AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
And you morons still complain about Shuey, now you’ll all be applauding this diving f***.I hope you are right! ;-)
I've said earlier in the piece, rather than topping up with "bush" footballers who in the main have poor skills we should be looking at kids from the elite junior system the Victorian TAC Comp for at least 2 or 3 "top ups" every season along the lines of Lachie Murphy. There were at least a dozen lads I saw last year that missed out in the National Draft that would run rings around these "bushies" we've picked up. A lot of these kids would jump at the chance to play SANFL knowing they're being scrutinised for possibly a place on our AFL list, especially when we can point out Lachie's pathway now. Shouldn't be too hard to find them part time employment or get them into University courses here in that period. It would never be popular with the SANFL clubs if we did it with SA lads that's miss out like Nathan Kreuger etc last year. Incidentally the main reason Lachie decided to give it a go over here was because we drafted his Northern Knights team-mate and best mate Matt Signorello.If our SANFL program continues to development talent like Lachie Murphy who cares if we win games or not.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
And you morons still complain about Shuey, now you’ll all be applauding this diving f***.
Agree somewhat. It's up to the umpire to pick it out, not the players to stop doing it.Most of us complain about Thomas as well, but I personally believe diving to be a skill. If you are interested, you can check my posts on diving.
Honestly, Gooch is a serious worry. I liked how he finished last year, tackling and finding a lot of ball by comparison to earlier in the year.
But he looks lost again, and at very, very best, with everything going right, he could end up Dahlhaus like.
Have a read back of that years draft thread, none of us were overly keen. Of the players that went after him, Berry, Witherden, Hayward are all playing AFL footy and showing a lot.
I normally wait to judge, but Haggis may have fluffed this one.
Those lads that missed out in the National Draft would probably get mopped up with an AFL Reserves comp in place.I've said earlier in the piece, rather than topping up with "bush" footballers who in the main have poor skills we should be looking at kids from the elite junior system the Victorian TAC Comp for at least 2 or 3 "top ups" every season along the lines of Lachie Murphy. There were at least a dozen lads I saw last year that missed out in the National Draft that would run rings around these "bushies" we've picked up. A lot of these kids would jump at the chance to play SANFL knowing they're being scrutinised for possibly a place on our AFL list, especially when we can point out Lachie's pathway now. Shouldn't be too hard to find them part time employment or get them into University courses here in that period. It would never be popular with the SANFL clubs if we did it with SA lads that's miss out like Nathan Kreuger etc last year. Incidentally the main reason Lachie decided to give it a go over here was because we drafted his Northern Knights team-mate and best mate Matt Signorello.
I’m assuming you’re of Brazilian heritage?Most of us complain about Thomas as well, but I personally believe diving to be a skill. If you are interested, you can check my posts on diving.
I agree.Those lads that missed out in the National Draft would probably get mopped up with an AFL Reserves comp in place.
Speaking of which, anyone seen where that is at?
We could draft them. I reckon they'd have to increase the club list sizes with a Reserves comp and every club would draft a few more players than they have in the past. But then there will still be some left out I guess.I agree.
If there was an AFL reserves comp most of those TAC Cup kids stay in Victoria and we miss out.
We'd sign up a bunch of SA, Tas and NT jr's who missed out on the draft.I agree.
If there was an AFL reserves comp most of those TAC Cup kids stay in Victoria and we miss out.
I've said earlier in the piece, rather than topping up with "bush" footballers who in the main have poor skills we should be looking at kids from the elite junior system the Victorian TAC Comp for at least 2 or 3 "top ups" every season along the lines of Lachie Murphy. There were at least a dozen lads I saw last year that missed out in the National Draft that would run rings around these "bushies" we've picked up. A lot of these kids would jump at the chance to play SANFL knowing they're being scrutinised for possibly a place on our AFL list, especially when we can point out Lachie's pathway now. Shouldn't be too hard to find them part time employment or get them into University courses here in that period. It would never be popular with the SANFL clubs if we did it with SA lads that's miss out like Nathan Kreuger etc last year. Incidentally the main reason Lachie decided to give it a go over here was because we drafted his Northern Knights team-mate and best mate Matt Signorello.
SANFL umpires haven’t really had to contend with rampant divers for quite a while now, not since Glenelg had a few in the mid/late 2000’s.Agree somewhat. It's up to the umpire to pick it out, not the players to stop doing it.
I didn't see much of the game yesterday but the bits I saw, I found myself annoyed at the umpires falling for it rather than Thomas doing it
Are we allowed to do that at the moment? I thought there were some rules that prevented that.I've said earlier in the piece, rather than topping up with "bush" footballers who in the main have poor skills we should be looking at kids from the elite junior system the Victorian TAC Comp for at least 2 or 3 "top ups" every season along the lines of Lachie Murphy. There were at least a dozen lads I saw last year that missed out in the National Draft that would run rings around these "bushies" we've picked up. A lot of these kids would jump at the chance to play SANFL knowing they're being scrutinised for possibly a place on our AFL list, especially when we can point out Lachie's pathway now. Shouldn't be too hard to find them part time employment or get them into University courses here in that period. It would never be popular with the SANFL clubs if we did it with SA lads that's miss out like Nathan Kreuger etc last year. Incidentally the main reason Lachie decided to give it a go over here was because we drafted his Northern Knights team-mate and best mate Matt Signorello.
Agree somewhat. It's up to the umpire to pick it out, not the players to stop doing it.
I didn't see much of the game yesterday but the bits I saw, I found myself annoyed at the umpires falling for it rather than Thomas doing it
I’m assuming you’re of Brazilian heritage?
If so what's the story with Lachie Murphy??Are we allowed to do that at the moment? I thought there were some rules that prevented that.
Not really, that's basically already operating in Victoria with the AFL aligned VFL clubs....just off the top of my head...2 local boys that were seriously unlucky not to at least get rookie drafted Medium Forward/Mid Jordan Johnston is now with the Northern Blues [Carlton], Mid/Winger Aiden Domic with Geelong VFL. Another exciting indigenous youngster Ethan Penrith also with the Northern Blues. Quite a few of the TAC lads get opportunities with the non aligned VFL teams also, Williamstown, Port Melbourne, Werribee, Coburg and Frankston, . I'd especially be looking at lads from the GWV Rebels, Bendigo Pioneers and Gippsland Power as the majority of them live 100's of KMs away from Melbourne.Those lads that missed out in the National Draft would probably get mopped up with an AFL Reserves comp in place.
Speaking of which, anyone seen where that is at?
Wasn't so much the lack of zip which concerned me, but his positioning and hunting the ball.I didn't get to see yesterday's effort, sounds pretty terrible though. But it sounded like he lacked the zip that we know he has in spades. So, I'm not reassessing my view yet, it's round 1 of the SANFL in an absolute pantsing off an interrupted preseason. I don't think we got Doedee wrong, despite many players going better earlier than him. I'm backing in our recruiters who have a very good recent record and tend to not draft for instant impact. Of course, perhaps Gooch represents a departure from that norm and they've completely fluffed it.
I don't remember it very well, but I'm sure I've read there's a maximum number of interstate players we can have. I think it's two, and Lonergan is one of those for this year.If so what's the story with Lachie Murphy??
If so it's blatantly wrong, what right have the SANFL got to do that when all the SANFL club'a do it all the time. Who's to say the lads aren't moving to Adelaide for better employment prospects or University studies??I don't remember it very well, but I'm sure I've read there's a maximum number of interstate players we can have. I think it's two, and Lonergan is one of those for this year.