List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

Freddy reminds me of Jarrod Molloy. Goes hard in the air and at ground level. He's unlikely to take many contested marks, but if he can bring it to ground and also provide a contest and pressure at ground level, he'll be valuable.
Jarrod was a bit of a disappointment. He suffered lots of injuries from memory, but despite, as you say, going hard in the air and on the ground, he seemed all too often to emerge from a contest without the ball - lots of bashing and crashing yet not enough ball collecting, whether in the air or on the ground. That's my memory of him anyway.

My other memory is that we swapped him for Mal Michael who went on to become a star at Brisbane. Even still, I was more than prepared to like Molloy (played full back for Fitzroy, didn't he?), to be the best friend on the sidelines that he didn't know he had, but he just didn't seem to be around often enough and long enough to telepathically bond with him as I'd like to have done.

I just thought he was going to be so much better for us than he actually was.

Jarrod was a bit of a disappointment. He suffered lots of injuries from memory, but despite, as you say, going hard in the air and on the ground, he seemed all too often to emerge from a contest without the ball - lots of bashing and crashing yet not enough ball collecting, whether in the air or on the ground. That's my memory of him anyway.

My other memory is that we swapped him for Mal Michael who went on to become a star at Brisbane. Even still, I was more than prepared to like Molloy (played full back for Fitzroy, didn't he?), to be the best friend on the sidelines that he didn't know he had, but he just didn't seem to be around often enough and long enough to telepathically bond with him as I'd like to have done.

He was a much better player at Fitzroy

He was very good in his first year for us, but then he couldn't get back on the park.

Are you taking in to account Nick Daicos for a few third rounders ?
No, I'm not. What we paid for Daicos is not related to the fact that we gave up our future first to get a couple of early 30s picks. One is a blatant weakness in the bidding system (which was further exposed this year), and the other was a poor decision with a poor return of two players we cut after the minimum contract was up.

And that is probably the next part of the assessment that needs to be taken into account - the clearly failed selection of Poulter and McMahon (which is not unsurprising, given they were picks in the 30s).

So if we are going to celebrate Hine's success in that draft, we also need to take into account failures before we form a balanced view.

Let's not forget that we also gave up pick 22 in the trade, and got back pick 44. So there was a full round of pick slippage in addition to the trade between the two players.

No, I'm not. What we paid for Daicos is not related to the fact that we gave up our future first to get a couple of early 30s picks. One is a blatant weakness in the bidding system (which was further exposed this year), and the other was a poor decision with a poor return of two players we cut after the minimum contract was up.

And that is probably the next part of the assessment that needs to be taken into account - the clearly failed selection of Poulter and McMahon (which is not unsurprising, given they were picks in the 30s).

So if we are going to celebrate Hine's success in that draft, we also need to take into account failures before we form a balanced view.
Failed? you mean we delisted him too early right? We kept spuds who didn't even manage to get on the park once and delisted CP instead, then shock, a club swooped and he played some decent footy the for the dogs on the wing and either flank. No way we had (or have now) 38+ blokes better than he was. might've been the kick up the backside he needed, but I reckon list management will be spewing about it.

Interesting article on the 2020 draft by Landsberger yesterday and how hard it was given virtually no footy in Vic that year
He re did the draft now and had 2 of our picks in top 10. Ollie Henry (pick 17 ) and Beau McCreery (pick 44)

Given we also snared a premiership player in Ginnivan and highish hopes still for McInnes and Macrae, I think Hine and co did not too bad given half the recruiters were made redundant to save costs
Pfffft, Geelong said Ollie only worth pick 26….

Man I hope karma hits them so so so hard

Jen will he start before xmas or is he 1 of the extras after xmas and what sort of player is he thank you.

Will start tomorrow until their Xmas break end of next week. Then the club will decide who survives the cut for the new year

Lucas: “Hey Tay, just talked to GW, pies are comfortable putting off any contract talks until the end of next year. I feel like it’s probably in your best interests for us to put the feelers out to see if there’s any opportunities to secure your career for longer term. You ok with that? Obviously there’s not going to be any obligations and it might give us some leverage for a longer contract with the pies if you’re 100% on staying.”

Adams: “Yeah all good mate, do what you need to do, I’m not interested in hearing anything until after we finish up though.”

Lucas: “Of course mate, getting yourself a premiership medallion is always the priority.”

Scandalous.
IMG_2996.jpeg
Sup TW Sherrin