.. if he’s uninjured he plays all home games..
And certainly not in the Gather Round in front of a sold out crowd.

Preview Changes: R4 vs Fremantle, Saturday April 8, 1.15pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval