D1 Division 1 - 2012

BTW MM. Also agree with your comments re Digger. One of the all time club greats.

The money that is allegedly being tossed around by SFL clubs mystifies me. In another role I get to see some SFL footy and, from what I’m told, you could count the number of clubs who pay every ‘ones’ player on the fingers of one hand and have a few over. Most are struggling and only pay the top half dozen or so as ‘Fish20’ from Bentleigh confirmed a few posts back.

OTP,

Apart from the trolls baiting attempts we have been back "talking footy". Get with the program. :D

More power to OTP! Ammo Man wouldn't know a troll if he bit him!
BTW, I have excellent credentials to be in D1. Probably more than others.
Let's start talking about football.
From the contributions until now, I suspect Ormond is a 'landmark' club that is 'strutting their feather's about where they've been and where they are.
They believe they don't deserve to be in D1 and will, with a flick of their fingers, fix that anomaly.
There are some sides in D1 who are going to destroy your dream.
It won't be a comfortable ride back to C.
In the coming months we shall see what transpires.
I suspect that Ammo Man, Bedford, et al will need to start getting use to D2.

BTW MM. Also agree with your comments re Digger. One of the all time club greats.

The money that is allegedly being tossed around by SFL clubs mystifies me. In another role I get to see some SFL footy and, from what I’m told, you could count the number of clubs who pay every ‘ones’ player on the fingers of one hand and have a few over. Most are struggling and only pay the top half dozen or so as ‘Fish20’ from Bentleigh confirmed a few posts back.

OTP,

Apart from the trolls baiting attempts we have been back "talking footy". Get with the program. :D

C’mon Ammo man. I really enjoy your posts. One of the best going around in BF but I reckon a man of your obvious knowledge cannot honestly believe that “most SFL clubs struggle to pay the top half dozen”. While the SFL is conservative by comparison to other leagues that statement is incorrect. And please don’t think Fish 20 is the font of all knowledge in this regard. Bentleigh have been back in the SFL all of one season and are a 2nd division club at that. While they may not pay others certainly do. Some reasonable (not extravagent) coin getting thrown around in Div 2 at the moment I’m hearing – and for more than just the best half a dozen. This is not a back hander at the SFL at all. But to be competitive most of the stronger clubs have to fork out reasonable $ for quality players. It's just the nature of the beast.

On another note - With the Ormond and SFL connection I’m starting to think you are Wayne Holdwsorth?;) Particularly as you are are on the record as saying the Doveton Eagles debacle was well handled. To be fair Wayne is really decent bloke who has done at great job at the SFL. Was also an exceptional prez at Ormond. Always chuckle however when I see the boss of the SFL’s son running around in the VAFA.

Good luck to Ormond this year. I remember our battles with then ‘back in the day’. Have never lost my respect and admiration for them as a club.

Thanks for the complimentary remarks Rooster24. They are reciprocated in spades. Always get something worthwhile from your posts.

Yes I am serious! As I mentioned earlier, in another role I get to see a bit of SFL footy and consequently get to speak to people in the inner circle of some clubs. The message is fairly consistent in that only a few clubs are travelling really well financially speaking.

In fact there a couple I could mention – but won’t for obvious reasons – that are on the cusp so to speak. I maintain that match payments for the vast majority don’t go much deeper than the top 6 to 10 players.

I certainly wouldn’t discount the comments of ‘Fish20’ merely because it was Bentleigh’s first year back as he’s pretty switched on and I’d reckon a good networker so he’d be across what other clubs are doing. Have a lot of time for his posts.

Wayne Holdsworth would be dismayed at you linking me to him as he made it known he was quite disconcerted with some of my comments in the MSJFL thread.

I have the utmost respect for DeLa. Just a pity we can’t pinch players from you as we could in bygone days.;)

Thanks for the complimentary remarks Rooster24. They are reciprocated in spades. Always get something worthwhile from your posts.

Yes I am serious! As I mentioned earlier, in another role I get to see a bit of SFL footy and consequently get to speak to people in the inner circle of some clubs. The message is fairly consistent in that only a few clubs are travelling really well financially speaking.

In fact there a couple I could mention – but won’t for obvious reasons – that are on the cusp so to speak. I maintain that match payments for the vast majority don’t go much deeper than the top 6 to 10 players.

I certainly wouldn’t discount the comments of ‘Fish20’ merely because it was Bentleigh’s first year back as he’s pretty switched on and I’d reckon a good networker so he’d be across what other clubs are doing. Have a lot of time for his posts.

Wayne Holdsworth would be dismayed at you linking me to him as he made it known he was quite disconcerted with some of my comments in the MSJFL thread.

I have the utmost respect for DeLa. Just a pity we can’t pinch players from you as we could in bygone days.;)

Fair enough AM. Obviously my information from other trusted sources contradicts yours but will leave it at that. The De La Ormond rivalry was a cracker. Genuine dislike but respect at the same time. Tim Allen is one recent De La boy we could never lure away from the Gunn. To be fair we did not really pursue him with much vigour as we respected his loyalty to Ormond. Still hold out hopes he might come across one day. Perhaps if and when he finishes at Port Melbourne but I suspect he will stay true to the Brown & Blue. There will however be a one very good Ormond youngster suiting up for us this year. His only motivation is to play at the highest level he can and with some good friends at the club from his junior days he decided that we were the best fit. Don’t want get Bedford wound up so will not name names at the moment but this one did come out of left field.

And the comment about being Wayne Holdsworth was tongue in cheek but you do tick a couple of boxes;).

Guess we’ve been talking to different people Rooster. I’d certainly agree with your comments if we were talking MPNFL where there is serious money. Not only the silvertails like Sorrento but lesser teams too as the Rovers have unfortunately found to their cost.

However, there are light -years between the SFL and the MPNFL despite all the good work Holdsworth and Cranny have done. You don’t have sides close to the margin there or coaches taking financial haircuts in order to get the readies to lift player stocks in the MPNFL.

Back to the meat and vegies. Recruiting and retaining players when a club drops down the divisions is extraordinarily hard. Much more so for district clubs who don’t have a readymade recruiting pool to mine as the school based teams do. It’s a real challenge.

Sad if the Monders have lost another good player. But I for one don’t blame a player with the talent wanting to strut his stuff at a higher level.

BTW. Reckon you've said enough to give Bedford a conniption. And not only him.:(

Fair enough AM. Obviously my information from other trusted sources contradicts yours but will leave it at that. The De La Ormond rivalry was a cracker. Genuine dislike but respect at the same time. Tim Allen is one recent De La boy we could never lure away from the Gunn. To be fair we did not really pursue him with much vigour as we respected his loyalty to Ormond. Still hold out hopes he might come across one day. Perhaps if and when he finishes at Port Melbourne but I suspect he will stay true to the Brown & Blue. There will however be a one very good Ormond youngster suiting up for us this year. His only motivation is to play at the highest level he can and with some good friends at the club from his junior days he decided that we were the best fit. Don’t want get Bedford wound up so will not name names at the moment but this one did come out of left field.

And the comment about being Wayne Holdsworth was tongue in cheek but you do tick a couple of boxes;).
I know who it is and that his conection to the filth . AM and i are ok, so Rissoles stay out

To get back on topic, that is, footy. Ben Holland has been training with the Ogs, not 100% if he'll be playing but would be pretty exciting.

Ammo Man,

I’m still very much around. I don’t care to enter any discussions bagging other leagues/clubs etc, which leaves me little option than to just have a quick look now & then. Would prefer to talk about the prospects of Ormond & its competition this year. Haven’t seen a few of the clubs on Ormond’s fixture list for a while J.
On Ormond though, its very disappointing that so many of the clubs younger players are considering/choosing to leave rather than stay & do the hard yards & earn promotion. They were quick to grab the opportunity to play senior football as teenagers when the club was rising from D1 to B, but not so keen to hang around when the club really needs them. Have no problem with VFL & TAC cup hopefuls, but the rest have to realise that at this point in time, they’re not that good. Otherwise they wouldn’t have ‘led’ the club to D1. Any clubs offering these players any money whatsoever obviously have not done their homework. Have no problem with Digger leaving, outstanding Ormond person for over a dozen years who deserves to play his last year or 2 in a higher competition than VAFA D1. One of the few players at Ormond worth the $ being thrown at them by other clubs is Booker, and he has chosen to stay & lead the club back up through the grades. That says all that needs to be said. A man’s man I was proud to call a fellow combatant. On Bedford, the fact is Ormond need more with Bedford’s commitment, mainly on the park ( but you do need to curb your ‘enthusiasm’ on this forum big boy). I can attest to the fact that Bedford is the 1st person to appreciate an opposing clubs quality players/people, and he will be the guy welcoming visitors to the Gunn’s social rooms & offering them a beer. They say you can judge a man’s character on who is walking in to a room as others are walking out, and in Bedford’s case, he just ‘keeps walking in’. Off for a Vindaloo & a red with my better half. Enjoy the long weekend all !!

On Ormond though, its very disappointing that so many of the clubs younger players are considering/choosing to leave rather than stay & do the hard yards & earn promotion. They were quick to grab the opportunity to play senior football as teenagers when the club was rising from D1 to B, but not so keen to hang around when the club really needs them.

Y Gen at its best. Want the glory but not the hard work or the commitment. You speak to some of these kids and you just shake your head at the delusion that some of these people live with. Ordinary players who believe they are superstars. Always someone else's fault when they fail to reach their potential. Hopefully you will get your club back on its feet quickly and when these players come offering their services when they sense a flag or three, you thank them and show them the door.

I love the complete stereotypical view from people. It never ceases to amaze me at the ignorance of posters on bigfooty who one don't know about footy and when they are in the process of fighting a losing battle start to try and pot other people. Now im not looking at getting into any fight or argument but i want to say one thing about the Y generation to which i am a part of. THe vast majority of us are willing to put in the hard yards to get the results. Each year in the VAFA there is 7 senior flags available for about 100+ clubs. That can also then be compared to a lot of other leagues. How many teams and players miss out each year.. heaps. Now you say we believe we are superstars then why is there so many young guys that play amo footy?? If we were so hell bend on chasing money then we would be llooking at local omps and comps that though round cash willy nilly but we don't. I just don't like the geranlisation that to many people make about us. As a player i play ammos and yes i have been offered money to play at other clubs but to me i love the atmosphere and structure of VAFA footy. The way it is like the EPL and teams move up and down and a total commitment and buy in is necessary to move up in the comp. And i no so many other guys like me that are playing amo footy the same but could easily attract big dollars somewhere else. It really pisses me off when i hear comments like that.

Now can we not get this thread back to footy and D1 rather then discussing samantics about money and gen y. If ormond have lost players chasing coin good luck to them but there is only a certain amount of money to be thrown around and the clubs they go to im sure wouldn't be playng in a competition with decent football like D1. So i really dont want any arguments im just putting a point across.

Now back to footy related matters...

With the season fast approaching and teams having intra clubs and praccy matches how is the comp looking and what is the thoughts on the D1 teams. Who is going to do well who is going to struggle. Is St Johns going to be able to do the triple promotion, is MHSOB going to be the tear away leader. Who is going to be in trouble of relegation. How will Glen Eira bounce back after being in both D2 Grand Finals and not winning one. NOBS and there new recruits will they be contendors??? How has teams praccy matches going?? Injuries???

Here is Rnd 1 Fixture.. maybe some early tips and margins

NOBS vs Old Geelong

Ormond vs Glen Eira

Willy CYMS vs Old Mentone

MHSOB vs Whitefriars

St JOCS vs Peninsula

NOBS vs Old Geelong 40 points

Ormond vs Glen Eira 6 points

Willy CYMS vs Old Mentone 54 points

MHSOB vs Whitefriars 4 points

St JOCS vs Peninsula 23 points

There is no method to my madness....discuss.

NOBS vs Old Geelong 40 points

Ormond vs Glen Eira 6 points

Willy CYMS vs Old Mentone 54 points

MHSOB vs Whitefriars 4 points

St JOCS vs Peninsula 23 points

There is no method to my madness....discuss.

We seem to be surrounded by mutes or the backstabbing/whingeing members from Ormond. Even though there's a few weeks to go until the flag goes down for the start of the season, I'll take your tips on notice, TMS. There's a couple that seem to lock in fairly easily but a week in practise matches is a long time.
The grapevine from the next few week's practise matches will need to be factored in.
Nevertheless, a bold prediction, TMS, which well may prove to be the outcome.

As an Ormond player from last season it is very disappointing to see the number of "outs" this year. Having said that if a player is not fully committed to the club is it really that much of a loss to see them go?

Personally, I would rather a team full of players 100% dedicated to the club (hopefully they would also be solid players) than a squad playing for themselves.

Rissole, I think its time to move on from trying to get Ormond posters to bite, this forum is meant to be about what happens on the field... And if all goes to plan, all you'll be hearing from the Monders is congratulations for our boys after another victory!

Too bloody quiet on here !!!!

Willy Cy`s have lost a couple of really good players to other comps, but seem
to have picked up a few very handy players as well, "Swings & Roundabouts" I guess? The Willy Cy`s have had two pretty good hit outs against two reasonable teams.

Weekend before last they travelled down to play Anglesea who last year finished 3rd after losing the prelim in the Bellarine League, Willy ran out winners by 10 points, both teams had about 6 or 7 regular players out.

Last week they met Highett at the Fearon. Highett won the Premiership in 2nd Div of Southern Footy League last year, again both sides had 5 or 6 out. Willy ran out winners by 15 points after Highett came at them hard into the wind in the 3rd Q.

They have this weekend off for Easter. then a proper dress rehearsal for the real stuff, against Ormond the following week at the Fearon!

Bring on Round 1.. Can`t Wait !!!!

Too bloody quiet on here !!!!

Willy Cy`s have lost a couple of really good players to other comps, but seem
to have picked up a few very handy players as well, "Swings & Roundabouts" I guess? The Willy Cy`s have had two pretty good hit outs against two reasonable teams.

Weekend before last they travelled down to play Anglesea who last year finished 3rd after losing the prelim in the Bellarine League, Willy ran out winners by 10 points, both teams had about 6 or 7 regular players out.

Last week they met Highett at the Fearon. Highett won the Premiership in 2nd Div of Southern Footy League last year, again both sides had 5 or 6 out. Willy ran out winners by 15 points after Highett came at them hard into the wind in the 3rd Q.

They have this weekend off for Easter. then a proper dress rehearsal for the real stuff, against Ormond the following week at the Fearon!

Bring on Round 1.. Can`t Wait !!!!

Yes, cannot read too much into those results, MB. Although I would suggest it is better to have won both those praccies rather than lost them.
The post-Easter hit-out against Ormond will be a fair dinkum indication of where both sides are at.

Good game yesterday ,Willy by about 4 in the end. Ormond were in front in the last quarter but were run over by Willy.
The game was called off early due to a bad injury to Ormond VC Daniel Brosnan who snapped his lower leg in 2 bones. Full credit to the people at Willy, great support, just a pity the Ambo's took 45 mins to get there