I give up.Well neither have achieved anything.
I'd argue that when you consider our biggest obstacle to achieving anything, stickerman has actively tried to help remove it, Dixon has actively tried to help keep it.
I give up.Well neither have achieved anything.
I'd argue that when you consider our biggest obstacle to achieving anything, stickerman has actively tried to help remove it, Dixon has actively tried to help keep it.
who says he wasnt? #michaelwilsonOk so Charlie Dixon has achieved less than stickerman at this club because he wasn't part of a team that won a flag?
He was the greatest god damn hero this club has known since Fos Williams.He got a sticker made up, stuck it on a sign and then walked away. And it achieved absolutely nothing. What a hero.
pretty nuffy to completely disregard Dixon's career because he said something that offended a few supporters too.
I have Schulz and Dixon on about par.
Oh man I flipping miss Jay. One of my most loved and missed.I get there is a lot of nuffies out there, but...
Schulz was courageous and fearless beyond reason, took dozens of hangers, suffered and came back from multiple freak injuries, was a super reliable set shot kick, one of the few shinning consistent lights in the Primus years, has kicked equal high Port goals in a game the AFL with Tredders, and finished runner up in a coleman medal, only losing to... Buddy Franklin, the modern goat.
The idea that nobody outside of bigfooty will rate him above Dixon is ludicrous.
I reckon Schulz will be remembered in a more positive light than Dixon by Port supporters given his battler status and being one of the shining lights in the really low years. But I reckon Dixon will be longer associated with Port Adelaide for outsiders. He's got a presence about him which, for better or worse, makes opposition supporters notice him.Nobody is disregarding Dixon's career. We're saying Schulz will be remembered more fondly. And was better. I don't think either are controversial statements.
Did Ladhams end up getting rubbed out for his strike on the richmond player in PF? I recall thinking Westhoff was a chance to play in the GF if we went through.Westhoff won the BnF in 2018. He retired in 2020.
He played 14 of 17 games that year. So not really midway through the season.
Being dropped on form at the end of that game, and couldn't get back into the side. Having no access to SANFL games for form wouldn't have helped.
I reckon Schulz will be remembered in a more positive light than Dixon by Port supporters given his battler status and being one of the shining lights in the really low years. But I reckon Dixon will be longer associated with Port Adelaide for outsiders. He's got a presence about him which, for better or worse, makes opposition supporters notice him.
I'd rather Schulz than Dixon by a huge margin but if Dixon was actually playing in a competent forward line this might've been a different story.
Are you sure about that? If you read this thread over the last few pages and didn't know anything about footy, you'd be convinced Charlie Dixon is not only the worst footballer but recruiting him was one of the worst things to ever happen to this club in it's entire 154 years.Nobody is disregarding Dixon's career. We're saying Schulz will be remembered more fondly. And was better. I don't think either are controversial statements.
He isnt even good dude lol. His career is as mediocre as they come.pretty nuffy to completely disregard Dixon's career because he said something that offended a few supporters too.
How oppo fans view Dixon. Don't recall this ever being said about Schulz.
View attachment 2011864
Lol the commentators love him because BIG BEARD DIXON SMASH FARKENHow oppo fans view Dixon. Don't recall this ever being said about Schulz.
View attachment 2011864
no i just disregard him because he decided to be a member of the hinkley cult and nodded his head to every stupid thing he said for 10 years. There's loyalty and then there's lemmings, Charlie's in the lemming camppretty nuffy to completely disregard Dixon's career because he said something that offended a few supporters too.
Prior to 2023 he only missed games (as captain) due to injury.Not sure old mate TJ played only 1 season too long as I have a memory of him having his pants pulled down when he was dropped to the Maggies some years earlier, including in a game at Alberton by an ex norf melbourne magoos forward playing for WWT who was so over weight he looked like he was about 5 months pregnant.
Probably need to disregard Robbie Gray too then, and basically the majority of the squad from the last 12 years.no i just disregard him because he decided to be a member of the hinkley cult and nodded his head to every stupid thing he said for 10 years. There's loyalty and then there's lemmings, Charlie's in the lemming camp
I missed the part where Robbie had a go at the supporters that dared to criticise the regime. When was it?Probably need to disregard Robbie Gray too then, and basically the majority of the squad from the last 12 years.
No current season stats available
I have never met Dixon so I have no insights to his character - BUT - He once financially helped out an Aboriginal friend of mine so that is good enough for me. I really cant understand the bile put on past and present players of PAFC.I'm not saying this but the general consensus I get about Charlie Dixon is that Port supporters just think he's a w@nker.
Dixon is a nice fellow. Briefly met him once. I can’t understand the negativity towards our players and I find it weird that a supporter would expect a player to can the club or its administration. But I must say we as supporters sometimes seem to see when players are finished but the club DOES NOT SEEM to see it. Examples: Lycett was finished two years before he retired. It was evident Jonas was not best 22 by the end of 2022.I have never met Dixon so I have no insights to his character - BUT - He once financially helped out an Aboriginal friend of mine so that is good enough for me. I really cant understand the bile put on past and present players of PAFC.
Yep. And when you live interstate you have a better perspective on this. If I said the name 'Charlie Dixon' to everyone I know who follows football to any extent I think I'd get a near 100% name recognition rate. Saying 'Jay Schulz' to the same people I think I'd battle for 50% name recognition.