News David King: Reversal of fortune looms for Scott twins

King is making some truly ridiculous calls regarding Geelong!

It's funny, my mate actually worked with David King the past year. I've met him, actually a very decent bloke. But it's simple really: Most of these blokes going into the media need to make a few statements that go against the norm, just to try & raise their profile. Lloyd has done it many times.

Just look at how much attention King has gotten from a few statements. The problem is, how many times can you be made to look like an arseh*le, before people stop listening!?

Malthouse tore Lloyd a new one a few weeks back in an interview on SEN. It was almost bullying. Lloydd was asking the "tough" questions on the Milne/racist/cheer squad issue. MM dismantled Lloyd fact by fact with his typical unlikeable bluntness. Not pretty, almost felt sorry for Lloyd. Except that like King, Lloyd makes a tool of himself from time to time to keep his media job.

King is making some truly ridiculous calls regarding Geelong!

It's funny, my mate actually worked with David King the past year. I've met him, actually a very decent bloke. But it's simple really: Most of these blokes going into the media need to make a few statements that go against the norm, just to try & raise their profile. Lloyd has done it many times.

Just look at how much attention King has gotten from a few statements. The problem is, how many times can you be made to look like an arseh*le, before people stop listening!?
I think he identified " game analysis" as his media niche and was doing a reasonable job at owning that space until last weeks ego driven hissy fit. I reckon he needs to get back some credibilty on 360 tonight or risk becoming another Acker shock jock type figure. He is welcome to doubt us but if he doesn't pay credit when it's due then he loses credibility and relevance.

If WCE beat Carlton this week then he will be proved correct on one thing.

He said earlier in the year after we beat Carlton in the Home and Away that Geelong won't beat Carlton again this year. :D

Have you heard Ratten trolling WCE about if they lose to Carlton its straight sets. Tells me Ratten has already put up the white flag.

We will be playing WCE. Bookmark it.

HAHA!!!!! Gerard read out my e-mail about the term for the word 'Stubborn'. Said it was his favourite too.

Praise from Caeser :thumbsu:

Ha ha!

I loved his new logic for this week as to why we will lose. It was kinda mumbled, but here goes: "Hawkins won't be able to do on Glass what he did to the Hawks backmen last week. No way"

That's why we are going to lose. :D

HAHA!!!!! Gerard read out my e-mail about the term for the word 'Stubborn'. Said it was his favourite too.

Praise from Caeser :thumbsu:

great stuff:thumbsu:
David King looked extremely uncomfortable last night. I think he really dislikes Mark McLure and he started to fire up near the end of the show with Mark Robinson...gotta give Robbo credit as he rarely backs down from a conversation once it's out there. King obviously doesn't believe we have our own forward press that was a huge factor in Hawthorn turning the ball over last friday night. I'm not even sure if King realizes we have another kpf who is 2nd in contested marks and has slotted 50 goals for the year. The old adage he seems inclined to stick with is the Mooney lead up the ground role which will be our undoing because of Hawkins not stepping up against either Carlton, West Coast or Collingwood. What about having West stretch any defense in the league? What if Hawkins does start to turn it on and it's quite funny that no one now rates Josh Gibson who was being talked up as an All-Australian only a couple of weeks ago but now it seems he no worse than a Dawson:D

Watching 360 was very funny last night on the one hand you have Gerard and Robbo asking King to apologise to all Cats fans and King scrambling for a response and someone to blame

I found it funny that he advised the world that our Cats are still 4-6 goals behind Collingwood and we won a game that had little or no intensity against our biggest rival of the last 20 years, from where I was sitting (Row J M20) it was intense until we burnt the Hawks off

I have a message to David King - apologise to one of the Greatest teams ever seen and apologise to the supporters that have to put up with the constant....." Geelong Haven't beaten anyone" cr@p that we have had to put up with for the past 6 months.

WE ARE LISTENING

He was totally silenced when Mark McClure shot him down.

First he was saying we are 4-6 goals of Pies still and it's because of Hawkins not being able to fire against Glass/Reid etc even though we've gotten this far without Tom being a player we've relied on much.

Then he went on to stick up for Hawthorn saying stuff about how could they be expected to go deep into September given they have 8 of their talls out and no spine and McClure was all over it saying well why did you back them to put Geelong away with ease after a statement like that and pretty much told him he was a joke.

King had NOTHING to say in response.

You could tell the whole panel were embarrassed to be in the same room as him.

I don't trust anyone with beady eyes ! GRAND KNOB OF THE HIGHEST ORDER

I hope the cats prove him wrong!

You know what'd be real funny?
If, in 3 years or whatever, the Roos finish above you for the first time, and he comes out and says "I told ya so". Can just about imagine him doing it too.

Calls like this - 'aging side will eventually be worse than younger side' - are reaaal easy to make when you don't put a time frame on it.

He was totally silenced when Mark McClure shot him down.

First he was saying we are 4-6 goals of Pies still and it's because of Hawkins not being able to fire against Glass/Reid etc even though we've gotten this far without Tom being a player we've relied on much.

Then he went on to stick up for Hawthorn saying stuff about how could they be expected to go deep into September given they have 8 of their talls out and no spine and McClure was all over it saying well why did you back them to put Geelong away with ease after a statement like that and pretty much told him he was a joke.

King had NOTHING to say in response.

You could tell the whole panel were embarrassed to be in the same room as him.

I loved that bit when McClure jumped on him and rightly too. His comment on writing to every one of the Geelong fan that wrote in to AFL360 if we win the flag. I'd like to see what he says in reply to my comment about the only reason he has a job in the media is because the AFL media is a massive boys club.

He was at it again on 360 last night basically said that our backline will not be good enough to contain Kennedy, Darling, Nickoski and LeCra and the that Our forwards with have trouble with Glass and Mckenzie.

Just looking at the list I matchups you would think they we might just be able to keep them in check

T. Lonegan - Q. Lynch
H. Taylor - J. Kennedy
A. Mackie - J. Darling
M. Scarlett - M. LeCra
C. Enright - M. Nicoski

Some how looking at those matchups im confident our boys can do the job.

In Geelong Forward line would be happy with Glass V JPod & Hawkins V Mackensie, when we can move Ottens and West down inside 50 do the Eagles have another tall defender or are we going to see Cox and NicNat in the defensive goal square.....think that might be another win to the Cats, not to mention Stevie J and Chappy oh then there is Stokes and Jimmy B

King then goes on to say that what happens when the Eagles Kids stand up and take it to the Cats- Yes they may have Shuey and Gaff but we have Bundy and Mitch

One word describes David King...........FLOG

I found slightly bewildering he was saying Corey is a massive liability going into this final if he's not match fit yet no mention whatsoever to Mackenzie with a moon boot on during the week nor LeCras and Kennedy's injuries:confused: would have thought of all teams it's us who are in prime condition injury-wise. Anyhow, even if we do win it this year I doubt he will even acknowledge this team.

Must still hold a grudge from that 1994 preliminary final win.

You know what'd be real funny?
If, in 3 years or whatever, the Roos finish above you for the first time, and he comes out and says "I told ya so". Can just about imagine him doing it too.

Calls like this - 'aging side will eventually be worse than younger side' - are reaaal easy to make when you don't put a time frame on it.

Excactly.

It would have taken balls to claim next year, but he didn't.

saying North are closer to a premiership though, is wrong.

I found slightly bewildering he was saying Corey is a massive liability going into this final if he's not match fit yet no mention whatsoever to Mackenzie with a moon boot on during the week nor LeCras and Kennedy's injuries:confused: would have thought of all teams it's us who are in prime condition injury-wise. Anyhow, even if we do win it this year I doubt he will even acknowledge this team.

Must still hold a grudge from that 1994 preliminary final win.

King sums up the feelings of a lot of the football media, which is after the Prelim last year they are expecting us to fail. To an extent based on the end to last season it's no surprise. The only way Geelong can truly confound critics is to win the premiership. If they happen to beat West Coast on Saturday (and that's a big if) Collingwood will be talked up for the same reason next week. That's the reality.

AFL+Rd+12+Kangaroos+v+Blues+6sHx_c2ZG4wm.jpg

"I tipped the Eagles. Hurrrrrr!!!"

I loved McClure and Robbo (who is growing on me I have to admit) jumping on him last night. Gerard Whately gave him a little "There there little boy" pat at the end of the segment too because of some of the utter shit he was talking.

As much as he's been on our backs this year, David King was right about one thing though: He said Geelong would not beat Carlton again in 2011 :p

News David King: Reversal of fortune looms for Scott twins