List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

I'm not sure I'm as triggered as everyone else about the F1. Even if we slid to miss finals, you don't get a Nick Daicos or Sheezel very often who comes in straight away. There's also plenty that don't make it at all. Schultz is a known quantity.

We are in the hunt to stay at the top, right now.

BUT if it's F1 + something that's a shafting.
Yeah I'd only be concerned if I thought there was a chance of us being in the bottom 6 and I think that is Buckley's - literally - if he was coaching.

Better not give them our future 1st. Teams can easily drop down the ladder with a heap of injuries.

Yeah I wouldn’t be letting go of our future first

Especially with JUH and King coming out of contract next year. Schultz can either wait it out or we go with Billings for far less

Which clubs would trade a future first for pick 19 which is gonna end up in the 20's? It would be a dumb trade for them surely, we'd have to throw in more picks
Brisbane who have Ashcroft as a father son (pick will be deleted)
Carlton who have Camporeale x 2 as father sons
Melbourne to get pick 1 this year

Schultz is a UFA at the end of next season which I believe means Fremantle can't match an offer and force a trade?

He'll also be a year older.

Under those circumstances it's hard to see him receive a contract offer from anyone that will generate end of 1st round compensation as clubs will simply offer what they believe he's worth instead of manipulating the offer to try and avoid paying a valuable pick in trade.

As others have said if our offer to McStay only generated a second round compensation selection last year for Brisbane it's hard to believe Schultz will deliver anything more for Fremantle.

Pick #19 which by draft night will effectively become an early second round selection plus a secondary 2nd round selection on top of that seems reasonable.

For everyone not too happy with the Billings interest, did you have the same feelings for Mitchell, McStay, Markov and Frampton when we showed interest. I trust Fly, Leppa and Co to get the best out of any player currently out of favour at another current club. It's amazing what a great club culture can do to a player.

Imagine how ticked off Schultz will be if Freo don’t trade him.

Collingwood is offering you a contract that guarantees you security which Freo have never offered.

12 months is a long long time in footy for him to have to wait for free agency.

He is not worth more than we are offering. It is a fair deal, if not overs.

I'm not sure I'm as triggered as everyone else about the F1. Even if we slid to miss finals, you don't get a Nick Daicos or Sheezel very often who comes in straight away. There's also plenty that don't make it at all. Schultz is a known quantity.

We are in the hunt to stay at the top, right now.

BUT if it's F1 + something that's a shafting.
We don’t have too many examples of where we have got more in return for a player than they are worth, conversely we have plenty where we’ve offloaded talent for cheap. I’m triggered!

Didn’t we give a first rounder for Jolly towards the end of his career. Why couldn’t Sydney give us a first round for Adams using the same logic, they will be contending next year.

As the Lachie Schultz trade hopes began to fade,
Fans clashed in fervor, in a trade offer crusade.
Collingwood and Fremantle, embroiled in debate,
Over trades and negotiations, stirred the fans' irate state.
But let's remember, fans, with all due respect,
List managers decide, a fact to reflect.
Your passions burn bright, your loyalty ablaze,
Yet in trade matters, they lead the pathways.
Collingwood, the Magpies, with history so grand,
In black and white stripes, they proudly stand.
Fremantle, you're dealing with the league's very best,
So be grateful for this trade, put your worries to rest.
In black and white stripes, Lachie Schultz looks divine,
His talents will shine, in the Pies' forward line.

Didn’t we give a first rounder for Jolly towards the end of his career. Why couldn’t Sydney give us a first round for Adams using the same logic, they will be contending next year.
The market has changed enormously since then. Go back to the early 90s and delisted guys went top 10 in the draft.

Pick 19, take it or leave it. Nothing more!!!

Bell will be stupid to not do this trade. Last thing you want is a disgruntled player in your 22 that becomes an UFA in 12 months.

approaching Schultz was always a punt

especially since Peter Bell is such a
What are you talking about? The trades gathering momentum. Shultz just rolled past my house in Nth Adelaide at a fair clip. Should make it to the Pies before Wednesday.

Kinda shocked that I still people saying we need to go for a key forward when we just won a flag without one against a team with one of the best key backs in the comp

I’d argue we probably don’t need one lol

Especially when McStay had literally just played his breakout game that showed everyone why we got him
Mate, we'll win three flags in a row and sook that Jed Walter signed a contract extension with GC.

I don't think we are going to chase a big fish next year. It depends how you define big fish. We certainly won't be giving a gun of the competition a long term lucrative contract. I can see us picking up an A grader or 2 but it won't be an A++ player
Any free agent mids next year?

Imagine how ticked off Schultz will be if Freo don’t trade him.

Collingwood is offering you a contract that guarantees you security which Freo have never offered.

12 months is a long long time in footy for him to have to wait for free agency.

He is not worth more than we are offering. It is a fair deal, if not overs.

Not only that, but he’s essentially been offered year-to-year contracts with triggers, but they offered Brockman from Hawthorn 4 years… why?!