Preview Collingwood v Port Adelaide, 25 March, 1.45pm MCG

And there you go -- in the preview last week, I suggested there were lots of questions to be answered about the Mighty Magpies. The game against Geelong has answered almost all of them. Our clearance work is better thanks to Mitchell. Bobby Hill will make an impact. Our game plan holds up and is well suited to our players, and it holds up even under severe pressure. Jordan DeGoey is likely to to rise to his talent level and dominate the competition. Most importantly -- we are one of the best teams in the comp. Yes, yes, it's only one game in a long season, but it was enough evidence for me. Let's bask in the glory a little.

Still, there was one huge downer during the stellar night. The greatest mark the game has seen, Jeremy Howe, flew kamikaze-style into a spoil. He shot through the air horizontally, like a missile, and when he crashed do the ground he shattered his arm. This is a heavy blow. Howe has defied age. He leaps like a cat, he possesses incredible pace, he intercepts to start shredding counterattacks with his two-sided elite disposal. He helps organise us with his onfield leadership. We can only hope he's back before too long.

Which means.... step up Billy Frampton (sorry Kelly, I've given up on you for the moment). Murphy takes Howe's more intercepting role and Frampton takes Murphy's more lockdown one.

We still have enviable depth which will hold us in good stead for a while yet.

Opponents: The Power

The Power are a strange team. A newcomer to the competition, there's no traditional hate between us. I don't harbour long-held vendettas against them for rodent-like, deceitful, morally repugnant, behaviour (yes Carlton, I'm pointing the bone at you). But they do seem to possess some odious personalities. Kane Cornes is a professional stirrer, a kind of shock jock of football, minus the politics. I hated him as a player, but now he's more like an annoyance, the buzzing of a mosquito in my ear at night. And their President, the loathsome, middle-brow, out-of-touch, egotistical Koshi.? A morning TV presenter as President? I feel sorry for Port's coach.

What about the current team? They have a great interceptor in Alir, a good key forward in Dixon, wild-cards in Georgiades and Rioli, some inside bulls in Wines and Powell-Pepper, some elite young talent with Butters, Rozee and Horne-Francis. They were excellent at home against a highly-touted Brisbane, doing the Lions down and by doing so, proving their upper level is elite. And yet, and yet, I still don't quite know what they are. I suppose another way of looking at it is that they're pretty good at everything. They look like they'll be battling with a bunch of teams for a top-four spot.

This game then is going to ask a few more questions of us: Will McStay actually be the player we hope? He was great in the pre-season but his performance against Geelong was disappointing. Will the Cox/Cameron duo continue to fight the good fight? They were solid against Geelong but here they should be better, before the real tests come. How will the backline go without Howe? Will our better clearance work hold steady?

The Washup

The game's at the MCG, we're in stellar form, and the Power are surging but can we trust them? About as much as we can trust Kreepy Koshi and Shock-Jock Kane.

The Pies by 13 points!

Sideys start was terrible with Tuohy kicking two and he made a few other mistakes but i thought he was
Easy to blame Sidey but I don't think he did much wrong for either goal.

First goal resulted from poor decision/disposal from Beaker. Not sure your wingman should be manning up when we have the ball in hand.

Second goal Sidey was front and centre to the contest it just fell to the Irishman. Shit happens.

Your friend can purchase visitor tickets for you, but guests are admitted only with their hosts and the host must accompany the guests at the game, and the host is responsible for the guests behaviour. If you rock up and there is nobody there with you who is a member and has bought the tickets and they notice that, they will not let you in, and may discipline the member who bought you tickets then didnt accompany you as not only is that a breach in itself but there has been a lot of issues with members buying visitor tickets then selling them at a peremium (selling visitor tickets is also a breach).

Basically, you may if they are lax get away with it, but more likely is you dont get past first base and it may end in your friend having their membership cancelled
Ok no worries thanks for letting me know!

I think it goes further the other way with Hoskin-Elliott. Some are far too desperate to support their hard support for players like him they will overlook frequent errors and poor performances under the notion they don't want to be wrong. When he plays his one good game in 6, they flock. They don't afford the same levels of faith to other players

Murphy is a very good defender and played an outstanding game on Cameron after Howe went off. With Howe out, he will play every game and probably would have with Howe in anyway.
WHE might even be swapped out for Reef this week, but I guess the "some" you refer to above includes all the selectors who up until now have never seen fit to omit him?

It’s hard not to enjoy the football your mob has consistently produced since McRae took over, it’s infectious & the competition is better off for it.

On paper, our clash looks like the match of the round & hopefully it will live up to that mantle. You guys go into the contest as deserved favourites & play the G as good as anyone. As for us, not the even our most one eyed supporters would have predicted last weeks lopsided result against the Lions, especially given our poor preseason performances. We’ll soon find out whether Brisbane we’re just having a bad day, or Ken has managed to pull a rabbit out of the hat that none saw coming.

Finally, it’s an absolute pleasure to watch Pendles play the game. To be able to consistently produce that quality of football over such a long period of time is a credit to him & your club.

He had a couple of bad moments and a lot of very good moments.
Agreed. It was also the first match of the year.
My changes:
In: Frampton, McInnes
Out: Howe, WHE
Sub: Carmichael

What I expect:
In: Frampton
Out: Howe
Sub: McInnes
Actually, I’m happy with the expectation rather than the preference. WHE did a lot right in the 2nd half, he has great speed and is a good mark.

I think it goes further the other way with Hoskin-Elliott. Some are far too desperate to support their hard support for players like him they will overlook frequent errors and poor performances under the notion they don't want to be wrong. When he plays his one good game in 6, they flock. They don't afford the same levels of faith to other players

Murphy is a very good defender and played an outstanding game on Cameron after Howe went off. With Howe out, he will play every game and probably would have with Howe in anyway.

I don't know about that. I've always been a strong supporter of WHE, but he had a bit of a mare on Friday night. Did lots of things right, but his disposal wasn't anywhere near his normal standards. That makes him the most vulnerable player in the 23 to make way when others have to be included. Injuries, like Howe's, his only lifeline should he not fix his disposal against Port. Frampton for Howe the only change to the 23 this week IMHO.

It’s hard not to enjoy the football your mob has consistently produced since McRae took over, it’s infectious & the competition is better off for it.

On paper, our clash looks like the match of the round & hopefully it will live up to that mantle. You guys go into the contest as deserved favourites & play the G as good as anyone. As for us, not the even our most one eyed supporters would have predicted last weeks lopsided result against the Lions, especially given our poor preseason performances. We’ll soon find out whether Brisbane we’re just having a bad day, or Ken has managed to pull a rabbit out of the hat that none saw coming.

Finally, it’s an absolute pleasure to watch Pendles play the game. To be able to consistently produce that quality of football over such a long period of time is a credit to him & your club.
Difficult to pick a winner here as Round one is not a good indicator. Having said that the Power have gone under the radar in Victoria and have recruited well with the Hyphen and Willie Rioli who both are brilliant pick ups.
We just managed to get over Port last year so who knows?

Just lose the game and the prison bars & all will be good 😊

Agreed. It was also the first match of the year.

Actually, I’m happy with the expectation rather than the preference. WHE did a lot right in the 2nd half, he has great speed and is a good mark.
Nice centre line but I prefer Dean Price Greening. :) Loved Ricky Watt and that left foot and Tully could thump the pill.

Easy to blame Sidey but I don't think he did much wrong for either goal.

First goal resulted from poor decision/disposal from Beaker. Not sure your wingman should be manning up when we have the ball in hand.

Second goal Sidey was front and centre to the contest it just fell to the Irishman. s**t happens.
They were both examples of Sidey's hard running getting him to good spots. Bacause it was the first 5 minutes of the game, Tuohy could just about keep up and trailed him into the good spots and the ball fell his way. 5 minutes later, Tuohy had to be moved back to half back.

Nice win on the weekend, got the tip right!

Just a few questions;

1. Do we feel De Goey is going to be the #1 handball receiver from Titch/Adams inside and be given the license to bomb forward to snag goals? Not expecting 3 goals each week but maybe 3 shots on goal?

2. I've read JDG is super fit and very happy at the moment, do you see JDG playing full time midfield all year for a Brownlow?

3. Good to see Taylor Adams fit and firing, is his body going to hold up now he's spending more time forward, is he prone to a rest game?

4. Josh Carmichael a sniff for WHE soon? or is he behind someone else?

Thanks in advance

Just a few questions;

1. Do we feel De Goey is going to be the #1 handball receiver from Titch/Adams inside and be given the license to bomb forward to snag goals? Not expecting 3 goals each week but maybe 3 shots on goal?

2. I've read JDG is super fit and very happy at the moment, do you see JDG playing full time midfield all year for a Brownlow?

3. Good to see Taylor Adams fit and firing, is his body going to hold up now he's spending more time forward, is he prone to a rest game?

Thanks in advance

1. Yes.
2. Yes.
3. I think he'd resist that, but we'll see.
4. McInnis is ahead, then Carmichael is probably at the head a a small group including Bianco, Wilson, Macrae, Ruscoe and Markov. But don't forget Ginnivan is a good chance to come back after suspension and a game or two in the VFL.

Just a few questions;

Thanks in advance
1. Yes, it seems as if De Goey will be used as our primary player to burst from the middle and getting forward of the ball. Pendlebury also spent a lot of time forward of the footy in R1.

2. Most likely - he is no stranger to injuries, so wouldn't want to be definitive, but according to Fly a lot of it is influenced by what De Goey says he's up to.

3. Unlikely - that doesn't seem to be the way our fitness guy rolls.

4. Carmichael is likely squeezing on WHE, but Ginnivan and Lipinski are ahead of him (as is McInnes).

Think Port will be very hard to beat this week.

Full strength , very fit and Hinkley in a contract year.

We will need to be at our absolute best to win
I’ve tipped your lot for the flag this year. And I reckon last week was a flash in the pan. Have a feeling we will get found out, but more than happy to be proven wrong.

Oh and shut up eddy, something about prison bars, we have the same amount of teeth and all the other bullshit outsiders are supposed to say here.
Look forward to the game.

I’ve tipped your lot for the flag this year. And I reckon last week was a flash in the pan. Have a feeling we will get found out, but more than happy to be proven wrong.

Oh and shut up eddy, something about prison bars, we have the same amount of teeth and all the other bullshit outsiders are supposed to say here.
Look forward to the game.
Did you guys get any injuries on the week end?

I think everyone needs to remember that it’s a team defence. Yes one on one match ups happen and with the size of Charlie Billy would be a good match up but you can bet Moore, Billy and Murph will all be on him at one time, don’t forget the other guy Marshall? (I think that’s him) He’ll be a handful and is a great kick for goal and the third tall Georgi….. (I can’t spell) they have a handful of good players in the forwards. So we definitely need a back to replace Howe, Billy is the only choice. It won’t be Ruscoe as someone suggested, I think it was his mum.
As much as we’ve improved we are still light on for good defenders, injuries are not helping.

Nb. I really hope Dean gets a go and he’s not lost his chance because of injuries.

I don't know about that. I've always been a strong supporter of WHE, but he had a bit of a mare on Friday night. Did lots of things right, but his disposal wasn't anywhere near his normal standards. That makes him the most vulnerable player in the 23 to make way when others have to be included. Injuries, like Howe's, his only lifeline should he not fix his disposal against Port. Frampton for Howe the only change to the 23 this week IMHO.
I’ve not been able to watch the game, was Hos actually playing in defence or was he still predominantly on the wing but perhaps a more defensive winger?

From what I can see on the AFL app, his possession heat map is all up and down the wing?

1679404426121.jpeg

I don't think there should be any omissions after that performance, especially considering it was round 1.

WHE worked his way into the game after a slow start, I'd be keeping him in.

Does Reef even have the fitness to be in the starting 22? If so, he'd be limited to playing deep forward.

Great to hear Ash had a strong game in the reserves practice match, hopefully he strings together a few weeks of good form and defensive efforts and we see him again soon. Our best version of this team has him in it.

I don't think there should be any omissions after that performance, especially considering it was round 1.

WHE worked his way into the game after a slow start, I'd be keeping him in.

Does Reef even have the fitness to be in the starting 22? If so, he'd be limited to playing deep forward.

Great to hear Ash had a strong game in the reserves practice match, hopefully he strings together a few weeks of good form and defensive efforts and we see him again soon. Our best version of this team has him in it.
WHE didn’t have a slow start, it was the opposite. He had 13 of his 18 disposals in the first half, and most of them happened to be terrible. He seemed better in the second half because he had so much less ball, and consequently less chance to stuff up.

Maybe that was it then. Either way, he was a lot better from midway through the 2nd from what i remember and I'd be giving him another week.
WHE didn’t have a slow start, it was the opposite. He had 13 of his 18 disposals in the first half, and most of them happened to be terrible. He seemed better in the second half because he had so much less ball, and consequently less chance to stuff up.

In normal circumstances I’m disinclined to drop a player because of a few clangers. If they are getting their hands in the pill then they deserve another chance to be more tidy the next week.

However I would like to see Reef in the starting 22.

It will be a close call and maybe a question of structure… maybe Reef needs to wait another week. However I’d personally switch him with WHE.

I’ve not been able to watch the game, was Hos actually playing in defence or was he still predominantly on the wing but perhaps a more defensive winger?

From what I can see on the AFL app, his possession heat map is all up and down the wing?

View attachment 1636087
To me it looked like Howe had been following Jeremy Cameron, who was pushing up onto the high HF / wing area