List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
The one part of Nisbett's era as the years went on was the invulnerability to criticism.
Pyke was supposed to herald a new, open era.

We'll see if this just blows over or not. I suspect the resentment will linger, and the club will be surprised by it.
Maybe a needed reality check for Pyke and head office? Before trade week, I was already sceptical of the new happy positive 'gloss and spin' that was being churned out by the Eagles propaganda machine. I understand the need to distance itself from a negative build-up after years of bad form, but let's just keep it real folks...and transparent.

No.

We obviously retain picks to go to the draft with.

Retain the Barrass picks.

Use a blend of these and a blend of future picks to land Warner and retain picks for the draft.

If we held pock 3 again Swans would demand pick 3 in any trade.

If we bring pick 3 forward we get the benefit now. Not in 12 months when it gets gobbled up trading.
You tell Sydney pick 3 is off limits and offer, if we get it, hawks and Carlton 2025 R1 or a trade up of both of these picks for a top ten pick and offer it along with our F1 (2026). If that price is not enough he costs too much and you go to the draft with your picks and apologise to the player and say we made the highest offer the club saw reasonable but weren’t able to facilitate an acceptable deal.

You then bring in Fred Rodriguez and likely trade your two firsts up higher so they’re not at risk of bids and draft an immense hand in 2025 with two top ten picks and a bunch of talented WA academy kids with NGA bids.

The rebuild was delayed, it’s now trying to be shortcut sooner or later we’re going to have to utilise premium draft capital efficiently.

It's like when I go to my 'special' club in Northbridge.
Squad Gimps GIF

I never said he wont turn out good. I just dont think he fills a list need. I mean 2 posts ago you spoke of ball movement, hard running and Bo Allan isnt that type of player. He will be good, but it wont solve that ball movement issue.

I also feel sorry for the kid. He will be burdened with unrealistic expectations like the above. He shouldnt have the pressure of being the next Patrick Cripps. He should be allowed to grow into his career without that absurd comparison. Its why we need to be going in with multiple 1st rounders and not just 1 egg in the basket :(
You’re talking about ball movement to yourself.
Why would you feel sorry for a kid about to realise his AFL dream?
No one has compared him to Patrick Cripps.
Honestly mate you need to think before you type.

Gotta hope we have a deal with Richmond 11 for Hawks F1 and F2

I actually reckon we should trade out our future first to tigers and get a better deal... 10 and 18 for example. They will still have 1 6 11 20 lol, so I think a potential top 3 pick in 2025 may be appealing.

Now before I get blasted, I'm basing this on the fact that we go for warner next year and if we've learnt anything, fair value goes out the window and when push comes to shove, what you have will suffice. The key is to get warner to nominate us and I think the Harley appeal mentioned here helps with that.

Let's get maximum value for this year and then we can give Sydney hawks 1 and out F1 and whatever sweetener next year.

This year 10 12 18 and 26.
Next year warner.

Rebuild is back on the menu lads.

Jack Graham came because Baker was coming with the link of McQualter.

Some people are just up for the adventure, and there's no reason we can't try and get those outside the profile - but we need to accept that, based on geography, we can't just get anyone we want. Some just have no desire or reason to, even if the salary permitted it.

Baker sure isn't our core need, an undersized flanker, but he is a good player well above what we have now to call from. I have no issue with taking Liam Baker at all, it's just the price and context that irks me.
That Jack Graham comment re Baker, is that your opinion or do you have any facts to back that up? Previously we have picked up players that didn't have any connection to Perth, see Hunt, Witherden and Redden. We had players linked to our coach, Petrie and Mitchell.

I've never heard of a player leaving a club that wanted to keep them and relocating their family to a new city they are unfamiliar with because their friend was also being recruited.

The Baker comment at the end is bit superfluous. I have no issue with buying a Mercedes but I've got rent to pay so it's not the right time.

I don't think anyone has an issue with picking up Baker, even his price if it was the right time. The question is he the right pick up for us given his price and our current context and priorities.

With pick 12 I'm worried it's outside the zone I really rate and gets into the pretty good zone. Phil mentioned still in the zone for players we want, I'm a tad dubious of that.

From early post I'm removing Trainor as I think he's still on the board and I wouldn't take him at 12. In no particular order, I'd want one of the following list;

1. Jagga
2. Draper
3. Reid
4. Fos
5. Smillie
6. Reid
7. Travaglia
8. Allen
9. Langford
10. Lalor

Tauru I really like and happy with him at 12, but think he's gone too. I'd take the above list just ahead of him.

So who does that put at 12;

Hotton, easily the best option but flight risk.
Berry, very sound option here but do we now have too many that play similarly to him.
Lindsay, ideally for me I'd like a better more reliable kick for an outside mid.
Hynes, I see heaps of upside as he's got the powerful core and great skills.
Armstrong and Shanahan but are both a low need for us. Hopefully they got before our pick so someone slides.

I'm also really worried we've lost the points to match Champion.

Picks in the late 60's don't mean much.....except to Geelong recruiters of course.

We will still get Champion no matter what.

Jeez Freo paid a heap there!
This is the issue both West Australian clubs need to address. Bolton, Baker, Chad Warner, Nick Martin are all picked by Eastern State clubs with low picks. They costed (or will cost) us a lot to bring them back to WA.
Are we losing the ability to "seek" the local talents?

That Jack Graham comment re Baker, is that your opinion or do you have any facts to back that up? Previously we have picked up players that didn't have any connection to Perth, see Hunt, Witherden and Redden. We had players linked to our coach, Petrie and Mitchell. I've never heard of a player requesting a trade and relocating their family because their friend was also being recruited.

The Baker comment at the end is bit superfluous. I have no issue with buying a Mercedes but I've got rent to pay so it's not the right time.

I don't think anyone has an issue with picking up Baker, even his price if it was the right time. The question is he the right pick up for us given his price and our current context and priorities.

It’s a Chris Tarrant-Dean Solomon type scenario where you buy a temperamental race horse but also need to take it’s billy goat stable mate to keep it happy.

Tim Kelly-Jamaine Jones or Harley Reid-The Milk Guy are perhaps more recent examples.

Only issue with this one is that the race horse is a Shetland pony.