Certified Legendary Thread China History in the Making

Having lived half my life in the US I would imagine that they would be mystified if AFL got a foothold in China and not American Football. I am not sure if the US always has the nous to negotiate properly in the China market. The thing that could go against the NFL is that their sport is already a known quantity and perhaps too American. Australia is also closer to China so there is also a geographical advantage. It would be unfathomable that an upstart sport such as Aussie Rules could trump the greatest show on Earth (wardrobe malfunction and all). It will be interesting to watch this space.
Time Zone Time Zone Time Zone. China is on Perth's time zone as like WA they dont do daylight saving between 2010 and 2019

For the NFL to get a game in a decent east coast USA time on Sunday arvo, you have to start playing the game in China between 3 am and 7am. I assume the laws that stop an NFL game being broadcast Friday night and Saturday, to protect High School and College gridiron respectively, also apply to games coming in from outside USA. To play in the Thursday night time slot the game would have to start before noon Friday morning China time. That's not going to happen and its why we wont see an NFL game in Oz.

When Keith Thomas came to us I suspected him of being a SANFL plant. I was very wrong.

Then, during the one-club movement, while I really wanted our two teams to be united (see my avatar, which I must fix) I wrote that what was the major task was that our club be financially secure. I'm that kind of cautious person, way different to KT and Kochie and Co.

This chance at the real big time could go wrong, and may not be as good for us as we all want, but I am so grateful to everyone that has made our club head in a positive direction. Everyone from the top down to Lockhart Road and Needs Gravy, and even Gillon and Malcolm.

And with such style, in bringing SA and the rest of the AFL along for the ride!
He was the SANFL's candidate. So was Haysman. But people with a even a skerrick of integrity will not be puppets! Both maintained their integrity and realised their fiduciary duty was to the club, not the SANFL. Its that simple.

The general reaction to this outside of the Port community is astounding and some of the worst traits of the human race rear their ugly heads. The main board is an amazing display of cognitive dissonance and jealousy. The things they say to help themselves sleep at night, bizarre.

Typical reaction to immediately think what doesn't directly and immediately benefit me, is rubbish. Don't they realise this could be huge for every club, not just Port? Of course not. Too focused on their own shitty selfish clubs.

Seriously feels like we are in the SANFL again judging by some of the reactions of other teams supporters.
I am reminded of the words by Teddy Roosevelt who had 2 famous quotes about the man who tries to do things but doesn't always succeed - its similar to the Aussie give it a go philosophy.

Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs,
even though checkered by failure,
than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much,
because they live in the gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat
Speech before the Hamilton Club, Chicago, April 10, 1899

"It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles
or where the doer of deeds could have done better.
The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood,
who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again,
because there is no effort without error or shortcoming,
but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions,
who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end,
the triumph of high achievement, and
who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly,
so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat."

"Citizenship in a Republic," Speech at the Sorbonne, Paris, April 23, 1910

I am reminded of the words by Teddy Roosevelt who had 2 famous quotes about the man who tries to do things but doesn't always succeed - its similar to the Aussie give it a go philosophy.

than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much,

"It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles
The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood,
so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat."

Outstanding. OT: This is the exact attitude I'm trying to instill, not yet successfully, into my 8 year old daughter. She is so paranoid about making mistakes that she prefers not to try to do things that she isn't confident she can do well. Unfortunately I'm probably the world's worst teacher!

I can't even begin to explain why investing in America is a bad idea. The most insular, sheltered and undiverse Western nation with literally no care outside of the US. Going against MLB, NHL, NFL. They're cooked. Not even the world game gets a genuine look in America.
Nah there is plenty of opportunity in USA and Canada - but it is at the niche level, not the broad brush new canvas level.

In China we can adopt the Paul Keating approach - I'm on the big canvas painting the big picture, and as a result, sometimes I splash a bit of paint.

When you combine HK and China, it still only sits behind Japan.

Precisely but even if it didn't what the f..k anyway.

I agree with what others have said, don't read their paranoid ramblings, the sad thing is that there is more than a trace of, dare I say it? r..cism in much of what is being written by these, (dont call them keyboard warriors, a warrior is a brave human who fights in the open for their beliefs these cretins are snipers hiding in the bushes), low lives.

Unfortunately Adelaide seems to have more than its share of them, having lived in both the largest state in Australia as well as spending much of my life in the smallest, I feel I can attest to this,

In apprehension of upsetting you fine SA's there appears to be a more naysayers here than anywhere else I have lived.

And the hatred towards PAFC is so over the top it beggars belief.

The worrying thing about this is that it is so embedded within sections of the media and is so constantly encouraged that it permeates right through to the general public.

I recall I had to do some work once inside someone's home, there was Crows memorabilia around the place, so being the smart person I am I deduced they were Crows supporters, I made a gentle comment to them to which they said "you a Port person?" "yep" I said proudly upon which I was asked to leave their premises, I thought they were joking, as you would , but no they were serious I left with some reference towards me about checking me to ensure I wasn't stealing anything.

This is absolutely true, I am a respectable retired business man and well spoken ( not your average Port fan, JOKE peoples)

I still shake my head at this and have experienced on more than one occasion genuine dislike towards Port supporters that goes beyond just the normal banter.

Never in any of the other states I have lived have I come across this, in some instances, viciousness, towards Port people, it is really quite over the top and needs to be checked and the first place to start is in the media.

Wow. Outstanding. This should be on our club's website and framed on the wall, along with "Port Adelaide Football Club. Brave both on and off the field."

Precisely but even if it didn't what the f..k anyway.

I agree with what others have said, don't read their paranoid ramblings, the sad thing is that there is more than a trace of, dare I say it? r..cism in much of what is being written by these, (dont call them keyboard warriors, a warrior is a brave human who fights in the open for their beliefs these cretins are snipers hiding in the bushes), low lives.

Unfortunately Adelaide seems to have more than its share of them, having lived in both the largest state in Australia as well as spending much of my life in the smallest, I feel I can attest to this,

In apprehension of upsetting you fine SA's there appears to be a more naysayers here than anywhere else I have lived.

And the hatred towards PAFC is so over the top it beggars belief.

The worrying thing about this is that it is so embedded within sections of the media and is so constantly encouraged that it permeates right through to the general public.

I recall I had to do some work once inside someone's home, there was Crows memorabilia around the place, so being the smart person I am I deduced they were Crows supporters, I made a gentle comment to them to which they said "you a Port person?" "yep" I said proudly upon which I was asked to leave their premises, I thought they were joking, as you would , but no they were serious I left with some reference towards me about checking me to ensure I wasn't stealing anything.

This is absolutely true, I am a respectable retired business man and well spoken ( not your average Port fan, JOKE peoples)

I still shake my head at this and have experienced on more than one occasion genuine dislike towards Port supporters that goes beyond just the normal banter.

Never in any of the other states I have lived have I come across this, in some instances, viciousness, towards Port people, it is really quite over the top and needs to be checked and the first place to start is in the media.
Yep

Turnbull's upset the rugby states like we've upset everyone.

1460645659191.jpg

http://www.theage.com.au/federal-po...y-all-the-way-from-china-20160414-go672k.html
Haha and the head of the Republican Movement - an ex Wallaby.

He was the SANFL's candidate. So was Haysman. But people with a even a skerrick of integrity will not be puppets! Both maintained their integrity and realised their fiduciary duty was to the club, not the SANFL. Its that simple.

That and Rob Lucas had smugly declared Haysman - who was still very much in the seat - would be replaced by Thomas as part of a wider treatise about our supposed mismanagement on the floor of the parliament.

This wasn't exactly a case of 'Port rank'n'file wrongly hate Norwood guy'. On the spectrum of where there's smoke there's fire, these circumstances dwarfed Hiroshima.

All's well that ends well.

Nah don't waste your breath. Just save it all up for when this starts to all pay off.
Quoting this to keep my spot in the queue.

I have said before that I hoped this will be good for Port and I still hope that. 2 strong SA sides is what's needed to make the vFL bend our way.

But this nagging voice says its going to be not as great as its made to be nor as bad as it could be

KT said himself when he came in that he was pro SANFL, it took literally no time at all for that stance to change. I suspect he took one look at our balance sheet and where our money was going and he shaped up pretty quickly.

2 strong SA sides is what's needed to make the vFL bend our way.

Please shelve this VFL/SA Great nonsense.

Port and the Crows are independently-governed members of a multi-billion dollar organisation. Our clubs are rife with players and staff members from all over the country.

If the past 5 or so years have taught us anything it's that the SANFL and its insular mentality were holding everyone and everything back.

KT said himself when he came in that he was pro SANFL, it took literally no time at all for that stance to change. I suspect he took one look at our balance sheet and where our money was going and he shaped up pretty quickly.
But, but, poort powaz need to pay their debts back.....

F@#$ me

We should burn the language and put the ashes in an urn.

Now that we have had a day to absorb the enormity of the announcement, I would love for LR to go through his cryptic clues one by one and explain them in his words.

Just for you, mate:

# 1 = MoU Tai = Memorandum of Understanding, with PM involved, worthy of toasts all round.

# 2 = Andrew Fagan Looks on, uninvited =
AFL is invited, Fagan isn't, reduced to staring goggle-eyed down the China rabbit-hole wondering how he can horn in on the action.

# 3 = What does Fagan see? A two-way signpost, indicating whatever is behind the trees is not only too big to get around, but also that business is going to be done in both directions.

# 4 = The GM signage = Gillon McLachlan will be in attendance.

# 5 = Big Buddha Bob McLean = Mr Gui is a devout Buddhist, delighted to have our (foot) balls in his hands.

# 6 = Looney Tunes 'This time we didn't forget the gravy' = Cartoon begins with beef, beef, acres of beef (reference to cattle), with 'movie stars' connection to change of avatar including Nicole Kidman (reference to Mr Gui's interest in acquiring the Kidman estates).
Also a tribute to Needs Gravy who back in January was at a private function at which, upon telling a complete stranger he was a Port member, was regaled with a string of confidential details about what was about to happen in China. This news was passed to REH who passed it to me. I advised KT and the leak was plugged. What are the odds? How great is BigFooty at protecting our beloved Club?

I bet all of these people work for private companies that are owned by foreign investors.
Including none other than one Stephen Rowe. 5aa is part of the Rupert Murdoch empire and he is an American.
Rowe you are nothing more than a dog whistling racist and this will not be lost on our Chinese benefactor or our
Asian neighbours and friends. Sometimes being an idiot is no defence although you often use/hide behind it
as an easy out for your ignorance and bias. Fagan's sideshow dismissal of our China partnership was no different imo.
Just as Rowe is comfortable taking his wage from an American so Fages is happy to court an American liaison.
They both represent the fly as one corporation. Their 'one ness' deeply rooted in anglo saxon and only anglo saxon.
Shameful, inexcusable and unpardonable. The next time I see an Asian at our march I will go to any length
to make them feel wanted and appreciated. The PAFC embraces our fans no matter their colour or religion.
The "We fly as one" crowd do so as long as your one of 'us'.
wink wink!

I think the key difference between this China strategy and other expansion attempts is that this is not simply another case of the AFL trying to impose itself and its self proclaimed superior product onto a foreign market. It was concerted effort by the club to build relationships and create opportunities to foster an interest in our club and the sport more broadly.

This is not a one-off match with some token coaching clinics and clips of people taking hangers. It is a comprehensive approach to garner interest in the game and develop lasting relationships within China on a number of levels, which is being supported and backed financially by a Chinese company.

The simple minds in the media either cannot, or refuse to, accept this. Probably because it is easier to apply past results to predict future outcomes...even when the circumstances are vastly different!

Just for you, mate:

# 1 = MoU Tai = Memorandum of Understanding, with PM involved, worthy of toasts all round.

AFL is invited, Fagan isn't, reduced to staring goggle-eyed down the China rabbit-hole wondering how he can horn in on the action.

# 3 = What does Fagan see? A two-way signpost, indicating whatever is behind the trees is not only too big to get around, but also that business is going to be done in both directions.

# 5 = Big Buddha Bob McLean = Mr Gui is a devout Buddhist, delighted to have our (foot) balls in his hands.

# 6 = Looney Tunes 'This time we didn't forget the gravy' = Cartoon begins with beef, beef, acres of beef (reference to cattle), with 'movie stars' connection to change of avatar including Nicole Kidman (reference to Mr Gui's interest in acquiring the Kidman estates).
Also a tribute to Needs Gravy who back in January was at a private function at which, upon telling a complete stranger he was a Port member, was regaled with a string of confidential details about what was about to happen in China. This news was passed to REH who passed it to me. I advised KT and the leak was plugged. What are the odds? How great is BigFooty at protecting our beloved Club?
Thank you. Very very clever indeed and yes our great club is in good hands.

Just for you, mate:

Exactly as I suspected...

Yep massive kudos to Needs Gravy who wanted to tell the world what he heard but sent me a PM asking what he should do and we plugged it up. This led to LR setting me up with a meeting with KT and we had a long chat for an hour and part of that conversion will be revealed in a thread I will start later today about taking the game to China.

check out the main board page, post 186 page 8.

absolute gold.

I must have the wrong post because that one is fairly reasonable.

Yep massive kudos to Needs Gravy who wanted to tell the world what he heard but sent me a PM asking what he should do and we plug it up. This led LR setting me up with a meeting with KT and we had a long chat for an hour and part of that conversion will be revealed in a thread I will start later today about taking the game to China.
The threads that keep on giving. This story will go down in the next book about Port Adelaide Football Club called "Two Worlds Colliding." Very enjoyable reading, look forward to more.