D3 D3 Section 2008

Prelim Review

Pundits all round town thought Eltham might surprise, only if the Hawks had a bad day. I will admit right now that I selected the Turtles with my tongue somewhat inside my cheek, however, I certainly didn't expect them to dispose of Barrel’s Boys with such ease.

Full marks to Coach Hollywood for a superb effort coaching, not only getting his boys up for the contest by winning the contested ball, but also tactically.

Eltham got first use of a swirly breeze at Gillon Oval. A breeze that still favoured them markedly though. However, Hollywood's tactic of playing virtually a 16 man defence in the second quarter to protect the lead, proved the match winner. Not only was there no space for Lauletta or Ogge to run into, the Hawthorn midfielders were made to earn every kick and naturally their delivery was poor. A 28 point quarter time lead could only be eroded by 9 points by the half.

I recall speaking to a couple of Hawks stalwarts at half time and remarking how the next term was to be their most defining for the year. They simply had to be within four or five kicks at 3/4 time to have any chance of storming home. It never looked likely and Eltham booted themselves into D2 with four goals to nil in the third term.

Great effort from Eltham, who only four weeks back looked as though they would struggle to beat Swinburne, let alone a top 4 side. For the Hawks, dare I say it, but perhaps it is time to relieve Peter Tyson of his duties. He has been a great servant of the club, but I believe the Hawks could do a lot worse than hire a coach from outside their club culture. A culture that has seen them fail in the past two finals series. They sill have the makings of a very strong team at this level...

Grand Final Review:

Is it possible we are in for a Grand Final to be remembered by all? Maybe. Is it possible that the Turtles can continue their fairytale? Yes. Is it possible Cy's will win this game comfortably? Certainly. Enough of the rhetoric a tip is needed.

Williamstown CYMS by 23 over The Turtles.

Willy have been the best team throughout the year. They have only lost twice, they have great forwards such as Wong and Lee, quality midfielders and a solid back 6. The Turtles will make them earn it and may even be leading at half time, but Cy's have proven all year, that not only are they the most highly skilled, but also the fittest team going around.

Can't wait for Saturday

Good luck to both sides

Quasi

PS: Eltham are likely to win the fights!

Well done to Williamstown, best team all year and deserved to win the GF.

Very amusing to see Eltham lose 2 Grand Finals in as many years. Maybe Coach Hollywood should concentrate on winning the big games rather than scoffing cream pies.... He is fatter than Jacko

Well done to Williamstown, never really in doubt.

There must have been 12-15 down the ground free kicks against Eltham (maybe 6 in the last 10 minutes) 8-10- 25 metre penalties against Eltham for the day. Coach gave away about 8 Free kicks throughout the course of the day (Starting to get the picture?) The most ill disciplined team Iceberg has ever seen.

I think quarter time address sumed it -
Willamstown - 'They are a bunch on knuckleheads coached by a knucklehead'

Eltham - 'Lets make this a physical contest'

(Note: Ice was in the Williamstown address and is relying on Rooster79's version of the address from Eltham)

As bad as a day as Coach had - Negative 20-30 Supercoach points??? He was the first to shake the hand of his opponent and did also thank the umpires - which was a nice gesture.

Most undiciplined performance I have seen from a football side yesterday and it all started from the top.

Agree. You would have thought that once it became apparent that the umpires were not going to let them get away with it, Eltham would have cut it out. You can't really blame the Etham players when the worst offender was their coach.

Well done to Willy for playing the ball and not lowering themselves to Elthams level.

Well, in the harsh light of day following a huge night at the Fearon last night, let me congratulate all the Willy players, coaches, administrators and supporters on the '08 season.
2nds: A great game of D3 reserves footy, played in excellent conditions. Willy were slow to start, but overcame the nerves surrounding GB's 100th goal (well done, big fella!) and pushed on to a big 3/4 time lead. However, it is a credit to the UHSOB boys that they did not give up, and fought on to the end. It was a super effort by both teams.
1sts: It was apparent from early on that Eltham were content to wait and be second to the ball and hurt Willy in this fashion. As per my previous posts, I have the utmost respect for Coach Hollywood and his efforts this season, but yesterday I was appalled by his tactics, ill-discipline and performance. As a Willy man, any further comments could be seen as being biased, so I will leave that for others to judge (as some already have). But well done to the Willy boys for playing the ball, and truly thrashing the opposition in wintery conditions.
Congratulations to Coxy, 200 gamer, 4 time b & f winner, team of century member and now premiership player, on a stellar career. You are a Cys legend!
Congrats also to Dave Lee...even though hampered by injuries, close to the best Cys player I played with and/or watched. Well done, mate.
Bring on D2 next season

Agree. You would have thought that once it became apparent that the umpires were not going to let them get away with it, Eltham would have cut it out. You can't really blame the Etham players when the worst offender was their coach.

Well done to Willy for playing the ball and not lowering themselves to Elthams level.

It wasn't a great spectacle I've got to say. In the outer, the crowd kept saying, that's that number 11 again, why doesn't the coach drag him.

Silly that someone gave Turtlewood 4th best for Eltham but equally as silly (if I heard correctly) that "Nine-za" (christened that after Ogge kicked 9 on him in the home and away) got bog medal.

Williamstown refused to be intimidated by a young Eltham side who in the end did better than expected but less than required.

congrats to willy on a stellar performance on the weekend. both teams winning a GF, quite impressive. Almost clinical in the way they both played.

it was dissapointing to see the turtles play a style of footy that was totally different from the weeks before. none the less a great season by a team whom many had written off after the middle of the year.

it will be great to watch the 2 clubs butt heads again in D2...

:thumbsdown:Williamstown Coaching Staff - I personally was really dissapointed with the abuse that started to pour from the mouths of the CY's coaching panel towards Coach Hollywood or infact any Eltham player who went within 10 metres of the ball during the last 10 minutes of the game. It didn't need to happen as it was clear the CY's were going to win and cheap shot's don't win many points with me. For me the worst act of sportsmanship for the day

:thumbsu:Elthams game plan - was what they needed to do, especially from their older and stronger players to give their young runners any chance of winning. Eltham needed the game to be a tough physical 1 on 1 affair.

:thumbsdown:Elthams execution - It became obvious that the 50/50 down the grounds and 25m penalties were going to be paid by the umpires within the first 5 minutes of the game. Eltham should have readjusted. Instead, they continued to hit guys borderline late (and later in some instances) which were all paid.

Weather - I think took away from Elthams chances. Eltham couldn't pick the ball up first time where Willy could, even for a quick kick down the ground. Eltham had no 'one touch' players in the wet other than 43, think that it was Ben Garrard but wasn't prepared to shell out another $2 for a record after $12 to get in. The skill difference became more apparant in trying conditions. It made the game a really ugly affair to watch.

:thumbsu: Coach Hollywoods Tackle - First quarter, Willy clearing defence. Coach laid a great tackle after chasing down a far slimmer (I think they all were) opponent. Great Team lifter. He has copped a lot for his poor game but he did kick all 3 goals and as he drove Ben Hynes into the ground in the last quarted, his hand was already out congratulating him when the final siren finished ringing.

Ben Hynes - Won BOG after keeping Hollywood to 100% of Eltham's score. In seriousness though, Eltham kicked to them on every available occasion and Hyne's had Hollywood's measure in the slippery conditions for most part.

:thumbsdown:The Peanut Gallery - Throwing yhe ball AT the Eltham's full back every time the got an oppurtunity.

Eltham Full Back - For Reacting, you idiot!

Umpiring - Clearly over umpired and free's reversed when it wasn't nessesary.

:thumbsu:Meeting Ice and outing myself to a fellow BigFooty forum poster.

Well done to Willy, far to good on the day. Well done to Eltham on promotion 2 years in a row.

Now I'm looking forward to starting the D3 2009 thread and I'll see most if not all of you there...

Hi All,

Last post of the year from me. First of all, well done willie,, as u probably would guess, id rather u only won 1 flag this year, ya bums..... but seriously, u guys are an ok bunch, good luck next year and keep smashing eltham for us. (but not to much, let them finish 3rd last so we dont have to play em in 2010.)

Next i just wanna say well done to Uni High, we never gave up and had willie drop at least 2 sh!ts in their pants on sunday. 1st quater and 4th. Looking forward to next year when my bung leg is better and i can play again. Good luck everyone else in the off season, dont want to hear a f*cken word about cricket, crap game.

And ill leave you all with a final thought:

Then take your drawers off,
and work your legs.
Open your asss up like a keg.
Let me tap it,
I must have it, hmm.
Furry fool, you are mine.
I'll drink your asss like wine,
and when semen pours all over your head you know you must be dead.

Hi All,

Last post of the year from me. First of all, well done willie,, as u probably would guess, id rather u only won 1 flag this year, ya bums..... but seriously, u guys are an ok bunch, good luck next year and keep smashing eltham for us. (but not to much, let them finish 3rd last so we dont have to play em in 2010.)

Next i just wanna say well done to Uni High, we never gave up and had willie drop at least 2 sh!ts in their pants on sunday. 1st quater and 4th. Looking forward to next year when my bung leg is better and i can play again. Good luck everyone else in the off season, dont want to hear a f*cken word about cricket, crap game.

And ill leave you all with a final thought:

Then take your drawers off,
and work your legs.
Open your asss up like a keg.
Let me tap it,
I must have it, hmm.
Furry fool, you are mine.
I'll drink your asss like wine,
and when semen pours all over your head you know you must be dead.[/quote]

You are one ****ed up individual.

Well the better team won on the day and that's all that needs to be said really! Congratulations to willy on winning the flag and well done to the turtle boys on helping progress the club to D2 and for a great season. I'm now off to D2 forum, see you all around!

Most undiciplined performance I have seen from a football side yesterday and it all started from the top.

*snif snif snif* mummy what's a contact sport? Netball? Go play goal attack champ and stop commenting from behind the fence!

From everything written on here the main thing I ever see is whinging about how a team plays hard and trys to rough up their opposition. Harden the f^$k up! Sounds to me as though Eltham went in with a plan, one which has obviously unsettled Willy in the past, it didn't work and they were beaten on the day by the better team. That's football and I'm sure a new healthy rivalry has been born.

*snif snif snif* mummy what's a contact sport? Netball? Go play goal attack champ and stop commenting from behind the fence!

From everything written on here the main thing I ever see is whinging about how a team plays hard and trys to rough up their opposition. Harden the f^$k up! Sounds to me as though Eltham went in with a plan, one which has obviously unsettled Willy in the past, it didn't work and they were beaten on the day by the better team. That's football and I'm sure a new healthy rivalry has been born.

i generally agree with this. although i don't think going the definitive knuckle and belting blokes off the ball is in the spirit of the game, if there is a perceived weakness at a club that they are susceptible to physicality then a more physical approach is a viable tactic. seeing as though powerhouse apparently did a number on willy this way a month or so ago who can blame eltham who no doubt saw willy as a higher skilled outfit (as most clubs in the comp would) and needed to gain an advantage somehow. it didn't work and sounds like it backfired but fair enough for trying.

When are you guys going to realise that trying to "rough" blokes up with un-disciplined tactics is not TOUGH football - its bullshit football. I was at the game and there was only one TOUGH team on the ground and that was Williamstown.

yeah willy were really tough..

especially when a willy player pushed the eltham full back in the back, purposely pushing him into the behind post at full pace, the collision with the post caused the full back to break his arm...

pot calling the kettle black??

Interesting point you raise there LGBTF. I also was down observing the contest on Sunday and was 50m from the above "supposed " incident.

From what i saw - two players were running for the footy, the eltham player got there just infront and recived a push to the side, he then stumbled about 10m before hitting the post - it didnt appear at the time that it was the players intent for that to happen, nor did it appear that other players thought so as there was minimal reaction to the contest, bar one Eltham player causing the free to be reversed.

As a side note - didnt that INJURED player then also stand the mark??? If so was it that contest that he hurt his arm in or was it after at another contest, as he certainly didnt leave the ground immediatly.

Lastly, all day Willy played the footy and put there head over the ball whereas the Eltham team appeared to go for the player as they were constantly second to the contest - No courage in going the knucle, and its not hard footy going the knuckle ---- thats why its against the rules!!!

Interesting point you raise there LGBTF. I also was down observing the contest on Sunday and was 50m from the above "supposed " incident.

From what i saw - two players were running for the footy, the eltham player got there just infront and recived a push to the side, he then stumbled about 10m before hitting the post - it didnt appear at the time that it was the players intent for that to happen, nor did it appear that other players thought so as there was minimal reaction to the contest, bar one Eltham player causing the free to be reversed.

As a side note - didnt that INJURED player then also stand the mark??? If so was it that contest that he hurt his arm in or was it after at another contest, as he certainly didnt leave the ground immediatly.

Lastly, all day Willy played the footy and put there head over the ball whereas the Eltham team appeared to go for the player as they were constantly second to the contest - No courage in going the knucle, and its not hard footy going the knuckle ---- thats why its against the rules!!!

Disagree with what you saw here Seabreeze. I was standing behind the goal when the incident occured.

The Eltham player was definately pushed into the post, although I don't beleive it was Lee's intention to push him into the post. It was a lot closer to the post than 10m, more like 1-2m. I agree, he tripped, which was cause by the push, and trying to avoid the post.

The Eltham player was aboiusly in a lot of discomfort straight after the incident and was extremely tough to stay on the ground for some time following.

The free kick should not have been reversed, Lee deserved to be pushed by the Eltham team mate.

Once the ball returned to the centre after the goal, the Eltham player hunched over in pain holding his arm

Disagree with what you saw here Seabreeze. I was standing behind the goal when the incident occured.

The Eltham player was definately pushed into the post, although I don't beleive it was Lee's intention to push him into the post. It was a lot closer to the post than 10m, more like 1-2m. I agree, he tripped, which was cause by the push, and trying to avoid the post.

The Eltham player was aboiusly in a lot of discomfort straight after the incident and was extremely tough to stay on the ground for some time following.

The free kick should not have been reversed, Lee deserved to be pushed by the Eltham team mate.

Once the ball returned to the centre after the goal, the Eltham player hunched over in pain holding his arm

As you were closer to the incident you sound like you had a much better view of it than i did, also your account seems to take the same feeling as mine, that the player was definatly pushed but the impact with the post was not the intention, and definatly not aided by the player stumbling/tripping, however i still think it was more than a couple of meters. No one likes to see people get injured at this level of football, everyone has jobs to go to on Mondays (or maybe Tuesday this week) and i doubt it was the intention of the contest.

Secondly, very couragous of the Eltham player to stay on the ground if this was the case and hopefully he has a speedy recovery.

Regardless of this incident - Elthams attitude towards the game, especially in the last half was disgraceful and not what football is about. It started from the top down (Coach) and the targeting/sniping of several of Williamstown's onballers (who were very good all day) was not in good sportsmanship, nor was it good for football.

As you were closer to the incident you sound like you had a much better view of it than i did, also your account seems to take the same feeling as mine, that the player was definatly pushed but the impact with the post was not the intention, and definatly not aided by the player stumbling/tripping, however i still think it was more than a couple of meters. No one likes to see people get injured at this level of football, everyone has jobs to go to on Mondays (or maybe Tuesday this week) and i doubt it was the intention of the contest.

Secondly, very couragous of the Eltham player to stay on the ground if this was the case and hopefully he has a speedy recovery.

Regardless of this incident - Elthams attitude towards the game, especially in the last half was disgraceful and not what football is about. It started from the top down (Coach) and the targeting/sniping of several of Williamstown's onballers (who were very good all day) was not in good sportsmanship, nor was it good for football.

Hey mate Pi$$ off you got the chocolates so stop your whining ya sook, our game plan was to play hard footy that was it, the word "knuckle" or 'go take out players' or anything of that discriptiion was never used by the coach or anyone in the huddles or speaches...

If we went the knuckle mate u blokes would bloody no about it cause wong taylor and lishman would been split from ear to ear, if u or anyone on this forum think thats goin the knuckle go and harden up its a 'conact sport'.

We lost the game because of many reasons, displine was one of them, and the others will just sound like exuses on here so they wont be said by any eltham player.....

I dont remember roosters odds at the start of the year but i think we were 2nd fav for relegation and $70 odd for promotion....

Well done to the willy 'players' and ill keep it directed at the players.... you are good team and im looking forward to having a good hit hard hit out again....

Seasons over boys, enjoy silly season, also FYI West Brunny beat both Eltham and Willy in pre -season games, watch out for another double jump......