• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D2 Ammos

Enjoyable weekend down at HQ the last couple of days, the SMD 1's result excluded. Enjoyed the Werribee vs Aquinas game on Saturday in the 2's, very high standard and I think the tigers may have dodged a bullet as Aquinas definitely had some momentum going into the last quarter but Werribee showed what a quality outfit they are by steadying and then booking a spot in the GF. Any word on Vissers' hammy out of the Ringwood camp, the lad was not happy when he came off, actually looked a bit proppy all day.
Speaking of dodging bullets, my own boys were good enough to turn the tide in the second half yesterday, after weathering a St John's storm with the wind in the first quarter the wind deserted us in the 2nd and St John's were making the play, in particular #34 out of their backline. Must give my boys credit for the second half turn around (again!), probably wont get that chance against Aquinas this week who look hard to beat, not impossible but we'll have to improve on yesterday's level.

Great to shake hands with all the D2 Big Footy identities circulating in the crowd over the week end, good to see we can poke a bit of fun at each other on the forum and then have a decent conversation at the footy:thumbsu: Some how I don't think Drifter will get too close to the SMD huddle again, hope your recording sounds ok!:cool:

Jono! $50 more in your sky rocket, Season = Harper $864.95 Jono = $345.00
well done yesterday harps saw the game and if not for inaccurate kicking that could of been it for you yesterday but thats football,thought the 1's game was a little boring and left at 3qtr time,and where was the crowd a little dissapointing hardly any1 there...i think we had more people at our last h/a game.

Which 1's game, Sat or Sun?

Very funny stuff, i doubt you are actually an Aquinas player, one thing that they showed is they dont get carried away with a win and were very good sports. They were exceptional in the last qtr on Saturday and we were ordinary. The guys you mentioned were ordinary but they were not alone. If we had of played the way we did in the 2nd qtr for the whole game it would be a different story but we didnt and Aquinas deserved the win.

Cracking game against Werribee this week and we will be hoping to redeem ourselves this week and hopefully get another crack at Aquinas.
SMD 13 points up @ 3 qtr time & lose by 43 points.....could really dent their confidence. 8.8 to nothing in the last qtr. So what happened to SMD in the last term? Was it injuries, wind or just momentum?

werribee and leos on sunday,boring?

I was rapt with the numbers of SMD supporters who came out for the reserves game. Considering the 1's played on Saturday the 2's had great support especially from our senior group behind the goals as Chubba put on his goal kicking show. Thanks boys:thumbsu:

Went straight to the Wick for a parma with my Dad after our game so I didn't see the tigers vs animals, I'm surprised at Werribee's inaccuracy

I was rapt with the numbers of SMD supporters who came out for the reserves game. Considering the 1's played on Saturday the 2's had great support especially from our senior group behind the goals as Chubba put on his goal kicking show. Thanks boys:thumbsu:

Maybe seeing as though both SMD teams are on the same day this w/e we can make it compulsory for all reserve players to stay around and make some noise.

Every side in the comp need look no further than to the Aquinas 2's and supporters. They really make a diference and are in great number and all together.

SMD 13 points up @ 3 qtr time & lose by 43 points.....could really dent their confidence. 8.8 to nothing in the last qtr. So what happened to SMD in the last term? Was it injuries, wind or just momentum?

No excuses we were just not good enough on the day. Wind doesnt kick goals for you. I think even the Aquinas boys will agree we had them on the ropes during the 2nd qtr and just couldnt land that knock out blow.

For the people there on Sat how do you think the umpiring was? I think it was very ordinary for both sides. I remember one instance when a free kick was paid me and my opponent were looking at each other and had no idea who the free was for, we both was standing the mark.

No excuses we were just not good enough on the day. Wind doesnt kick goals for you. I think even the Aquinas boys will agree we had them on the ropes during the 2nd qtr and just couldnt land that knock out blow.

For the people there on Sat how do you think the umpiring was? I think it was very ordinary for both sides. I remember one instance when a free kick was paid me and my opponent were looking at each other and had no idea who the free was for, we both was standing the mark.

Umpire wasnt the greatest on Saturdat saints, but as you said it went both ways and i spose when u had all the momentum i guess the decisions went souths way and when Aquinas had the momentum it went their way.. One thing tho you noticed the umpires and i guess when watchin football you don't want them to be noticed at all...

In saying that tho the umpiring in the reserves game was etremely good and i would be more than happy to have those umpires again every week!! I guess when you have club umpires all year you appreciate when you have "propper" umpires.

Harps- Don't know about Visser i guess il find out more at training tomorrow night, but he wasnt looking the greatest after the game, mind you you never look good after losing a final!! How about ur boys? any injury concern after a tough finals match??

Did anyone else who played on Saturday/Sunday find the ground to be hard as rock? I know with water restricitions etc that grounds are going to be hard but no doubt that ground was the hardest i have played on all year by a long long way!!

Umpire wasnt the greatest on Saturdat saints, but as you said it went both ways and i spose when u had all the momentum i guess the decisions went souths way and when Aquinas had the momentum it went their way.. One thing tho you noticed the umpires and i guess when watchin football you don't want them to be noticed at all...

Did anyone else who played on Saturday/Sunday find the ground to be hard as rock? I know with water restricitions etc that grounds are going to be hard but no doubt that ground was the hardest i have played on all year by a long long way!!

Thats right you dont want to notice the umpires but you did. You would rather umps not pay the ticky touch ones though. Did you see where our player (#38) gave Den Braber a little nudge and he fell as if shot (which was clever by him) and the ump fell for it. I must say there were a few players from both sides laughing at that one.

As for the ground it was rock hard. The centre square was awful, a mile too hard. It got watered before the reserves game on the sunday. Does anyone know which ground is being used this week, Cheltenham or Parkdale?

In saying that tho the umpiring in the reserves game was etremely good and i would be more than happy to have those umpires again every week!! I guess when you have club umpires all year you appreciate when you have "propper" umpires.

Harps- Don't know about Visser i guess il find out more at training tomorrow night, but he wasnt looking the greatest after the game, mind you you never look good after losing a final!! How about ur boys? any injury concern after a tough finals match??

Found the ground extremly hard on Sat.... Very easy to slip over, was almost like playing on concrete in some parts......

Harps, is number 13 gone for the year for you guys in the 2's, didnt look to good coming off on Sunday?

G'day Bloods, they watered the ground (centre) on Sunday morning and it was soft and a bit slick, dried out by 2pm but not as bad as Saturday. The northern end where there are some practice pitches was rock hard though, I can't believe that area wasn't watered. Can't believe they ran out of hot dogs on Saturday either!

A couple of injury concerns but nothing too bad, we should be at full strength this week after going into the St John's without 2 important players who will definitely play this week. I may even see if I can find my own boots, not that that will worry your coach too much!

Thats right you dont want to notice the umpires but you did. You would rather umps not pay the ticky touch ones though. Did you see where our player (#38) gave Den Braber a little nudge and he fell as if shot (which was clever by him) and the ump fell for it. I must say there were a few players from both sides laughing at that one.

As for the ground it was rock hard. The centre square was awful, a mile too hard. It got watered before the reserves game on the sunday. Does anyone know which ground is being used this week, Cheltenham or Parkdale?

DEFINITELY PARKDALE! GERRY GREEN RESERVE

does anyone know what the ground is like? eg. size. how would it compare to HQ??

Its a cricket ground (round) more so than a footy ground (longer wings). Its has the rooms on the wing and the rooms offer a bit of protection from the sea breeze. The rooms were done up a few years back and are OK. Not as good as Banyule or Willi thou. Goals run North - South. Turf wicket in the middle.

I totally agree with you saints. Umps werent the greatest. Tried to impose themselves on the contest a bit too much and while it probably didnt make any difference on the result it certainly took a little bit away from the spectacle that is finals footy. I remember that one with Brabes and i must say i had a little chuckle to myself. Me and number 16 from your side were having a bit of a laugh at a 25 meter penalty paid against him for me that wasnt there. Good luck this week saints.

In answer to your earlier question saints - I'm not an Aquinas or SMD fan, but I've seen both this year quite a bit and was shocked at how weak SMD were. I agree with you that Den B goes to ground too much.

Werribee were good and will beat SMD. SMD are a young side and will hopefully learn how to step up in 2008. Enjoy the summer.

In answer to your earlier question saints - I'm not an Aquinas or SMD fan, but I've seen both this year quite a bit and was shocked at how weak SMD were. I agree with you that Den B goes to ground too much.

Werribee were good and will beat SMD. SMD are a young side and will hopefully learn how to step up in 2008. Enjoy the summer.

so you follow werribee then

I dont think Den Braber goes to ground to easily, he is just a very smart player who knows how to work being tagged in his favour. Very very intelligent footballer.

Weak is a strong word, i dont think we were weak. Im sure there would be a few sore Aquinas boys today. They used the ball better and were first in, but we were not weak, just not smart enough on the day to get a win.

This comment makes me giggle, I always thought weak was a weak word, amazing what you can learn on Big Footy!

Agree. I saw the way SMD fell apaert under pressure against GE. Hopefully you are right and D2 teams dont have to go to the poo farm where the ferals live. Go Werribee.

well if we don't go up you will have to venture over the westgate twice, in case you haven't seen the d3 scores, old westbourne will be coming up. you reckon werribee pump themselves up, we have nothing on those blokes...

Congratulations to Cris Massis for winning his 4th B&F for Glen Eira and to Scott Diamond for coming second.

Also to Ben Zwar in the reserves, with Callum Reid and Andrew Haines tied for second.

Any other B&F results from other clubs