• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 D3 Section 2008

Hey Bong Pocket,
If i was you, i would'nt under-estimate the power of the Turtles this year!
They will be up to the challenge in everyway, and may possibly go undefeated all season.

Big call, but fair.

Bye for now........... chump.

Hey Bong Pocket,
They will be up to the challenge in everyway, and may possibly go undefeated all season.

Big call, but fair.

what a stupid statement
the other 9 sides will probably close up shop right now - undefeated - what a goose

hey turtle - pull your head in

Richmond Central (D4) is also looking for a team to play this weekend. If you have a ground available we'll show up whenever! PM me if you're interested.

Hey Bong Pocket,

Big call, but fair.

Jeez mate, shades of St Marys.. Lets not forget what happened there ey? 18-0 was the claim.. Merger on the horizon?

UPDATE....

As i`m sure u are all aware our Wafer sustained a serious shoulder dislocation 3 weeks back. Yes the armed bandit was apprehended and the commonwealth bank (Coldstream) have mounted a plaque to honour wafers brave actions.

Enough of the small talk tho. I`m penning this update to let you all know that wafer will be back on the track Thursday night (possibly full contact). I would also like to thank Eddie and the Collingwood FC for use of their chamber, it has sped up the recovery ten fold.

A light meal and drinks will be served after training followed by one of wafers stirring speeches to pump up the lads for the upcoming encounters. I extend this invitation to all the D3 family excluding Uni High, you boys need the extra work and a short session on thursday would be unacceptable.

On another note i bumped into Ralph of Ralphs Fine Dining and Laundry Service (Wonga Park) at the bravery awards on Thursday night just past. He has serious reservations about the Tunnel at turtle land. A chroming crisis is taking place after school hours and the council is serious about shutting the tunnel down. This poses 2 questions.... 1- Will eltham have to forfit all home games due to OHS with road crossings. 2- Will the alternate ground smell rank.

Could someone from eltham respond and let all concerned d3ers in on the gossip.

Keeping it REAL
Wafer08

UPDATE....

As i`m sure u are all aware our Wafer sustained a serious shoulder dislocation 3 weeks back. Yes the armed bandit was apprehended and the commonwealth bank (Coldstream) have mounted a plaque to honour wafers brave actions.

Enough of the small talk tho. I`m penning this update to let you all know that wafer will be back on the track Thursday night (possibly full contact). I would also like to thank Eddie and the Collingwood FC for use of their chamber, it has sped up the recovery ten fold.

A light meal and drinks will be served after training followed by one of wafers stirring speeches to pump up the lads for the upcoming encounters. I extend this invitation to all the D3 family excluding Uni High, you boys need the extra work and a short session on thursday would be unacceptable.

On another note i bumped into Ralph of Ralphs Fine Dining and Laundry Service (Wonga Park) at the bravery awards on Thursday night just past. He has serious reservations about the Tunnel at turtle land. A chroming crisis is taking place after school hours and the council is serious about shutting the tunnel down. This poses 2 questions.... 1- Will eltham have to forfit all home games due to OHS with road crossings. 2- Will the alternate ground smell rank.

Could someone from eltham respond and let all concerned d3ers in on the gossip.

Keeping it REAL
Wafer08

Yes we at uni high would love to attend one of ur "motivational speeches" Mr Robbins, however i believe many of us would find it hard to keep the food down with the smell of turtle land wafting from your snout (no offence eltham, but the roo poo does smell) and with you continuously thieving all of our oxygen, and asphyxiation setting in we wouldnt be able to get our much needed half an hour of training in b4 dark and the possums from the zoo invade our clubrooms.

And stay out of Elthams tunnel wafer, dont get caught again.

Was pretty sure that mum deleated that from the camera. Ahhhh the memories tho, christmas at the wafer family home is one hell of a party. Thanks for the reminder nikko.

Wafer08

Practice match result on Saturday Elsternwick 23.18 d Hampton (SFL) 11.7 ... Wicks just ok, Hampton awful !

My mail confirms the above. Wicks doing well, not super but not awful either. Gained a few, lost a few, don't think they will trouble the likes of Willy despite their suggested loss on the weekend

Not much to take out of that game, think there might have been a goal in it by the end. Willy very under manned compared to WB, and hit with a few unfortunate injuries mid way (that won't effect the season opener). Come round 1 and a different side will take shape. Missing a few talls down back against a surprisingly tall WB. They gave us a good hit out, and that's all you can ask for with a stratch match.
Bring on Round 1, that's when the results will really matter.
How's everyone else looking for Round 1?

Not much to take out of that game, think there might have been a goal in it by the end. Willy very under manned compared to WB, and hit with a few unfortunate injuries mid way (that won't effect the season opener). Come round 1 and a different side will take shape. Missing a few talls down back against a surprisingly tall WB. They gave us a good hit out, and that's all you can ask for with a stratch match.
Bring on Round 1, that's when the results will really matter.
How's everyone else looking for Round 1?

I hear that WB have a decent (big) Full Forward and a good Ruckman. Can you confirm? Provide details if you can.

Nothing special to report about. They had one big FF, but he was a bit of a cat. Unsure of the standard in D4 this year but i reckon they'll go pretty good.

Word about the place is that D4 standard has stepped up a bit. Won't be any certainties that's for sure.

Some of my contacts are talking up 3 kids from the country (North of Melb) with good pedigrees arriving at Uni High recently... any mail on that rumour, Nikko?

Drove past 4 teams grounds last night (Elsternwick, Monash Gryphons, Swinburne & Hawthorn) and while numbers at Elsternwicks session seemed to be ok, the Gryphons would have had close to 60 guys. From what I could see in the fading light, they were playing an intra club practice match with about 15-20 guys on the bench. The gryphs must have picked up a few players as they were struggling to fill 2 sides most of last year. Is there any talent in the new lot?

The pigs and hawks training were different stories, I wouldn't say water bottles out numbered the players, but there were definately fewer guys there than the other two sessions.

Don't forget to join the D3 Tipping comp at www.vafatipping.com

Drove past 4 teams grounds last night (Elsternwick, Monash Gryphons, Swinburne & Hawthorn) and while numbers at Elsternwicks session seemed to be ok, the Gryphons would have had close to 60 guys. From what I could see in the fading light, they were playing an intra club practice match with about 15-20 guys on the bench. The gryphs must have picked up a few players as they were struggling to fill 2 sides most of last year. Is there any talent in the new lot?

The pigs and hawks training were different stories, I wouldn't say water bottles out numbered the players, but there were definately fewer guys there than the other two sessions.

Gryphs had a fair few at the start of last year too but dropped away as winter set in. Some talent among the new guys, two young forwards (uni kids) might to make a big difference for them.

Don't know about Swinburne, but the Hawks have had varying numbers on the track, with mixed quality amongst the recruits as well. Not sure how they will fare.

Word about the place is that D4 standard has stepped up a bit. Won't be any certainties that's for sure.

Some of my contacts are talking up 3 kids from the country (North of Melb) with good pedigrees arriving at Uni High recently... any mail on that rumour, Nikko?

We are all of the purest pedigree at uni high.. (except me, im a mongrel that grew up dodging hand grenades in serbia, changing gearboxes on prime movers in the snow when i was 10years old)

All i will say is were excited about the new season and the new blokes are fitting in well.

PS: Tip for d3 bnf, Chris Little.. Good odds at tab and a shoe in!

Monash Gryphs v Black Rock FC (SFL) this saturday. Will b good to c all the new guys and how they will fit in.

Question for Nikko. Have Uni High thought about logistics improvement for the change rooms? Some simple colour lines leading through the maze to each individual change room. I know this year is too late but a 2009 example of this would be....

AWAY TEAM
Bulleen Cobras
Changeroom YELLOW
Please follow YELLOW line to locate.

Food for thought? I think so.

Simple solution to a worrying problem at Uni in 2008. Come on guys this is no D4 u need to step up in all areas.

Pete

Monash Gryphs v Black Rock FC (SFL) this saturday. Will b good to c all the new guys and how they will fit in.

Question for Nikko. Have Uni High thought about logistics improvement for the change rooms? Some simple colour lines leading through the maze to each individual change room. I know this year is too late but a 2009 example of this would be....

AWAY TEAM
Bulleen Cobras
Changeroom YELLOW
Please follow YELLOW line to locate.

Food for thought? I think so.

Simple solution to a worrying problem at Uni in 2008. Come on guys this is no D4 u need to step up in all areas.

Pete

Agreat idea PS, maybe we cant smear some kind of a line along the ground to the changerooms.. We could also get explosive collars to place on visitors like in the movie fortress.. or personal GPS's systems.. Or personal escorts.. Wait till u go to Eltham to play and you have to change at maccas n get a horse and cart to the ground.. wont seem so bad then:D

The away change rooms will be on the Royal Parade side of the clubrooms.. We'll see if we can at least put up an arrow on the wall as u walk in this year, Should make it a bit easier as they are a bit maz-esq..