Preview Changes: R5 vs Carlton, Thursday April 13, 7.10pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval

Which of these players come in this week?

Why is it strange.....not at all unusual to have a tall as contingency if a tall goes down with sickness etc.And given he's a forward/ruck makes plenty of sense.
Agree, it would be irresponsible not to name a tall emergency. Berg is perfect as can cover ruck & key positions. We don't have many other talls who can be named.

Hot take:

Was McAdam's form really good enough to justify an instant recall? 7 touches 1 goal against GWS with a dumb suspendable brain fade. 8 touches no score in the practice match before hand.

I'm no Murphy fan but I can see it being a line ball call. Especially as McAdam turns 28 this year and is thus unlikely to be in our next premiership team

He's not in the 22

Murphy the lucky one. Stays in the 22 ahead of McAdam. And ahead of McHenry for that matter

I think Keays won’t be far away from discussions that include Ned, Murph and any other forward/mid types. Genuinely a year earlier than I expected. Smith and Milera shouldn’t be too far away for spots behind the ball as well. But there’s definitely less high quality competition for spots for mid/small types behind the ball. Hamill, McPherson, Parnell and maybe Jones. Compared to our forward line, it’s a wasteland.

I don't even mind him kicking for goal off a set shot or whatever. It's the ludicrous snaps from the pocket without even looking to see if a team mate is free. Should get a team fine each tine he attempts one.
He would have been warned about this. I'm sure if he continues to be selfish he will be dropped.

I reckon, price of footy beers, ain't nobody able to afford to get drunk, let alone very drunk
challenge accepted training GIF

Hot take:

Was McAdam's form really good enough to justify an instant recall? 7 touches 1 goal against GWS with a dumb suspendable brain fade. 8 touches no score in the practice match before hand.

I'm no Murphy fan but I can see it being a line ball call. Especially as McAdam turns 28 this year and is thus unlikely to be in our next premiership team
I highly doubt next premiership team would have come into the decision.

He’s been terrible this year imo.
BC goes off on keays but imo this week he could have easily been dropped.
His goal kicking has been terrible, but his workrate to make space has been important.

Not close to being dropped imo.

Correct. His effort and output around the ground has been important. You just can't drop a bloke who puts together a decent body of work like that.

2 games of around 70 is now defined as a ‘decent body of work’? Toss of the coin between him and Ned as to who made way for Pedlar. Murph more flexible as he can play behind the ball if need be. But 2 good games in a row of 70 meh doesn’t guarantee selection.

RND-5-Instagram-Lineup-1080x1350.png

Round 5 team v Adelaide
Backs:Lewis YoungJacob WeiteringAdam Saad
Half-backs:Nic NewmanMitch McGovernLachie Cowan
Centreline:Adam CerraPatrick CrippsOllie Hollands
Half-forwards:Zac FisherHarry McKayJack Silvagni
Forwards:Ed CurnowCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Tom De KoningGeorge HewettSam Walsh
Interchange:Blake AcresCorey DurdinMatthew Kennedy
Marc Pittonet
Emergencies:Jack CarrollJosh HoneyLochie O'Brien
Lachie Plowman

Ned had a 7 out of 10 game when the team average was 6.5

He has a history of 3 out of 10 games when the team is at 5 which is the issue.

Don’t reward downhill skiers.

Had 4 frees against. 7 clangers. His first half was shocking. Turned it on when we had a comfortable 5 goal lead. Can’t afford that against a quality side.

Interesting stat I heard from Champion Data this week, that Tex is coming 2nd in score involvements in the AFL, only Toby Greene has done better.
I don't get why this keeps getting shared 😅 he's not even #2 at our club?!?!? (25th in the AFL)

I feel like he’s been really fumbly, and look lost when we’ve chucked him back in the middle.
Don't think Keays has been at his best but probably a bit harder given his different role. Don't think he's been as bad as some on here suggest either.

I'd consider him droppable personally but I am not sure coaches would yet given his ability to move into midfield and in general has a good mature body around the contest.

At the moment we're still very much needing to try have the right balance of our exciting young guys with a bit of a blend of age profiles through out the team.

One of the things thats been best in the last couple weeks is Nicks rolling more guys through the midfield with basically just Laird being all match.

Sounds like the old non statistical role.
No, because he often receives the ball & passes it to another forward... though should do more rather than take a wild shot at goal.

Also, he's adjusting to a different role...

Preview Changes: R5 vs Carlton, Thursday April 13, 7.10pm ACST @ Adelaide Oval