Darren Glass has conceded the 3rd most goals of any player in the competition...

Serious question - does Scarlett always take the opposition best forward - ie does he play on the Jonathon Brown, Barry Halls etc, or does he play at FB.

Rutten, for example, doesn't seem to play on Franklin.

You wont get that question answered by a Geelong fan. Generally Scarlett takes the 3rd best forward with Egan taking the best and Harley the 2nd best. When Geelong played Fremantle last year, Scarlett ended up on Tarrant. Harley on Farmer and at the time I think it was Milburn and Mackie on Pavlich :eek:

Fine line. wehen someone starts describing Glass as flat out over rated and only good because of the midfield....not sure even reasonable Geelong supporters would share that view.

I don't think he quite said it like that, but FWIW I think he is touching on something truthful with his statements. Glass will find defending a completely different prospect with the new midfield earning their stripes.

You wont get that question answered by a Geelong fan. Generally Scarlett takes the 3rd best forward with Egan taking the best and Harley the 2nd best. When Geelong played Fremantle last year, Scarlett ended up on Tarrant. Harley on Farmer and at the time I think it was Milburn and Mackie on Pavlich :eek:

:confused: What a load of tripe.

Scarlett plays on the full forward. That's what fullbacks do, right?

:confused: What a load of tripe.

Scarlett plays on the full forward. That's what fullbacks do, right?

No, they play on the best forward regardless of where they play. Rutten does it, Glass does it, Most do other then Scarlett which makes his stats look alot nicer then they should

Rutten dosen't, Buddy Franklin is an example. They also have a capable CHB who can take on the CHF's, unlike That dud Hunter in your side.

Bock is a perfect matchup for Franklin. Thats why. Infact if i could have any defender in the world on Franklin, itd be Bock. How was Mackie a good matchup for Pavlich last year. How was Harley a better matchup then Scarlett on Brown last season. Theres a difference between smart coaching and keeping someone away from the heat.

Hunters a very good player. Steps up when the pressure is on. The type everyone would love in their side.

Infact I remember when I was at the game watching Scarlett on Tarrant. Tarrant was playing CHF with Pav about 10m behind him. Blows your "He just plays FB" theory out of the water cos that day Pav played FF and Scarlett was still too scared to go with him...

Well you can hardly call them fullbacks then, can you.

Can you give me some examples of this. Then tell me who the best 3 forwards are for each side, in order.

There is no way that Scarlett is designated to take the 3rd best forward, as you have facetiously suggested. If the best player lines up at FF, then Scarlett iwll take him. Whatever he does, it's working pretty well for us :thumbsu:

Bock is a perfect matchup for Franklin. Thats why. Infact if i could have any defender in the world on Franklin, itd be Bock. How was Mackie a good matchup for Pavlich last year. How was Harley a better matchup then Scarlett on Brown last season. Theres a difference between smart coaching and keeping someone away from the heat.

Hunters a very good player. Steps up when the pressure is on. The type everyone would love in their side
You really don't have a friggin clue do ya. Matthew Egan Played on Pavlich & Brown last year(not Harley & Mackie) because that's what a CHB does, But you wouldn't know this because you don't have one.

Yes, we are the best team in the league because Thompson keeps Scarlett away from the good forwards. Bomber is always worrying about his star players reputations.

Whoever played on Pavlich last year, it resulted in Freo's biggest loss for the season, so it was a good matchup :)

You really don't have a friggin clue do ya. Matthew Egan Played on Pavlich & Brown last year(not Harley & Mackie) because that's what a CHB does, But you wouldn't know this because you don't have one.

Egan spent most of the game on McPharlin...

Yes, we are the best team in the league because Thompson keeps Scarlett away from the good forwards. Bomber is always worrying about his star players reputations.

Whoever played on Pavlich last year, it resulted in Freo's biggest loss for the season, so it was a good matchup :)

Not his reputation, just his limitations. Scarlett is at his best when hes deepn on the teams lesser forwards getting possessions and setting up play. Hes not at his best one out on the goal square and defending to save his teams life.

You think WRONG which does not surprise me! EAGAN took Pavlich. Scarlett plays on FULL FORWARDS! Simple as that. He played on Matthew Lloyd, will take Gherig this week and will play on Rocca, Fevola, etc. He plays on stay at home type forwards because he is FULL BACK. Yes Eagan will take bigger power forwards who push up the ground like Brown, Richo and Pavlich as he is/was CHB. Pretty bloody simple really. Make sure you know what you're talking about next time.

Not his reputation, just his limitations. Scarlett is at his best when hes deepn on the teams lesser forwards getting possessions and setting up play. Hes not at his best one out on the goal square and defending to save his teams life.

Not sure I've read anything so utterly stupid and ignorant in quite a while.

You think WRONG which does not surprise me! EAGAN took Pavlich. Scarlett plays on FULL FORWARDS! Simple as that. He played on Matthew Lloyd, will take Gherig this week and will play on Rocca, Fevola, etc. He plays on stay at home type forwards because he is FULL BACK. Yes Eagan will take bigger power forwards who push up the ground like Brown, Richo and Pavlich as he is/was CHB. Pretty bloody simple really. Make sure you know what you're talking about next time.

Matthew Pavlich was the FF that day. Dont let facts get in the way of a good rant though. Egan takes the best forwards. That we agree on.

Pavlich is bigger and stronger and pushes up the ground. Whether he did that game is irrelevant as he does in plenty of others. We had a better match up for him in Eagan so why the hell would we put Scarlett on him? Scarlett gets annihilated by forwards who work up the ground (except for Hall for some reason). Bomber found this out very early when Riewoldt and Tarrant (back when he was a hard working HF years ago) smashed him 02/03.

Scarlett takes the best stay at home forward. For example if we play Carlton, Eagan would not take Fev who is Carlton's best forward.

Fine line. wehen someone starts describing Glass as flat out over rated and only good because of the midfield....not sure even reasonable Geelong supporters would share that view. It's clear Geelong and West Coast (and even Adelaide) supporters are not likely to agree on the league's number one full back any time soon. This year to date, it certainly isn't Glass. But I'm not going to try and discredit Scarlett to try and pump up Glass. While theory is one thing regarding strength of midfield and other external factors to do with the value and performance of a full back, if Last Line Hero had actually ever watched an Eagles game, he would have seen a full back who is exceptional in one on one contests. He would have also seen a team who had a bunch of exceptional midfielders who tended to run forward of the play and match up loose defenders in our forward line, often leaving Glass one on one as the only player forward of centre for the opposition.

So for all the theories in the world that the stats supposedly suit, Glass is a quality full back, who for whatever reason has not had a great start to the year, and if the 2008 AA side was picked tomorrow, he would quite rightly not be in it.

What nees to be realised is that overrated isn't to say he's a hack. Glass is a very good defender and a star player like I've said several times. I rate him up there amongst the game's best FB's right now without a doubt. My opinion all along has been that he isn't as good as he is made out to be, that's all. I said Glass was a good one-on-one defender too.

Eagles fans can continue to label me a troll for stating an opinion that they disagree with, but, such is life.

To that moron Embers, please mate move on. You have little to no idea what you are saying, I suggest you watch Geelong play a little more, there is a reason Matthew Scarlett has earn't a reputation as the best FB of this generation and one of the best ever. He's built such a standing over 8 seasons of consistently brilliant performance dominating the backhalf and all who have come before him, so please stop baselessly and uselessly insulting a champion, when you obviously have no sustained and meaningful insight behind such a tirade.

Why every time either of these players is mentioned it has to erupt into a full- scale Glass v. Scarlett debate is ludicrous and tiresome, it's the equivalent of Deron Williams v. Chris Paul. YAWN!!!

You're ____ing delusional.

Glass >> Scarlett for 2 years in a row.

Have you ever seen a west coast game? Even at our best we always presented the opposition with an open paddock in their forward lines, glass would be one on one more then any other fullback in the competition, we trusted him to win, he would, then we'd rebound to great midfielders.

Scarlett and rutten get a lot of help (scarlett less then rutten) in stopping players whereas glass will ussually have to help others who are incapable in our defensive line.

Biggest myth in footy....WC have been flooding through the corridor demanding opposition teams bang it in or hold it up for years.

Scarlett, and others, much better than Glass.

Worsfold's fault.

He would be about the most unfit player in the comp atm. 2 injuries he has atm. He could have a month off to get himself right but hes a quality player so you gotta see first if he can adjust to it and play some decent footy. Unfortunately so far that hasnt been the case

At Geelong you have enough defenders better then Scarlett to cover his loss when he picks up a knock. We dont atm as they are all too young to hold down FB. Glass is playing through the pain. Something a real captain always doeas

So stop using it as an excuse Embers - players have been playing injured since the game started....you cross that line, you're fit to play. End of story.

Its 2 injuries which makes it even sadder. Left ankle AND left knee are buggered. To put it in perspective. Dean Cox is fitter then Darren Glass atm. However Cox can get 100% if he has a week off. Glass would need 1-2 months off. Something most teams couldnt afford to do.

My god you are a fu***ng sook. No one cares if he's injured if he plays!

Your right about what. That we have a poor backline. or that Scarletts the best defender in the league? He sure as shit aint better then Rutten. Heck he aint better then Bock either based on this season so far

And Glass is the worst defender in the league based on this season so far. What's your point?

What nees to be realised is that overrated isn't to say he's a hack. Glass is a very good defender and a star player like I've said several times.

I can't see why people would have mistaken your comments :rolleyes:

He was a terribly average footballer for a long time who coincidently started playing good football when West Coast began winning games
and their midfield became one of the best ever. Now, Eagles falling, Glass struggling. Pretty distrubing trend. I hope for the sake of all those who jumped on his bandwagon we don't have a new Darren Gaspar or Jon Hay in our midst.
Great defenders perform when up against it, that's what makes them as such.

He isn't that good. Even Daniel Merrett conceded less goals last year.

Ever since your GF win several Geelong supporters have become total sooks whenever their team or one of their players isn't rated at the top of every BF list.

Serious question - does Scarlett always take the opposition best forward - ie does he play on the Jonathon Brown, Barry Halls etc, or does he play at FB.

Rutten, for example, doesn't seem to play on Franklin.

It really depends, and I think that is the beauty of Scarlett. He is just so versatile.

There are certain players that Scarlett always takes, guys like Fevola, LLoyd, Hall, Rocca, Gherig. Generally the ones that stay closer to goal. Having Egan is a bonus as he generally takes the more mobile, move up the wing types like Riewoldt.

Geelong's defense is such that it can cover each other to find the match-ups that allow us to use our strengths best. If these match-ups can be manipulated so that Scarlett can run free and dominate up the ground and benefit the whole team, then it happens. But unfortunately, unlearned opposition fans like Embers seem to think that this implies Scarlett's defensive skills are poor, whereas in reality they are suburb. His 1v1 ability is sublime.

Darren Glass has conceded the 3rd most goals of any player in the competition...