D GRADE: Give me something...

Hi gang,

Great thread, enjoyed reading immensely, however until now, i have not found the need to respond. I find it hard to believe that #26 for YV found himself a foot shorter than his opponent CU. From what i know of this young man, he is not the shortest bloke on earth, i am 190cm and he is taller than me!!![/quote]

The point is, he was standing alongside a guy who was bigger and taller than him.

Is that right?? BT team manager received a warning against the BT supporters? Thats unreal and highlights for all and sundry how poor both umpires were. Incredible.

Toohas said:
Is the bet still on between ILSS and Half Back?

I hope so Toohas. Seeing as Therry will just about field a Full strength team this week. J Crotty, C Bannister and Foster Knight back this week!!!

Cheers!!! :thumbsu:

I will be addressing the player group about it tonight.
Will let you know Half Back.

P.S. To all those dills that tipped OM last week......silly silly silly silly!!
You should have all learnt that the power house that is Rupo are coming good at the right time.....and everything is starting to swing our way!! Even our bogey side from last year (OG's) are struggling to hold onto 4th!!
Admittedly BT and OC are going to be hard to catch..... although our sites are still focused on a top two spot, and looking at the fixture it can be done! i don't think those two teams are as entrenched as everyone thinks.

I think Rupo's run home is very hard! They play Therry (back to full strength) this week, then have to play Leos who are in form, OGS (nemisis) and OC and BT, both away games at Bulleen!

2 wins i think!

I have also had a look at the respective runs home of the other 4 finals chasers.

I think OC and BT will go 4 wins / 1 loss on the way home, to both finish 15-3. Obviously one of the teams have to lose when the play at carey, while the winner will lose one just to keep it even at the top!:rolleyes:

YV on paper have a nice run home. I'm thinking a 4/1 split for them.

OGS play Rupo and the OC, and have a few other winnable games as long as they can recapture some form. 3/2 split for OGS

This will leave:

OC - 15-3
BT - 15-3
OGS - 11-7
Rupo - 11-7
YV - 11-7

At present Rupo have a small % gap over YV. But if they only win 2 games coming home and YV win 4.......it will be very, very close at seasons end.

OGS % is far superior, so if they can just win 3 of the remaining 5 games, they should fall in on %.

Interesting times!

DG-Man said:
I think Rupo's run home is very hard! They play Therry (back to full strength) this week, then have to play Leos who are in form, OGS (nemisis) and OC and BT, both away games at Bulleen!
DG-Man said:
2 wins i think!

I have also had a look at the respective runs home of the other 4 finals chasers.

I think OC and BT will go 4 wins / 1 loss on the way home, to both finish 15-3. Obviously one of the teams have to lose when the play at carey, while the winner will lose one just to keep it even at the top!:rolleyes:

YV on paper have a nice run home. I'm thinking a 4/1 split for them.

OGS play Rupo and the OC, and have a few other winnable games as long as they can recapture some form. 3/2 split for OGS

This will leave:

OC - 15-3
BT - 15-3
OGS - 11-7
Rupo - 11-7
YV - 11-7

At present Rupo have a small % gap over YV. But if they only win 2 games coming home and YV win 4.......it will be very, very close at seasons end.
OGS % is far superior, so if they can just win 3 of the remaining 5 games, they should fall in on %.
Interesting times!

I agree with you DG-Man. Spot on with Rupo's hard run home. I doubt they can beat BT or Carey (which they will need to do to make the four). And should they beat either, I doubt they could do it again in a final where the intensity goes up just a notch.

Still, it would be good for the club - and their efforts to attract and retain top players - for them (Rupo) to make it.

Your right Conduct!! making the finals will help us to keep our players.... and maybe even help us to attract a few more....maybe from say a side just down the freeway in Oak Park.... I am sure some of Therrys quality troops aren't looking forward to playing D2 next year?!!
Crotty, bannister's, Halmes, Nance (when he gets back) you lads are more than welcome to join the Rupi next season.....good bunch of lads down at the Rupy... and we win more games in a season than we lose :thumbsu: . No point you quality lads get pulled down with the rest of them down at the Parkers.... why not pull on the yellow and blue??

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Your right Conduct!! making the finals will help us to keep our players.... and maybe even help us to attract a few more....maybe from say a side just down the freeway in Oak Park.... I am sure some of Therrys quality troops aren't looking forward to playing D2 next year?!!
I Love Sandra Sully said:
Crotty, bannister's, Halmes, Nance (when he gets back) you lads are more than welcome to join the Rupi next season.....good bunch of lads down at the Rupy... and we win more games in a season than we lose :thumbsu: . No point you quality lads get pulled down with the rest of them down at the Parkers.... why not pull on the yellow and blue??

Nice try Sandra! ...thinking that for messers Crotty, Bannister, Harmes, Nance etc, perhaps popping over to the oval 20 metres to the East (as in Oak Park FC) might appeal just a little more than the drive to Sunbury?

Or maybe staying loyal to your own club and building for a move up the grades (something Rupo have done so well) would be more appealing to those guys mentioned than either!!

As I say, nice try though :)

Dee Snider said:
Nice try Sandra! ...thinking that for messers Crotty, Bannister, Harmes, Nance etc, perhaps popping over to the oval 20 metres to the East (as in Oak Park FC) might appeal just a little more than the drive to Sunbury?

Or maybe staying loyal to your own club and building for a move up the grades (something Rupo have done so well) would be more appealing to those guys mentioned than either!!

As I say, nice try though :)

Dee, you beat me to that thought! As last Saturday was my first trip to Therry, I wasn't aware of the near neighbours, however I reckon it's safe to say that if certain Therry players were to move, it would be to there I would think....

hansie said:
Dee, you beat me to that thought! As last Saturday was my first trip to Therry, I wasn't aware of the near neighbours, however I reckon it's safe to say that if certain Therry players were to move, it would be to there I would think....

There has never been a player go from Therry to Oak Park. Therry has a proud history in the Ammo's. As the BT people would know. Therry is a great club and most players remain loyal to Therry. We are going through a rough patch but we will bounce back. Some time shortly i hope!! :thumbsu:

Any Therry players wanting to play Finals sometime in the future please contact our team manager after the game on Sat and leave your details, he will then come to the great lady and i will weed out the pretenders....I will then hold interviews after the seasons end to see if you fit the mold of a Rupo Player: A great man... if not you can return to the creek in oak Park and dwell with the frogs until your D2 season starts again next year.

Moss Rocket Tips

OC to beat Leos by 6 goals
OGS to thump OM's by 10 goals
YV...just, in a big danger game at Banyule - 1/2 goals
Rupo over Therry by 5 goals (Love to tip Therry, as ILSS is getting cocky again, but at home Rupo should win)
BT to thump Prahran

I have a feeling 90% of people will tip these 5 results. A few may go for Banyule at home, and a few may go for Therry to annoy ILSS.

On paper an easy week of tipping. But with d1 this year...who knows!

Moss

To quote the man that used to be in everything, but now just runs everything, "what a big week it has been in footy" and what a big week it is about to be.
Just had an optic at the draw for round 14 and my word it is going to be a belter! All five games could go either way I think.
Emmaus travel to the OC which will be no easy one for the Panthers 1. OGs host OMs and after seeing them last week against Rupo I think they will still play a part in shaping the top 4, Panthers 2 are no easy beats.
BT host the rejuvinated Prahran (or is it a Prahran that beat a waining OG outfit?) a game that they should still comfortably win but we have all been suprised by results in D1 this year. YV should beat the Yulers but they did get done at home by them earlier in the year. Rupo play host to Therry with some big ins which is going to be a tough game as well.
Therry have done well to not lose anyone to Oak Park. No doubt there would have been offers made as there are some very good players at TP and the lure of the mighty dollar is a big temptation.
Rupo do have a tough run home, but we are still confident of playing finals footy. A young developing side we are yes, but also a very experienced side with most of the boys having played a fair bit of senior footy. Exciting times having watched a large chunk of the players come through 19s together and now playing a big part in what has so far been a successful year. Cheers all.:thumbsu:

Moss Rocket said:
Hansie / Half back. Missed the game on Saturday. What were your thoughts? Are OC looking ok? Were there any injuries or reports?
Cheers - Moss

Moss,

I think OC are the team to beat!! There skilled, big and hard running!! I don't think Therry played that bad, they were just beaten by a Very good team!! There are only two teams in it!! BT and OC. BT may be found out by a big hard running team in September!!! 19 was a good player as was 7. Young kid in the forward line looked good!! Backline was very good in the air!! My tip for the Flag. :thumbsu:

BT have been impressive of late, but I'll agree with you on that one HB. Old Carey are for mine the team to beat. Very potent up forward and a strong defence with VC Trumball and Parker very good footballers. They are both a very big and physical team.
In regards to Mentonians, haven't heard much about number 37 - Vick. He started down back for them on Dutchy then was moved up forward where he kicked 6! Anyone know how his for has been this year? Could definately be a wildcard for the Panthers towards the end of the year.

Moss Rocket said:
Hansie / Half back. Missed the game on Saturday. What were your thoughts? Are OC looking ok? Were there any injuries or reports?
Cheers - Moss

Moss,

We looked alright in a workmanlike win against a fairly determined Therry side. Keen for a big result to take into the ball Saturday night! No reports or majorly concerning injuries. Leos this week at home will be no pushover, they have come into some form of late!

Cheers,

Half Back said:
There has never been a player go from Therry to Oak Park. Therry has a proud history in the Ammo's. As the BT people would know. Therry is a great club and most players remain loyal to Therry. We are going through a rough patch but we will bounce back. Some time shortly i hope!! :thumbsu:

That's not a bad effort at all HB - to maintain your players even when a club with plenty of kanga is so close! I certainly liked seeing all your Clubbies guys still hanging around in the Oak Park social rooms well after their match - certainly proves your point!

Since I'm from Carey, not BT I wouldn't have known that before!

Cheers,

hansie said:
That's not a bad effort at all HB - to maintain your players even when a club with plenty of kanga is so close! I certainly liked seeing all your Clubbies guys still hanging around in the Oak Park social rooms well after their match - certainly proves your point!
hansie said:
Since I'm from Carey, not BT I wouldn't have known that before!

Cheers,

It is pretty good considering that the first time I played against Therry (for BT) we were both in B Grade and Therry had some very handy types running round back then...at times we have had trouble keeping players when sides like Templestowe, East Doncaster, Doncaster, Donvale, Heidelberg etc pay some handy money...thats why its great when guys like D Matthews & S James (who played 80 senior AFL games between them!) and recently R Bain come and play for nothing but commaraderie and mateship. The other clubs turn over 50% of their playing list a year.

linger_isgod said:
Anyone know if, hypothetically speaking, an Under 19 player who hasn't played in the Seniors all year can be picked for finals?

Not sure Linger. At a guess i would say they would have to have played a minimum number of games (2 or 3 perhaps). I assume you are talking about the OC, as from earlier posts you seem to support them. I notice they are on top of ladder in U19 Div 2. Are there some handy players?? I notice the captain has the same surname as the senior captain (McQueen-Parton), and that there is a Bull kicking goals.
Perhaps the OC can slot a few of these youngsters in to help strengthen the side come finals time.
I guess the problem here would be that they will also be playing finals.

Interesting to see that a few punters are starting to lean towards the OC!! Half Back and Dudley have tipped them for the flag today.

The big squeeze is on for positions 3 and 4. When will the hyphen be back in the blue and white hoops??

Might lob my tips in early this week:

OC, BT, Rupo, OGS and YV to all win.

The 5 top teams tackle the 5 bottom teams this week. Can't see any surprises.

old carey best side that therry have played this year......alot of respect for the side, think they will win the flag.....
Have to much depth in there side not too.
Big game this week for therry against the rival rupo. its becoming like our own little derby, with not many sides being on this side of the city.
Got one thing to say to you i love sandra sully and that is that rupo will help therry avoid relegation, when therry beat use on the weekend, but dont worry buddy we will save use from embarrasing urself in the finals.
Should appreciate my arrogance and cockyness with thats all you have been all year. Good luck hope u play ones so i will be playing against u.

Can anyone down from the Rupi tell me how Simon Sweeney has fitted in? Heard that he can play - is he a chance for the B and F?
Also can anyone confirm the rumour that he looks quite "nice" in his footy shorts? Some people have also noted he had quite a big night down at the Attic earlier in the year too.

kangaman06 said:
Can anyone down from the Rupi tell me how Simon Sweeney has fitted in? Heard that he can play - is he a chance for the B and F?
Also can anyone confirm the rumour that he looks quite "nice" in his footy shorts? Some people have also noted he had quite a big night down at the Attic earlier in the year too.

HAVE STOLEN THIS INFO OF THE AMMO SITE. THESE GUYS HAVE BEEN MENTIONED IN THEIR TEAMS BEST NO LESS THAN 8 TIME OUT OF THE FIRST 12 GAMES.

SPECIAL MENTION TO ASH DREW- GREAT PLAYER AND MODEL OF CONSISTENCY.

(is it significant that the top 2 teams are not mentioned here?)

Ashley Drew (YARRA VALLEY OB) 11
Anthony Mckenzie (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 10
Samuel Savage (YARRA VALLEY OB) 8
Robin Drew (YARRA VALLEY OB) 8
Nicholas Casboult (OLD GEELONG FC) 8
Blake Carroll (OLD MENTONIANS) 8
Philip D'Amico (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 8
Simon Sweeney (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Ryan Monzell (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Thomas West (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Paul Baranello (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 8
Kyle Shepard-Mueller (BANYULE AFC) 8

(is it significant that the top 2 teams are not mentioned here?)

Also made the best players last week. So it seems he is having a ripper!
Re Shorts......ILSS may be able to help you with that!