D GRADE: Give me something...

Rupo silencing some crtics this. A great win for the club, from all reports they really focussed on this game and really showed throughout the day. A quality team with a strong midfield. A new addition in the ruck though this week, the young developing forward for the woodmen was thrusted into the ruck and i thought he performed well and contributed to the rupo drive from the middle.:thumbsu: Oc were off on the day and were really outclassed still a great side but need to play well thiss week i am going to be leaning towrds the oc this week to aveng last weeks loss

Well all the best to those Rupo supporters that smashed my nines, have reeled them in to 6.50 with an easing OC out to 4.00. OG's are at 5.00 still in my book and the BT boys, well didn't they let me down!!! Out to 6.00 with the Therry boys out to 10.00.

6-0 top of the table, still confident they won't win it and I'll take that country money but gee, aren't they a chance now of a top two finish which gives them a good crack at it. Still have my doubts though.

Sleeper is Banyule, who seem to be emerging bearing in mind they lost two by less than a kick. From all reports were very impressive on Saturday and the next couple could see them pushing for a place in the four by the turn.

Leos really appear to be gone, but the Domeney factor for the Yarra boys should never be underestimated. As for Prahran, well what can you say. Yarra at Toorak Pk this week would have to be their last chance to set themselves on a path avoiding relegation, if the die has not been cast already.

Old Mentonians pulled off one of their usual two massive wins for the year. Can they maintain it away from home this week. It's a topsy turvy season in D1 as I have said all along. I honestly believe the standard has slipped this year and accompanying that, I also believe any side in the comp can beat any other even more so than any year in recent memory.

Roll on round 7!

Midas said:
Old Mentonians pulled off one of their usual two massive wins for the year. Can they maintain it away from home this week. It's a topsy turvy season in D1 as I have said all along. I honestly believe the standard has slipped this year and accompanying that, I also believe any side in the comp can beat any other even more so than any year in recent memory.

Roll on round 7!

Fleming played his first game for the year, he is a very handy player. Sandringham had a bye. BT didnt have their VFL players - thems the breaks

Round 7 here is my tips. After 2 last week i dont confess to know much about alot of the teams but as long as Rupo win i dont care.

Rupo, has a danger game, like many others on this thread i believe on any given day sides depending on personell can topple each other. Rupo have to come up again after a great performance last week. This is the major test for young relentless warriors. St.Leos have nothing to lose and feel they have played well at home going by results. Rupo by 12 points

OC and OG should be a cracker of a game. Old Geelong prevailed strongly over Rupo in 2005, not unlike Oakleigh in 2004. I'm suggesting Rupo improves at a greater level than all sides and will have OG's measure (all be it not by much) and with a rebounding OC at home i'll tip them by 7 points.

Therry VS BT Yet to see BT, this thread again suggests whos available is all important. Have seen Therry, pretty impressed, Darren Goodwin have seen him play and is a gun (didn't play against Rupo) so if he is available i will lean towards Therry (22points).

OM v Banyule. Can't pick it. OM very inconsistent and Banyule improving. OM good at home. Banyule by 6 points.

Prahran v YV. Was very impressed with YV against Rupo. Were 4 goals up in th 2nd quarter only to be over run with our fitness and run. Prahran struggling ( the mud heap they evidently play on doesn't help) so i'll tip YV by 28pts

This thread is enjoyable keep it going. D1 is pretty even and the standard weplayed on Saturday was very high, so i'm not sure about past years but we are playing tremendous footy, Just ask who's played us.

Hey Moxy,

I am a good mate of G O'Connor and I can confirm he is down training at Therry but only in the gym, he has told me that he want to play his final year with his good mates...........I think he did play down there for 8 years before wallan. I don't know if he will play ones or just help out from time to time in the 2's. Did he leave Wallan on bad terms? As far as I am aware he did like the blokes and stuff up there.

DG-Man said:
Of course Rupo can hold there own. So can 9 other clubs in D1. I know a little about a few clubs and a lot about some others. I really don't think there are tough, strong teams and weak, intimadated teams. All teams are capable of being tough (that is being prepared to put their heads over the footy and take a hit) There is nothing tough about whacking someone behind play, or even in play. I don't think D1 ammos is like this. Most clubs weed out those kind of people themselves. There will always be a bad egg or two, but little respect is gained from both inside or outside of clubs if you think being tough is being able to throw a cheap punch.
Being tough is about taking a hit when it is your turn. Putting your body on the line. Backing back into a pack. I think all clubs in D1 are strong, tough clubs.
The battle, as it should be, will be won on the scoreboard.
Go D1

Passionate!!!!!! It brings a tear to the eye!

My tips:

OC to bounce back
Rupo on there merry way
Therry must win or season may be sliding away. So its Therry
OM's at home in a thriller
YV in a close one at Toorak

Quite a tough round. Rupo looks like the only easy one (sorry Leo's fans)

Creeker said:
Hey Moxy,

I am a good mate of G O'Connor and I can confirm he is down training at Therry but only in the gym, he has told me that he want to play his final year with his good mates...........I think he did play down there for 8 years before wallan. I don't know if he will play ones or just help out from time to time in the 2's. Did he leave Wallan on bad terms? As far as I am aware he did like the blokes and stuff up there.
Hey creeker,
nah he didnt leave on bad terms. If anything we are gonna miss him. The reason I was wondering if he was playing down there, was because he told us he has retired due to his ankle injury.
So when I heard that he was playing at another club I was gobsmacked. He did a pre-season with us and played a handful of games.
So why wouldnt he stick around?
Maybe something happend at the club that he didnt like or he got a better offer from somebody.
We are looking good this year and I personally thought he would want to stick around and see if we could make finals for the first time in DVFL, as he was apart of the original team that started of the building process.

Just doesnt seem right!

I will be catching up with him very soon so i will find out for sure. I know he def isn't 100% and he is regualary back at the surgeon for jabs and what ever else. Nothing at wallan upset him and I know he was upset to have to leave. Has anyone from the club kept in still in contact with him?

Tribunal results.

Both Rupo boys got off.
Collins got off
Howgate copped 2 weeks.

Pretty good result alround. Carey will be relieved not to lose Collo for the b ig game against OGS. Disappointing to lose Howgate. Don't know much about him, but he is young, big and talented from reports.

Rupo.....can anything go wrong for these lads. On a roll!!

Keep the tips coming in lads!!

All you punters have prob been holding back waiting for the great mans tips........well here they are you ferals.... pay attention.

Rupo easily over St Leos (+39.5 points Margin)
OG to knock off OC (plenty of yellow scarves are the order of the day here)
Therry over BT (say......30 points)
OM to beat Banyule (22 points)
YV to beat Prahan (34 points)

OG's to win by a point over OC by the way.....Just to break there spirits that little bit extra going into the break.

Sandra and OM, you didn't put your tips in last week. You are starting behind the pack.

This week DG-Man thinks:

OM's in a nailbiter against the Bears
YV to be a little too strong for Prahran
Therry to win a must win game over BT
Rupo to keep cruising along (maintain ther 1 game advantage hey Sandra. Nice late edit)
OGS to upset the OC in a ripper of a game.

Would be interesting to see last years D2 Grand finalists be 1 and 2 after round 7. Would certainly give weight to the theory that D1 is not as strong as last year.

I'm sure the Old C's think they have improved since last year, so they will be pulling out all stops to stop the OGS this week. Will be a great game, but i think the OGS are looking ominous!

Send all your tips in. Missing 11 tipsters at the moment.

Please note: If you do not post tips by Sat Morning, you recieve all away teams as your tips. Last week that = 1 (OM's)

great to see that the vast majority of people contining to use this forum in the manner in which it was designed. ILSS still manages to undo all the great work by Rupo.... This little fettish of his regarding Oggers and OC's wearing yellow scalves intrigues me a bit. After consultation with an old university prof. I have been informed that such silly statements by ILSS can almost certainly be an indication of ones own sexual uncertainties. Perhaps the pressure of still being sexual inactive or having active (wet) dreams of gay romps are starting to take there toll on the young rooster. Either way young man, please continue to humour us with your great football knowledge but please leave out the other rather boring and unnecessary stuff.

Ugly - OUT

Tips this week:
Old Carey and Old Geelonh to be close but Old Geelong run over OC in the last 5 minutes.
Yarra Valley to slap the shizen out of Prahran
Banyule to beat OM's (i think this is Oms week off again)
Rupo over Emmaus
BT and Therry, too close to call but i reckon Therry just. Really need this win (as has been stated in above posts) to keep in touch.

John from the VAFA who is this developing ruckman/forward you mentioned from Rupo? What sort of player is this bloke thats been mentioned who trained with therry but has a crook ankle? Will he play this year?
Cheers Cowboy

Gee i'm sorry Uglydermie i didn't realise you were the forum co-ordinator... terribly sorry bout that, in future i will just do as you say.
I shouldn't be bringing up yellow scalves.... next time i will stick to the homosexual jibes like you.

Everyone, Uglydermie is telling me to stick to what the forum is for (talking footy i presume) only to proceed to dish out 7 lines of absolutley nothing to do with footy... bit contradictive if you ask me.... or could it be that he is upset about the young Rupo side sitting pretty on top??? I think the latter.

Anyway you lot decide.....

My Tips :

OC to be stung into action and defeat OGS in a GF preview
YV to win
BT to defeat Therry
Rupertswood(what sort of name is that anyway) to beat the dirty Animals
The Banyule Bears to win

.......and my biggest tip - ILSS - pull your head in!

Bede me up said:
My Tips :

OC to be stung into action and defeat OGS in a GF preview
YV to win
BT to defeat Therry
Rupertswood(what sort of name is that anyway) to beat the dirty Animals
The Banyule Bears to win

.......and my biggest tip - ILSS - pull your head in!

Hear, Hear! Good call that!

And, despite what ILSS thinks, my spirit and that of my teammates is not broken (nor do I even own a yellow scarf). Yes, we were beaten by a better side on the day, however all is not lost (or won) in Rd 6! Well done Rupo, we'll see you again in about 10 weeks, Bulleen way.

TIPS:
YV
Bulleen-Temp
Rupertswood
Banyule
Us (goes without saying really, sure that OGS will take it right up to us)

Cheers boys and enjoy the footy

ILSS you will have to be on the thread a bit longer before you get support against Ugly, he may not be moderator but definately respected.

My tips:
Rupo over st leos who are gone, by 30pts
OG over OC by 10pts
BT to bounce back and secure 4th place by 20pts
OM over Banyule by 10pts
Yv over Prharn by 30pts.

Let it be known that i support Sandra Sully, and think this site would be dull without him.
And before you all get on your high horse and start abusing me, i am not from Rupertswood!!!!!!! I am just sick of listening to you idiots critisize the young lad for having a crack and winding up you old Carey blokes... which he has clearly done, you have all been sucked in.
Sandra Sully, keep up the good work son..... they are just disgruntled about your club knocking them off there purch.

Now to my tips:

OG in a very tight one over OC
Therry over BT
Rupertswood in a surprisingly close contest against Stleos
Banyule over OM by 20+ points
YV in another tight one against two blues.

Go Bears!!!

Hey Ugly,

My friend says you were a fine player during your day and your opponents feared you. Apparently you also have friends in high places at the VAFA. Is this true?

Sandra you should pull your head in.

ha ha ha ha ha Friends in High places in the VAFA huh???!!! ahhhh ha ha ha ha people who know who i am on here would be laughing right now.

Thanks for the kind words Mr Cena.

I know who you are Sandra, and from the theme of the last few posts, there is nothing to laugh about. Nice attempt to try and place yourself as somebody you are not. To deflect is to remain hidden.
Let's keep the banter as kind as we can ladies and gents. Big week of footy ahead of us all!:)

silky_skills said:
Hey Ugly,

My friend says you were a fine player during your day and your opponents feared you. Apparently you also have friends in high places at the VAFA. Is this true?

AAAggghhhh Silky, I think you may be barking up the wrong tree. Can't confess to ever being a fine player or one that could be feared. Alas I do know a few people in high places within the ranks of the Ammos BUT best not go any further on this line.

Keep up your good work Silky,

Ugly- out

silky_skills said:
Hey Ugly,

Ahahaha Silky Skills you have just left the funniest post of the year!!!
I can honestly say i was 'Laughing out loud' when i read this poor attempt of intimidation!

Now i am going put forward a notion to suspend and disregard anything said by silky skills for 2 days.

Thank you mr speaker (referring to a parliamentary debate) as i've heard whispers ugly dermie is not only high up in the vafa, but also a major player in the coalition government, and chums with peter costello.

tips and hello all........

oc to beat og think og were very very lucky boys last week against therry.
rupo to beat leos but not by much cause of the small ground and not being able to run and move as much
therry to beat bullen and set the mark that the can be a top 4 side.
old menton in a close on against the bears
yv to beat the toorak boys

long time reader first time poster

Dog out........as ugly says it