D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Low - The serious head injury to the lad from Uni and induced coma.
High- Richmond's big day at Punt Rd.
High- Never sure of a tip as the comp evened up.
Low- The visitors change room at Sth Morn.
High- The social room at Sth Morn.
High- Eltham ground finally getting rid of it's bogginess.
Low- Most teams not having decent access ro grounds preseason.
Low- The fact I will not be rooming with Nelly at Japan this year, NOT.:D
LOW - Pretty much all of 2007
HI - My photos on the Cobras website...

huru

Highs:

PUNT RD OVAL - they said we'd never make it...

RCAFC Winning 5 on the trot after being winless last season...

BIG FOOTY - It promotes conversation during the week and at the games.

D4 - A much higher standard than the past few seasons.

POST MATCH PRESENTATIONS - All in good fun. I especially liked NB's cheese platter, and winning the 6 pack at Syndal.

Lows...

Reserve's umpiring standard in general.

Sooo many soft tissue injuries due to the hard grounds.

Players showing up in pre-season and then leaving cause we didn't offer them any money. (then mysteriously playing in higher grades).

LOW - Pretty much all of 2007
HI - My photos on the Cobras website...

Sixty5 - I reckon you're wrong mate. And I'll stick to the Cobra's.

Hi's

• Playing more 17 - 22 year olds than have ever been at the Cobra's before.
  • 2 new coaches who learnt a great deal as the year went along.
  • A great win against South Mornington when they were still up & running.
  • A courageous win in the final round against North Brunswick.
  • Courageous wins over Richmond Centrals in both grades.
  • Around 25 new players to the club this year.
  • 8 committee members from this year committed to going on next year.
  • A new major sponsor to the club with the potential to have a lasting relationship.
  • Maintaining financial stability in a tough year on field.
Lows

• Some games where the teamstruggled to compete.
  • ?????
The Cobras didn't have a year where they ever got themselves 'up' & were able to challenge the better teams in the competition (no disprespect to the teams we beat). However, we have been down before & are in a better position to fight back next year than we were in 2002, which was the last year we were struggling.

With the right committment from people, we can recruit & play finals next year. The gap between teams is not that great.

Go Cobras!!:thumbsu:

High - Both saints sides making the finals
Low - Ressies losing first final
HIgh - The uni high lad is up and playing again. and will be playing in a premiership side if he stays in the twos
High - the comp is definately more even and will prehaps be even more so next year.
Low - injuries. but that happens to every club every year.

Tips for the weekend:
Well I have to go the Saints but in a close one.
and in the twos Uni High will destroy North Brunny

High - Playing 23 games in my first football season in my life! :thumbsu::D

High - Learning how to kick a ball in pre season.. hehe

Low - Us (Eley Park) not having regular training nights or training venue through out the season.

Low - Some of the reserves umpiring...:thumbsdown:

High - A good season all up, and some pretty good matches

hmmm im sure there are more...

high making my footy return and not cracking the shits and my own lack of ability and playing out the season

low the college spending a shit load of cash on those rooms and forgeting to put change rooms there

Low definately the serious Uni injury - great to hear he is up and about.

High Playing @ Punt Rd and subsequent entertaining evening! :D

Low Losing $10 on Stifflers kicking ability

So were you the bloke that paid a couple of hundred on E Bay for the 'Air Guitar' ?

I noticed on the VAFA website that Bulleen have advertised for a new coach/s -seniors and reserves. Current coaches not keen for next year? or just seeing whats out there???

Does every club review there coaching stocks every year regardless??

I noticed on the VAFA website that Bulleen have advertised for a new coach/s -seniors and reserves. Current coaches not keen for next year? or just seeing whats out there???

Does every club review there coaching stocks every year regardless??

Might be part of there constitution perhaps?

It has been an initiative of the committee that every year the jobs are advertised. As much for a health check on the club as anything.

Essentially the incumbent coaches start from pole position & we see who pulls up alongside them on the front row.

It'll be interesting to see how the process goes this year, but the strategy is about improving the club, not necessarily about changing coaches.

yeah, just wondering.
It's in our constitution also...

I know some clubs that fulfil the constitional requirement by sticking a peice of paper on the back of the coaching room door. It's still advertising but saves wasting serious applicants time and club money if all are happy with the coach.

Regardless if all are happy with the coach I believe Bulleen still have the right idea.

Any thoughts on this weekends game?

Eltham have been the better team over the 18 weeks of home & away, but their confidence must have taken a hell of a hammering last weekend. St Mary's must be sky high after demolishing the mountain men.

CH has a massive job to get the boys back focussed on the job at hand & getting their confidence back.

Both teams prefer the game free & flowing. Eltham must have got their space closed down last week & it will depend on whether they can free themselves to move the ball quickly into the forward line to give CH one-on-one opportunities. (Does anyone know how CH's knee was last week? Was he moving OK, or hampered by his injury?)

Stabbing in the dark a bit (didn't see last weekends games), but confidence is such a big thing in finals, and Eltham might have trouble getting themselves back up in time..... I'd say St Mary's might be the one to take on UHS.

I'd much prefer Eltham to succeed & have another shot at UHS in the GF.:cool:

I think the important thing with the coaching is that all applicants will be taken seriously. As much as we have two incumbents, the club needs to look at what is available and seriously compare what we have against what offers itself up. As IFF said the coaches learnt a lot this year, but both teams finished on the bottom of the ladder and in some games were pretty uncompetitive. So we as a club really need to explore what is available, and make a clear assessment of where we go. AFL Clubs review things all the time, we aren't doing anything different. The other important aspect is that both coaches are aware and supportive of this process and keen for the club to proceed in the best interests of the club.

Any thoughts on this weekends game?

Was asking a few guys around our club that question last night - and the consensus seemed to be that everyone thought St.Mary's were the best team we played all year and that they'd go all the way comfortably. I don't necessarily agree as I think Eltham had injuries agaisnt us - and St.Mary's played us when we were hopelessly undermanned - and this would have made them look even sharper than they already are.

In any case I think it will be very very tight, Eltham may want to go a little defensive in the middle as St.Mary's are better there - but you'd think Eltham's overall size might be telling.

I'd be bringing up 2-3 stronger bodies from last weeks two's and dropping some that didn't perform in the midfield last week.

Hoping eltham get up.

Eltham have been the better team over the 18 weeks of home & away, but their confidence must have taken a hell of a hammering last weekend. St Mary's must be sky high after demolishing the mountain men.

CH has a massive job to get the boys back focussed on the job at hand & getting their confidence back.

Beware of the wounded Turtle;)