Collingwood fan cheering Wellingtons hit on Simpson

A moron at the footy? I'm shocked and dismayed.
Groundbreaking news. Unheard of.

Here's another thing just quietly - all clubs have morons in their supporter base. Amazing, but true.

although I do not believe he intentionally meant to take the player out
Absolute bullshit. If he didn't mean to take Simpson out why the hell did he jump so that he could catch him with his hip?
If Wellingham was attempting the mark as he should have then his arms would've been above his head - they were at his side for maximum impact.

Enough excuses, your boy deliberately took out a bloke on the other team.
Admit it and regain some face. Continue to deny it and you fool nobody, while making yourself look like one.

anyone else getting sick of these threads?

one idiot in the crowd does something stupid..... -> "*team names*'s supporters are all scum!"

send an email to collingwood or the afl if you really want to make a difference, get the blokes membership revoked and banned from attending games
I am. Why the need to continually point out the bleedingly obvious? Ie, all clubs have a minority bogan, ****head and/or moron element to their supporter base.

Maybe we should just have a stickied "highlight the latest disgraceful behaviour by supporter" thread?

Get off your high horses , every clubs got them . We might have the most of that kind due to our numbers but don't paint us all with that brush .

was disgraceful by the supporter. Almost as disgraceful as the hit itself. I'm ashamed this morning of what Wellingham did, although I do not believe he intentionally meant to take the player out, he took his eyes off the footy and when you do that, you take the brunt of the tribunal, the fans, the club and the AFL community in general. He'll get at least 5 weeks IMO.
I think you could mount a very good argument that he did precisely that unfortunately. :thumbsdown:

Absolute bullshit. If he didn't mean to take Simpson out why the hell did he jump so that he could catch him with his hip?
If Wellingham was attempting the mark as he should have then his arms would've been above his head - they were at his side for maximum impact.

Enough excuses, your boy deliberately took out a bloke on the other team.
Admit it and regain some face. Continue to deny it and you fool nobody, while making yourself look like one.

At what point did I deny the fact it was a stupid hit? I actually said he'll get plenty of weeks. He deserves every one of them. There were no excuses, he took Simpson out and he took his eyes off the ball.

The only one that needs to save face here is Sharrod himself. If you think my post was defending his actions, you are clueless.

"your boy deliberately took out a bloke on the other team." I don't believe that in the marking contest at that point Wellingham was thinking "hey, I'll take Kade Simpson out". Only a the rare dog breed footballer and individual does. Wellingham wasn't attempting to mark a football either. My guess (and it is only a guess) is that he shirked the contest fearing the collision and went into self-preservation mode.

You and I agree the hit was terrible, where we differ and there's no face saving required as you suggest is that I don't believe it was a deliberate act. Had I believed that, I'd say Wellingham would deserve 8 weeks plus.

Hopefully you can understand where I'm coming from, not as a Pies supporter defending my own, because with a hit like that, you can't.

Sydney fans cheered Barry Hall's punch on Staker. Hard to see what exactly happened when you're at the game anyway. No big deal.

Is there anything lower than cheering when a player gets injured? Given that the injury occurred through a cowardly act certainly it's a disgrace for any supporter to cheer and applaud these actions. Hope Collingwood make an example of this clown that appeared front and centre on TV

Also to the Collingwood poster claiming it was the highlight of the night you've really displayed your lack of football intelligence.
Ah yes, the offended saint strikes again. So surprising to see you posting about something you see from most clubs most weeks.Oh that's right, it's Collingwood isn't it. :rolleyes:

Probably a lot more intelligent than creating an alias to hide the shame of your true allegiance I'd say. :oops:

Unfortunately its a culture thing at Collingwood.

Reminded me very much of Magro's weak attack on Jezza. Thirty years later they still applaud this type of act.

Reminded me of that flog walls jumping straight into that blokes back when he wasn't looking, pretty expected from a cheating Carlton dog

The screams of "Baaaaalll" everytime one of their players lays a tackle is becoming unbearable. By far the lowest football I.Q. supporters you will ever come across.
And no other club does this? Jesus Christ listen to your own supporters.

I must fess up, I did cheer but I didn't know the circumstances. From what I could see up on the top level both players had eyes on the ball (obviously not true) and I was happy that my club actually had the hunger to go in like that (obviously in the end a coward act).

I'm not trying to make excuses but anyone who has seen Carlton V Collingwood clashes over the years will know that there have been worse things occur. But still a coward act by Wellingham.

Ah yes, the offended saint strikes again. So surprising to see you posting about something you see from most clubs most weeks.Oh that's right, it's Collingwood isn't it. :rolleyes:

Probably a lot more intelligent than creating an alias to hide the shame of your true allegiance I'd say. :oops:
He's called himself The Finger.

He probably can't contain his urge to point it.

:)

Poor form, but happened a fair bit this year.

I was mortified when some of our supporters jeered Didak, though that was more due to the reception that Watts got 20 seconds before when he shanked it to Didak and Alan's kick itself.

For most Collingwood home games televised on Channel 7 anyway, I see the same bloke most weeks making a dick of himself.

He has had a front row seat for years. He sums a few of them up fairly well. Wouldn't be feeling so cheerful this morning, no doubt.

Is that the guy who was carrying on like an idiot every time Betts kicked a goal. He's entertaining at least.

Is there anything lower than cheering when a player gets injured? Given that the injury occurred through a cowardly act certainly it's a disgrace for any supporter to cheer and applaud these actions. Hope Collingwood make an example of this clown that appeared front and centre on TV

Also to the Collingwood poster claiming it was the highlight of the night you've really displayed your lack of football intelligence.

If it was the person i am thinking of, I thought he was clapping Simmo getting up and saying like good stuff mate.

We all have dickheads that support our teams, hell i am a dickhead after a loss most of the time.