List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

So this is the way i expect WCE to go: split our 1st draft pick & chase the suns 1st draft pick. This should leave us with 3 draft picks in the top 15. The suns will need as many points they can get for there academy players.
Split pick 3 for say picks 10 & 15 there about's. Hawks & NM are already tanking
Give the suns as many a points they need to draft there academy players for there 1st pick. This should be easy as we have the most points in this draft out of all the teams.

Would we look at trying to get GCs first round pick by packaging some second and third round picks? They will be looking to trade it out and get some points with their academy picks.

I made this comment on another thread and a Suns fan made the point that the
Suns may actually try to upgrade that pick rather than split. Get above a likely Walter or Rodgers bid. Be a big effort to get the points from there but I think GWS did it in 2016.

It’s too early to know there draft hand and with the likelihood that someone will want out and back to Melbourne there draft hand could change dramatically.

Got a hold of yourself.

The players are the game... give them a little more respect.

Educate me please on my lack of respect or are you hanging your hat on "the players are the game" nonsense?

When players "choose" to enter the AFL and go through the drafting process that as no different to an apprenticeship. They are all very aware that it is a NATIONAL competition.

Do you think what JHF did last year was reasonable? Did he commit to the Kangaroos in the spirit of the draft?, complete his rookie contract to the best of his ability and then ask for a trade?

No, he sulked and complained from the moment he arrived, put in substandard effort, constantly argued with senior players and leadership group, broke club protocols on rehab and then at the end of the year demanded a trade back home after one year.

Do you honestly believe Port Adelaide were not in constant contact with his manager all year as they saw how JHF was acting and encouraged him to demand a trade come years end and that quite possibly that exasperated the situation?

You're delusional if you don't and further to that point, don't you think that this could also be seen as an example for further players entering the draft?

Players should be saying only one thing publicly before entering the draft "they are excited to fulfill an AFL dream and they will be happy to play anywhere"

Privately they can say all they want. In the draft interviews they can even tell a club whether they would prefer to stay in Melbourne but they should still be agreeing that if they are picked they will fulfill their contract to the best of their abilities.

Recently however it seems acceptable to bypass all of this and just make it public knowledge so i'm sorry if i disagree with your "players are the game" comment but i don't like the precedent this is setting.

Frankly i find your comment that the players are the game a little ignorant because without the football clubs they wouldn't have a team to play for and without the supporters there wouldn't be any money to pay them..............food for thought.

Guys this is all hog wash

No Vic people pick 1 is going to want to entertain moving overseas

Gee weez I'm the hottest commodity. Maybe I should say I would love to end up in the middle of no where away from family.

Get real. If you are pick 1 you don't need to fake it and say you would love to move in the middle of no where.

The idea that pick 1 will entertain moving elsewhere is over. Managers are going to inform every pick 1 to say the same line. But I can guarantee 9/10 pick 1 are all talk and no action. Once drafted they will settle

Any player manager that doesn't inform their pick 1 client to play ball with overseas recruits should be fired.

Guys this is all hog wash

No Vic people pick 1 is going to want to entertain moving overseas

Gee weez I'm the hottest commodity. Maybe I should say I would love to end up in the middle of no where away from family.

Get real. If you are pick 1 you don't need to fake it and say you would love to move in the middle of no where.

The idea that pick 1 will entertain moving elsewhere is over. Managers are going to inform every pick 1 to say the same line. But I can guarantee 9/10 pick 1 are all talk and no action. Once drafted they will settle

Any player manager that doesn't inform their pick 1 client to play ball with overseas recruits should be fired.

We taking the AFL International??!

Imagine being Reid right now.

Go to North, which is an utter shambles and probably end up in Tassie in a few years.

Go to Hawks and live under the mess of their racism review/sanctions.

Come to WCE and spend the first few years of your career on the injury list in rehab.

Can't blame the fella for any trepidation he may be feeling.

As well as making good decisions with their 1st Round Pick (or picks, if they split it and leave Reid to play in the East) - the Eagles need to find some value from the bargain bin with their 3rd/4th rounders (steak knives).

They could consider chucking a junk pick at GWS and try to pickup Darcy Jones (19yo, coming off an ACL but ultra quick and talented Swan Districts kid) or Wade Derkson (21yo from Peel Thunder) who has been impressing in the VFL but can't get a game for the GWS senior side. Both of them are coming off contract at the end of 2023 and if they can shed a few crocodile tears they might get a free pass to pop home to WA.

Gold Coast is the team most likely to release a WA player for some top-up picks that give them the points for their Academy targets... but unlikely to pry the best WA player Will Powell out of the Gold Coast Suns (2022 Runner Up Club Champion and his whole family moved to the Gold Coast, contracted to end-2025) but golly he'd be pretty handy to get back into WA.

At Brisbane it's pretty competitive for a game, maybe Devan Robertson wants to come home when he's off contract at the end-2023 and get more game time with the Eagles, he's only 21 turning 22. At the end-2024 coming off contract are Jaxon Prior (21/22yo from West Perth) and Brandon Starcevich (23/24yo from East Perth) and being fringe best22 they might be only getting modest money offers from Brisbane to stay on. Starcevich getting more games in 2023 than Prior. Both underage WA talents and they are good ages to play 5-7 years in a rebuilding Eagles outfit if their bodies are in good nick.

You might note from my logo that I'm an Adelaide fan. Have watched Adelaide rebuild over 4yr period using Rd1-2 picks for top end talent acquisition (trade or draft) and using 3rd-4th round picks to bring home 20-23yr olds from interstate who are on fringe of best22 at their club, adding depth to the playing list and pressure for spots. They don't all work out, but they don't cost much either. I think West Coast could apply similar strategy and build a core of WA origin 20-24yr olds around Ginbey & Allen etc with a view to being very competitive in 2027+

What other WA colts are languishing on AFL lists in the East and could be acquired for steak knives?

As well as making good decisions with their 1st Round Pick (or picks, if they split it and leave Reid to play in the East) - the Eagles need to find some value from the bargain bin with their 3rd/4th rounders (steak knives).

They could consider chucking a junk pick at GWS and try to pickup Darcy Jones (19yo, coming off an ACL but ultra quick and talented Swan Districts kid) or Wade Derkson (21yo from Peel Thunder) who has been impressing in the VFL but can't get a game for the GWS senior side. Both of them are coming off contract at the end of 2023 and if they can shed a few crocodile tears they might get a free pass to pop home to WA.

Why would GWS sell Darcy Jones to us for a 3rd/4th when they gave up pick 21 for him last year?

Why would any club give up any player? Lots of reasons!

Hasn't played a game yet so no emotional bond established
Maybe he's homesick
Maybe ACL recovery taking too long for GWS immediate needs to climb the ladder
Maybe too many players of that age/type on their list
Maybe a like-for-like replacement comes to their club cheaply via Rookie List or other means

Not for me to say "why" - but it doesn't hurt to ask, yeah?
He's out of contract end-2024. More likely to get him end-2024 rather than trying to pry out a contracted player at the end-2023.
It is well documented that Darcy had ripping preseason form Feb-March 2023 before popping the ACL, and yes GWS gave up Pick21 for Darcy so they probably still see him as an important project player for them and wanting to get him fit and playing in 2024 to see what he's capable of.

Gold Coast is the team most likely to release a WA player for some top-up picks that give them the points for their Academy targets... but unlikely to pry the best WA player Will Powell out of the Gold Coast Suns (2022 Runner Up Club Champion and his whole family moved to the Gold Coast, contracted to end-2025) but golly he'd be pretty handy to get back into WA.

At Brisbane it's pretty competitive for a game, maybe Devan Robertson wants to come home when he's off contract at the end-2023 and get more game time with the Eagles, he's only 21 turning 22. At the end-2024 coming off contract are Jaxon Prior (21/22yo from West Perth) and Brandon Starcevich (23/24yo from East Perth) and being fringe best22 they might be only getting modest money offers from Brisbane to stay on. Starcevich getting more games in 2023 than Prior. Both underage WA talents and they are good ages to play 5-7 years in a rebuilding Eagles outfit if their bodies are in good nick.

You might note from my logo that I'm an Adelaide fan. Have watched Adelaide rebuild over 4yr period using Rd1-2 picks for top end talent acquisition (trade or draft) and using 3rd-4th round picks to bring home 20-23yr olds from interstate who are on fringe of best22 at their club, adding depth to the playing list and pressure for spots. They don't all work out, but they don't cost much either. I think West Coast could apply similar strategy and build a core of WA origin 20-24yr olds around Ginbey & Allen etc with a view to being very competitive in 2027+

What other WA colts are languishing on AFL lists in the East and could be acquired for steak knives?
james tunstill at brisbane as well

Excuse Me What GIF by Bounce

Educate me please on my lack of respect or are you hanging your hat on "the players are the game" nonsense?

When players "choose" to enter the AFL and go through the drafting process that as no different to an apprenticeship. They are all very aware that it is a NATIONAL competition.

Do you think what JHF did last year was reasonable? Did he commit to the Kangaroos in the spirit of the draft?, complete his rookie contract to the best of his ability and then ask for a trade?

No, he sulked and complained from the moment he arrived, put in substandard effort, constantly argued with senior players and leadership group, broke club protocols on rehab and then at the end of the year demanded a trade back home after one year.

Do you honestly believe Port Adelaide were not in constant contact with his manager all year as they saw how JHF was acting and encouraged him to demand a trade come years end and that quite possibly that exasperated the situation?

You're delusional if you don't and further to that point, don't you think that this could also be seen as an example for further players entering the draft?

Players should be saying only one thing publicly before entering the draft "they are excited to fulfill an AFL dream and they will be happy to play anywhere"

Privately they can say all they want. In the draft interviews they can even tell a club whether they would prefer to stay in Melbourne but they should still be agreeing that if they are picked they will fulfill their contract to the best of their abilities.

Recently however it seems acceptable to bypass all of this and just make it public knowledge so i'm sorry if i disagree with your "players are the game" comment but i don't like the precedent this is setting.

Frankly i find your comment that the players are the game a little ignorant because without the football clubs they wouldn't have a team to play for and without the supporters there wouldn't be any money to pay them..............food for thought.

There's way too much here for me to unpick... so I'll focus on JHF.

I don't have a problem with what JHF did. If I were a North fan, I'd be pissed... but I'd be pissed at the club. Players have every right to want to play for clubs of their choosing, or in the cities of their choice. And the AFL has a fairly robust mechanism for dealing with that... North got a decent trade out of it, and picked up a good player in return, instead of sticking with a player that just didn't want to be there. How is that bad? Or are you saying that JHF should have just shut up and been happy? Toughen up princess? We don't live in that world anymore.

The onus is on the clubs to create an environment where players want to stay. Would you want to play at North? I sure as hell wouldn't. People keep saying that players should feel lucky just to get paid to play the game they love. But luck is irrelevant here. If JHF has Port knocking on the door, why shouldn't he listen to their offer? "Sorry Port... I know you want to give me an offer... and I'm miserable as **** here in Melbourne, and I miss my family and my mental health is shot, so I'd really love to come home... but there are some nuffies on Bigfooty who will judge me harshly if I stay, so I'm gonna stick around at the shittiest club in the AFL".

Yeah, screw that.

I keep hearing that we are such an awesome club, with lots of money, based in the best city in the country... we should comfortably be able to convince Harley Reid to come and play for us. If we can't... then maybe the club needs to take a hard look at itself. We can't keep relying on the attitude that players should feel lucky just to be on an AFL list. Maybe you can get away with that approach for rookies or third-rounders. But a first rounder? A kid described as a once-in-a-generation talent? Yeah, we should be working our arses off behind the scenes to make him comfortable with the idea of moving.

This is the post I read at work this morning and thought I’d wait until I got home from work to reply.

Then Harley Reid crosses his arms and puffs his chest out (classic defensive body posture language. Read what you will in to that WCE_phil) and says “well I’m good old country boy who loves his mama”.

And 5 pages and 20 babies chucked out of prams later…

I’ve had exactly the same thoughts about the top end names that were listed before the season started.

Reid and Watson have lived up to their hype. Not so much Moir or Duursma.

Curtin playing midfield and racking up possessions in the Colts didn’t impress me. Sure he looked good, but he’s not doing that at AFL level. I want to see if he can dominate as a key forward, or is defence really his spot?

Otherwise I am impressed with the depth of talent this year.

I remember this time last year, I really thought the 2022 draft talent really fell away after the top 20.

But by the time the draft rolled around, I thought the top 30 was pretty good.

This year, I already reckon the top 40 is on par with last season’s top 30, which probably means we’re probably looking at, at least a top 50 players by the end of the season on par with last year’s top 30.
I support you in thinking this draft is deeper - hence holding both Port's R2 and R3 picks are valuable. The R2 is likely to be early to mid 30's and the R3 is likely to be early to mid 50's.

Alternatively we can look at buying a Suns R2 (they hold the Crows and their own) and using the 2 x R3 this year and the R3 and or 4 next year to get in earlier.

I a watching the big footy mid year mock draft and the picks are getting to 60 - there are some good prospects yet to be selected.