Draft Watcher Davo-27's 2018 AFL Draft Watch

Teams already contending for a flag would be all over someone like Walsh who can play from round 1.
Maybe so, but they don’t have that extra supporter/sponsor expectation (which is crap in my view) that the new kid has to play to bring “hope”.

Further, I think Walsh, whilst he is an excellent 18 year old, doesn’t walk into the Melbourne, West Coast, Richmond, Collingwood or GWS midfields. He’s not a natural defender, nor a goal kicking forward. Bottom 6-10 teams he probably plays straight in, but most said the same about LDU this time last year.

Of the top 10 draftees from 2017, only Andrew Brayshaw walked straight into an AFL midfield and stayed there all year. O’Brien was the next closest as a wingman once he got into a weak Carlton team. Everyone else played almost exclusive as a forward (Rayner/Stephenson/Dow) or defender (Clark/Coffield/Naughton.

I look at what Higgins managed to do at Richmond, and I rated Jack top 5-10 this time last year, and feel that’s where a premiership contender ends up slotting an elite first year player, on the fringes to add some cream to the side. Walsh isn’t a cream type player, he’s an endurance athlete who accumulated and finds the footy really well. Not many tricks, but does the basics really well. Top teams don’t plug that into their midfield straight away IMO.

Walsh doesn’t walk into the Melbourne, West Coast, Richmond, Collingwood or GWS midfields. He’s not a natural defender, nor a goal kicking forward. Bottom 6-10 teams he probably plays, but most said the same about LDU this time last year.

Of the top 10 draftees from 2017, only Andrew Brayshaw walked straight into an AFL midfield and stayed there all year. O’Brien was the next closest as a wingman once he got into a weak Carlton team. Everyone else played almost exclusive as a forward (Rayner/Stephenson/Dow) or defender (Clark/Coffield/Naughton).
Walsh could play the play maker half back role imo and with his running he could easily slot in a wing rotation

Walsh could play the player maker half back role imo and with his running he could easily slot in a wing rotation

Id throw Walsh on a wing at Collingwood Any day! Kids an endurance beast and in my humble opinion very Steele Sidebottom like

my guess as to what the first round will be on draft day (Phantom Draft first round)

Pick 1 Carlton: Sam Walsh - Geelong
Pick 2 Gold Coast: Jack Lukosius - Woodville West Torrens
Pick 3 Gold Coast:(compo) Connor Rozee - North Adel
Pick 4 St Kilda: Max King - Sandringham
Pick 5 Sydney: Nick Blakey - Syd A (matched bid)
Pick 6 Fremantle:(trade for Neale) Izak Rankine - wst adel
Pick 7 Fremantle: Ben King - sandringham
Pick 8 Western: Bailey Smith - sandringham
Pick 9 North Melb: Tarryn Thomas - North Launceston (matched bid)
Pick 10 Adelaide: Jackson Hately - Central Dist
Pick 11 Essendon: Xavier Duursma - gippsland
Pick 12 Port Adel: Bailey Williams - dandenong
Pick 13 Geelong: Ned McHenry - Geelong
Pick 14 GWS: Jordan Clark - Claremont
Pick 15 Hawthorn: Zak Butters - western
Pick 16 Adelaide: Luke Valente - norwood
Pick 17 Richmond: Jye Caldwell - bendigo
Pick 18 - - - - Bailey Scott (whoever he nominates will match bid)
Pick 19 Collingwood: Xavier O'Halloran - west
Pick 20 Gold Coast: Ian Hill - perth

my guess as to what the first round will be on draft day (Phantom Draft first round)

I’d be very surprised if Freo keep hold of both picks 5 and 6, with both Hogan and Lobb on their way.

Dandenong Stingrays, as a small forward/mid, he is a better midfielder than forward, i see him as a goal kicking midfielder who uses the ball cleverly, his little handballs and kicks remind me of what Jack Ross from Oakleigh does, but he is a smaller player at 177cm i think his height is being held against him a bit, but he's a talent and i hope he gets a combine invite to get on clubs radar. (averages 17.7 disposals, a goal a game 14.6, from what ive seen he uses the ball intelligently, his disposals find a free runner or hit a target, also accurate kick at goal, could have higher disposal count if he played more midfield, doesnt tackle very often or get free for a mark, usually plays in the centre bounces and pressure situations so dont expect him to get easy marks, but the tackling is his only weakness i think and his height(although 177cm isnt too bad), but otherwise he can play both as forward or mid to a good standard.

out of the Stingrays i rate in order:

Bailey Williams 10-30
Sam Sturt 20-40
Will Hamill 40-60
Toby Bedford 50-late
Mitch Riordan 30-late
Finlay Bayne 40-late (no combine invite)
Lachlan Young late to rookie
Sam Fletcher 40 to rookie
Campbell Hustwaite late to rookie (no combine invite)
Jai Taylor 50 to rookie

rookies? (unsure if they will get drafted, but may get a rookie spot)
Zac Foot
Matt Gahan
Riley Bowman
Lachlan McDonnell

unlikely to get drafted, but might play at VFL level (also the 2 without combine invites if they dont get tested are likely not to get drafted too)
Jamie Plumridge
Jake Frawley

Not may players from the TAC cup premiers?

already covered the TAC Cup Premiers and my thoughts, only difference is Hustwaite who got a combine invite and who i like in the 40's/50's in my list of players i've liked.

I’d be very surprised if Freo keep hold of both picks 5 and 6, with both Hogan and Lobb on their way.

i wouldnt be surprised if Hogan doesnt get done(this is the 6th year in a row he is linked to going home to W.A. and it hasnt happened yet) and Lobb is maybe a 2nd rounder, that would be my guess...

Yeah....Even if we keep our first round pick, which I very much doubt, we sure as shit won't be wasting it on Butters.

who would you use it on? Xavier O'Halloran, Ian Hill, Luke Valente or Jye Caldwell, either way i rate a lot of guys in this zone of the draft very highly.

Don't think "wasting" is a good word to be using about a very talented young footballer. You might not see him as a list need at the Hawks but that doesn't take away the fact he's an extremely talented young footballer.

He's a top 25 footballer, and I'd have no trouble "wasting" a late R1 pick on him. Huge upside.

I will be spewing if we pick up mchenry. If geelong have 2 picks around the 20 mark for Kelly who should they take?

Whatever for, I reckon at around that pick Ned's one of the surest things in this whole draft to be a 200 game AFL player.....supporters will love him, niggly little bugger that gives his all, the type of player that are the heart and soul of football clubs. Probably doesn't go quite that high but he's a ripper.

To similar and plays the same role as fogarty who we got for a first round pick last year.

who would you use it on? Xavier O'Halloran, Ian Hill, Luke Valente or Jye Caldwell, either way i rate a lot of guys in this zone of the draft very highly.
Agree, bit of an awkward spot to be in this draft. Pretty even from pick 9 to 25.

Reckon the first 10 basically pick themselves....Which Davo has nailed....Thereafter Caldwell would certainly be in the frame, alongside of Collier-Dawkins, Sturt, Taylor & Jones for mine.

Bailey Williams would be a player whom I'd love to see slide to pick 15, assuming we keep a hold of it.

Reckon the first 10 basically pick themselves....Which Davo has nailed....Thereafter Caldwell would certainly be in the frame, alongside of Collier-Dawkins, Sturt, Taylor & Jones for mine.

Bailey Williams would be a player whom I'd love to see slide to pick 15, assuming we keep a hold of it.
Could almost see Williams still at 25.