• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

My Seniors tips for Round 12:

I think North Brunswick will be too good for Box Hill North.
I am not even going to bother picking a winner out of Eltham and Eley Park, you know who it will be.
Match of the Round. Saint Marys too strong at home against University High School-Victoria University.
Bulleen WILL win their second game of the season against South Mornington.
I am going for the home ground advantage for this one, Richmond over the cigarette papers.
Mount Lilydale to strong for Albert Park.

My Reserves tips for Round 12:

North Brunswick will be way too strong for Box Hill North.
Definitely Eltham over Eley Park.
Match of the Round, Saint Marys v University High School-Victoria University. Saint Marys for me.
I think Bulleen will do their thing over South Mornington. Bold, yes. Optimistic, yes. Probable, maybe not, but hey, would you tip against your own club?
I think the cigarette papers will be do the job over Richmond.
It will be worth the drive for Albert Park, they are my pick for their game against Mount Lilydale.

I know it's only Monday, but good luck for the coming weekend, may the best team win and the not so best team drink lots of alcohol.

huru
Two out of four for both, pretty pathetic really...

Please explain....

Sth Morn.... didn't show up? Bulleen, recruiting well these past 3 weeks?
St Marys? Bit of a shock? Must have been a great game!

Please explain....

Sth Morn.... didn't show up? Bulleen, recruiting well these past 3 weeks?
St Marys? Bit of a shock? Must have been a great game!

I don't know about the Sth take on it.... However, Bulleen played as a very cohesive uint & thoroughly deserved the win. If they bring that each week they'll win a few more before the year is done...

Good work Cobras - well deserved...

The best game Bulleen has played this year by far. Well deserved win. Can't remember mcuh of the social night they held last night though...

huru

Morning D4 Man Forum! Just been catching up on what I missed while away o.s. Flag hopes still seem open to 3 teams at least and some surpirsing results here and there along the way.

Got off a plane and went straight to Elgar for North Brunny v BHN. Two pretty tight, hard fought games. Well done BHN, too good on the day.
Gazbats, Smash and WhoWonIt - we need you guys back this week desperately to take on BigWaz and Lakey's men!! How are the injuries coming along you softies???

I hear the Eltham v NTh B game was a cracker Coach H. Rumour is your opponent was a fellow forumer, he has told me you are a cool, calm, collected customer out there on the field and weren't to phased by anything. Spewing I missed what would have been an enjoyable contest.

Can't wait to pull on the boots this Saturday and get back into it...probably back through the magoos I guess, hope to have a beer with Waz and Lakey after the game!!!!

I'll be there OZZA... might even have a run in the twos myself.... though I haven't managed to play much this season.

I know the seniors game will be an absolute cracker. I think both of our sides have improved a lot since round 1. We're keen to leapfrog your boys on the ladder as well..as we just did with Syndal :)

It will be a cracker in the seniors indeed Waz - would love to be playing in it -will have to wait and see where I'm picked though. Round 1 was a pretty fierce contest - so it should be fun.

Yes it was a good hard game. Lets try for the same result ok?

How's the ground looking... KB has turned into a bit of a swamp. A little on the nose around the center square!

Happy to have the results reversed this time digs!

To be honest - not 100% sure how the ground is because of being away and us playing at BHN on the weekend. I think the ground would still have been thirsty enough to take well to the rain though.

Got off a plane and went straight to Elgar for North Brunny v BHN. Two pretty tight, hard fought games. Well done BHN, too good on the day.

Both games were good to watch and played in good spirits. I thoroughly enjoyed they day.

ALSO can anyone explain in detail what happened in the Sth Mornington vs Bulleen game????????

Both games were good to watch and played in good spirits. I thoroughly enjoyed they day.

ALSO can anyone explain in detail what happened in the Sth Mornington vs Bulleen game????????

Bulleen on fire, midfield dominated from the first minute
Kicked the first 5 goals
Sth Mornington arguing amongst themselves from the 13th minute of the 1st quarter (probably expected an easy day)
Sth Bloke (think was B Wood) belts Bulleen president (A Vincitorio) in second qtr and faces tribunal
Rest of the team loses their cool, another Sth bloke (think was T Mirrabella) reported for charging T Moore in 3rd quarter
Role reversal with Bulleen coping the whacks and continuing disciplined footy
Fade Out (a new Bulleen recruit in 2007) didnt get a run on the ground this week.

Huge Win

Great win on saturday by the cobras never looked like losing for the opening bounce. I think sth thought they were in for an easy day and went out very cocky after seeing there 2s have any easy win. Great effort by the bulleen boys not to get caught up to much in thuggery and racial abuse dished out by the sth players and bench when the match started getting away from, no wander southern league has such a bad rep. I thought the days of coaches sending messages out to players to go the knuckle were well behind us!!!!!!

I notice its often the blokes who give a bit of lip that end up getting belted. Then even the quietest guys can walk off a ground concussed so maybe there's no correlation.

Great win on saturday by the cobras never looked like losing for the opening bounce. I think sth thought they were in for an easy day and went out very cocky after seeing there 2s have any easy win. Great effort by the bulleen boys not to get caught up to much in thuggery and racial abuse dished out by the sth players and bench when the match started getting away from, no wander southern league has such a bad rep. I thought the days of coaches sending messages out to players to go the knuckle were well behind us!!!!!!

Great to see Bulleen.

I watched a Sth Morn game and overheard them saying that VAFA is soft and come play Southern League.

If there boys want to say that when there 10+goals down go for it but how about they start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway. And not suprising to see mirrabella no.14 booked, he was a sniper that day as well!

Great to see Bulleen.

I watched a Sth Morn game and overheard them saying that VAFA is soft and come play Southern League.

If there boys want to say that when there 10+goals down go for it but how about they start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway. And not suprising to see mirrabella no.14 booked, he was a sniper that day as well!

As far as over the top rough play is concerned, Sth Morn and UHSVU were the worst we played this year... Plenty of late hits in both those games.

UHSVU have terrific facilities though! And Beer on tap!!!

As far as over the top rough play is concerned, Sth Morn and UHSVU were the worst we played this year... Plenty of late hits in both those games.

UHSVU have terrific facilities though! And Beer on tap!!!

Ah Waz; I love your priorities mate.:rolleyes:

... start trying to win the footy and not the fights or crude hits anyway.

Their two's were just as bad. A couple of send off's and cheap late hits when they were 10+ goals up.

They'd finish a final with 10 on the ground the way they were on Saturday.

The lost the game of footy with their lack of discipline a long time before they lost the game of footy on the scoreboard.

Their two's were just as bad. A couple of send off's and cheap late hits when they were 10+ goals up.

They'd finish a final with 10 on the ground the way they were on Saturday.

The lost the game of footy with their lack of discipline a long time before they lost the game of footy on the scoreboard.

The Sth Mornington we played in Round 1 didn't look to king hit anyone (1's or 2's). I can't imagine why a bunch of young blokes would be trying to punch on, just doesn't make sense.

Yeah was a real shame that South Mornington players and supporters had to use a variety of racial taunts to some of the bulleen players. I can understand that they were frustrated because they were being outplayed by a club that has struggled for most of the year but to hear some of the derogative racial taunts that were being used to one player in particular who was clearly dominating the game was very off putting. I normally bring my kids down to the game however I was clearly put off by these comments. Its my understanding that this club was originally from the Southern league. I say we send them back up the highway as this is clearly not the VAFA spirit.

SHAME SHAME ON YOU TIGERS!!!!!!!!!

Yeah was a real shame that South Mornington players and supporters had to use a variety of racial taunts to some of the bulleen players. I can understand that they were frustrated because they were being outplayed by a club that has struggled for most of the year but to hear some of the derogative racial taunts that were being used to one player in particular who was clearly dominating the game was very off putting. I normally bring my kids down to the game however I was clearly put off by these comments. Its my understanding that this club was originally from the Southern league. I say we send them back up the highway as this is clearly not the VAFA spirit.

SHAME SHAME ON YOU TIGERS!!!!!!!!!

hmmm. yes.... there's no room for racism in our great game... elitism, sure, but not racism... YA BOGANS :D

The Sth Mornington we played in Round 1 didn't look to king hit anyone (1's or 2's). I can't imagine why a bunch of young blokes would be trying to punch on, just doesn't make sense.

In the two's it was their coach & two solid (I'm being a bit protective on my own shape!) guys (no 34 & maybe no 55??) who were giving it out cheap & late.

The younger Mornington guys seemed like a good bunch of kids. Some of their older 'role models' could do with a bit of finishing school.....!

I read the word discipline in several posts,in regard to loosing because of not having it,and winning because you do.
Thought I might just be getting old still talking about it ,or could it be that the old truths still hold up.
Very sad to read of the alledged racial stuff,thought Australia was way beyond this stuff,especially in ammo footy,better not hear it when I am in the middle or the black adder will get a work out and Tuesday night will be very long.

Let's address a few things here before this gets out of hand.

Firstly the racism accusations. This is a subject I have been close to through my time with the asian background aussies in the BH Dragons as well as the Japan work done by BH. I even hosted a player from Japan one season with my family.
The only way to deal with this is through the process in place at VAFA level. Your President must make an official complaint. The best way is to raise the concern innitially is with the President of the opposition club. If you get no joy in a response, and I would not wait a long time (24 hrs is enough), you then make an official complaint to the VAFA. They will then guide you through the process from there. Ideally, the club who has recieved a complaint, will decide to act themselves.
In both instances that players from BH aired complaints, the offending club chose to deal with it themselves. Also in both cases the offending member/s, from the accused club, were made to write a letter of apology to the player they had abused. Now this may not seem like a massive punishment, or even a just one. But the fact is the player abused is acknowledged as a person worthy of better respect. While the offender is made to understand his actions were not right and totally unacceptable to the general public. The 2 clubs who dealt with their offenders have not, to my knowledge, had such an incident again. Education is the best protection from repeat offences. BH is also able to keep an excellent working relationship, with the 2 offending clubs, by addressing it this way. If it is left to fester or a full complaint is lodged at VAFA HQ, there is every possibility of ill feeling and a lack of respect going both ways in the future.

It should be noted it is still very important, when the accused club agrees to deal with the complaint, that VAFA are alerted. Just tell them there was a racial abuse incident but that the leaders of both clubs are working to resolve the problem. They will not interfere unless requested to do so. They do need to know when it happens though. If they don't get the information then how are they to make judgements on future policy concerning racism.

Now to the physical stuff.
In my experience every team has one or more players capable of doing someting stupid. It is the culture of the club and the strength of the coach that can keep this sort of thing to a minimum. Having had some experience of living in the SFL and the old 'Churches' comp before it, I am well aware of the difference in style of play. There is definately a lot more behind the play incidents at SFL than VAFA. Unfortunately the drinking spectator element does not help with a lot of incitement.
When BH came over in 2002, they were a big strong side. But they were slow and old. Frustration was high in the first year, which lead to several reports and nasty spectacles. Strong leadership from their administration cleaned out the playing group. They changed the personell on field and made large changes to the way the club operated. They started from scratch, much like Richmond have started from scratch. The culture was reinvented and brought into line with the family values associated with VAFA. Bh themselves still beleive they are a long way from perfect. They wish to keep working on improving their culture and the respect they can achieve from there fellow competing clubs. It takes time, but a club can change for the better reasonbly quickly.
All I'm saying is give them some time down at South Mornington. Those among them that don't fit in with VAFA values will move on. The club will realise it needs to adapt or sink. Again, if there is something that warrants action and is missed by the umpires, file an unseen incident report. Follow the correct channels. You may not always get the best result immediately, but the long term education to those doing the wrong thing is too important to have nothing happen.