List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016

39 goals, 68 marks and 82 tackles for the year... Breust is hardly a dud or soft. If Elliot or fasolo gave us these figures this year we'd all be wrapped.
Well... Fasolo averages better figures in the categories you mentioned (besides tackling). This board isn't exactly rapt with his peformance. From what I've seen, We're happy with how he's performed, but not rapt yet. Back in 2014, Elliott averaged better than Bruest in all categories besides tackling where he was edged out . Yet he's one of the most criticized players on the board (with good reason)...

Can I just put another name out there for everyone to ponder?

He's experienced, a goalkicker (1.8pgm over his career), a brilliant mark, a fantastic link man (350mpg in 2016) and has outwardly stated his desire to play for Collingwood.

Travis Cloke anyone? I can't buy the way the club have dealt with him this year leaving us to discuss the likes of Black. That's not to pot Black more to say I think we can get more out of Cloke in 2017.
Nice career stats but you are only as good as your last season (s). At the moment we can add a hefty price tag, confidence player, inconsistent effort, terrible set shot at goal with only a few years left to that otherwise impressive list.
Having said that, Jesse White shed about 8 kgs over the preseason 2 yrs back. If Cloke can commit himself to something similar and becomes a more agile version of himself, why not.

Doubts over how long Elliot takes to perform at his peak again, if ever. Fasolo having his stand out year, but historically suffers injuries every season and subsequently is still yet to kick 40 goals in a season. Howe is a good kick off half back but has ordinary set shot record... would need 70-80 shots on goal to kick 40 when breust will only need 60.

Also i like breust because my preference is for a more mobile forward line with only Moore and White/Cox as ruck forward as the two talls.
It's not worth even considering seeings he isn't a free agent until end of next year

People keep having digs at Tomlinson for no reason, IMO. Jeremy Cameron, Johnthan Patton have been their capstone forwards this year. Jeremy Cameron and Cam Mcarthy were their capstone forwards of 2015.

This year Tomlinson has had to change his role because of Rory Lobb. He's had so much improvement this year.

I think Tomlinson would suit us well as a Forward. He's known for his tank and a good mark. I think we underestimate him because he's not in the GWS best 22, but their Neafl team is packed with talent.

The only way i was going to entertain a Cloke trade was if it was going to help us secure Hurley.

Now thats off the table, we should hold onto Cloke.

He is better than other alternatives put forward like Black or Tomlinson and at 29 still has a few years left.

The issue is that Buckley cant afford a rebuild. Trading Cloke and relying on Moore would be a logical strategy if we had a 3-5 year plan. Buckley doesnt have that long. He needs results next year.

Unless we can use a combination of picks and upgrade to a top 10 pick, i dont see any logic in trading Cloke. I still think he and Moore can form a nice partnership together, especially with Elliott and Fasolo at their feet.

Id be happy in this trade period to trade Witts for Hoskin-Elliott, securing Daicos and Brown and keeping our spine in tact.

If we want to trade Cloke, then we shouldnt stop there. We should also trade Brown, Williams and also sack Buckley.

Bring in a new coach and hit this draft hard with a lot of picks between 15-30.

But Bucks cant afford that

People keep having digs at Tomlinson for no reason, IMO. Jeremy Cameron, Johnthan Patton have been their capstone forwards this year. Jeremy Cameron and Cam Mcarthy were their capstone forwards of 2015.

This year Tomlinson has had to change his role because of Rory Lobb. He's had so much improvement this year.

I think Tomlinson would suit us well as a Forward. He's known for his tank and a good mark. I think we underestimate him because he's not in the GWS best 22, but their Neafl team is packed with talent.

Just because he's getting kept out of the seniors by good players doesn't mean he is good himself.

ave foot skills? he aint jarman but he isn't crap either. as the the outside part well that's just a silly comment. sidey is the only outside mid we have in the side.

I think a lot of richmond fans would disagree with you. It's not a silly comment, if we are going after a player like that he needs to be very good by foot if not elite. It's clearly what we are lacking.

I don't get the Fyfe comparisons. 186cm and built like a twig vs 190cm with a powerful build. I don't see it.

Same, Fyfe is a contested beast and WHE is mainly an outside player.

It's what he is capable of when his is on song, it reminds people of a young Fyfe who didn't do much but would produce moment in a game that made everyone go wow

Some players take a few years to eventually become who they are as players.

I didn't mean to suggest that WHE had the same abilities as Fyfe now, but I saw him play against us at the G about 2012 maybe and was taken with his speed and strong hands aerially.

He was always a player that I hoped we could get one day.
Nothing is certain, but it seems a possibility.

As I posted a week ago in the Witts thread, my well connected mate reckons an in principal deal is done for these two to swap clubs.

I would be Larry if that happens.

Edit - I even reckon they look a bit alike!

For all the hate Sam Reid gets, he is only 24. Plus all the talk on how injury prone is: over the past 5 seasons before this year only 1 season did he play less than 17 games. Just saying.
He could of played 100 straight games, doesn't discount the fact he's another Jesse White.

No reason? Have you seen him actually play? He's a spud. Go ask GWS supporters.

The only way i was going to entertain a Cloke trade was if it was going to help us secure Hurley.

Now thats off the table, we should hold onto Cloke.

He is better than other alternatives put forward like Black or Tomlinson and at 29 still has a few years left.

The issue is that Buckley cant afford a rebuild. Trading Cloke and relying on Moore would be a logical strategy if we had a 3-5 year plan. Buckley doesnt have that long. He needs results next year.

Unless we can use a combination of picks and upgrade to a top 10 pick, i dont see any logic in trading Cloke. I still think he and Moore can form a nice partnership together, especially with Elliott and Fasolo at their feet.

Id be happy in this trade period to trade Witts for Hoskin-Elliott, securing Daicos and Brown and keeping our spine in tact.

If we want to trade Cloke, then we shouldnt stop there. We should also trade Brown, Williams and also sack Buckley.

Bring in a new coach and hit this draft hard with a lot of picks between 15-30.

But Bucks cant afford that
Why trade players and sack Bucks. ( slight off topic ). Either give the coach the players that he needs or vice versa.
And if we want quality, we have to give up something. Heather does alright at GWS and I have no quarrels with a similar trade for Cloke if that helps us with another young player. I rather watch a young player develop then an senior player struggling to revive his past.

Can I just put another name out there for everyone to ponder?

He's experienced, a goalkicker (1.8pgm over his career), a brilliant mark, a fantastic link man (350mpg in 2016) and has outwardly stated his desire to play for Collingwood.

Travis Cloke anyone? I can't buy the way the club have dealt with him this year leaving us to discuss the likes of Black. That's not to pot Black more to say I think we can get more out of Cloke in 2017.
Well said and this is what I have been saying all year.

Why trade players and sack Bucks. ( slight off topic ). Either give the coach the players that he needs or vice versa.
And if we want quality, we have to give up something. Heather does alright at GWS and I have no quarrels with a similar trade for Cloke if that helps us with another young player. I rather watch a young player develop then an senior player struggling to revive his past.

Because the new coach gets the players they need.

What like 2 posters?

Well there's only 3 people on the GWS board :D

All I was saying is that nobody seems to be too fussed about losing him and a number (2,3,4.......whatever - I haven't read everything there) call him an outright spud. I think that - prior to a player doing the dirty on them at least - that the club supporters can be a good guide if they are negative. Usually the supporters will over rate their own - when they don't (aside from pure bad blood) it says something IMO.

So we have this gun called Blair - anyone?

So the current team on rumoured players looks like.

B: Maynard (19) - Brown (27) - Langdon (22)
HB: Sinclair (24) - Reid (27) - Howe (26)
C: Aish (20) - Adams (22) - Sidebottom (25)
HF: Hoskin-Elliott (23) - Tomlinson (23) - Fasolo (24)
F: Elliott (23) - Moore (20) - White (28)
R: Grundy (22) - Pendlebury (28) - Treloar (23)

INT: Varcoe (28) - DeGoey (20) - Crisp (22) - Scharenberg (20)

Potentially 5 players (almost a quarter) who weren't in the team last year adds a completely different dynamic. (Langdon barely played and i am expecting some decent footy from him in 2017)

White could easily make way for Wills/Smith/Greenwood if we don't go with 3 talls up forward.

One thing that stands out, Extremely Young! Outside of Pendles/Varcoe/White/Brown/Reid the rest are all 26 and under.