Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Now Starts A Long Offseason

You gotta remember Malceski has had a massive 3 knee reconstructions. How will that hold up? Subi isn't the kindest ground. Playing HF would require more turning around. At the moment he's a whole lot fitter than Waters but we have some good ball users off half back in Hurn & Ellis so that area isn't a weakness. Would like to get him and we can assume the coaching staff would also as he can use the ball but I don't think it's a big loss at all if he signs with Gold Coast.

No doubt it isn't a big loss, would be a good signing for whoever he chooses.

Anyone know anything about Clem Smith? saw him in under 18's and really looks like a hard at it type player.Got a decent score in the kicking test today,and Im pretty sure he did a bit of training with us a year or 2 ago. You reckon we have any chance of picking him up??

I think there is a slight chance Wce may pick him ,if he's available at pick 30 as he did AIS training this year at the eagles and may have impressed the recruiters .I don't know why his rating has slipped so much because last year the raps on Clem were huge .

Is the format of International travel and playing a distraction and the extra games played in the u18 championships too much footy for these young lads .

3 years?

Yeah nah.

This is the potential crop of free agents next year.

Dangerfield - if leaves will head to Vic
Cotchin - will be paid by the Tigers
Griffin - Will be nearly 30
A. Swallow - Priddis mk 2
J. Stevens - I like, but unileky will leave, Saints have to pay someone
Birchall - we have flankers, plus will be old
Kreuzer - No
Tomahawk - No Chance
Walker - No

Year after....

Sloane - Crows will pay what it takes if Danger leaves
Hill - Yes Please, will take massive offer though
Rich - Will see
Hartlett - No connection to WA
Hurley - No
Ziebell - Priddis mk 3

Include all the talented, young W.A talent at interstate clubs and it's clear to see why 3 years is too big a risk.

So realistically there is no one on that list who will move here, that we would want.

I was told Sydney has only offered Malceski one year not two. Swans also don't have the cap to offer 450k over two years which is why they were happy for him to go.

The package WCE offered is no better than the package offered by Sydney ( From the West Australian ) . They think he will stay at Sydney , reckon it depends on how much the wife wants to return to Perth !

If GC have offered three years and more money he will join the Suns. I disagree with the West Australian on how similar our and Sydney's offer is.

Griffin and Swallow I would take in a heart beat.
Griffen i love, but will be 30 by the time he's a free agent. Given hisb ack is causign probelms now, wonder how he'll be then.

Swallow, i'm meh on, he is decent and definitely adds something, but as said, i'm not sure he offers anymore than Priddis. Anyway, he's North Captain, he won't be leaving.

Griffen i love, but will be 30 by the time he's a free agent. Given hisb ack is causign probelms now, wonder how he'll be then.

Swallow, i'm meh on, he is decent and definitely adds something, but as said, i'm not sure he offers anymore than Priddis. Anyway, he's North Captain, he won't be leaving.

Hopefully Griffin can get past those injury concerns, terrific player.

Swallow doubtful to leave but stranger things have happened, maybe if we get David this year he'll come next ;)

Garlett ran a 15.2 beep. I wonder if we would consider him if Pickett is gone.

It is in Malceski's best interest to go visit GC and listen to their offer even if he has no intention of taking it up to prop up other offers.

We will get him IF his missus really wants to return home, he just needs to make it look like he is in high demand to squeeze out the most years and money he can out of is if that is the case.

I think we are trying to woo the wrong person, we need to concentrate on the wife and her family not Nick!

It is in Malceski's best interest to go visit GC and listen to their offer even if he has no intention of taking it up to prop up other offers.

We will get him IF his missus really wants to return home, he just needs to make it look like he is in high demand to squeeze out the most years and money he can out of is if that is the case.

I think we are trying to woo the wrong person, we need to concentrate on the wife and her family not Nick!

Apparently one Vic club is interested as well but I think the general offers will be 400-450k a year with GC offering an extra year and a higher price.

Eagles and Swans won't offer more than they have money wise, might add another year to the deal.

So realistically there is no one on that list who will move here, that we would want.

How do we know who will move and won't?

12 months is a long time in footy, 24 months even more so.

Would anyone have guessed that 2 years ago Collingwood would lose/trade Wellingham, Dawes, Beams, Thomas, Shaw & Lumumba?

I doubt it.

End of the day money talks and bullshit walks.

Judd went to Carlton for more money
Buddy went to Swans for more money
Ablett went to Suns for more money
Clark went to Demons for more money
Beams going to Lions for more money
Malceski going anywhere for more money
Daisy went to Carlton for more money
Goddard went to Essendon for more money

Out of the players mentioned i would be more than happy to offer 7m+, 6 year contract to attract Dangerfield or Cotchin.

You never know.

I would also be more than happy to have a go at Hill, Rich, Swallow, Griffen, Stevens...etc

We have a lot of cap space, some clubs won't have as much to re sign their players. That's when you can pry someone loose. ;)

Malceski for 3 years at 450k is a 1.3million dollar investment on a 30 year old with multiple knee re constructions.

Not worth it, much prefer to hunt bigger game over the next few years.

If Malcheski stays at Swans on the money & years reported and Goodes stays, you would have to think that someone's got to fall out of that club. Losing COLA and with the money men they have signed in the past 2 years something has to give. If not this year, next - Fire sale!

If they both stay we should offer 10 for Mitchell.

I want something to happen this year though, I don't want another year to go by where we suck, and then next trade period rolls around, and some of our players have asked to leave because they want some success. All of a sudden we have a chance to get some good players, but then we lose some too so it won't help. Let's go for it now!!!

Usually you don't trade in the talent to become a top tier team, it's because a number of your players improve dramatically.

*cough*

Hawthorn have traded in

Lake
Gibson
Burgoyne
Hale
Gunston
McEvoy

Sydney have traded in

Mcglynn
Richards
Kennedy
Shaw
Franklin
Tippett

Considering between them they have appeared in the last three Grand Finals for 3 premierships i'd say they have done pretty well.

I agree that their youth improving dramatically is still a huge factor though.

What are people's thoughts on Kane Lucas? Thought we were a chance of getting him at pick 7 back in 2009 instead of shep, but he hasn't done a whole lot since. AFL site says he's out of contract, would he be worth having a look at?

Average in everything he does.

No thanks.

Would prefer Garlett but we seem to have gone cold on him.