List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016

If WHE was fit, He'd be in the 22. He's a gun.

Possibly, but I had a look back at his last few years after reading on here how injuries have stopped him from really blossoming, and noticed in 2015 he played 19 of a possible 23 games including 11 Senior games where he did not do much of note in any of them. This year a write off but last year he wasn't in great form and had chances.

Yeah not sure how we would get a first rounder
Pair up a couple of 2nds?

If we could end up with Battle, WHE, Brown, Daicos and a spare 2nd for best available tall defender, id consider that the dream trade / draft period. Then hit free agency hard next year, try and sign Breust and Pittard and try and trade for one of Wiedeman or Wright. Then I think 2018 onwards could be very interesting.

Enjoying the optimism

Prestia nominated the Tigers according to Barrett. Tigers posters already insisting they won't part with pick 6 for him. Lol.
Not that funny really. Prestia is not worth a top 10 pick. You don't give up a top 10 pick for a guy with issues, and any player who freely nominates the tigers obviously has some serious issues.

If we get WHE, along with Elliott, Fasolo Crocker, Daicos and Brown why throw money at Breust?

Not that funny really. Prestia is not worth a top 10 pick. You don't give up a top 10 pick for a guy with issues, and any player who freely nominates the tigers obviously has some serious issues.

It'd be amusing if he changes his mind.

Any other fans, I'd feel sorry for, but it'd just make me laugh if Prestia dodges Richmond.

Wow... you really enjoy attempting to demean people don't you?
I actually did see Paul Salmon as an 18 year old and in his first year he WAS all gangly and easy to push off and under the ball (bit like Mason Cox is now) but in his second season under the tutelage of Sheeds and the other Essendon talls Salmon was simply unstoppable. He DID go on to win club and AA honours and eventually got to play in his preferred ruck position after switching clubs to Hawthorn, he had a long and distinguished career.
My comparison between Mason Cox and Paul Salmon is based on those early years, obviously PS had the experience of playing junior footy but he was still growing into his body and he was still gangly and awkward at the beginning. Only time and intense "body training" (how to use ones body rather than weight training) gave Salmon his tremendous marking power, hopefully it will assist Mason Cox in similar fashion.
I may be being optimistic ( I seriously wasn't aware that that was a sin) but I see a lot of development in Mason Cox and I hope I get to see that improvement in the next few years.

BTW... Darcy Moore is the spitting image of his dad at this early stage as well. Should I be less optimistic about him as well?

Nah mate I just call out bias when I read it it's nothing personal, but it's your perogative to take it as you wish and if you truly feel that way when having a discussion with me I'll try to reign the strength of my views in a bit!

Let's flip it another way. What raw AFL ability has Cox shown? What are his leading patterns like? How well does he read the play two possessions ahead of the game? Does he have the ability to find space? Does he cover enough ground? Really what does he have going for him aside from his height?

You've been on here 4 years now in that period how many times have you read me so strongly doubt a players ability long term and get it completely wrong? I'll give you one to start with, Varcoe. I have a feeling some will take that comment as an ego trip, but it's more that I tend not to make long term negative judgements on players.

By bringing Moore into the discussion you've brought it to a good conclusion. Moore has those raw abilities that you see in young sportspeople that just make you sit back and go "yeah we've got one here". I was critical of the match committee giving him games when he struggled early year, but like JDG and Aish the natural ability is clearly there and just like Salmon only needs the right guidance for them to cash in.

Bringing it back to Cox it just isn't there. No doubt we'll give him every opportunity, but at 26 in 2017 (only 2 months younger than Steele) his time in the game and scope to reach his ultimate potential is limited.

FWIW I think Cox's issue is that he left his run too late. If he'd come out here at 18-20 his odds of being talked about in the same company as Salmon would have been slight, but he'd have had a chance. Now though he's got Buckley's and none.

Would Aaron black be worth a punt for a packet of twisties? I understand a lot of crap leaves North, however, he is only 24 and could has shown he can obviously play.

He fits a need, but does he improve us?

We're all on the same page that finals are a given next year with the direction set out by the powers that be at the club so the question then becomes can Black come in to be an automatic best 22 selection in a team making a finals tilt?

He's played 3 matches since 2014 for a club in just that position so it feels like a move that doesn't really get us anywhere to me. That said it depends what we lose out the other end.

Aaron Black would be a great fit to play alongside Moore, Elliott, Fasolo and Cox. Showed his ability early on in his career but has suffered the most from Jarrad Waite's signing.

Would Aaron black be worth a punt for a packet of twisties? I understand a lot of crap leaves North, however, he is only 24 and could has shown he can obviously play.

He looked good to me a few years ago. Shaded out by an experienced tall forward line. Definitely worth a look.

Anyone seen him in VFL?

Aaron Black would be a great fit to play alongside Moore, Elliott, Fasolo and Cox. Showed his ability early on in his career but has suffered the most from Jarrad Waite's signing.
Is Black playing Seniors at North?
They have a very old forward line and heaps of injuries, if Black is not playing seniors with those things in his favour, there may be a reason

Can I just put another name out there for everyone to ponder?

He's experienced, a goalkicker (1.8pgm over his career), a brilliant mark, a fantastic link man (350mpg in 2016) and has outwardly stated his desire to play for Collingwood.

Travis Cloke anyone? I can't buy the way the club have dealt with him this year leaving us to discuss the likes of Black. That's not to pot Black more to say I think we can get more out of Cloke in 2017.

Can I just put another name out there for everyone to ponder?

He's experienced, a goalkicker (1.8pgm over his career), a brilliant mark, a fantastic link man (350mpg in 2016) and has outwardly stated his desire to play for Collingwood.

Travis Cloke anyone? I can't buy the way the club have dealt with him this year leaving us to discuss the likes of Black. That's not to pot Black more to say I think we can get more out of Cloke in 2017.

Mentioned that a while back.

Slim down and push up the ground.
Riewoldt had to do the same.