• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: Merge Update

Ceased in that it's a done deal or it has fallen through Manny?
An interesting question would be that if Salesian Fold would Hawthorn go up to D2 & St Mary's up to D3?? Or would Willaimstown stay in D2 & West Brunswick in D3??

Coach,

Talks ceased and no more have been planned, as I stated Division which team played in 2008 was the main sticking point and neither club was willing to budge.

Good luck on the weekend.

Junior1 - please feel free to call me to discuss possible playing for Syndal - I am the senior coach and hope to be next year....find our number from the VAFA web site, you'll appreciate that I do not want to advertise my number on the forum, or email me via forum.

Manny

Re: Merge Update

Guys,

I can inform you all that talks between Syndal and Salesian have ceased, as I stated earlier Syndal were in a position of strength and no decision was going to be made that would cause our players to move on - the main sticking point which both clubs stated as non-negotiable was the Division the club played in.

Manny

G'day Manny,

Just as a matter of interest - what grade did the clubs want to play in?

I heard that there was a fair risk that Salesian would lose a fair few players if the clubs merged (although I also heard there are only about 6 old boys played this year). Did this play a major part in the discussions?

It's interesting as, while merged clubs often struggle to achieve any real success, I thought this one may be a little different as it was not a matter of the clubs having to merge, but achieving some synergies out of the process. I also thought that the name change to Chadstone could only be beneficial. (Is this still a possibility?)

Cheers

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Hey Mate,
I played for Blackrock and now play for AP, I would say the SFL is harder (sorry boys but think its true) also the Ammos is a much more running game.
The top sides in D4 would definitely be compeititve in Div 3, I think you would be impressed with the running footy Eltham, UHS and St Marys play, whereas Mt Lillydale is more of an SFL type footy.
Hope this helps!
they definately are different types of footy but i would lean towards d4 ammos being a better standard.i played d4 ammos last year and sfl divvy 3 this year and the standard has dropped away in the sfl.
this year there were a lot of stoppages and turnovers and it was pretty physical probably due to a lack of fitness where as last year it was pretty quick footy.
good luck luck to eltham this week they deserve to break through........

Good luck to Coach Hollywood & his Turtles on Saturday.

I was at Vermont for the first final vs UHS and thought the match was much closer than the scoreline suggests.

Great to see that Eltham have broken that finals hoodoo, and hopefully the boys can now take the Premiership with them to D3.

they definately are different types of footy but i would lean towards d4 ammos being a better standard.i played d4 ammos last year and sfl divvy 3 this year and the standard has dropped away in the sfl.
this year there were a lot of stoppages and turnovers and it was pretty physical probably due to a lack of fitness where as last year it was pretty quick footy.
good luck luck to eltham this week they deserve to break through........

You are probably right in the present, I played in the SFL 3 years ago before the Parkmore debacle and when it was a really strong league, Also played in a premiership team and both 1s and ressies made the GF, so guess I saw the best of Div 3.

Pretty good side Spy and yes I'd be happy to be captain. But the inclusion of Sausage roll! Surely he could be the umpire so we can all hurl abuse at him!

I needed some annoying nasty little peice of work to play the mongerel small back pocket. Thought he was a perfect fit.

That is the poorest attempt i have seen in a long time....lol....See i think the problem here spy1 is that you and must others think that i am some differant from the cobras. Im pretty sure most people on here would not have a clue who i am.

KC, I only know your forum personna. And it combined with the inuendo from your fair weather Cobra posters earned you selection on the bench of this most prestigeous team.

Now stop being like most benchies, making an effort to be noticed so they get sent on, or you will be sent back to the dew kickers. :D

D4 forum T.O.Y.

FB
Abalonie (best down deep) Infineform (strong, reliable) Snagroll (nasty,yappy,annoying)

HB
Portmanfc (consistent,supportive)Flowerpower(tough,uncompromising) Sixty5(outthere,risktaker)

C
Ifeellikechickentonight (flashy) Bigwaz(in everything) Melbdocker(sticks to his area)

HF
Spy1(sweats on other mistakes) Hitdatarget(a good target) Ozza(very accurate)

FF
Manny(honest worker, often open) C’Holly(straight shooter) Guru1(unpredictable/pugnatious)

R
Ruckmachine(say no more) Whatananimal(gets involved, mixes it well) Falcons07(works 4 his mates)

Bench
King Cobra (looks best sitting down, only room for one on his bench)
Thanks for the mention at HB SPY1. You must know of my Greek background then ay ay ay. I like to get in from BEHIND...

huru

Some of the Memories?

Sausage roll said:
The mighty sainters are headed for an 18-0 season. Can't see who will beat this super team, especially when the coach starts playing again.

Premiers and champions for the saints- I know that it is seriously being spoken about down at Ferndale park.

Bring on the next poor club to incur their wrath.

Can they do it? 18-zip!

Sausage Roll said:
Well, what do you want me to say genuis? Yes, they will go 18-0, when they have lost?

Will still win it and so will papa!!

Where is the BP Forum team of the year member?

I actually live around the corner from Syndal so Bulleen may be a fair trip to make training etc. Thanks for the offer.
Do Kew play at Stradbroke Park?
junior1, we have a lot of players who do not reside in Bulleen, yet make the trip to play for us. I live in St Kilda for example... Have a think about it...

huru

junior1, we have a lot of players who do not reside in Bulleen, yet make the trip to play for us. I live in St Kilda for example... Have a think about it...

huru

Think about North Brunswick Junior1 !!!

Loved the Snagga Roll posts Coach H, what a poon he was. Also - I was standing behind the goals in the second qrtr when all the 'poony' St.Mary's supporters were telling you you'd 'cherry picked' easy goals all season. Very amusing. The 'sainters' seem to have a band of 'followers' who don't play - but come to games to insult the opposition every week. Highly questionable passtime really.

Yep had them both games when I was playing on the HBF telling me how big the bag the guy was to kick on me and how bad our whole team was, nothing really bad, nothing worse then I hope our ressie boys would dish out.
But they defintiely didnt play either game.

what happened to your beloved rabbitoh's ay ozza????

Got smashed. First final in 18yrs though 65 - they'll be better for it next year - plus injuries/suspensions at the wrong time.

In any case - backing them every week of the season has meant I'm well covered for the footy trip.

Some of the Memories?

Where is the BP Forum team of the year member?

You have awakened the Flowerpower fat man Hollywood!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above a deliberate ploy to rise me from my slumber? :D

Now some might say I'm a bit harsh on poor old St Fairies - but when you dish crap out you must be prepared to cop some on the way back.

Thats the good old Aussie tradition!

To the few St Fairies people that are decent people, try and get the rest of your crew to understand that you should be kind to those on the way up, because you might run into them again on the way down. :)

I love that stuff Ozza! You're obviously doing something well for them to start mouthing off at you in the first place, so I always take abuse as flattery! Like I've said before "you're always better than everyone else from the other side of the fence". Can't wait to prove all those tippers of a UHS double wrong also.

Can't wait to prove all those tippers of a UHS double wrong also.

In case I don't get online tomorrow - good luck CH & the rest of the Eltham boys.

I won't miss playing at Eltham on the coldest day of the year, every year. Especially the showers there that are just ordinary (D3 teams beware!).

Anyway - due to residual bitterness towards UHS from 2002 (they f***ed Bulleen over at the tribunal), I hope that Eltham enjoy success in both grades.

You have awakened the Flowerpower fat man Hollywood!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above a deliberate ploy to rise me from my slumber? :D

Now some might say I'm a bit harsh on poor old St Fairies - but when you dish crap out you must be prepared to cop some on the way back.

Thats the good old Aussie tradition!

To the few St Fairies people that are decent people, try and get the rest of your crew to understand that you should be kind to those on the way up, because you might run into them again on the way down. :)
FLOUR - A part of that has some truth. Saineters will see you next season and AGAIN you will all remain DOWN.

Guys I am new to the ammo's and I was wondering if you could give me an idea of the standard of D4? There are a couple of clubs around my neck of the woods and I have a young family so the vafa appeals to me.

Junior,I'm the resident maggot here,as far as clubs go, all will welcome you,just a case of which one fits with you,Box Hill Nth and Syndal are close to you and are family orientated so would go with young family,unfortunately both coaches can be pains sometimes:p,only joking junior,you will notice a big difference in the umps,we at the ammo's are stricter and bigger mongrels too:)
You won't regret playing for any of the clubs in D4,good bunch of blokes for the most part,give me heaps of sh@t but i know they love me deep down,sometimes i just have to dig a very deep hole to proove it:rolleyes:

Junior,I'm the resident maggot here,as far as clubs go, all will welcome you,just a case of which one fits with you,Box Hill Nth and Syndal are close to you and are family orientated so would go with young family,unfortunately both coaches can be pains sometimes:p,only joking junior,you will notice a big difference in the umps,we at the ammo's are stricter and bigger mongrels too:)
You won't regret playing for any of the clubs in D4,good bunch of blokes for the most part,give me heaps of sh@t but i know they love me deep down,sometimes i just have to dig a very deep hole to proove it:rolleyes:

Don't know if you've realised this Nellup, but in all in this time, you haven't been on MATCHMAKER.COM! No one loves you here.

I know about the umpiring bud, I did a coaches course at the start of the year at Elsternwick and Goodman was one of the speakers.

nellup, love, please...

cmon

yes ok, I do love you, you nellup you..:)

How's this team look then Bigwaz? Maybe some positional changes but the numbers add up!

FF: D.Viola (EP) J.Garrard (EC) B.Tagell (St.M)
CHF: N.Nuske (Rich) R.Kirk (UHS) T.Powell (EC)
C: R.Foo (EC) A.Chapman (EC) R.Baker (AP)
CHB: F.Gorringe (UHS) W.Smith (UHS) S.Dimond (UHS)
FB: C.Armstrong (St.M) C.Liston (BHN) D.Pizzari (Nth)
R: M.Rhodes (MtL) R.Sissons (SM) A.Papaluca (St.M)
Int: F.George (Syn) D.Bennett (AP)
Int: T.Conn (Bul) C.Gibson (MtL)
Coach: Danny Hickey (Rich)

Will be interesting to see the official d4 team of the year. The full forward line is a no-brainer, D.VIOLA (EP) GARRARD (EC) B. TAGELL (ST.M) garrard kicking well over 100, and d. viola and tagell kicking 50+.