Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

Ummmm, it won't be the AFL making the decision mate.

Govt will impose it.
Don’t think that worked in Italy. Fans still went to games, at least initially.

Regardless, it won’t happen. What, are they gonna ban people going outside too?

but poaching and slaughtering species to extinction - ok.
That is just an hysterical misrepresentation of what is happening.
Extinction indeed...you know how pilot whales are treated these days when they beach themselves?
They are left to die due to their healthy numbers.
Maybe your hysteria should be directed to shipping companies. It is agreed their ‘white noise’ disrupts whale sonar when calling for mates and is seen as a cause for mass beaching.
The japs aren’t driving anything to extinction.

???

Pykie on the money here

I reckon that Italy is right up there for countries that would have had no contingency planning or thoughts on what the impacts might be.

From memory they literally did nothing to prepare for the Y2K bug. Luckily that didn't matter in the end. It's not the same story now.

All the bog rolls will be locked up in the toilets at the footy this season

images

Love how certain codes are telling players not to shake hands but instead bump fists, bum taps etc.
Then they go out for an throwing/kicking the same ball to each other all while bumping into each other and even giving players a helping hand back onto their feet.
I just shake my head at the stupidity of it all.
If it is that bad and contagious and you have to go to the lengths of not shaking hands, in a contact game mind you, then maybe don't play the game.
Until there is an instant test or vaccine then maybe events may just have to be put on hold for the greater good.
If it is/get's that bad.

Don’t think that worked in Italy. Fans still went to games, at least initially.

Regardless, it won’t happen. What, are they gonna ban people going outside too?

Ah yes, that's what they'll do.

I reckon that Italy is right up there for countries that would have had no contingency planning or thoughts on what the impacts might be.

From memory they literally did nothing to prepare for the Y2K bug. Luckily that didn't matter in the end. It's not the same story now.

Hmmm, the bit it affected, Lombardy, is richer and more advanced than Australia you know.

It is more like Switzerland or Germany.

Love how certain codes are telling players not to shake hands but instead bump fists, bum taps etc.
Then they go out for an throwing/kicking the same ball to each other all while bumping into each other and even giving players a helping hand back onto their feet.
I just shake my head at the stupidity of it all.
If it is that bad and contagious and you have to go to the lengths of not shaking hands, in a contact game mind you, then maybe don't play the game.
Until there is an instant test or vaccine then maybe events may just have to be put on hold for the greater good.
If it is/get's that bad.
I loved the English cricket team refusing to shake hands with the opposition. After spending 5 days spitting on the same ball and throwing it around.

Using my brain tells me there would be more infected than reported as not everyone who has contracted the virus would goto the doctor. So the mortality rate is incorrect.

As the meerkats say....... simples

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk
Not simples, irrelevant.

The reported mortality rates relate to known cases, projected mortality rates also relate to known cases.

Your reducing the mortality rate, based on an ASSUMPTION of large numbers of unreported infections. Then you seem to be applying this guessed at lower mortality rate to projected estimated infections, and ignoring that these projections are based on known cases.

If mortality rate is 2%. But you decide that there are 10 times as many infected as reported, so your guessed at mortality rate is 0.2%

If estimated number of infected in 1 year is 10 mill, then 2% is 200000.

We can apply your logic (guess). Number of infected is 10 times reported, mortality is 1/10 reported.

Calculate that out, you get what!! 200000. Shock horror.

Could it be, let's go really crazy here. Could it be that actual epidemiologists, crunching the actual raw data, might have figured out there are infected people that aren't known about?

Like maybe someone suggested it to them, or maybe they read bigfooty.

What a sight that would have been, high and mighty up himself WHO epidemiologist sitting down at his cornflakes, flicking through bigfooty, comes across Frumpy. What a forehead slapping moment that would have been, oh for ****s sake, we've been doing it all wrong.

They should make your lounge room WHO crises headquarters, you've got it all going on.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not simples, irrelevant.

The reported mortality rates relate to known cases, projected mortality rates also relate to known cases.

Your reducing the mortality rate, based on an ASSUMPTION of large numbers of unreported infections. Then you seem to be applying this guessed at lower mortality rate to projected estimated infections, and ignoring that these projections are based on known cases.

If mortality rate is 2%. But you decide that there are 10 times as many infected as reported, so your guessed at mortality rate is 0.2%

If estimated number of infected in 1 year is 10 mill, then 2% is 200000.

We can apply your logic (guess). Number of infected is 10 times reported, mortality is 1/10 reported.

Calculate that out, you get what!! 200000. Shock horror.

Could it be, let's go really crazy here. Could it be that actual epidemiologists, crunching the actual raw data, might have figured out there are infected people that aren't known about?

Like maybe someone suggested it to them, or maybe they read bigfooty.

What a sight that would have been, high and mighty up himself WHO epidemiologist sitting down at his cornflakes, flicking through bigfooty, comes across Frumpy. What a forehead slapping moment that would have been, oh for fu**s sake, we've been doing it all wrong.

They should make your lounge room WHO crises headquarters, you've got it all going on.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Come again?

The WHO's most recent estimate of the R0 is between 1.4-2.5

Seasonal influenza virus R0 is around 1.3

H1N1 R0 is estimated between 1.2-1.6

What you posted was false. Don't be mad. Be informed.

RO changes significantly depending on the size of testing. (The testing for the virus in South Korea, for example, has been far greater than the testing for the virus in the USA. Currently the South Korean RO is 0.7, and the USA RO is 2.1. Fatality rates in South Korea are also smaller, not necessarily because the virus is weaker but because they have collected a larger sample size than other countries)
Don't forget also that the RO from WHO that you are quoting is based on the entire world wide cases, not from only cases outside China (China cases have skewed the results because the virus was more contagious in the initial outbreak)

Hmmm, the bit it affected, Lombardy, is richer and more advanced than Australia you know.

It is more like Switzerland or Germany.

I'm not sure it's about how "advanced" a country is. I'm a dual citizen of Italy and Australia so I'm not saying this due to stereotypes.

There still should/would be a coordinated response at a national level though and I still wasn't surprised to hear that Italy was struggling with this.