Oppo Camp Delisted Players To Discuss

At the end of the day, he is purely insurance as a mature age rookie.
I would take him over the mini, Connors and Webberley ANY day of the week!

At the end of the day, he is purely insurance as a mature age rookie.
I would take him over the mini, Connors and Webberley ANY day of the week!

Those players you have listed are now not at Richmond...

So who else in your opinion is Rodan better than at Tigerland to warrant his pickup...

Before I go overboard about this comment, which has been uttered by more than a few, being almost racist (Fijian & Papuan - so what?) - can you give a bit more detail about how you think that Rodan specifically and no-one else, say Foley, could fill the mentor role?

As someone from a multicultural background, I personally think it wouldn't be a bad thing at all for Gideon to have another player at the club he could perhaps relate to/identify with. (Yes, I am aware that Simon is from PNG and Rodan is Fijian). I should also point out that my earlier post isn't saying that Rodan should be the exclusive mentor for young Gideon either - I'm just saying I think if we did take Rodan, there would be some value in him possibly helping a young 18 year old new arrival at the club settle down with the club and in the big smoke (as it will be a massive cultural/life change for Gideon).

From what I've read, Gideon is a great young kid but he might be a bit shy (being 17/18, away from his home country in a big city like Melbourne and surrounded by (generally) a predominantly caucasian group of people - I think it would be fair to say that he would feel (even a little bit) as a outsider of sorts, at least when he comes down to club permanently for the first few days/weeks/month. It's probably a bit similar to us taking an indigenous kid from the middle of nowhere and expecting him to just integrate into the club, without the right support in place, it would make the process a lot harder I would have thought.

I remember reading earlier in the year that the playing group really loved having him down there and really looked out for him (can remember some of the players even tweeting about it too IIRC). I'm just thinking that having another pacific islander around the club might help the young man settle/be more comfortable with his surroundings. Ultimately, the better he settles at the club,m chances are the better the odds of him becoming a success will be.

Think about it this way. If you were plucked from your everyday surroundings and placed into another environment (i.e in another country, with different demographics, values, culture etc), chances are you would probably settle a bit better if there was someone you could relate to or who might have been in your shoes previously.

Essentially, I could see Rodan being a kind of big brother to Gideon who looks out for him when he is away from the club. As many have said, Rodan is a supposedly a top bloke, I'm sure he would do a great job looking out for Gideon as a mentor if that is something the club would see some value in. Rodan is also married so I think he would live a fairly grounded life and could probably try and involve Gideon with his own relatives to try and give that 'family environment' so he doesn't feel isolated.

At the end of the day, I would hate to see Gideon get homesick and head home. I just want the club to provide him with the best support they can to help him settle and be a success for the RFC. If that doesn't include Rodan (we don't even know if he will be a tiger in 2013 remember) being an informal mentor/role model, then so be it.

Before I go overboard about this comment, which has been uttered by more than a few, being almost racist (Fijian & Papuan - so what?) - can you give a bit more detail about how you think that Rodan specifically and no-one else, say Foley, could fill the mentor role?

It is pretty plain to intepret, Gideon would most likely relate to Rodan better than say a foley, as they are both of of similar heritage (in sense of Fiji and PNG). The key role of a mentor is to relate to the player being mentored not just pure teaching.

:confused: i do not see any point to this

richmond recruiting staff are pulling all the right reins at the moment, if they go for i thoroughly support the decision. Hopefully only rookie spot but if the club sees something benieficial in the move then yeah pull the trigger Tiges

It is pretty plain to intepret, Gideon would most likely relate to Rodan better than say a foley, as they are both of of similar heritage (in sense of Fiji and PNG). The key role of a mentor is to relate to the player being mentored not just pure teaching.

Pretty much what I was trying to say (sorry to anyone if my earlier post seemed offensive or racist in any way - certainly wasn't my intent).

If we are talking purely as a playing mentor, then of course Foley would be a great mentor (as he is probably a much better player than Rodan in all fairness) but in terms of a mentor who can oversee a young PNG kid settling into the club and into Melbourne, someone like Rodan might possibly be a better fit.

Those players you have listed are now not at Richmond...

So who else in your opinion is Rodan better than at Tigerland to warrant his pickup...

Sorry, if you misunderstood my earlier blog, but what I am saying is having someone like Rodan as a mature age rookie is purely insurance in case Tuck or another one of our midfielders sustains a long term injury for instance.

I was also hinting that (if given the opportunity) Rodan would be an improvement to our list compared to the fringe players we delisted several weeks ago.

IMO, players such as Maric and Webberley were not up to scratch when included in our starting 22, whereas Rodan will have an immediate impact if the opportinuty arises.

Pretty much what I was trying to say (sorry to anyone if my earlier post seemed offensive or racist in any way - certainly wasn't my intent).

If we are talking purely as a playing mentor, then of course Foley would be a great mentor (as he is probably a much better player than Rodan in all fairness) but in terms of a mentor who can oversee a young PNG kid settling into the club and into Melbourne, someone like Rodan might possibly be a better fit.
I get your points and particularly agree with the sentiment of doing everything we can to help GS settle in, but think you are drawing a bit of a long bow.

For starters Rodan grew up in Aus from the age of three - not much Islander experience there, would be lucky to remember much about it at all. And being Papuan GS's cultural heritage is closer to Indonesian than Fijian Pacific Island.

I guess knowing the above I assumed those making the comment I singled out had connected the two because of their looks etc and thought it was a bit of a narrow view point - apologies for making that assumption/leap.

By the way - have worked with quite a few Papuans and yes they tend to be a bit shier than Aussies (gross generalisation) but also seem to fit in really well, which seems to have been the feedback from the club. Also take instruction and direction extremely well - no issues with getting them to learn or follow team directions - but again gross generalisation and like all things it is the individual that matters.

has there been any actual word from the club? everything i've read seems to media speculation based on the fact that d-rod didn't categorically rule it out.

does anyone have a link to where Craig Cameron, Dimma, Francis Jackson, et al have actually said we're interested?

So he gets recruited as a foreign aid worker or a footballer? Seriously people, is there any other football clubs recruiting players to help young immigrants, or to play footy?
We have just recruited Chris Knights as a high half forward/midfield rotator. Do not need another one, and especially one that has been discarded by the premiers...oh wait, Pt Adelaide.
I'll be filthy if we take him, even as a rookie.

I think that 3 or 4 game patch last year when we got hit by multiple injuries and of course Dusty's infraction - proved that we lacked serious depth and that guys like O'Hanlon just aren't ready.... I know we are not going to win the premiership... but by God we MUST play finals - we have to! Hence why they are looking at a Rodan type. Cause if that 3 to 4 game patch of injuries happens again, we can at least have seasoned bodies with experience to come in and fill the void.

Good logical post Varicho !

Would not phase me if they rookied him. Every year each club Rookies roughly 6 players and only one goes into play league football . Depth is certainly the key and he could be an awesome sub.

Logically with the sub rule in , why would you not recruit someone that specializes in this role.

The other thing is that the club is building towards our own stand alone VFL team. They have to manage this and keep an eye on recruiting for that this year. Do you think they are just going to put an ad in Inside Footy to get players for that.

I think this Rodan mail has been around for sometime and is starting to become more likely by the day. If it is true the club will have to change it's policy and players being allowed to dance on the footy show end of year player review.

Salopek would be a better option than Rodan. If he is over his injuries he is a good player. They should get the Docs to check him out and consider him for a rookie spot.

Seriously? When was the last time he played?

Rodan as a rookie suits me fine. Good guy to have around too, and can impact a game. As a rookie a risk worth taking.

I wouldn't be bothered at all if we rookie list him.
These senior rookies are important for the fabric of your club.We went for a strong,respected character in Miller and Rodan fits that bill also.
As insurance I see him as a much broader insurance than for Nahas/Edwards/King. Those blokes are forward of centre only in my view whereas Rodan is very good at ground level around the ground if we start to fall over in that area.
We will definately be taking mature age rookies so for me it's a yes as I can't think of anyone else.Salopek no thankyou.

These senior rookies are important for the fabric of your club.We went for a strong,respected character in Miller and Rodan fits that bill also.
As insurance I see him as a much broader insurance than for Nahas/Edwards/King. Those blokes are forward of centre only in my view whereas Rodan is very good at ground level around the ground if we start to fall over in that area.
We will definately be taking mature age rookies so for me it's a yes as I can't think of anyone else.Salopek no thankyou.
You're talking me around Rodney. I'd settle for a rookie spot.

I get your points and particularly agree with the sentiment of doing everything we can to help GS settle in, but think you are drawing a bit of a long bow.

For starters Rodan grew up in Aus from the age of three - not much Islander experience there, would be lucky to remember much about it at all. And being Papuan GS's cultural heritage is closer to Indonesian than Fijian Pacific Island.

I guess knowing the above I assumed those making the comment I singled out had connected the two because of their looks etc and thought it was a bit of a narrow view point - apologies for making that assumption/leap.

By the way - have worked with quite a few Papuans and yes they tend to be a bit shier than Aussies (gross generalisation) but also seem to fit in really well, which seems to have been the feedback from the club. Also take instruction and direction extremely well - no issues with getting them to learn or follow team directions - but again gross generalisation and like all things it is the individual that matters.

No worries WATIGE, I can definitely see what your saying and sure, Fiji and PNG are probably very distinct cultures from one another (can't say I know a great deal about either so Ill take your word here mate). From my own experiences (and this may not be necessarily the case) but people who identify themselves as being in a minority often identify with other minorities to give a sense of collectivism.

Rodan may have grown up predominantly in Australia but being from a pacific islander background (there wouldn't be many guys running around in the AFL at present with a foreign cultural background - let alone from somewhere in the pacific). I think that Rodan having that background (even if he didn't really grow up overseas) would still make it easier for GS to draw some similarities with and relate to (compared to your typical, caucasian player).

You see it a lot these days with Aboriginal players - they all come from different tribes but they seem to identify with each other in a sort of brotherhood. If there are only a handful at the club, they may tend to stick together as they may share similar experiences being away from home (IIRC Troy Taylor and Relton Roberts were pretty close and living far from their families?). I don't think there is anything wrong with that either just as long as the player also integrates with the other team mates and forms part of a united team (don't want to have a clear divide between groups within the club).

Even at my high school in regional Victoria, the school was predominantly made up of caucasian students with a few international students. The international students came from places like Thailand, South Korea, Indonesia and Hong Kong and despite the differences in cultures here, they tended to stick together probably as they were all living away from home. I don't think it has anything to do with skin colour or sharing cultural similarities - I think it would be more because they share a common experience and can support one another. Obviously Rodan's family is here in Melbourne so he probably won't get homesick as his support network is here but its possible that GS could tap into Rodan's family and friends for the same support - if Fijian people are like how I remember them to be, they are very warm, caring and friendly people and I'm sure they would look out for GS.

I think we are fortunate that the club seems to be very accepting and open towards different cultures and beliefs. Just look at Houli and how the players and club are eager to learn about and accommodate his faith. That kind of support has probably played a great part in Houli being a successful pick up for the club. The bolded part of your post above is really pleasing to read. No matter what, I'm sure the club and players will look after GS and I believe GS will have the right mindset to be a success for us especially with the right application to his training and development.

At the end of the day, this is all hypothetical talk. Even if we did pick up Rodan again, the club and GS might think another player would serve as a better off field mentor. GS might even live with Gary March and his family similar to what Martin did just to give that homely environment. There are many possibilities and I'll back the club to do the right thing whatever that might be. Anyway, we might be jumping the gun a bit though - we haven't even drafted Rodan yet and who is to say we even will! :p

Yeah, I prefer we went for blokes that first and foremost fit the bill of being good at playing football.

Get the feeling we want Rodan to be a "super-sub" as last year we really lacked a genuine impact player in that role and if rookied he'll be upgraded immediately.

Still don't think it's a good idea though.

Let`s face it if rodan comes to us as last spot on our list or we rookie him no damage would be done . his best is still well up to league standard, and would be a perfect supersub as this year our subs had minimal impact. at least he would provide some zip coming off the bench, and at worst provide experienced cover for when those injuries and suspensions come.I think he is worth a shot at minimal cost!!!

The AFL has reduced the Rookie list to 4 and we only have 2 vacant positions at this stage. It will be interesting to see how those 2 positions are utilised.

Oppo Camp Delisted Players To Discuss