List Mgmt. Our Trade/FA, Suburban & Country Town Thread

Honestly I think 20 is not enough but if we do manage so get pick 12 for Nobby + future 1st + some points. 12 is about right and as much as I have championed him getting to Collingwood I can't see Geelong letting him go.
If we had to pay Noble, our future first and extra points just to get pick 12 then something is very very wrong with the way Leppitsch operates because that’s a ludicrous price for us to be paying.

This is one of those cases where the stats don’t really tell the full story.
A bit like Naicos getting hammered for his ball use the CD ratings need to be adjusted for ruckman. The SDK outlier sits with the Grundy GF performance as not passing the pub test.

Tom Morris said today Melbourne asked him to explore options, but Clarry wants to stay. Conversely, Petracca wants out but Melbourne want to keep him, he would move tomorrow if he could. So two different scenarios, if Clarry goes I suspect it is to St Kilda as they have the room to fit his salary in. The only thing stopping us getting Trac is draft capital, next year however we can trade 2 years into the future and all bets are off.
Well there are conflicting reports because I’ve heard/read a couple of times today that Melbourne have said they aren’t looking to trade him.

Geelong hang on to players like their gold plated to bump up the price
Even last year ratougolea was packaged up and presented as glen jakovich
I don't think is a true representation. In the last few years they've basically given away Krueger, Fort, Cockatoo and McCarthy. Even in the Henry trade they let go Cooper Stephens, who was pick 16 three years earlier.

I have a Geelong supporting mate that is a pretty good judge. He says SDK has been horrible as a key defender for the last 2 seasons, after making such a good start. I would like the chances of him capturing previous highs, but he hasn't been getting selected because he sucks at this point.
He supports Geelong, can’t be to much of a good judge.

But the rest I agree with I think he has been underwhelming.

A bit like Naicos getting hammered for his ball use the CD ratings need to be adjusted for ruckman. The SDK outlier sits with the Grundy GF performance as not passing the pub test.
SDK was way better than grundy in the GF. Geelong got smashed that night and he was the only shinning light. If I was after a ruckman, that losing performance tells me that given another pre season, that SDK could be the equal of his brother. Watch it again, he was pretty good considering.

I have a Geelong supporting mate that is a pretty good judge. He says SDK has been horrible as a key defender for the last 2 seasons, after making such a good start. I would like the chances of him capturing previous highs, but he hasn't been getting selected because he sucks at this point.

I reckon we should recruit SDK to play him at CHF.

Yes there are Geelong supporters down here that hold that view as well. However the only games SDK missed this year were due to injury. He was overlooked for the final vs PA because Scott felt he may have been underdone following a knee injury.

He is only 23 so I think there is a lot of upside to him.

At this point SDK's career stats are comparable to that of Frampton

Can anyone tell me what I've missed about Peatling? He's not super young, his numbers don't necessarily jump off the pages, yet he's sparked this feeding frenzy. Not hating by any means, just not sure what the hype is all about.

Look at his stats for the last five weeks of the H&A when he was a full time mid. His overall numbers are a bit misleading as he was played as a sub and a HFF/Tagger.

Well there are conflicting reports because I’ve heard/read a couple of times today that Melbourne have said they aren’t looking to trade him.
They would be absolutely stark raving mad not to be trying to move him on. He's derailed a couple of seasons, caused a massive review and was the impetus for Petracca wanting out, which led to the Roffey debacle.

Context is always king, but there’s one example of the hundreds of players getting signed each and every year.
That one example, Mason Cox, has always been very open about all things related to his footy. There's a much greater chance that there are many players whose contracts are incorrectly reported and Cox is one of few that are willing to publicly correct them.

Here is an article about his rise.

He’s the kid from north-western Sydney who has quickly become the most in-demand player this AFL trade period.
It’s been a rapid rise to fame for James Peatling, the Giants’ Academy product who became an integral part of their best 23 by the end of 2024.

However, off-contract after this season, the 24-year-old reportedly has seven clubs in the competition chasing after his services.

While GWS are still considered the frontrunners, Adelaide, Collingwood, Melbourne, St Kilda, West Coast and the Western Bulldogs all have interest in the talented midfielder.

So, what attributes has Peatling shown this year to grab the attention of so many clubs? And why is it so important for the Giants that they hang onto another one of their homegrown talents?

MIDFIELDER BY TRADE​

Peatling made 19 appearances for the Giants in 2024, with seven of those as the sub. He built a reputation early in the season for his ability to quickly have an impact, however, it’s important to note his development throughout the season.

A strong performance against the Swans in round 8 wasn’t enough to keep his place and he spent the next two months bouncing in and out of the team. However, when he appeared in the VFL he looked far too good for that level, averaging 30 disposals, five tackles and two goals a game.

He returned to play every match for Adam Kingsley’s team from round 17 onwards, while earning his place in the starting side by round 19 against the Suns. What he brought to the table was unquestionable effort and immense pressure around the ball. He also finally displayed the consistency that Kingsley had been hoping to see from him.

Peatling registered a career-high 28 disposals in the win against Melbourne, on top of 11 tackles and eight clearances. His work rate was regularly praised by Kingsley as the Giants put together a strong run to end the year.

Importantly, he has been rewarded for finally taking his midfield opportunities with both hands. Before round 15 he only attended approximately a third of the Giants’ centre bounces. From round 17 onwards, he was at nearly half of them and had the third-highest attendance rate of any Giant.

His late-season averages also match that of a quality midfielder growing in confidence thanks to the experience he was gaining.

CLUTCH MOMENTS​

There’s nothing like a few headline-grabbing moments to put your value through the roof in a contract year. And Peatling did exactly that this season.

Firstly, it started in the Giants’ dramatic one-point win over St Kilda in Canberra.

After coming on as the sub, he produced a sensational mark in the final minute of the game, saving the result for GWS and handing them an important home victory.

Then during his best-on-ground showing against the Dees, Peatling made a crucial tackle inside the final minute to stop one last Melbourne attack.

It’s a quality that Kingsley’s side were crying out for this year, especially in the two finals where they were unable to hold onto a lead. It’s a good sign for Peatling that he’s shown he can stand up in the biggest moments so early in his career.

LOCKDOWN ABILITY​

If not for Joe Daniher’s late heroics, Peatling likely would have been the star of the show during the Giants’ semi-final against the Lions.

Their disappointing defeat after being 44 points up has been well scrutinised, but Peatling was one of the main reasons they were in that position to start with.

Sent to play a defensive role on All-Australian Dayne Zorko, Peatling kicked two goals with his first two touches of the game. The pressure he applied to Zorko also saw the former Brisbane captain at fault for multiple Giants goals.

A study of that game, particularly the first three-quarters, highlights Peatling’s versatility not just as an on-ball midfielder, but in playing a role for Kingsley.

WANTS TO STAY​

Ahead of the finals, Peatling made it very clear to this masthead that his priority was to stay at the Giants. “Coming through the junior ranks, and being from Sydney as well, I’d love to stay here,” he said.

He also spoke extensively about the belief he gained from earning a spot in the midfield.

If you had assessed his prospects in June, you would have understood his desire to move to another club for opportunities. However, by the end of the season, he was entrenched in the best 23 and regularly appeared at centre bounces.

“I feel like when I play my best football, I can be in this midfield,” he said.

The key to his decision is two-fold. Firstly, what does his role look like in 2025? If it’s anything like the end of this season, Kingsley should be able to assure him of a position in the midfield which should be a tick.

But then there is the length of the contract and compensation. Initial reports suggested the Giants had tabled a three-year deal, but with Isaac Cumming and Harry Perryman both confirmed to be on their way out, there is probably scope to up that offer.

While the Giants have a few other players they’re renegotiating with, Peatling has to be priority number one. Not only because of the level of interest across the competition which indicates his talent, but for the fact he is a local kid that represents what the club wants to become.

If Peatling can become a star of this Giants midfield going forward, it has the potential to spark the dreams of other kids in Western Sydney to play Aussie rules at the highest level. It’s a win-win for a club that needs every victory in the region it can get.

Look at his stats for the last five weeks of the H&A when he was in a full time mid. His overall numbers are a bit misleading as he was played as a sub and a HFF/Tagger.

And he delivered his best work in the Finals. That’s a rare trait. I hope we make Peatling an offer he can’t refuse.

Numbers are very good the last 6 weeks,

He got midfield opportunities and started to play well.

The thing that stood out was how well he found clearences.

List Mgmt. Our Trade/FA, Suburban & Country Town Thread