Crowds in 2006 - AFL vs NRL

LebaneseForces said:
Listen here ****************... The guy is an AFL supporter!! NO RUGBY LEAGUE supporter has come on this thread and bagged out AFL crowds! Your a big man bagging out RL supporters when we haven't bagged out your sport on this thread....

No Rugby League supporter would even remotely dare be stupid enough to bag our crowds. That's a recipe for looking stupid. Fishmonger is an idiot. Who else would bag a crowd figure of 260,000 after round 1, especially given the circumstances. I suggest the AFL would be absolutely delighted with what we got, given we had games in Geelong v interstate team, a game in Launceston, a Sunday night fixture and a Monday night fixture with an interstate team. That together with lot's of other well-documented distractions and no MCG. Imagine that, ONLY getting 260,000. That's brilliant.

As I said Fishmonger is an idiot!

Jimthegreat said:
No Rugby League supporter would even remotely dare be stupid enough to bag our crowds. That's a recipe for looking stupid. Fishmonger is an idiot. Who else would bag a crowd figure of 260,000 after round 1, especially given the circumstances. I suggest the AFL would be absolutely delighted with what we got, given we had games in Geelong v interstate team, a game in Launceston, a Sunday night fixture and a Monday night fixture with an interstate team. That together with lot's of other well-documented distractions and no MCG. Imagine that, ONLY getting 260,000. That's brilliant.

As I said Fishmonger is an idiot!

260,000 as compared to 275,257 last year is a drop in anyone's language that's all I am saying.

The difference is more than the attendance for the game in Launceston.

And if as you say the AFL is so excited by these figures then where is the news story on their site saying how impressed they are with this season's crowds ? Sure, I can see the news articles on AFL.com.au. "Crowds are down but AFL is all Smiles", "Commonwealth Games steals the AFL limelight", "Comm Games, No MCG and poor draw blamed for crowd numbers".

Your post doesn't deal with why the AFL came up with the stupid Round 1 schedule in the first place if they knew well in advance that the Commonwealth Games would be an issue ?

Especially when last year they sheduled a game each at:
* Gabba (Brisbane)
* Subi (Perth)
* AAMI (Adelaide)
* SCG (Sydney)
Why not just use the same proven formula this year ? Instead they schedule more games in Victoria. Now thats what I call dumb.
The AFL administration is dumb because they continually experiment and take risks like this. Changing rules. Playing sides in different markets interstate markets. Scheduling games on Thursday and Monday nights. It will come back and haunt them.

Earlier I predicted on this board that I didn't think the round 1 crowds would be as good as the opening round last year a) because of the draw and b) because people are sick to death of the rule changes and softness of the game this season and they laughed at me.... and it was true. Now all I get is stupid excuses like "It will be better next week" and "the ANZAC day game will help doctor the figures" ....

I know because I have been to far less games this year because the quality of play so far is crap. And even the AFL is starting to realise that, there is a poll on the site that asks "Is AFL football a better spectacle now than it was in the 80s?". They wouldn't dare do that if they weren't concerned about what spectators think.

fishmonger said:
260,000 as compared to 275,257 last year is a drop in anyone's language that's all I am saying.

The difference is more than the attendance for the game in Launceston.

And if as you say the AFL is so excited by these figures then where is the news story on their site saying how impressed they are with this season's crowds ? Sure, I can see the news articles on AFL.com.au. "Crowds are down but AFL is all Smiles", "Commonwealth Games steals the AFL limelight", "Comm Games, No MCG and poor draw blamed for crowd numbers".

Your post doesn't deal with why the AFL came up with the stupid Round 1 schedule in the first place if they knew well in advance that the Commonwealth Games would be an issue ?

Especially when last year they sheduled a game each at:
* Gabba (Brisbane)
* Subi (Perth)
* AAMI (Adelaide)
* SCG (Sydney)
Why not just use the same proven formula this year ? Instead they schedule more games in Victoria. Now thats what I call dumb.
The AFL administration is dumb because they continually experiment and take risks like this. Changing rules. Playing sides in different markets interstate markets. Scheduling games on Thursday and Monday nights. It will come back and haunt them.

Earlier I predicted on this board that I didn't think the round 1 crowds would be as good as the opening round last year a) because of the draw and b) because people are sick to death of the rule changes and softness of the game this season and they laughed at me.... and it was true. Now all I get is stupid excuses like "It will be better next week" and "the ANZAC day game will help doctor the figures" ....

I know because I have been to far less games this year because the quality of play so far is crap. And even the AFL is starting to realise that, there is a poll on the site that asks "Is AFL football a better spectacle now than it was in the 80s?". They wouldn't dare do that if they weren't concerned about what spectators think.

You dig a deeper hole each time you simply look at the keyboard. You're going to that kind of variation every week. Some weeks will be over 300,000 others may be a low as under 250,000, it depends on the circumstances like, venues, draw etc.... 15,000 after one match is nothing. Probably putting Carlton and Melbourne (31,000 on a Sunday night with the Grand Prix on) alone at the MCG at normal hours would have made up that 15,000. Then put Collingwood and Adelaide (35,000 on a Monday night, a great crowd under the circumstances) on a normal day at normal hours on top of that and it would probably take you over your 275,000 by quite a bit with another 8-10,000. Probably another 10,000 if the Hawks were ta the 'G and another 5000 at Geelong if the weather wasn't so ratsh1t. That, on a very average round of footy would have taken it too around 300,000. West Coast V St.kilda @ Subi was 40,300, Bullies v Richmond 43,000 and Essendon V Sydney 45,000, both at Telstra Dome, all oustanding crowds. And you feel after round 1 that the game's "in trouble". Feeling silly yet?!

Just looking at last year, the highest crowd was 346,000, a few around 320,000, some at just over 300,000. On the other hand there were 3 crowds below 250,000, quite a few in the low 260,000's and some in the 270,000's. As I said, it's variable depending on circumstances. Imagine having to defend a crowd of 260,000, something the other codes would droll over!

As far as AFL scheduling is concerned probably don't want to waste you blockbusters on rounds clashing with many distractions and no MCG. It doesn't matter, they have to play each other any att some time. As for people's excuses, notyhing wrong with them when they're very valid.

I suggest you quit while you're falling along way behind. Maybe you should check out your facts further before embarking on silly threads.

Jimthegreat said:
Feeling silly yet?!

No.
So now you are blaming the weather in Geelong as well.

Great, so 260 ranks not in the 3 250s at the lowest, but for an opening round is equal to some of the most run-of-the mill rounds in the AFL for 2006.

Nice one.

Who are you. An AFL propagandist ?

fishmonger said:
No.
So now you are blaming the weather in Geelong as well.

Great, so 260 ranks not in the 3 250s at the lowest, but for an opening round is equal to some of the most run-of-the mill rounds in the AFL for 2006.

Nice one.

Who are you. An AFL propagandist ?
Yes exactly, if there's valid reason, of couse a sh1t day wiill affect a crowd. Are you to stupid to realise that?! Of course you are, I forgot. Don't have to be a propagandist, just have to state the facts, which, of course you're incapable of deciphering. Obviously, whatever facts are put in front of you it's not going to get into you're thick head. For you're information, in another near record year (only 1998 & 2005 had higher crowds), the first round of 2004 also drew only 260,000 as well, and without the interfering circumstances this year had to encounter. Crowds depend on many factors. Any more needed for you or are you just going to come up with something stupid again?!

Anyway, the more you type and look for desperate reasons why you think in you're own pea-brain that you're right, the more stupid you look. What other idiot in his right mind would come up with you're conclusions after round 1. At least wait until a few rounds in before coming up with such conclusions.

Try either admitting you're wrong or just plain simply give up. Now go away.

Jimthegreat said:
Yes exactly, if there's valid reason, of couse a sh1t day wiill affect a crowd. Are you to stupid to realise that?! Of course you are, I forgot. Don't have to be a propagandist, just have to state the facts, which, of course you're incapable of deciphering. Obviously, whatever facts are put in front of you it's not going to get into you're thick head. For you're information, in another near record year (only 1998 & 2005 had higher crowds), the first round of 2004 also drew only 260,000 as well, and without the interfering circumstances this year had to encounter. Crowds depend on many factors. Any more needed for you or are you just going to come up with something stupid again?!

Anyway, the more you type and look for desperate reasons why you think in you're own pea-brain that you're right, the more stupid you look. What other idiot in his right mind would come up with you're conclusions after round 1. At least wait until a few rounds in before coming up with such conclusions.

Try either admitting you're wrong or just plain simply give up. Now go away.

I still don't know what you're trying to tell me I'm wrong about.

I don't give a flying ******** about circumstances and excuses. I told you I think that they could have been easily avoided.

You admit yourself basically that the AFL just had a bad hair day .. how does that make me wrong ?

Crowds depend on many factors.
Derr, like how many people turn up :rolleyes:

Ok idiot I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ********in impressed with these crowd figures, I am going to jump up and down and say that the Commonwealth Games, the Weather in Geelong, the game in Launceston, the unavailability of the MCG, the amount of games held in Melbourne, the Amount of people who turned up and the AFL fans that will do anything to justify poor crowd figures and the crapness of the NRL are the best thing that ever happened to the ********ing AFL in its entire existence. Way to go Round 1 !!!!! Way to go AFL !!! Keep up the dwindling crowds. It's good for you afterall. Jimthegreat says so ...

Dude it's Round 1. Why are you bothering with this whole argument. Attendences vary from round to round some weeks they are up, others they are down. Look at the NRL. First few weeks were good, but last week was a relatively disappointing aggregate. If the AFL attendences are still down by 8% or whatever after 5 or 6 rounds then maybe then you could make such a sweeping statement such as "AFL Crowds are dwindling". Until that point however you have no argument.

fishmonger said:
I still don't know what you're trying to tell me I'm wrong about.

I don't give a flying ******** about circumstances and excuses. I told you I think that they could have been easily avoided.

You admit yourself basically that the AFL just had a bad hair day .. how does that make me wrong ?

Derr, like how many people turn up :rolleyes:

Ok idiot I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ********in impressed with these crowd figures, I am going to jump up and down and say that the Commonwealth Games, the Weather in Geelong, the game in Launceston, the unavailability of the MCG, the amount of games held in Melbourne, the Amount of people who turned up and the AFL fans that will do anything to justify poor crowd figures and the crapness of the NRL are the best thing that ever happened to the ********ing AFL in its entire existence. Way to go Round 1 !!!!! Way to go AFL !!! Keep up the dwindling crowds. It's good for you afterall. Jimthegreat says so ...

The facts say so stupid!! Don't need me to say so.... I got you lots of statistics and facts to back my argument and this is how you carry on. Obviously the best and only reply you can come up with because you don't have anything decent to come back with, and it hurts! Pity you have no real facts. What an idiot! You're a failure.

And looking at all this, it seems you don't cope with failure very well. You have problems coping with being wrong and thus making an idiot of yourself in the process. In the yellow pages there are numbers of good Psychologists, do yourself a favor............Because really, you're making yourself look very stupid and foolish. Do you have problems like this in everything else you do?.

Some people, fair dinkum.

Bit of a revisit ...

AFL = Round 4
NRL = Round 7

Finally the AFL regains the biggest crowd of the season with the Collingwood vs Kangaroos game at the Dome in Round 3. With the 92,000 from the ANZAC match this weekend, averages may lift slightly.

Overall averages are still well down on last year. A failure at Carrara didn't help. Luckily the NRL tried a similar experiment in Adelaide or the AFL could lay claim to the smallest home and away crowd.

Biggest crowd in 2006
* AFL = 48,721 (round 3): Collingwood vs Kangaroos (Telstra Dome, Melbourne)
* NRL = 46,229 (round 1): Brisbane vs Nth Queensland (Suncorp, Brisbane)

NRL averages took a dive over the past 3 weeks, but still up on last year.

Lowest premiership season crowd in 2006
* AFL = 8,258 : Melbourne vs Adelaide (Carrara, Gold Coast)
* NRL = 7,017 : Melbourne vs Penrith (Hindmarsh, Adelaide)

Lowest crowd in 2006
* NRL = 4,000 (pre-season test): Cronulla vs Bulldogs (Port Macquarie)
* AFL = 1,500 (pre-season test): Melbourne vs Kangaroos (Princes Park, Melbourne)

Average crowds 2006 (2005)
* AFL = 33,465 (35,696)
* NRL = 17,426 (16,468)

DynamoUltra said:
In excess of 45,000 last night too.

The ground didn't look 3/4 full on TV, there were some sections that looked very empty, didn't seem 5k off capacity.

Hawkk said:
Well that was what it was.... The DOME is always very deceptive..

Hawks are hoping for 55,000+ next week!

Don't think it will be that big. Somewhere in the low 40's I reckon. Bombers not travelling too well, and they're responsible for probably 70% of the combined supporter base of the two teams.

Dan26 said:
Don't think it will be that big. Somewhere in the low 40's I reckon. Bombers not travelling too well, and they're responsible for probably 70% of the combined supporter base of the two teams.
Don't ask me, that's according to the Hawthorn CEO on Hawk Radio last week, who is expecting a crowd of 50k or more with the Hawks coming back to the 'G'

Both competitions would have to be happy with how their crowds are going so far.
The AFL hasn't been able to use the MCG yet, and are still well over 30,000. And there's some blockbusters coming up in the next few weeks which should get the crowds back up to around last year's levels.
The NRL have held onto last year's record crowds, they'd have to be happy with that. Another bumper crowd last night, although that's probably more of a reflection of Parra Stadium's low capacity. Rugby league's at a similar stage to where we were about 15 years ago when the game outgrew the suburban grounds, and more games are being moved to the bigger stadiums.

Great news for both codes. Growth in one doesn't have to be at the expense of the other.

fabulousphil said:
Pathetic compared to the AFL but in reality the NRL is one of the biggest average crowd pullers in the world.......... just shows you how big the AFL is in southern australia and pockets of Brisbane and Sydney.

I believe the AFL has higher average figures than english soccer...... piy the majority of the world has not heard about it....... although that may be changing

http://www.worldfootynews.com/

Take a squiz
The biggest stadium in English Club football is OLd Trafford, Manchester, 70,000.

With many stadia in the AFL over the 30,000 mark, which is roughly the average capaicty in the English Premiership, that is hardly an advantage.

Crowds in 2006 - AFL vs NRL