Classy Pies Fans at it again

Its probably not a particularly tactful thing to chant about but i dont think its worthy of calling panic stations on crowd behaviour. I dont think players feelings has ever really come into consideration for footy crowds so why would we start now

Actually I don't recall a media frenzy or the Millane family airing disgust over the bad-taste but seemingly inevitable "red all over" and "a good start" jokes that were going around very soon after his death.

But you'll find a thicker skin than normal is a necessity for a pies fan. ;)

Yeah, and I don't recall a media frenzy about "need another seven astronauts" either, but that's probably because it's not relevant right now.

How about you Didaics ?

Do you support this sledging of Ablett Jnr ?

Would you do it ?

It's not anti-Collingwood at all.

It's anti-offensive behaviour.

Edit: In fact, I doubt anyone could reasonable suggest that this isolated group of 200 Collingwood non-members is representative of the Collingwood supporter base at all.

Then why mention Collingwood at all, why not say for example. Opposing fans at Geelong games this season....etc.

Because there's no need.

Tens of thousands of Collingwood supporters already know it's not them at fault.

And decent Collingwood supporters already know that they don't condone this kind of disgusting behaviour.

There's only 200 who should feel confronted ... and a few others yet to realise that it's offensive.

And to those Collingwood fans who are prepared to support this kind of behaviour, and to those disgusting few prepared to participate, could you spare a thought for Alisha Horan's family right now ? How do you reckon they feel about a couple of hundred Collingwood supporters using their daughter's unfortunate death to taunt a bloke playing football FFS ?

Think about it.

Get off your high horse, John D.

This is a deadset non-issue, stop making it one.

It is a blatant attack on Collingwood, and Collingwood supporters, and we shouldn't have to feel guilty for supporting the team we support.

This behaviour is typical of football fan behaviour, and happens every week, and has happened for decades.

John D, along the HS, are trying to make out that this is an exclusive Collingwood issue, this is an isolated incident, and it's atypical at football matches.

I'm not wasting my night justifying my support for Collingwood. I'm going to bed.

Get off your high horse, John D.

This is a deadset non-issue, stop making it one.

It is a blatant attack on Collingwood, and Collingwood supporters, and we shouldn't have to feel guilty for supporting the team we support.

I should imagine that there's no Collingwood supporters feeling guilty about the team they support.

There might be a few feeling guilty about supporting the offensive behaviour of 200 supporters, if they stop to think about it long enough.

This behaviour is typical of football fan behaviour, and happens every week, and has happened for decades.

John D, along the HS, are trying to make out that this is an exclusive Collingwood issue, this is an isolated incident, and it's atypical at football matches.

Where have I tried to make out it's an exclusive Collingwood issue ?

I do agree that it's atypical behaviour though.

I'm not wasting my night justifying my support for Collingwood. I'm going to bed.

Nobody is asking you to justify your support for Collingwood. I do hope you feel the need to justify your support for those 200 offensive supporters though. They are, after all, two separate issues. You don't seem to be able to separate the two though. I hope others have better luck.

Because there's no need.

Tens of thousands of Collingwood supporters already know it's not them at fault.

And decent Collingwood supporters already know that they don't condone this kind of disgusting behaviour.

There's only 200 who should feel confronted ... and a few others yet to realise that it's offensive.

And to those Collingwood fans who are prepared to support this kind of behaviour, and to those disgusting few prepared to participate, could you spare a thought for Alisha Horan's family right now ? How do you reckon they feel about a couple of hundred Collingwood supporters using their daughter's unfortunate death to taunt a bloke playing football FFS ?

Think about it.

great point about the Horan family.

collingwood supporters where involved. yes.
this is a reflection of all collingwood supporters. no.
and if one more supporter somehow tries to connect this to the carlton v collingwood rivalry, i will go kick down the lexxis center.
This is about actions that where un australian, stop trying to defend it because your a collingwood supporter or because you dnt really like geelong. this is about a group of people attempting to victimise a young man trying to do his job, over an issue that he never had anything thing to do with. surely gary ablett has been through enough with the issues in his private life, without a bunch of feral bogans trying to get it in the way of doing his job, and like i said something he never had anything to do with in the first place

And another thing ... do you reckon Joffa is trying to make Collingwood supporters feel guilty about the team they support ?

No, of course not.

He might make a few feel embarrassed about the team they support, but he's right on the money with this issue.

I bet the Horan family were feeling better before their daughters story was needlessly trotted out in the media to sell papers.

i doubt anyone brought the paper purely to read that. and it was one short article, barley "trotted". The newspapers printed it because its news, and people care, other wise we wouldnt be having this discussion would we? If 200 feral's didnt do it, then it wouldnt need to be in the paper. I know old mick does it, but can we please stop with the blame game

People do buy papers if there is a Collingwood story, we all know it. And this isn't even a newsworthy article. It's exposure of her story that wasn't needed. We'll see where it actually ends up in the paper but with Collingwood players at the tribunal last night you'd think it'd be fairly prominent.

If there was a newspaper article with a public figure damning a group of supporters every time a opposition player was heckled then there wouldn't be much room for anything else.

Where was the article about rows of supporters sitting around me that were calling Milne a rapist round 1.

Where was the article about the groups of supporters at the carlton game damning Andrew Lovett as a man who is violent towards women (not in so polite terms).

Where is the article about the of supporters yelling out strike 3 towards Buddy at the Geelong vs Hawks game.

Don't even get me started on what Didak cops.

yeah all those players have copped it big time, for years and as for milne, even alot of st.kilda supporters call him that. all of those examples where of situations that players (where they are based on fact or not) had brought apon themselves, we are talking about something that ablett jnr had nothing to do with, he wasnt even playing afl when it happened, he was a teenager, so why should anyone have the right to say anything about it. how can you defend that?

It is an insult, something designed to amuse the people singing it and probably go straight over the head of the player it's targeted at. People will drag up whatever they can in this situation. For Jnr (you should be grateful) the most they have is his father.

The point is if you are outraged that a player is being heckled about what his father did, you should be outraged that players get heckled for all sorts of ridiculous things.

i dnt really count accusations of rape, drugs, drink driving and violence against women as "ridiculous things". Your assumption that it went over his head dosent make it any more respectable, or make it right.

Also, i dnt see the reason for myself, fellow supporters or the football club to feel grateful for that, Ablett has a very good reputation because he choses to act in a respectable manor, why be grateful for something that has been earnt. I don't care if your supports choose to scream drunken andrew mackie quotes of "do you wanna have a shot at the title" because that happened and he said that. The point is that this isnt right, we don't want to see this happen. Would it be right if joel, scott and troy selwood where taunted because of the des hedland/ adam selwood incident a few years ago, no it wouldnt because it's not relivent.

So your OK with people being taunted about being a rapist even though they were never found guilty, but when it comes to bagging someone connected to your club your outraged...

There will be no crackdown on these groups. Sure this week the security might act all tough but really if they throw out people for abusing players via song then expect to see nobody behind the goals for Victory games because South/North End can dish it out with the best.

im well awear of what is sung at victory games, as i am there every week, and they are generally not personal attacks of players personal lives. Never said im ok with it, im just saying its a different issue, and they shouldnt be classed as "ridiculous things". Anyway weather they did it or not, it would be next to impossible to prove rape against an afl player, its hard enough in a trial when both sides are equal.

look im just saying that line was crossed at its a sad day when we are up 2am trying to defend these things, its not about clubs its about people, and something that isnt right.

baz lurhman featured this quote is australia "just because it is dosen't mean it should be" and maybe that what needs to be applied to this issue.

Another day, another 'thought police' story.

(although I did laugh at the source of this story - Dave 'do as I say not as I do' Hughes )

Also, it would probably be helpful to the rest of us if the Thought Police would publish some sort of guide on what we can and cannot say at the football, how we should act, when we should applaud, what we should sing, when we should sing it, etc.

Some of us that got conditioned by the illusion of a free society are struggling to keep up!

Interesting that a "Comedian" would complain about something like this, given the material most use.

Quoting someone like Baz Lurhman as an arbiter of what is good behaviour,.......:rolleyes:

Generation txt don't you love em.

Classy Pies Fans at it again