• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Is Plugger28 the seniors' FF for Bulleen?? I think I still have a corky from running back to spoil in his way last year - round 14!

no such luck OZZA - i only play and terrorise the reserves mate. That's not to say someone wasn't wearing my jumper last year - but it wasn't me.

South Morny look like the real deal this year. An impressive start in the Ammos. Well done guys. Must have been a good contest out at the zoo and they had more scoring shots but just couldnt find the big sticks enough. Eltham had a massive percentage booster against Bulleen. As did St Marys against Richmond. Good to see that North Brunswick had a win and hopefully find some consistency for the rest of the year. Well done boys.
Albert park look like they had too much for Manny's mob and stay in touch of the top four.

Interersting match ups next week particularly Eltham V BHN. BHN need to keep winning because the way i see it South Morny will be there abouts this year and have a chance of playing finals in their first year. A massive effort if they get there.

I still think that D4 is wide open with 6 sides contesting four spots.
I do believe that Eltham might only drop 1 -2 games in the H&A season so i would pencil them in for a double chance come finals time.
The saints train keeps moving forward and the real test might come against Uni high. Other than that percentage seems to have St Marys and Eltham well clear of the rest but we wont have a greater idea until round 11.

If any BHN players read this could you post the scores of your game because it wasnt posted on the Vafa website.

Finally to two big Full forwards of the comp going head to head sees them both on 26. Might D4 have 2 century goal kickers this year. I hope so.
Both good players with good supply.

Hope eveyone who played is better for the run and injury free.

Keka

South Morny look like the real deal this year. An impressive start in the Ammos. Well done guys. Must have been a good contest out at the zoo and they had more scoring shots but just couldnt find the big sticks enough. Eltham had a massive percentage booster against Bulleen. As did St Marys against Richmond. Good to see that North Brunswick had a win and hopefully find some consistency for the rest of the year. Well done boys.
Albert park look like they had too much for Manny's mob and stay in touch of the top four.

Interersting match ups next week particularly Eltham V BHN. BHN need to keep winning because the way i see it South Morny will be there abouts this year and have a chance of playing finals in their first year. A massive effort if they get there.

I still think that D4 is wide open with 6 sides contesting four spots.
I do believe that Eltham might only drop 1 -2 games in the H&A season so i would pencil them in for a double chance come finals time.
The saints train keeps moving forward and the real test might come against Uni high. Other than that percentage seems to have St Marys and Eltham well clear of the rest but we wont have a greater idea until round 11.

If any BHN players read this could you post the scores of your game because it wasnt posted on the Vafa website.

Finally to two big Full forwards of the comp going head to head sees them both on 26. Might D4 have 2 century goal kickers this year. I hope so.
Both good players with good supply.

Hope eveyone who played is better for the run and injury free.

Keka

Yeah BHN got done by about 60 points V Lilydale and the BHN ressies won by about 180!!
Interesting to note, after the talk about umpires in the room, that the umpire for one team today came into the rooms, and told all any swearing would be an automatic free kick, which is ok i guess, so long as they tell u....I guess its good initiative by them

Richmond has found the answer to St.Marys albeit a bit late and they don't like it physical and rough you know 'old school'. It does appear that the modest self opinionated team have a chink. They have got "hot heads" no more than no.15 target him as he does not like the extra attention more than most and then their defence is exposed. Unfortunately for us we left it too late.:mad:

Too late, was that 60 -120 seconds into the game when we already had 3 goals on the board. I'd say we do like it physical but we dont expect morons like some of you guys sniping when the balls 100 meteres away.
Not all players for Richmond are as brain dead as you. Sometimes there is one in a club. I hate playing football when its not a contest and i was personally dissappointed with the lack of match practise that Richmond provided.

By the way Mark purcell is no. 15 at our club. Vice captain and a very good player. Last time he played in D4 he was named in the team of the year. Sorry if you think we're soft. I guess maybe if we played a final against you then we would find out....... buts lets face it not going to happen.

Defence exposed? in 8 quaters of football in 2 games on Sat 26th May Richmond Centrals kicked a combined score of 53 points.
I think maybe you could support your club in better ways "old school"
and leave it for the blokes that have some pride.

Too late, was that 60 -120 seconds into the game when we already had 3 goals on the board. I'd say we do like it physical but we dont expect morons like some of you guys sniping when the balls 100 meteres away.
Not all players for Richmond are as brain dead as you. Sometimes there is one in a club. I hate playing football when its not a contest and i was personally dissappointed with the lack of match practise that Richmond provided.

By the way Mark purcell is no. 15 at our club. Vice captain and a very good player. Last time he played in D4 he was named in the team of the year. Sorry if you think we're soft. I guess maybe if we played a final against you then we would find out....... buts lets face it not going to happen.

Defence exposed? in 8 quaters of football in 2 games on Sat 26th May Richmond Centrals kicked a combined score of 53 points.

The same Mark Purcell who got reported in the finals series of 2005 and subsequently rubbed out?

mmm, one would think that the thai man might have a point about this guy being undisciplined??

sorry poon but you don't win by 20 odd goals by being soft. i like richmond as a club but those comments are ridiculous.

NOTE : my feelings towards richmond could be influenced by the fact they gave me 24 bottles of cold beer. real cold.

Comments
Detailed Results
Enter Results
RICHMOND CENTRAL 5.5-35 def. by ST MARYS 23.23-161

The same Mark Purcell who got reported in the finals series of 2005 and subsequently rubbed out?

mmm, one would think that the thai man might have a point about this guy being undisciplined??

Well theres another example keko obviously a passionate saints man (probably reserves player as they all are on this site prefers it soft) they don't like even discussing it, the fact that hot heads come apart in the finals. Don't criticise the saints. I say belt them as they are young and are afraid to fight back . Guys with tats scare them, again obviously a rich private school glen iris life has done them no favours when its time to get serious. It doesn't matter as second place is about all they will achieve this season, they fluked one against Eltham there will be no other times against them to repeat that dose. I have spoken to friends from Eltham they reckon you will be tested next time more ways than one :eek::thumbsdown:

oh and little red boots no.4 papa must be on dollars why else would he play D4 ?Too good for this grade he actually does has got fight in him also not as helpless as mp:confused::thumbsdown:

Well theres another example keko obviously a passionate saints man (probably reserves player as they all are on this site prefers it soft) they don't like even discussing it, the fact that hot heads come apart in the finals. Don't criticise the saints. I say belt them as they are young and are afraid to fight back . Guys with tats scare them, again obviously a rich private school glen iris life has done them no favours when its time to get serious. It doesn't matter as second place is about all they will achieve this season, they fluked one against Eltham there will be no other times against them to repeat that dose. I have spoken to friends from Eltham they reckon you will be tested next time more ways than one :eek::thumbsdown:

oh and little red boots no.4 papa must be on dollars why else would he play D4 ?Too good for this grade he actually does has got fight in him also not as helpless as mp:confused::thumbsdown:

Thailandteasers......your talking tough but have taken the soft option here sunshine!
The Saints are a hard, disciplined and well drilled side that will no doubt feature heavily in the finals, if not win it all.
Papa isn't the messia everyone is raving about and thats a credit to StMary's for having the playing stock to back him up and at times out shine him. They don't need to fight back as they will run over the top of just about any team in D4.....They deserve respect and unless you give them the respect they deserve, no one will come close.
As for your crack about ressies players.....be very careful!

Now get back to your ping-pong routine and keep batting for the other side.

Your Pathetic........

Not looking to bag my own team mates here anyone, but thialand man isn't quite right about the Sainters.

Nice to see some of our guys are really hurting after the spanking we got and I can only hope we take it out on the training track and into next week against Mt Lily......

I hate to say it but the scoreboard speaks much louder than anything else. Well done to St Mary's on the weekend....

To throw something at you though, physically and skill-wise I don't think you guys are overly superior, but by god your discipline in sticking to your game plan and running all day in packs was impressive in both grades. There is obvoiusly a huge belief in each other down there and that takes a couple of seasons to create. Snakes will be there in a year or so, but while we rebuild, we have to look at sides like yours and take some lessons out of the games. I know we will be using you guys as the bench-mark for the year (Not underestimating the Turtles as you can really only go by who you have played) and the best thing we can do is learn from your success and take as many positives out of the game as we can.

And just to be cheeky.......might not see you in the finals this year, but in two years time when you have gone up to D3 and been relegated back to D4 in successive years. (Wouldn't mind that scenario ourselves by the way!)

As for the crack about a lack of match practice......what can I say? We will be far more competitive next time around.

What the hell are you on about Thai Boy? You are obviously feeling a bit under the weather after Mr Richmond Central last night!

Your comments about St Marys are ridiculous - we must face up to the facts and admit that we were taught a lesson by a better team. Coming out the next morning and calling them soft on a web forum is pathetic. :thumbsdown:

I thought St Marys played hard and fair yesterday, and they also stuck around for a beer and a yarn after the game. They are a very strong club and will be a forerunner in the race for the flag this season. Good luck to St Marys and shame on you Thai Teasers.

Yeah BHN got done by about 60 points V Lilydale and the BHN ressies won by about 180!!
Interesting to note, after the talk about umpires in the room, that the umpire for one team today came into the rooms, and told all any swearing would be an automatic free kick, which is ok i guess, so long as they tell u....I guess its good initiative by them

That would be a shock if True? BHN going down by 10 goals at home to Mt Lilydale?? Anyone eles confirm?

ive played against st marys for a number yrs and i would say they are one of the toughest sides going around....it makes my laugh ppl from eltham are calling themselves hard they are as weak as piss...thats why they will stay in d4 for a number of years

Was very surprised to see BHN got done. Love to know what happened?

Feeling proud as punch today about North Brunny being on the winners list. Without our two ruckman - one of which being our best player - and several other regular ones players; Eley Park were met a pretty fiercely determined and hard Nth Brunny side. Congrats to Darren "DA" Adams on a great win in his 450th game.

Good bunch of blokes Eley Park - surprised Cresswell was not named in the best - as he was easily the sharks best player for mine.

Can't wait for Albert Park this week. Its gonna be a corker!

Feeling proud as punch today about North Brunny being on the winners list. Without our two ruckman - one of which being our best player - and several other regular ones players; Eley Park were met a pretty fiercely determined and hard Nth Brunny side. Congrats to Darren "DA" Adams on a great win in his 450th game.

Good bunch of blokes Eley Park - surprised Cresswell was not named in the best - as he was easily the sharks best player for mine.

Brunny certainly were determined.
I played in the reserves game, the guy you had rucking was massive! I couldnt move him! hahaha!

And yes Creswell was great! Its a bummer he didnt take that mark in the air... haha

I'm just spewing i didnt win the meat tray!!!:mad:

ive played against st marys for a number yrs and i would say they are one of the toughest sides going around....it makes my laugh ppl from eltham are calling themselves hard they are as weak as piss...thats why they will stay in d4 for a number of years

Not sure where anyone from Eltham actually made any comment about St Marys and their hardness?
I would like to think that a poster who refers to "friends from Eltham" isn't necessarily speaking on behalf of Eltham.......do you think there might be a little chance that he might be making it up?
Anyone from Eltham who played in, or watched our game vs St Marys at Ferndale wouldn't be refering to them as lacking hardness.

That would be a shock if True? BHN going down by 10 goals at home to Mt Lilydale?? Anyone eles confirm?

First quarter Mt Lilydale 11 goals to BH 4. It was 14 goal advantage by the last break. BoxHill showed some form in the last but the damage was well and truely done.
The home team lost their ruckman due to family illness and copped some key injuries early, but Mt Lilydale were awsome in that 1st quarter. They had the wind and just kept bombing it forward. Everything they tried came off and the confidence soared. They ran incredibly hard and it was no surprise that they slowed up late in the game.

Look at who they played rds 1,2 & 3. Saints, Turtles and Uni. Ok, they lost those and then got the points versus Cobras. Now a big win away to the Demons. I think they may cause a few more 'upsets' along the way.

The reds from Elgar Park are a long way from their best form of 2006. They can expect some key personell returning over the next few weeks, but their attitude may need a slight adjustment in the mean time. Could be a few players not giving the opposition the respect needed.

The bright light for them is the form of the ressies and the amount of players missing a game due to rotation. At least they should have decent depth come mid season when injuries always seem to trouble clubs.

Hi guys,

im a youngun of st mary's, and i must say that "thaiteasers" comments relating to myself and the other young players at this club must of been a knee jerk reaction to a inconsistent umpiring effort or an obvious misjudgement, as if the under 21's of the club were fearful of "old school play" they wouldnt have kicked half of the st mary's goal tally, one of the youths managed to kick 6 goals straight, (obviously in fear). to Richmonds credit they fought out the game when it was clear a win wasnt on the cards and were still disciplined when the umpires failed to even throw the ball up consistently, let alone protect the young players heads that they soo promised to protect before the game.. thai teaser is obviously a pimple on the behind of richmond central and its people like this who prevent a club from moving forward. i say employ any tactics you want to win a game, if "old school" does the trick then do it, but if playing in fear of tats and being a "private school boy" wins you a game, then why not employ that strategy?
Good luck to the rest of richmond central for the season and i hope the boys can continue to climb the D4 ladder.

I am an ex VAFA player and coach who goes down to KB reserve on the home days to watch the footy,it is near my work on saturday mornings,have done for the past 3 years,boy is their some rubbish being written here.
St Mary's are being given all the ammo they need to fire up by you,their opposition,how smart is that?
In round 1 Centrals impressed me that they had turned the corner from last year's low form,boy did that change on Sat.uncontrolled,undiciplined,and blaming everyone else but themselves,examples?sure.
The ump stopped the clock,in front of the richmond bench, to check with boundry ump if a free had happened before or after the ball went out,a throw in was the result,this free was against Richmond,I could see that from 40 mtrs away near the timekeepers table,what did the bench do?they berrated the ump when he actually did them a favour by not allowing the free.
A richmond player was running towards goal,no opponent in front and one 10 mtrs behind,no pressure on him and also no talk,20 mtrs out and clear,he kicks a point!!
A free was payed to centrals on the far CHF flank,another centrals player pushes a St Mary's bloke in the throut,2 mtrs away,ofcourse the ump reversed the free, and a goal to the saints resulted.
All I heard from centrals was bitching and back chat to both umps,if their is one thing I have learnt as a coach, it's don't upset umps,never seen one in 25years reverse a decision,take a tip from me,this is D4 ammos,both playing and umpiring,yes you are going to get some misses and some wrong,well hello! you players made some blunders such as having a free reversed,didn't hear the centrals bitching at having another goal against them caused by their own player.
And on the umps on Sat.didn't know the thicker set bloke,but as I said,I was at round 1 and the bald headed bloke was the ump then, and I would have given him a 9 on that game,only an 8 for Sat.but that's footy,but for them to have copped what was dished out on Sat.was unjustifide and must have had some effect on both even though I saw no evidence of that,take the centrals big bloke 57,gave the bald ump a mouthfull and 3 minutes later was still paid a prity soft free,so obviously no bias or grudge held;God knows I've had a crack at umps in my time but fair's fair and other people on the forum have made comment's about consistancy,these 2 weren't bad from a unbiased viewer.
You blokes should count your blessings,Young trigger happy umps,climming the ladder, with something to proove, are far worse than experienced blokes.
Get back to the Discipline you had in Round 1 centrals,from a now too old coach,it still wins games

I am an ex VAFA player and coach who goes down to KB reserve on the home days to watch the footy,it is near my work on saturday mornings,have done for the past 3 years,boy is their some rubbish being written here.
blokes.

Get back to the Discipline you had in Round 1 centrals,from a now too old coach,it still wins games

Thanks oldobesrver.

You're spot on about the game on Saturday. It was a return to last seasons "form" from our players. I wasn't impressed.

Off target with Nth Brunswick's big win over the Sharkers but off the bl***** radar with Mt Lilydale smashing Box Hill.
Spy1 they must be in a time capsule at Box Hill looking for whatever form last year supposedly was. Anyways, that may not be an upset as that result must put them behind many others that are lining up for the treasured 4th spot.
Did not think Snakes would drop bundle as has been posted.
A gap looks to be forming from the top 3 to a number of teams.
Falcons look to have the largest casualty list with players to return?

St Mary's are being given all the ammo they need to fire up by you,their opposition,how smart is that?
In round 1 Centrals impressed me that they had turned the corner from last year's low form,boy did that change on Sat.uncontrolled,undiciplined,and blaming everyone else but themselves,examples?sure.
The ump stopped the clock,in front of the richmond bench, to check with boundry ump if a free had happened before or after the ball went out,a throw in was the result,this free was against Richmond,I could see that from 40 mtrs away near the timekeepers table,what did the bench do?they berrated the ump when he actually did them a favour by not allowing the free.
A richmond player was running towards goal,no opponent in front and one 10 mtrs behind,no pressure on him and also no talk,20 mtrs out and clear,he kicks a point!!
A free was payed to centrals on the far CHF flank,another centrals player pushes a St Mary's bloke in the throut,2 mtrs away,ofcourse the ump reversed the free, and a goal to the saints resulted.
All I heard from centrals was bitching and back chat to both umps,if their is one thing I have learnt as a coach, it's don't upset umps,never seen one in 25years reverse a decision,take a tip from me,this is D4 ammos,both playing and umpiring,yes you are going to get some misses and some wrong,well hello! you players made some blunders such as having a free reversed,didn't hear the centrals bitching at having another goal against them caused by their own player.
And on the umps on Sat.didn't know the thicker set bloke,but as I said,I was at round 1 and the bald headed bloke was the ump then, and I would have given him a 9 on that game,only an 8 for Sat.but that's footy,but for them to have copped what was dished out on Sat.was unjustifide and must have had some effect on both even though I saw no evidence of that,take the centrals big bloke 57,gave the bald ump a mouthfull and 3 minutes later was still paid a prity soft free,so obviously no bias or grudge held;God knows I've had a crack at umps in my time but fair's fair and other people on the forum have made comment's about consistancy,these 2 weren't bad from a unbiased viewer.
You blokes should count your blessings,Young trigger happy umps,climming the ladder, with something to proove, are far worse than experienced blokes.
Im also an unbiased viewer who has just moved locally, I also thought I would get down and have a look at my local footy, I played my footy in the old VFA, we grew up through the juniors with strict instructions not to bag the umpires, saying that, I listned to the coaches instructions before the game, they were instructed this too! At 1/4 time, the coach reinforced this as he could see the frustration creeping in, as could I! All these undiciplined things that you have brought to our attention, happened well after 1/4 time, I think all after half time! I was impressed at the way the boys bit thier lips and said nothing from the start! Please dont give these boys a bad name, they tried thier best to keep quiet! BOTH teams, were a little frustrated, just it would be a little easier to cope with when you are the top team playing the bottom team! These are amateur footballers, yes, not as diciplined as we once were, however, they are human, I could sit here and write 5 times as many examples to why this was happening, but I dont want to come across as an umpire basher, it would be a hard job as it is to get umpires to put up with all the abuse they get, however I think, consistancy is the key, I have umpired a few of my nephews games in some school games, I have no experience at all in umpiring, in fact, I thought I wasnt very good at it at all, but I was consistant! I got the odd cheeky remark,(from both teams) however, due to consisteny, it never got out of hand! Good luck guys, remember, the umpires are also human and are doing there best, we wouldnt have games without them, and at D4, they are sure to make a few mistakes, mabee if we all werent so harsh on them, there wouldnt be so much pressure on them, and they would get a lot better and a lot more consistent, remember, some are still learning the game themselves!

I wouldn't say the Saints were soft but i don't think they were overly hard either, it's just not their game plan to play that type of footy. They play a fast running game that rely's on possession and hitting players in space. In the ressies the centrals more than served it up to them in the 1st qrt and if we could kick straight could of had the lead, unfortunately the class shown through for the next 3 qrts.
In the 1s we just couldn't get our hands on the ball enough, their midfield is definetly well strung and is not all papa! For the umpiring we just ask for consistency and while the umpiring doesn't account for a 100 points, that stop the clock boundary decision come about from the ump calling play on after 1sec of our guy marking the ball he hardly had time to look up never alone play on.

Off target with Nth Brunswick's big win over the Sharkers but off the bl***** radar with Mt Lilydale smashing Box Hill.
Spy1 they must be in a time capsule at Box Hill looking for whatever form last year supposedly was. Anyways, that may not be an upset as that result must put them behind many others that are lining up for the treasured 4th spot.
Did not think Snakes would drop bundle as has been posted.
A gap looks to be forming from the top 3 to a number of teams.
Falcons look to have the largest casualty list with players to return?

Next few weeks should see some massive ins, seeing as our CHB, CHF, ruckmen and about 5 other guys who will be straight back in the ones due to return before the turn of the season.

We are just trying to stay in touch and get ready for a massive run home.