Traded Chris Yarran [to Richmond for Pick 19]

My personal opinion only, others will probably disagree, but he's a player with great talent, high draft pick, but attitude/effort problems detract from his value and has been dropped from a team on the bottom of the ladder for form.

Jack Watts fits that bill well. But without the negative attitude. Also hasn't walked out on the club mid contact.

Jack watts rated 237 in the comp.

Highly doubtful that Chris Yarran will be at the Tigers next year.
It will certainly not be for any 2nd round selection.
In 2014 Chris Yarran had the highest ball retention rate for kicks inside50 in the AFL.
This stat shows that he is elite by foot.
He also lead the league by a fair way for running bounces and kicked 22 goals playing off a half back flank.

Then in 2015 this happens to Yarran
Breaks up with girl friend who moves interstate.
Suffers interrupted preseason.
Close mates Jeff Garlett and Mitch Robinson are moved on.
Father is facing serious charges for bashing a Rock Spider in Jail
The coach who Yarran was very close with is sacked.
Mid year there is constant speculation that Carlton players will be traded.
Carlton struggles badly on field.

Looking at what Yarran was dealing with this year, it's no surprise his football suffered.
Talk of him having a bad attitude are off the mark.
His 24yo has elite pace elite skills and can play multiple positions.
Late first rounder or player of equal quality or we keep him and let Bolton try and turn him around.

So the home and away season doesn't count? How do teams make finals, and get top 4? Are you a 12 year old? You only pick and choose stats that support the nonsense you post.

Seasons are long, anything can happen. Finals is Usually when teams stand up and show their worth, not sure that needs explaining tbh

So the home and away season doesn't count? How do teams make finals, and get top 4? Are you a 12 year old? You only pick and choose stats that support the nonsense you post.
I'm using the same rating system for all of my posts. Not sure how that's picking and choosing. I see a lot of posts with people attacking me personally rather than the points being made. Usually the sign of a weak argument

In 2014 Chris Yarran had the highest ball retention rate for kicks inside50 in the AFL.
He also lead the league by a fair way for running bounces and kicked 22 goals playing off a half back flank.

Agree his ball usage by foot is good, but he is a player that is not good enough to rate highly in Carltons BF, only once has he finished better than a top 10 finish ==> a second rounder as fair currency

A stat that rates him over his career

Agree Bennell would be more of a priority but then he is fragile as welll (in a different 'Connors' sort of way).

I'm sure you could offer up next years first rd for Harley. GC have no bargaining power really as they've sacked him (unlike Carlton who have a contracted Yaz)
Reckon if Bennell agrees to come to us the trade for him will take priority. We will deal with Carlton after that. If we don't have the picks to satisfy them, Carlton have every right to say he's contracted for 2016 and convince him to play. Personally I hope this scenario plays out.

You've misinterpreted that post as being about their original draft position. It wasn't about that. It was about where the afl ranking system puts players, as opposed to what their perceived value is to the majority of footy fans.

You've conflated two seperate things there mate
No you basically listed a bunch of high draft picks you deem better then their higher rated low draft pick counterparts as a way to dispute ratings.

You could say the same for you highlighting wins against top sides and ignoring the terrible losses against poor sides now couldn't we?

No you basically listed a bunch of high draft picks you deem better then their higher rated low draft pick counterparts as a way to dispute ratings.
You've misread it, was comparing those players to draw attention to how highly talented and rated players are ranked below others that are considered to be worse. Aka, Bell and Motlop. I don't know when they were drafted, so can't make comparisons about that.

Highly doubtful that Chris Yarran will be at the Tigers next year.
It will certainly not be for any 2nd round selection.

Then in 2015 this happens to Yarran
Breaks up with girl friend who moves interstate.
Suffers interrupted preseason.
Close mates Jeff Garlett and Mitch Robinson are moved on.
Father is facing serious charges for bashing a Rock Spider in Jail
The coach who Yarran was very close with is sacked.
Mid year there is constant speculation that Carlton players will be traded.
Carlton struggles badly on field.

Looking at what Yarran was dealing with this year, it's no surprise his football suffered.
Talk of him having a bad attitude are off the mark.
His 24yo has elite pace elite skills and can play multiple positions.
Late first rounder or player of equal quality or we keep him and let Bolton try and turn him around.
Then why does Carlton want to trade him?

You don't put good players up for trade. The new coach and list manger don't rate him highly enough and are open to trade offers.

Traded Chris Yarran [to Richmond for Pick 19]