Darren Glass has conceded the 3rd most goals of any player in the competition...

I can't see why people would have mistaken your comments :rolleyes:

Ever since your GF win several Geelong supporters have become total sooks whenever their team or one of their players isn't rated at the top of every BF list.

Mate, please, if you think I could give a stuff about whether a small bunch of people on a largely unknown football forum rate Glass better than Scarlett then you are kidding yourself. Such outstanding performance and statistics over such a long period speak for themselves. Scarlett's a proven champion nothing is going to change that. If you go back and read carefully it was the paranoid Eagles fans who raptured into this debate AGAIN, not Geelong fans.

READ ALL OF THIS-
The fact is: Glass became a very good player when the Eagles rose to prominence in 2005, and he's name has grown more again over the last 2 seasons. Prior to 2005 he was an average footballer at best, nothing special. Over the last two seasons his goals conceded numbers have been nothing to ride home about, contradicting the popular belief that he is this stunning shutdown guy, and now that the Eagles are falling away somewhat, he is really struggling. Simple facts, nothing more. Nobody has written him off as the new Darren Gaspar etc, I just looked at this trend and implied "well let's see what happens now." If he's the superstar people claim, then he will respond. If he's injured as badly as it is made out to be then he shouldn't be playing. I never said Glass was a hack, quite the contrary, I said IMHO he was overrated, so what? If people want to interpret that in the negative manner they have proceeded to, then that is their perogative. He very well may prove me wrong, and if he does I'll be the first to congratulate him.

Scarlett also used to look 2nd rate when Geelongs midfield struggled , anyone remember his form pre 07. Geelongs defense used to leak like a siv just ask Tarrant who he used to love playing on.

Yep and second rate defenders who've only had one good season win B&F's and are multiple AA's.

Please, he takes 1 player each week not 6.

Of course he only take one bloody player.
He doesn't get the same sort of help back there as Scarlett or Rutten.
Ocasionally he would get Wirra filling the hole which he does a great job at.
Glass has been the AA Full Back in the past few years. He has a bit of a form lose whether it be due to injuries or just the pressure of being captain, who knows. He is still a brilliant player.

So stop using it as an excuse Embers - players have been playing injured since the game started....you cross that line, you're fit to play. End of story.
Hahaha i hate that saying.

So when you cross the line you'r injuries are of no concern? The pain and limiting affects vanish?

He's fit to play but not fit to play at full strength.

Hahaha i hate that saying.

So when you cross the line you'r injuries are of no concern? The pain and limiting affects vanish?

He's fit to play but not fit to play at full strength.

It's a fair point though.

You should NEVER play guys that are clearly rolling at around 60% at best. You just cannot win games of footy doing this, particularly against good sides.

If a guy is playing like shit because he is clearly carrying an injury, there are no real excuses, because if he's out on the paddock he's fair game. As far as i'm concerned, if you're not fit enuff to play at something close to your best you shouldn't be out there. And if you are out there, you're going to have to cop the criticism, injured or not.

You should NEVER play guys that are clearly rolling at around 60% at best. You just cannot win games of footy doing this, particularly against good sides.

If a guy is playing like shit because he is clearly carrying an injury, there are no real excuses, because if he's out on the paddock he's fair game. As far as i'm concerned, if you're not fit enuff to play at something close to your best you shouldn't be out there. And if you are out there, you're going to have to cop the criticism, injured or not.

For what it's worth though, we don't really have anyone who can fill his position at the moment, because Hunter is really the only other option we have for that position. Good to see Spangher getting a game, as we need to get game time into some of our young defenders. Brett Jones has been the standout defender for us this year though.

It's hardy a surprise to me.

He's conceded over 40 goals the last two years, which has placed him about 8th or 9th in the so called "Reverse Coleman" according to the AFL Prospectus.

Nowhere near the numbers put up by the likes of Scarlett and Rutten.

He isn't that good. Even Daniel Merrett conceded less goals last year.

...and as has been explained to you and your ilk numerous times, you need to compare defensive systems employed by coaches. West Coast have over the last few years played almost exclusively a one on one defensive approach.

Adelaide have not. Geelong sometimes do but often dont.

Extra numbers obviously help a full back.

Glass remains better than Scarlett and just as importantly, he is a great team mate, respected by his team mates. Not the sort to piss off back home when he feels like it...

But all this talk about using excuses. It IS an excuse, he's injured and can't perform like usual.

Glass remains better than Scarlett and just as importantly, he is a great team mate, respected by his team mates. Not the sort to piss off back home when he feels like it...

As said. There is NO proof of this. You can stick up for Glass. Believe he is as good or suits your team better but there is no need to say stupid things like he simply 'remains better than Scarlett' and bring other 'better team mate' garbage into it. Only shows how pathetic your argument is.

...and as has been explained to you and your ilk numerous times, you need to compare defensive systems employed by coaches. West Coast have over the last few years played almost exclusively a one on one defensive approach.

Adelaide have not. Geelong sometimes do but often dont.

Extra numbers obviously help a full back.

This post is ignorant on so many levels.

Geelong play one on one every week. We have for years. We play an attacking brand of football and back our players to win out in their area of the ground. Each defender is given a defensive assignment it is up to them to dictate when they want to peel off to help a teammate etc. Which isn't a great deal, no more than a West Coast, it's just that when we do it we can now do it more effectively because of the talent and depth we have built over the last year back there. We do not flood at all, we don't have to, and our midfielders have finally learn't to be accountable, just as the Eagles were so good at from 2005-2007. You don't watch Geelong enough clearly, because we never consciously drop numbers behind the ball.

The argument about extra support is obliterated in Scarlett's case because anyone who has watched him for long enough would know, as I've said, how he was forced to forge his name and build a reputation from the ground up in struggling Geelong outfits, battling albeit outstandingly as a lone hand on our last line as our only star commodity. He was the foundation the current Geelong team was built upon. Also, you would know how consistently dominant he has been for so long in all aspects of defensive play. Go and watch any tape pre 2007, Scarlett's a proven champion.

That incident where Scarlett "pissed off" was to visit his girlfriends father who was ill in hospital and struggling. You can ask any Geelong fan or anyone associated with the club Scarlett is reknowned as possibly our strongest on field leader, and no voice rings louder and sets a better example once they cross that white line. He trains harder than any player and is immensley respected and admired by his teammates, moreso than anyone else. If you had any personal knowledge or association to justify this statement, you might be taken seriously, but I'm betting you don't.

You think Glass is better, that is your opinion and good on you. I don't.

But all this talk about using excuses. It IS an excuse, he's injured and can't perform like usual.

You just don't get it do you? It is being used as an excuse, but it is not a legitimate excuse once you're on the footy field. If Worsfold plays him he is passed fit, end of story.

I would suggest a pretty good % of players are playing with some sort of injury...all of a sudden Glass is getting a bit of a spanking and he's injured??

Get outta town, you Ealges are avin a laff!

You just don't get it do you? It is being used as an excuse, but it is not a legitimate excuse once you're on the footy field. If Worsfold plays him he is passed fit, end of story.

I would suggest a pretty good % of players are playing with some sort of injury...all of a sudden Glass is getting a bit of a spanking and he's injured??

Get outta town, you Ealges are avin a laff!

He is injured. But if you're out there you are fair game and well open to be pilloried.

Ahhh typical West Coast responses here.Pav kicks five on him and all of a sudden he was injured.There was nothing wrong with him for the first quarter and a bit in the Derby.Get beat make excuses.

Someone said he was running like a crab earlier on here,maybe he is one.

He is injured. But if you're out there you are fair game and well open to be pilloried.

My point exactly, heaps of people are injured. And I couldnt care less - means nothing.

Do the umpires say oh well Juddy has a sore groin, he was OK tonight, but hey, let's factor in his injury, so it's 1 vote for Christopher?

"You know Spinky, Glassy got a smashing out there but he doesn't just have one injury, Embers said he has TWO....i mean, TWO!!! So, come on Spinky I tihnk he deserves votes, let's give him a couple, it was a bloody good game by him with all those massive injuries"

Ahhh typical West Coast responses here.Pav kicks five on him and all of a sudden he was injured.There was nothing wrong with him for the first quarter and a bit in the Derby.Get beat make excuses.

Maybe he's got 'em.

Ahh typical fremantle supporters, they have one their grand final and are now free to fail miserably.

WOW cant believe this is still going....

its pretty dam Simple, Glass plays the more traditional role, and lacks support, while scarlett plays this modern 'quarterback' role where he can run and is strongly supported. Their the past 2 premiership full backs so their doing sumthing right, and in the end the west and east arent going to agree on this

I still believe Glass is better, my view i know, but Hunter and himself are the only 2 tall backs for the eagles, and he gets the number 1 job every week.

When Eagles won the flag he was the key to the defence while Scarlett played a premiership with 2 other All Australian defenders......

WOW cant believe this is still going....

its pretty dam Simple, Glass plays the more traditional role, and lacks support, while scarlett plays this modern 'quarterback' role where he can run and is strongly supported. Their the past 2 premiership full backs so their doing sumthing right, and in the end the west and east arent going to agree on this

I still believe Glass is better, my view i know, but Hunter and himself are the only 2 tall backs for the eagles, and he gets the number 1 job every week.

When Eagles won the flag he was the key to the defence while Scarlett played a premiership with 2 other All Australian defenders......

yup and if you want to talk "overrated players" Hunter be up at the top - Glass has basically no support because guys like Hunter are his backup!

Might've already been said, but how many other people have played against Pavlich & Brown in the first three rounds?

Darren Glass has conceded the 3rd most goals of any player in the competition...