Combined Kurt Tippett contract negotiation/trade possibility thread

That's cool. At no point have I said that Jenkins will be a bad player.. it's just that Tippett is a very, very good player. KPPs as good as him are an incredibly rare commodity, as any AFC fan should be aware (given the number of KPP forwards we've gone through since Modra left more than a decade ago). If Jenkins can become as good as KMac was, then he'll have done well and we should be more than satisfied with that outcome.

If Tippo is a very, very good player.... How good would he be if he had a lovely straight kick and didnt suffer major inconsistency his whole career?

Very, very, very good?

Tippett is a good player.

Remember MRs attitude to Tippett leaving on 5aa a few weeks ago?
He has held that attitude for the last 2 years. Of course we wanted him to stay but the club has known we are highly unlikely to keep him.
2 first rounders in last years trade or a Polec/ Redden and 1 first rounder and we wouldn't be having this conversation. He would of been a Lion....

And if we offered Dangerfield and a first rounder to Richmond for Jack Riewoldt he'd probably be a Crow. That doesn't mean Richmond don't want to keep him. The Crows did the right thing - they tested the waters, to see if there was an incredibly good offer on the line. There wasn't so they held on to their man.

As for McKernan, I just don't see in him what others do, but that aside - if Kurt does end up staying, McKernan occupies a spot on our list that is just not needed, particularly since we have Jenkins as backup who seems to be every bit as in favour as McKernan. If he has currency elsewhere, and isn't that keen on staying, we'd be foolish not to trade him to try to gain a commodity we're actually short on. That's what trading is about. If you had two Ben Ruttens you wouldn't hold onto both just because "he's a great player", you'd trade the second one for something you could actually use.

Regarding the Jenkins vs Tippett debate, it's an interesting one. Jenkins has some tools and I like him as an AFL player. Tippett, though, when he burst onto the scene in 2008 it was abundantly clear that he was going to become a serious force up forward with his contested marking ability. Everyone talks about him being gifted games, and certainly he was retained after a few bad ones, but every man and their dog could see we had something special on our hands that year.

Jenkins, by comparison, is a surprisingly good footballer and has an AFL future in my opinion, but he doesn't have that huge standout feature like Tippett did. When Tippett burst onto the scene he was almost immediately one of the best contested mark in the comp.

Two different players, despite their similar sizes.

If Tippo is a very, very good player.... How good would he be if he had a lovely straight kick and didnt suffer major inconsistency his whole career?

Very, very, very good?

If he had a good, consistent kick he'd be elite - right up there with the very best forwards in the competition.

As it is, he's the level below that at the moment.

Very, very, very good?

Good players don't get (alleged) offers, from multiple clubs, in the $750-800k range. Not saying that he doesn't have the occasional weakness (particularly short range kicking for goal), but he is still a very, very good forward and a massive jump in class from every KPP forward we've ever had other than Modra & Walker.

And if we offered Dangerfield and a first rounder to Richmond for Jack Riewoldt he'd probably be a Crow. That doesn't mean Richmond don't want to keep him. The Crows did the right thing - they tested the waters, to see if there was an incredibly good offer on the line. There wasn't so they held on to their man.

Stab, Rendell was keen to move mate. As he said, he was planning for it 12 months back. 2 first rounders isn't exactly way over the top either. If anyone was testing the waters as you said, it was Brisbane in the hope that Caro's " 2nd round draft pick" was true.... They dangled a first rounder and we didnt bite. Throw Polec in and we would of gobbled it hook, line and sinker....

Good players don't get (alleged) offers, from multiple clubs, in the $750-800k range. Not saying that he doesn't have the occasional weakness (particularly short range kicking for goal), but he is still a very, very good forward and a massive jump in class from every KPP forward we've ever had other than Modra & Walker.

We offered 450k to Ben Holland back in the day when 500k was the highest any player was getting.. Does that make him a very very good player? I wonder what offers Kosi got 5 years ago? I couldnt give a rats tossbag about what players are offered...I care about runs on the board

THIS JUST IN! KT CONSIDERING A MOVE TO CRICKET

I'd prefer this:

Collingwood - McKernan
West Coast - Wellingham
Adelaide - Lycett

Why Lycett? Hasn't he been playing reserves footy in the WAFL. Big guys take time but at least Smack has shown he is a watchwinner albeit inconsistent in performance and effort. Lycett has shown zero ever since being drafted and is only a year younger.

As for McKernan, I just don't see in him what others do, but that aside - if Kurt does end up staying, McKernan occupies a spot on our list that is just not needed, particularly since we have Jenkins as backup who seems to be every bit as in favour as McKernan. If he has currency elsewhere, and isn't that keen on staying, we'd be foolish not to trade him to try to gain a commodity we're actually short on. That's what trading is about. If you had two Ben Ruttens you wouldn't hold onto both just because "he's a great player", you'd trade the second one for something you could actually use.

Regarding the Jenkins vs Tippett debate, it's an interesting one. Jenkins has some tools and I like him as an AFL player. Tippett, though, when he burst onto the scene in 2008 it was abundantly clear that he was going to become a serious force up forward with his contested marking ability. Everyone talks about him being gifted games, and certainly he was retained after a few bad ones, but every man and their dog could see we had something special on our hands that year.

Jenkins, by comparison, is a surprisingly good footballer and has an AFL future in my opinion, but he doesn't have that huge standout feature like Tippett did. When Tippett burst onto the scene he was almost immediately one of the best contested mark in the comp.

Two different players, despite their similar sizes.

Stab, Tippetts first year really wasn't at good, he had an awesome game in the NAB Cup final, but otherwise he'd take about one good mark a game and by the end of the year many were questioning what the hype was about. You must also remember much of the hype was because we hadn't seen a player anywhere near his potential since Modra and we were creaming our pants just of the thought of a player who could take a pack grab.

With Jenkins the hype is less because suddenly we're not starved for his type of player. I also suggest if you haven't seen any stand out features in Jenkins games that you watch some of his games again. His pace and agility is elite, especially for a guy who's 199cm and 102kgs, similar to Tippett he has also shown he can take a big pack/contested grab, maybe not quite as well yet, but not far off it. He also doesn't have the kicking issues that Tippett has. With Jenkins it's just about confidence and learning the game, halfway through next year I expect him to explode. I agree that he's a slightly different style to Kurt, but then Kurt is unique and I think Jenkins will prove to be a more than adequate replacement.

If Jenkins played as many games as Tip he would be on par with him I reckon. At least as a forward. Strong mark, can use both sides of his body, athletic and a nice kick.

Ruckwork is a bit ordinary, and this is where I see us having a problem. We will need to get a guy like Giles over, or hope Dowdell develops into an AFL capable second Ruck. Or McKernan to grow a pair when he plays up forward.

Or just go into games knowing our second Ruck is a pure hinch Ruckman used only when Jacobs needs a rest. And pray he does not get injured.

Why Lycett? Hasn't he been playing reserves footy in the WAFL. Big guys take time but at least Smack has shown he is a watchwinner albeit inconsistent in performance and effort. Lycett has shown zero ever since being drafted and is only a year younger.

If McKernan wants to leave, we need another big guy, and I'm just suggesting a possible target that could be involved if McKernan does in fact want to go to Collingwood, and Wellingham wants to return to WA. Lycett has played 13 games in the Peel Thunder league side and 1 in the reserves this season, and 17 league games last season. He's also 2 years younger than Smack by the way.