Discussion thread: Things you just wont change my opinion on:

I didn't say he can't play there at all, just that like you I think he will be much better value coming off a HBF where he can play on blokes like S.Johnson, C.Jones, Williams, O'Keefe and other mid sized forwards who we really struggle to find a decent match up for. Then we can have him as a plan B/C if Thursfield/McGuane/Rance are struggling on the bigger KP forwards.

So another bloke in our team stuck in no-mans land? Never really understanding whether they're a forward, backman, ruckman. Sick of blokes never been allowed to settle into a role.

I understand the whole versatility, flexibility argument... but you're never going to get a player fully understand his potential, chopping and changing him.

Sorry... not the point of the thread, so sorry for questioning. Respect. :p

1. Richmond was named after Matthew Richardson
2. Trent Cotchin is the only 19 year old male that you can have a hard on for and not feel dirty about it
3. Jarryd Oakley Nicholls is f**king useless
When the hell are we going to dump Jarryd Oakley Nicholls. We give Hyde the Ass yet continue to hold onto Jarryd Oakley Nicholls. That is a "What The". However, Hyde also deserved to go...just making a point...

I'm fairly openminded but there is one thing I won't change my opinion about:
People who are one-eyed and continually argue their point over and over again. Those people should get a life - it's a game for God's sake! *cough* Colingwood supporters *cough*

2. If all goes well Richmond could be a Grand Finalist in 09' - we have a good fixture for once
3. Jackson is a good player and will only get better - is Martin Pike-ish, can play anywhere
4. Collingwood suck
5. Collins, Connors, Polo, JON, Gourdis and to a lesser extent Graham will probably never get anywhere
6. Tuck is underrated
7. Cotchin is a freak
8. Tambling AT HIS BEST is better than Buddy Franklin (see 1st Qtr Vs. West Coast early in 2007 season)
9. Next year's premiership will not be won by Hawthorn
10. As soon as I post this I will put up a 2009 ladder prediction thread

1-Polo is a much better player than his lack of opportunities suggest and he should have played 80 games by now and would have been among our top 3 midfielders(23 years and under) by now
2-Raines isn't smart or skillfull enough to be in our top 30 players. Our best chance at an extra high pick will come with a trade to the Gold Coast
3-Johnson. See Raines except for the trading part
4-Tambling should be used as our specialist back pocket on the Milnes of the AFL. Tambo has bulked up heaps and has the speed, smarts and skill for the back pocket compared to the hard work required in the middle which he isn't quite suited to yet.
5-Richo, Brown, Bowden have on average 3 quality years left in them
6-Was worth keeping Graham and Pettifer on the list for 2009 for depth. Graham may show something. But both will go at end of 2009 if our other ruck and small forward options move ahead.

# Brendon Gale was an ordinary footballer

# Matthew Richardson should have been traded to St Kilda in 94 for Lockett

# John Northey has been used as a scapegoat for what was our foolish reliance on the wisdom of a boofhead ... contract extension for Swooper was a no brainer

# Robert Walls is a schitman and should never have set foot in our club

# Nick Daffy not Stuart Maxfield should have been shunted to Sydney.

# Darren Gaspar was a leach

# Allan Jeans ... took eyes off the ball and made huge mistake
John Northey ... took eyes off the ball and made huge mistake
Terry Wallace ... ???? lets hope we have learnt ;)

# Eddie Mc Guire is "NOT" good for the game , merely a despot who has lost the plot

# Hawthorn were gifted a premiership

1. Sacking Miller was good.
2. Getting Cousins was even better.
3. Pettifer is a selfish little girl.
4. Jacko is a tough bugger who is still getting better.
5. Schulz is a valuable member of the team.
6. Tambling will become a good player but probably not better than Buddy.
7. Graham is a giraffe and plays like one.
8. Royal is Wallace's bitch.
9. Cotchin is the best footballer in the league.
10. Except for Richo.

...:p ...LMAO ... will i or won`t i ...:confused::rolleyes:

Nup ... not going there .

How are you madness ... looking forward to Chrissy ? ... having a break are you ? ... haven`t waxed with you for a while

Yeah. 3 weeks off. I have A and B side singles coming out soon from PROGMONSTER RECORDS :cool:
We must meet for a few pots of Tankers draft at the footy lol

1. Richmond are the greatest club of all

2. Polo has the heart the size of a carraway seed

3. Hughes is one dimensional

4. Schultz is better in the backline

1. Richard Tambling should be played as a rebounding backman.
2. Polo and Connors would have been guns at any other club but will end up being delisted by years end.
3. Joel Bowden is a brilliant but lazy footballer who should have been forced into becoming a premium midfielder.
4. Shane Tuck is throughly underrated and a cornerstone of our midfield.
5. Mathew Richardson has destroyed any semblance of forward structure and cost us developmentally for every season prior to this last one.
6. Pattison is too short to be a ruckman, too slow to be a KPP and we should be cutting our losses early. Not the Luke Darcy type we hoped to recruit.
7. JON is perhaps the most unaware footballer I've ever seen and will never live up to his draft pick.
8. Kayne Pettifer should have been delisted as his place has been taken by younger and better players. We should've gone with another junior instead.
9. Jake King adds more to our attacking game than he gives away when suicidally placed onto bigger and stronger opponents. Saying this he will be worked out, dragged to the square and finished as a footballer unless he can reinvent himself as a wingman or forward.

1) Polo is an overrated footballer, living of the cotails of his excellent debut
2) Luke McGuane is just as good, if not better then Will Thurstfield and Kel Moore
3) Raines has a future in Richmond's best 22
4) Oakley Nicholls is a spud
5) Joel Bowden has been an excellent footballer for the RFC and we are better with him in our side
5) Kane Johnson won't play 22 games this year

1. JON may never make it , but the assertions he can't play at all are idiotic, hysterical and over the top. Most people who bag him on this board have either a) probably never even seen him play outside his senior appearances b) clearly didn't watch the last quarters of the Melbourne & Port games c) Just going along with the popular board opinion.

2. Everything Oxx says about Bowden is dead on the money.

3. Mercilessly bagging players under 22 achieves nothing , is counter productive and a complete waste of time.

4.McMahon is a dud and the trade for him was far worse than any of our percieved drafting mistakes.

5. Beaver is not always right , but is right more than he is wrong.

6. Though important , the actual importance of the national draft and high picks is grossly overstated.

7. Playing kids when you are out of finals calculations is not tanking, it is responsible and necessary.

8. CoggaRules has an awesome ability to accurately predict the past.

10. IDGAF is right when he says we should've traded Richo for Plugga.

11. Tambling will be a very good HBF and should have been put there in his second year, will never be more than an occasional outside mid and should be kept away from the centre sqare, is a cold starter and needs space.

12. Terry Wallace overcoaches, needs to get out of players heads , is far too reactive and not proactive and is a very ordinary match day coach.

13. Who you recruit doesn't mean shit if your coaching and development is not up to scratch.

14. Richmond's biggest problem is temperament, lack of self-belief and confidence.

15. Being positive about everything all the time does not make you a better supporter , a better "fan" maybe, but glossing over glaring problems is stupid....having said that....

16..... Coaches and analysts focus too much on what kids weaknesses are, so much so , they often mess with their heads to the point that they forget about their strengths and don't play to them. Kids need to learn and be coached , but at the same time they also must be allowed to just play football. Every player on an AFL list was a very good footballer at some point in their life , otherwise they wouldn't be there in the first place....having said that...

17. ... King is a hack and so is Jackson , both should've been delisted at the end of this tyear as should've Pettifer.

19. Schulz is just not that good and is a dumb footballer.

20. Connors will be a gun if he ever pulls his finger out.

21. Prog rock is a load of bollocks.

22. Barring injuries, Trent Cotchin is a future hall of famer and could well be the greatest Tiger of all, will dominate the competition in the next decade and transform our club. :thumbsu:

23. Deledio or Foley should've been made Captain ahead of Newman. Deledio is the best player from the 04 draft and will prove it. Foley will be the next Paul Kelly before too long once he learns to play 4 quarters instead of 3.

24. Every effort this year must be made to transform Angus Graham in to good player, you can't just chuck a bloke that size. If he is as bad again this year then delist him.

25. Vickery might "fill a need" but was a very risky pick with his knee problems, Ziebell would've have been a better option at this stage.

26. Casey Sibasado would've been a good late draft pick.

27. Club's spin about "age group quotas" is a load of crap.

28. No kid on a list is too young or inexperienced to play seniors if they are good enough. Kids learn far quicker at the top level and I would rather see them thrown to the wolves than pick up bad habits at an inferior level.

29. Waiting for players to "earn their spots" is not always the way to go, some players don't actually earn their spots until they get them.

30. Jazz Fusion is a load of bollocks too.

31. Our number one focus over the summer should be tackling , followed by tackling and then after that, some more tackling.

32. The AFL are completely out of touch on most issues and are determined to turn the game in to a soft joke.

33. Picking Ben Cousins was a no-brainer, the only possible losers are Ben Cousins himself if he fails or opposition sides if he succeeds.

Excellent read Mario... good job and most l agree 100% on. :thumbsu:

A few points though:

1. JON may never make it , but the assertions he can't play at all are idiotic, hysterical and over the top.

Agree. If we were to delist him now, there would be 5 clubs ready to grab him to at least take the risk on. He's a victim of our push for youth. The recruitment of Jordan McMahon killed any hope that JON had of being a success.

8. CoggaRules has an awesome ability to accurately predict the past.

Pure GOLD. One of the funniest things l've read in a long time. But l wouldnt have it any other way with Cogga. :D :thumbsu:

11. Tambling ... is a cold starter and needs space.

Agree... but he deserves a kick in the arse and a run in the magoos to start recognising that the game doesnt start when we're 5 goals down. Easily to look good when the game is lost. Very lazy.

13. Who you recruit doesn't mean shit if your coaching and development is not up to scratch.

And who exactly are our coaches? Jade Rawlings, Brian Royal and David King. The mind boggles at what they're actually saying to our players.

22. Barring injuries, Trent Cotchin is a future hall of famer and could well be the greatest Tiger of all, will dominate the competition in the next decade and transform our club. :thumbsu:

Absolutely no pressure or anything though. :p

25. Vickery might "fill a need" but was a very risky pick with his knee problems, Ziebell would've have been a better option at this stage.

Disagree, but only mildly. Selecting a genuine ruckman rather than a bit-part Patto will stop Wallace and Cameron wasting national and rookie draft selections every year on bloody ruckman (Graham, Cartledge, Pattison, Putt, Vickery, Knobel, Simmonds, Browne all under Terry's watch). Yes the knee's are a risk, but no different to a Nic-Nat that could have absolutely no footballing talent whatsoever. At least we know Vickery can play.

31. Our number one focus over the summer should be tackling , followed by tackling and then after that, some more tackling.

I want the coaching department to start teaching players that because the ball is not in their vacinity, it doesnt mean that they are not "in-play". We continually are either too lazy or too dumb to not read the play and end up getting caught in all the wrong positions, or, are not smart enough to take the right attacking options when we are in possession.

ps. where is number 9? :)

JON should be in the Richmond starting 22 for all 22 games in '09 to finally give this kid a chance and see just what he is made of!!

If we ever have a season like '07 again, Punt Rd Oval should be turned into a tent city, with players and coaching staff camping at the club until they can put a few wins together!!!

Richo is GOD!!!! and deserves a Brownlow and Premiership and can play into his 40's!!!!

To easy,
1. the players have to up their 1%s by 70% for us to mix it.
i.e. opponent must be put under pressure at all times, they must not be allowed to dispose of it at their will, they have to be made to conjure up the disposal. Watch the Cotch, he will lunge, forlorn as it might be, just to take away a piece of space that might have been an option.
2. to be competitive the players must learn that their job hasnt been completed, just because they gave the next give. The next give should be followed by the next shepherd and by shepherd, i dont only mean contact, i mean make the chaser alter course, it buys ****ing precious seconds for the team mate with the ball.

3. until they work out and this is directed straight at Bling and of course the one and only Pettifer, that you make your own luck by going to get it, rather than waiting and hoping for it to spill out, i.e. waiting on someone being unlucky, we will watch it go the other way, more often than not.

4. and this one is the most important one of the lot, learn to draw a ****ing opponent towards them when they are carrying the ball. It creates a loose man FFS. We tend to run like the wind straight into the waiting arms of an opponent. FFS, work it out tigers, make them come to you. Slow down and think.
;)

Discussion thread: Things you just wont change my opinion on: