D GRADE: Give me something...

Sorry it has taken me so long to join party this evening. My driver was late picking me up, and then when i got home, the internal lift was broken. Had to walk up 4 sets of stairs to reach the upper study. A little chilly up here, so i have just put on a creme turtle-neck. "Can you organise my pipe and slippers Geeves."
Now down to business.
OGS have taken a wrong turn and are heading 180 degrees in the wrong direction, down struggle street. A fearsome unit in D2, but perhaps they lack the top up in personnel to give D1 a real shake this year. Extremely disappointing last month. The only thing that they can be happy about this weekend is that BT did them a favour by denting the YV's finals hopes.
Great effort by Prahran. Can't see them staying in D1, but top win none the less! Leos are on fire. They have been excellent over the last month and will be difficult opponents for finals aspirants in the lead up to September!
On paper, a good win by the OC. Therry, with names back and D2 starting to look like a real possibility, were always likely to be tough opposition. The OC were obvioulsy very good.
Fantastic win by Rupo. OM's are difficult to beat at home, but i suspect they have packed it in for the year. Taking nothing away from Rupo (as i did not see the game) but last weeks form against the OC where they had only 4 scoring shots, and then a home loss today, suggests that the OM's will finish around 7th this year which is an average result for a side that looked strong towards the end of last year.
Rupo move into 3rd spot with a games break to OGS, and another gap to YV. ILSS will be a happy boy tonight!

DG weekly new market:

BT - 7/4
OC - 2/1
Rupo - 12/1
OGS - 15-1
YV - 25/1

The BT and the OC are starting to really stamp their authority. Both teams have disposed of the YV in recent weeks with ease, and the YV have been a form side with great recent wins over other top sides.
Would be interesting to hear from someone at YV about how they found both BT and OC. Whether they can give an indication as to who they think is the stronger side.

Tipping Ladder will be done tomorrow or Monday. Geeves has just rolled down my sheets. "I hope there is a little chocolate on the pillow tonight Geeves!"

Will sleep on the idea of opening up the DG Palace at years end. It has been many years since anyone not wearing boat shoes has visited my house. Will talk to the misses about lowering the dress standard for an evening. Stay tuned!

can't mark can't kick said:
Two Blues got a well-deserved win, although they tried to hand it to OGs in the last quarter. Great contributions from James, L Northway and a couple of other who I won't mention( WHY NOT, IT IS NOT AS IF THEIR NAMES WILL NOT APPEAR ON THE TEAM SHEET?).
the fat kid coaching the Blues did pretty good too.
all in all it was a very entertaining game but the training track will cop a pounding at Como this week.

CMCK Did Bevan play? Rumour is he is playing the last four rounds. McCudden?Sleight? Excuse me if i am unfair, but i cannot see the side Prahran has put on the field the past two months troubling OGS at home, even at two blues absolute best and even with Stafford and Scicluna back.

FAT KID.. not sure which is more insulting?.Stafford is a bit heavy but still a very clever player, strong on the lead; and kid?? Well i actually start to wonder if you are Leigh himself; maybe Fat Kid is an in-joke .??:D

KB- any players back? How did Monzell(nicknaming him Diesel) and Collins play? very good footballers IMO and keys to Rupo, 'in and under' and 'linebreakers' .- and on another note is ILSS a ones player or does he just talk *&(^? I dont need a name.. just this info.

Decent win by Rupo though i still think Yarra will play finals.. prob only one more tough game to go - Leos, think the loser of OGs v Rupo will probably drop out..

UGLY or one of the many BT people- any new ins for BT ?Did Bain play or young ruckman from Port- will he qualify for finals?. that was a very impressive result.. BT and OC similar results at Domeney this year.. - good formline.

One of the many OC people- Thoughts on OC? How did Trav Bull go? Very important pickup IMO- one thing OC has lacked is a CHF.. Nick Bull? also very handy- is he close to a ones game? There seem to be a lot of new names playing in the ones - any thoughts on any of them. Where do they come from? Where do they play? Ratcliffe,Jessup,Barton etc.

EVERYONE - Can Leos make a last minute charge to finals? Can they knock of OC this week? Will take a huge effort but Buckle is firing, if so how will they do it . It will take more than just Buckle, and Ballard is very good but OC have good ruckmen in Unkles and Basell .I know Leos finals seems remote with 14pts to make up, however.. OGS - Rupo away, OC home, Leos ahome, Therry away, OM home- you would only pencil in OM- they should win more than this but stranger things have happened.

haven't seen BT for a couple of months, but I think they'd have a slight edge on the OC. One thing I can say for sure is that there is no Fitzroy Reds or Uni Blacks this year. I thought OGs were going to dominate like that, but they're probably 3-4 players short at the moment. any side that makes the four are a good show of winning the flag.

Arch
first off - I'll quash the rumours. I'm not the cockroach, not even a player, just a long time Prahran supporter. yes he is still a clever player and he had probably his best game for the year y/day. starting to pick up a bit of fitness after not planning to play this year. he's mostly there out of sheer necessity filling one of the many holes caused by Flight Centre.
secondly, I wasn't holding back info, just didn't have time to give it all.
Scicluna played a blinder at the back, showed the class that made him a top VFA player in the early 90s. Walford was very good at both ends. A Pitts played his best game for 2 years. Prahran had a good team effort.
no Beven - still on a beach somewhere. spoke to Sleight's dad & brother at Rupo last week, back early next year. McCudden could be anywhere, probably with a cricket bat in hand. also 4-5 others from last year's Prelim final side o/s who could slot in to the squad. Two Blues should be in the mix for promotion next year, just a matter of whether they play D1 or D2.

We were just out-everythinged by Bulleen-Templestowe, they are a very impressive unit. Chivers played the best game of anyone I've seen this year, he was on fire. Burridge looked at times like he was going to tear the game apart, very quick mover and uses the ball well. Keem was our best by a mile, if he wasn't in such superb touch, the margin could have been a lot more. Our boys had a real dip though, apart from an insipid second quarter, just weren't up to it on the day.

OC vs Bulleen would be very interesting I think. If anything I reckon I'd just give Bulleen Temp the edge, because I think we had a real crack yesterday, more so than the last time we played against Old Carey. Line ball though. But since I only got one tip right, it probably doesn't really matter what I think. You should probably go the other way.

AA17. Both Bains played yesterday and did well. Ryan working his way nicely into pretty good touch. Look to his later games this year to be something special. younger M Bain is a class act.

Tommy Walters was not released this week BUT has qualified for us re finals on the condition that he is not required at Port. Given that they are unlikely to play finals we are hopeful that he will play for us. Can play and the best bit is he is a proud junior from our club and wants to be a part of it.

Ugly, i,m just a passionate Rupo supporter. Too old.

Responding to the queries on Rupo
Collins and Monzell did play and are always pivotal in our games as key players. IMO were in our best again.
Like most sides we still have 5 players who did not play this week who would start in our 18. I won't name them,(i am not the coach) but if your keen to work it out look at our team list against OM. All will be back within 1-3 weeks. No injuries Saturday, (first time this year).
Our confidence is growing again.

ILSS the D1 genius is a man/woman? of the highest integrity. Every thing he has said is truthful, inciteful and riveting. Does he play? i suppose it depends how you define playing? I have yet to see him bull S--t on this site yet!

I vote we make sure we catch up at the Grand Final as well. A couple after the match for sure.

Toohas is it true that your boys lost a few players form the week before and lost your fullback that morning. What was the strength of the side that you boys put agsinst the future D1 premiers.

King Woodie said:
Toohas is it true that your boys lost a few players form the week before and lost your fullback that morning. What was the strength of the side that you boys put agsinst the future D1 premiers.

Strong enough that we thought getting the four points was a realistic ambition...

On another note, I think that there has been a bit of rivalry built between the two sides over the past few years, with quite a few reports etc. in our games. However, it was good to see two teams having a fair dinkum crack at each other all day and then being able to have a chat and a laugh after the game in the rooms. The Bullants were noticeable in how many stuck around and it was very much appreciated.

Toohas said:
The Bullants were noticeable in how many stuck around and it was very much appreciated.
Can I just say that the lack of OGs players and supporters at the after-match at Toorak Part on Saturday was extremely embarrassing. Apart from coach, not many others from OGs were present. It was certainly a disappointing loss, but it's important that players and supporters band together for their own sake and also as a sign of respect to fellow D1 competitors.

Hi all. Tips will be done tomorrow. My info is at work, while as you can imagine, i am in the upper study at the Como Hill Lodge.
With BT and OC two games plus % clear, with only 5 to go, it is safe to assume both these teams need only 1 win in their first two finals to be playing in C-Grade next year. Exciting times for both camps...however, you would not want to lose that 2nd semi and have to deal with either Rupo, OGS or YV on preliminary final day! With so much to lose, against the first semi winner, it would be nervous times for one of our competition giants.
So it will be a big game down at "Dunshea Oval" when these two battle for a little psychological advantage in a few weeks time. I wouldn't be suprised if a dozen or so contributors on this thread will be down there that week (With nobody knowing who is who of course!) watching this mouth watering duel.
Hopefully, my early Sunday night speil proves to be incorrect, and a few upsets ensure that positions 1 and 2 are not yet safe for BT and OC, however going on form, and recent inclusions in both camps, it seems likely that at Bulleen in a few weeks time, we may be watching the D-Grade premier in action! But who that will be....who knows?

Re earlier post wondering about OC recent ins - Barton, Sutcliffe, Jessup and a few others, plus Bull. Can someone at the OC share a little info on these guys?

DG

Just a theory, the OG boys might have had a tough week on the stockmarket, or those pure bred dogs have started barking all night.

100% take nothing away fom the Blues though.

Tipping Ladder:

MJS2 (4) - 29

Ugly (3) - 27
DG-Man (3) - 27
Is That So (3) - 27

Hansie (3) - 26
Bullant (4) - 26
Bede me Up (4) - 26

Henry (4) - 25
St.Kevs Cowboy (3) - 25

Side Show Bob (3) - 24
Moss Rocket (2) - 24

Midas (3) - 23
Toohas (1) - 23

King Brown (4) - 22

Blue Boys 88 (3) - 20
OM28 (3) - 20
Archangel17 (3) - 20

ILSSully (3) - 19
Magic Mickey (3) 19

OC37 (3) - 18

Knackers (1) - 17
HalfBack (1) - 17

* MJS2 extends lead to 2, with a solid 4. Nobody went for Prahran. Everyone entered tips this week. Those down the bottom scoring 1, obviously went for the upsets, but have bombed out even further by tipping against the OC and BT.

Gentleman, Leo's look to be out of relegation danger - and given the footy their playing, will scare a few teams in the run home. No injuries to speak of. Interestingly, a few of the lads were talking "what if's" on Saturday night over a few beers. If they had of started better, and didn't drop their first 6. Just selfish football, and blokes not working together - for the first 6 games. It took the threat of relegation for us to play the footy we are capable of. Anyways, I'm sure we can help shape the 4 on the run home.

uglydermie said:
Can any BT or YV blokes please give me a report on the game today? The ammo web site said that Bt won by about 50 points. Is this a fair representation of the game? How was the ground?

Ugly, saw most of the game after 1/4 time. Ground very heavy but wings ok..great new cricket nets!! 50 points an accurate margin - think it was 13 goals to 6 at half time (all over). Some general observations:
  • BT a very slick unit on the day. A class above YV - 8 goals 2nd quater into the wind blew the game away..BT cruised after half time. Forwards too big and too good, mid field too hard running, backline (flankers #5 & #8) lead their fowards to the ball all day. #9 had a special day, #18 too good and Chivers best on ground by the length of the straight. I didn't realise how good he was!!! 2 x 50 meter goals icing on his BOG cake.
  • YV good key forward (Keem?) and ruckman (maybe #10?) but mid size players out-muscled, out tackled and generally out played. Looked like they were overwhelmed a bit - particularly in the 2nd quater avalanche. Got hurt by BT mid-fielders kicking goals - looked like front runners a little, would not do the hard stuff when they didn't have the ball.
  • Toohas - YV looked undermanned in backilne (a bit small for BT's 3 x tall forwards). YV #7 copped a wack and went off for blood rule and then lobbed at FB on Matthews..is he a regular backman? Also #26 got caught out playing on a guy 1 foot taller...
  • Umpires consistently frustrated both sides, 2 x BT players sent off and looked like BT Coach got a warning or reported by umpires at 3/4 time?
Nice wins by Rupo (almost impossible to win down there!!) & 2Blues!!!

Wandered out to Toorak Park on Saturday, and saw a brilliant game of footy between the Two Blues & OG's.

OG's got away to a flyer but 7 unanswered goals in the first term from Prahran saw them establish a lead they only gave up again once for the day, and that was early in the third term.

Agree with the thoughts of the other posters, the experience of Pitts, Walford and Stafford up forward showed up a fairly brittle OG's defence, while Bell with four or five goals in the last was a standout for OG's.

Thought the game was a really high standard actually, and having also seen the Two Blues against OM's when beaten by a kick down there in another high quality game, I'm surprised they have just the two wins to their name.

Radywonik was running water for them and thought I saw Gerard Beven down there - longer hair, but was talking to the coach down my end during the third quarter - can anyone confirm he is back because if he;s not he has a double. Would be a couple of handy additions with three - four wins required in the home straight to avoid relegation.

AS for OG's, thought they were exposed as a little one dimensional with their movement in packs. They shuffle the ball pack and Prahran exposed them for most of the day by pressuring the ball carrier and forcing them backwards. Might be a tactic employed to beat them in finals, although the bigger ground may assist with their running style of play. Note they were missing Vickers-Willis as well, which is significant.

Anyway, other results were probably as expectecd, except the OM boys going down to Rupo - that was a really good win and I might be choking on humble pie after predicting their demise. Almost certs now to play finals footy I'd suggest.

AS I said though, great game to watch and Ugly Dermie, a few frosties once hostilities are over sounds like a brilliant idea - particularly if they/re overlooking Como!!!!

Yarra Valley ground in disgraceful condition, couldnt believe it when i rocked up and saw mud covering 75% of ground. Would hate to see the ground if we had rain the previous four days. Bullants to good for Yarra Valley who tried hard, Keem was the only reason why the margin didn't blow out to near 100 points. Very good player who would be very welcome at the bullants!! Can't wait for the showdown between the big boys in a few weeks time, shound be a cracker to see who will take top spot!

interesting run home with IMO, only the three teams fighting for 3rd / 4th possie. OC / BT will finish one two,

how many wins will get you third and fouth spot ? 11, 12 ?

Will YV manage to win all 5 games ?

Can Ogs/ Rupo hold on ?

Great round of footy, with important wins, unexpected victory's and embarrassing defeats.

Bulleen have put on a football clinic down at the Domeney swamp to remain undefeated this season away from home. This has hampered YV's chase for the finals but they should consolidate this week against Banyule, who are firming as favourites to round out the bottom on the ladder.

Therry Penola have dropped their fifth game in a row, i guess the "gun inclusions" made no difference. OC remain in 1st position with a nice little victory away from home, although BT are still grand final favourites amongst this thread IMO.

Brilliant effort by rupo to knock off the OM's. Are they regaining the momentum they displayed early in the season? Safe to say the OM's are now very unlikely to make finals.

Emmaus flog Banyule as expected. Very impressive unit but come finals will be left thinking "what if".

D1 footy can provide us with some remarkable upsets! Prahran have pulled off the 2nd biggest upset this season. (2nd behind Emmaus vs rupo)

Great post midas, maybe the wheels are falling off the OG train? Or perhaps a case of complacency?

It's safe to say only BT and OC are guaranteed to play finals this year, will be an interesting couple of weeks at both ends of the table.

OM man out.

Toohas said:
We were just out-everythinged by Bulleen-Templestowe, they are a very impressive unit. Our boys had a real dip though, apart from an insipid second quarter, just weren't up to it on the day.
Toohas said:
Agreed Toohas.

Bullants too strong. Expected more from Yarra given their previous month of football. Blown away in a half of football...appeared like you were not expecting to be dominated like that (particularly the 2nd quater); and struggled to know what to do to stop what really was an onslaught.

Conduct Unbecoming said:
  • Umpires consistently frustrated both sides, 2 x BT players sent off and looked like BT Coach got a warning or reported by umpires at 3/4 time?
Nice wins by Rupo (almost impossible to win down there!!) & 2Blues!!!

Umpiring was disgusting both ways. BT team manager was warned at 3/4 time to settle BT supporters otherwise free kick would be paid against them. Seen free kick paid against the crowd last year at a u19's match and it made matters worse. Surely this can't be allowed, free kicks against supporters, otherwise it could be manipulated, i.e. BT supporters pretending to barrack for YV to get BT free kicks.

therry still were very much underman on the weekend, clearly oc are the best side that we have played against......
big inclusions this week with therry almost back to full strength, with the return of 4 to 5 gun players.
Everyone is pumping them selves up for the big game this week against the sunbury boys.
Two things are going to happen on saturday and that is rupo will help therry avoid relegation and therry will save rupo the embarrasment of playing finals football with yv to get that 4th spot i think......
Match of the round coming up this week.
Dog out.......

Conduct Unbecoming said:
  • YV good key forward (Keem?) and ruckman (maybe #10?) but mid size players out-muscled, out tackled and generally out played. Looked like they were overwhelmed a bit - particularly in the 2nd quater avalanche. Got hurt by BT mid-fielders kicking goals - looked like front runners a little, would not do the hard stuff when they didn't have the ball.
  • Toohas - YV looked undermanned in backilne (a bit small for BT's 3 x tall forwards). YV #7 copped a wack and went off for blood rule and then lobbed at FB on Matthews..is he a regular backman? Also #26 got caught out playing on a guy 1 foot taller...

Hi gang,

Great thread, enjoyed reading immensely, however until now, i have not found the need to respond. I find it hard to believe that #26 for YV found himself a foot shorter than his opponent CU. From what i know of this young man, he is not the shortest bloke on earth, i am 190cm and he is taller than me!!!