D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Probably agree Machine.
Last year there was a big reliance on Penny (D), Martini, Odza, Irvine and Liston. All those players have missed a lot of games or struggled with injury during 07.
This has probably helped the development of a few athers.

Mick Penny has been very impressive this season in various rolls, possibly worth two pennies (tuppence) after all?

Wasn't 45 out more like 30, 35 absolute maximum. Very dodgey free kick that set it up!

God! Please don't start talking about dodgy free kicks or else we will have to exclude 4 or 5 of Eley Parks goals from the score.

Sad to know that these umps actually got paid.

God! Please don't start talking about dodgy free kicks or else we will have to exclude 4 or 5 of Eley Parks goals from the score.

Sad to know that these umps actually got paid.

Yeah it was very dodgy decisions for both teams, at one stage it looked like the umps had lost control of the game... scuffles happening in all corners of the ground.

Now this is a big call. I normally don't go too hard on umps, having tried it, I know it is harder than it looks.
But in my 40 odd years of footy, Patrick is easily the worst I have seen.
He will go with who he thinks is the best team and give them the benifit. But if any of them say boo to him he will jump the other way. This will happen several times during the day. I have never seen a game allowed to flow when he is involved.
On Saturday he had a chamellion for a partner. This guy can be good with another good umpire. Let everything go with someone who umps that way. Or, like Saturday, be absolutely inconsistent like his partner.

Players from both teams had no idea of what was going to be penalised and what was not. Frustration builds. Uncertainty builds. Standard of play falls away to a shambles. If not for the close scores you would walk away to save your sanity long before the final siren.

The mark for D Penny was 35 out. The kick was from 45. I have the DVD.

Bulleen's score 13.0.78 - is this correct? In all my time in football I dont ever remember a score line like that.

Anyone inform me what Sth Mornington's ground is like, Nelly informed me yesterday that last time he was there it was pretty ordinary - maybe some one from BHN could comment - is it big, small??

Manny

Bulleen's score 13.0.78 - is this correct? In all my time in football I dont ever remember a score line like that.

Anyone inform me what Sth Mornington's ground is like, Nelly informed me yesterday that last time he was there it was pretty ordinary - maybe some one from BHN could comment - is it big, small??

Manny
Yes Manny Bulleen kicked 13 straight...
According toone Albert Parker this may be a record, looking into it

huru

Manny

Not overly long, and fairly round.

I suggest you take the following:

- Gumboots
- Foglamps
- Rinnai Infinity

Round 14 Tips

UHS-VU vs Mt Lilydale - UHS 2 Goals
BHN vs Eley Park - BHN 1 Goal
Eltham vs St Mary's - Eltham 10 Goals
Syndal vs Nth Brunswick - Syndal 1 Goal
Bulleen vs Albert Park - Albert Park 5 Goals
Richmond vs Sth Mornington - Richmond 9 Goals

6/6

Good round for once.

Thought Nelly umpired well on Saturday. Only blemish that comes to mind was paying a free agaisnt one of our guys that nearly took mark of the year!!

Sth Mornington ground was a mud heap round 4 - would hate to be playing on it at this stage.

3/6 last round.

Suprised with Syndal vs Nth Bwick result.
Bulleen 13 straight- fair effort.

Eltham convincing over St Marys, well and truelly flag fav's.
St Marys did well from half time onwards to keep score to what it was.

Top 2 is decided. 3rd will be St Marys.
Fight for 4th. If BHN can beat Albert Park this week, they will be 2 games clear with Eltham beating Lilydale.

4th will come down to the Box Hill Vs Lilydale match is the tip.

Not overly long, and fairly round.

I suggest you take the following:

- Gumboots
- Foglamps
- Rinnai Infinity

Ground not too bad. Long stops required though. Don't bother going wide - straight down the middle.

Changerooms very, very ordinary (would have been disgraceful but the shower was "warm")

thanks Hollywood looking forward to having a beer with you guys after the game in round 17.
I see eltham had a good win on saturday arvo not so good for the 2s .
But on better news i see in the afl your lions had a good win smashing the pies:D

LESS.

D. Penny from after siren, 45m out.:eek:

One word .....PATRICK!:thumbsdown:

I think Eley Park would agree when I say that the 2 umpires for last weekends game had lost complete control and the players had no idea of what was going on.

On several occasions players from both teams took clear marks only for play on to be called and on several other occasions marks were given when they shouldn't have been.

Anyway it was great to escape with the win, bring on Albert Park.

Tipping Board Round 14.

CH (64) - 59 + 5.
PortMan FC (64) - 59 + 5.
Ozza (60) - 55 + 5.
Catscratches (59) - 53 + 6.
Animal (57) - 54 + 3.
Ruck Machine (55) - 49 + 6.
FatChicksNLT (53) - 51 + 2?.
SudsMcDuff (43) - 37 + 6.
Sixty5 (39) - 36 + 3.
BigWaz (38) - 32 + 6.
Away Teams (31) - 30 + 2.

I think Eley Park would agree when I say that the 2 umpires for last weekends game had lost complete control and the players had no idea of what was going on.

On several occasions players from both teams took clear marks only for play on to be called and on several other occasions marks were given when they shouldn't have been.

Anyway it was great to escape with the win, bring on Albert Park.

I reckon there was plenty of decisions that went both for and against both sides.

But many times utter confusion reigned supreme.

Thought Nelly umpired well on Saturday. Only blemish that comes to mind was paying a free agaisnt one of our guys that nearly took mark of the year!!

ASK Nelly - Quick question??

Nelly can you please inform us regarding to the following rule. When time on is blown. Can the game continue before time off is blown????

ASK Nelly - Quick question??

Nelly can you please inform us regarding to the following rule. When time on is blown. Can the game continue before time off is blown????

Yes!!,sometimes the ump forgets,me included,to raise his hand to start the clock,the timekeepers instructions are that if no signal is given they are to start the clock when it is obvious that play has recommenced.
If this is in reference to the syndal v brunnie game,which i think it is,:)I stopped the clock as their was a injured player on the deck,the player who had the ball played on and as the injured player was being removed I let play go on as i had already called it back once,I will cop this one sweet,should have been a proper pr@ck and brought it back again.I'll wear the black mark.

I reckon there was plenty of decisions that went both for and against both sides.

But many times utter confusion reigned supreme.

Talking about confusion at one Stage Patrick asked me to show him where the mark was after he paid a 25m penalty. My response was 'You're the umpire you tell me where it is', his response to that was a vacant stare and a grunt.

Still absolutely gutted with the result on Saturday.

It was certainly up there with the worst umpiring dispay I can remember. Not biased, just rubbish. I personally got ridden into the ground, slung well after getting rid of the ball and taken high an a couple of occasions for no result, but then I got caught obviously not disposing correctly (virtually throwing the ball out) once or twice, again for no whistle.
To see a couple of marks that were paid, and then clear marks that weren't paid, just left everyone frustrated and confused.

Haven't ever lost after the siren before and hopefully never will again!! One of the worst feelings in sport!!!

PS (you may need to get the measure out Spy. If Penny's goal was from 45 out, then I've seen goals kicked at that ground from 60 odd. Unlikely I'd reckon......that said, he was the last bloke that we wanted to have the ball in that situation)

Talking about confusion at one Stage Patrick asked me to show him where the mark was after he paid a 25m penalty. My response was 'You're the umpire you tell me where it is', his response to that was a vacant stare and a grunt.

One particularly perplexing decision was late in the game when one of our guys took what looked to be a nice contested mark about 50 out - Box Hill's defender even stood his ground on the mark waiting for the kick. Then one of the umps has blown his whistle and called a ball-up. Why he didn't either pay a mark or call play on if it wan't a mark is beyond me.

Not blaming the result on this or any other decision on the day, the game was ours to be won - but there were some extremely interesting decisions either way nonetheless.

Yes!!,sometimes the ump forgets,me included,to raise his hand to start the clock,the timekeepers instructions are that if no signal is given they are to start the clock when it is obvious that play has recommenced.
If this is in reference to the syndal v brunnie game,which i think it is,:)I stopped the clock as their was a injured player on the deck,the player who had the ball played on and as the injured player was being removed I let play go on as i had already called it back once,I will cop this one sweet,should have been a proper pr@ck and brought it back again.I'll wear the black mark.

Fair enough then Nelly we can all be a bit forgetfull sometimes. Try your best to remember important stuff like like that in future.

I know a lot of the umpires in lower grades ( I play Clubbies)

What does this Patrick bloke look like? I want to know if I ever come across him!!

Please excuse me... i'll be typing with my left hand for the next 8 weeks. Have to go in for surgery in the next week or two...:(

Bad luck Eley park... thats a tough way to lose. Its a bad time to run into the snakesd too... We're on a roll baby!