Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

They’ve been completely busted, and are now in full head in the sand mode.
They really don’t like it when normal people start questioning the obvious…..pity no media output on this yet…thats quiet disgraceful on their behalf…so called hard hitting journalism..

^^^ what is the story?
Government granted Collingwood money for upgrades based on their commitment to Netball to the tune of $15m.

They used the cash to upgrade the AFL facilities and dumped the netball team.

Then produced a video showing how good the upgrades were.

Government granted Collingwood money for upgrades based on their commitment to Netball to the tune of $15m.

With not a hint of shame.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

That’s up there with the time Collingwood got a ‘regional development’ grant.

I know of a Rookie Tv Reporter between the numbers 7 and 10 who is on the look out for stories like this that will put his name on the map

If interested I will you PM you the name

It’s time someone tagged our friend Caro into this shiz
Its going to be very interesting in the next week or so to actually see if Junior Corns or Caroline kick up a big stink about this. Will they leave it alone and try not to bring it up or just say the usual, nothing to see here, it would almost be as bad as the US Government years ago saying "AREA 51" did not exist even though everyone knew it did.

Most mainstream media are controlled, well that's the theory anyway, in Australia its nothing to worry about but in America that's a different story. So we'll just see what happens with this little story. In this day and age where things are being disclosed about lots of things, the fact Collingwood could be hiding this story away is interesting and quite illogical, if that's the case. The only word that comes to mind about this matter that is not being talked about by the media is this....
Star Trek Wow GIF

Hmmm. Maybe not the reaction I expected from Cornes.

“Collingwood’s reaction was where the error was”: Cornes weighs in on viral Magpies post - “Collingwood’s reaction was where the error was”: Cornes weighs in on viral Magpies post

Collingwood has come under heavy fire for a social media video celebrating a new indoor training field that replaced where the club’s netball court once was.

New CEO Craig Kelly dissolved the club’s Super Netball side last year, stating it was not a profitable venture and pointing to heavy financial losses.

Now, the club has covered the court with indoor turf and painted a miniature footy oval over the top. Basketball and netball hoops are also visible in the video featuring defender Jeremy Howe.

“The boys are gonna have a hell of a time in here, so looking forward to it,” Howe says on the video posted to X (formerly Twitter).

A recent renovation of the club’s headquarters is understood to have been at least partially funded by a $15 million Federal Government grant announced back in 2019 for women’s sport and research into female injuries.

Collingwood footed the bill for its recent renovations in covering up the netball court. While the grant remains a talking point on social media, Kane Cornes believes the true error was made in the Magpies’ response to criticism.

At least one comment was hidden by the club, with the user saying: “RIP our netball team.” A number of users also claim to have been blocked.

Hundreds of other comments and quote tweets call out the club for its use of the grant money, with many calling for tax payers to be refunded.

“The controversial part of this is that the (initial) upgrade was partially built by a $15 million government grant… but Collingwood’s reaction to this was where the error was,” Cornes said on SEN Breakfast.

“I don’t reckon Collingwood needs $15 million of taxpayer funded money and I get the backlash behind that… but then Collingwood started blocking people as far as I could see on Twitter and hiding a reply.”

The Magpies’ AFLW team can still make use of the indoor pitch, as could their wheelchair team.

Collingwood in the 2023 financial year reported a $7.56 million profit. But in May, Kelly made the “incredibly difficult” announcement that the netball program was not sustainable.

“Collingwood is a better place for having had a netball team and the decision to not renew our netball licence has been an incredibly difficult one which has weighed heavily on us,” Kelly said via a statement.

“As a club, we are tasked with continuing to deliver growth across all areas of Collingwood and ultimately, the review, which analysed key aspects of the club’s netball program and that of the governing body, determined that the program is not sustainable.

“We acknowledge we could have run a better netball program at Collingwood.”

As of Monday morning, Collingwood's post has been viewed $1.2 million times.

Does anyone have the original media release relating to the funding, did they mention netball? This should be a big story - it’s an ABC dream scenario.

Its super tone deaf, especially when people are struggling to keep the lights on in tough economic conditions.

I’m sure it won’t help the Tassie push either and there need for bulk government funding.

Does anyone have the original media release relating to the funding, did they mention netball? This should be a big story - it’s an ABC dream scenario.

Its super tone deaf, especially when people are struggling to keep the lights on in tough economic conditions.

I’m sure it won’t help the Tassie push either and there need for bulk government funding.

The media release was almost entirely with their netball team and wheelchair rugby/basketball team.

What’s actually changed since there were all those critical reports coming out last year about the demise of their netball program?

Just seems to be a badly thought out social video showing some new astroturf?

If anyone wants to start up an Aussie Rules version of the Football Cliches pod then this new rule will be providing a heap of free content for you.
That’s a great pod. I’m not even much of a soccer fan (except up the mighty ’pool, go you Seasiders, tangerine army etc), usually have very little idea who they’re talking about, and still I’m glued to it every week.

What’s actually changed since there were all those critical reports coming out last year about the demise of their netball program?

Just seems to be a badly thought out social video showing some new astroturf?

Yeah that was a mistake. Should have shut the **** up and cashed in on their good fortune.

Hmmm. Maybe not the reaction I expected from Cornes.

“Collingwood’s reaction was where the error was”: Cornes weighs in on viral Magpies post - “Collingwood’s reaction was where the error was”: Cornes weighs in on viral Magpies post

Collingwood has come under heavy fire for a social media video celebrating a new indoor training field that replaced where the club’s netball court once was.

New CEO Craig Kelly dissolved the club’s Super Netball side last year, stating it was not a profitable venture and pointing to heavy financial losses.

Now, the club has covered the court with indoor turf and painted a miniature footy oval over the top. Basketball and netball hoops are also visible in the video featuring defender Jeremy Howe.

“The boys are gonna have a hell of a time in here, so looking forward to it,” Howe says on the video posted to X (formerly Twitter).

A recent renovation of the club’s headquarters is understood to have been at least partially funded by a $15 million Federal Government grant announced back in 2019 for women’s sport and research into female injuries.

Collingwood footed the bill for its recent renovations in covering up the netball court. While the grant remains a talking point on social media, Kane Cornes believes the true error was made in the Magpies’ response to criticism.

At least one comment was hidden by the club, with the user saying: “RIP our netball team.” A number of users also claim to have been blocked.

Hundreds of other comments and quote tweets call out the club for its use of the grant money, with many calling for tax payers to be refunded.

“The controversial part of this is that the (initial) upgrade was partially built by a $15 million government grant… but Collingwood’s reaction to this was where the error was,” Cornes said on SEN Breakfast.

“I don’t reckon Collingwood needs $15 million of taxpayer funded money and I get the backlash behind that… but then Collingwood started blocking people as far as I could see on Twitter and hiding a reply.”

The Magpies’ AFLW team can still make use of the indoor pitch, as could their wheelchair team.

Collingwood in the 2023 financial year reported a $7.56 million profit. But in May, Kelly made the “incredibly difficult” announcement that the netball program was not sustainable.

“Collingwood is a better place for having had a netball team and the decision to not renew our netball licence has been an incredibly difficult one which has weighed heavily on us,” Kelly said via a statement.

“As a club, we are tasked with continuing to deliver growth across all areas of Collingwood and ultimately, the review, which analysed key aspects of the club’s netball program and that of the governing body, determined that the program is not sustainable.

“We acknowledge we could have run a better netball program at Collingwood.”

As of Monday morning, Collingwood's post has been viewed $1.2 million times.

$1.2 million times? Collingwood seemingly getting a pretty sweet deal on twitter advertising revenue too!

The counter argument seems to be that they won the flag, the Netball team was tanking financially so it’s all good.

Well for the “biggest club in the land” they sure were crap at finically running this team…l mean its so hard running it according to them…..then looks at Giants/storm who have significantly smaller fan base but are doing well?
Nah l don’t buy that *#&#&… it was a cash grab pure and simple and they are doubling down on their naive behaviour of blocking by posting we won the AFL Premiership….🤦‍♂️

I know I've posted this before but that Gold Coast game is just off the charts, I was expecting quite a decent hammering against their midfield and ruck and other players and to half time that was what was happening. I thought with their bum up it might get out to a very crazy margin and really hoped we could play better in the second half and limit the damage. What we did to that team in the second half, a few words come to mind, implausible and unimaginable, and without our two best players, its starting to look scary doesn't it.

Remember this, Gold Coast are a very good team, slowly rising up the ladder, this year they will beat more teams than will beat them, its taken time but they are quite close to creating history for their club this year. Wins will mean improvement, what we're going to see this year is akin to seeing a UFO, people know there out there,{well most people} but until YOU see one your not going to believe. I have a funny feeling before this year is done, your hope & excitement and feverishness are going to go to anther level.
1705907223541.png