D3 Division 3 2011

2011 Preview

I must apologise to the many supporters out in football cyberspace for the prolonged hibernation. I have spent the past three months in the Wimmera-Mallee observing the migratory habits of the Western Sandpiper…

This is my favourite week of the year. The week for footy purists, who have eagerly awaited the bounce of the oblong Sherrin as the ‘real’ football begins. The passion of the supporters and the enthusiasm of the players are unparalleled in any week of the year, save for the Grand Final.

I have no true conviction of the likely outcomes for 2011, so all predictions conveyed here are based on rumour and gut feel. I will be bold and predict the round 18 Division 3 ladder first:

Prahran (Will appreciate the drop in class)
UHS-VU (Many will be surprised with this prediction, but their time is nigh)
Powerhouse (Were thereabouts last year and will be so again)
Yarra Valley (Underachieved in 2010 and will be strong at home)
Monash Gryphons (Premiership will have boosted morale at East Caulfield)

Hawthorn (Are always a more than competitive unit)
Mt Lilydale (Very impressive in D4 last season, but the step up in class will test)
Elsternwick (Depth sure to be an issue again)
Albert Park (May finish higher, but injuries will dictate their success)
Ivanhoe (Very hard team to rate, but I suspect they will be in the bottom half)
West Brunswick (Need their youth to step up)
Kew (require a rebuild in D4)

What do I know??? Only time will tell…

Round 1 Preview

UHS-VU by 24 Pts over Wicks (I’m sure Nicho and Boycey expected me to be one of the last to sing their praises, but I just get the feeling that the men from Brens are going to be jolly hard to beat, especially at home).
Prahran over Yarra Valley by 8 Pts (Know little from either camp, but the fact remains that boys from Orrong were more than competitive in Div 2 last season and will be keen to bounce straight back into that grade. Don’t expect it to be easy though).
Gryphs over Hawks by 21 Pts (Expect these two arch rivals to be evenly matched in 2011, however the Hawks have always struggled at East Caulfield and the unfurling of two premiership pennants might be just the tonic Monash require to continue this trend).
Mountain Men over the Hoes by 31 Pts (If anything, the Rams were unlucky not to snare the D4 premiership, and they remained unbeaten at home all year. I can think of no reason for this bias to be discontinued. Lilydale comfortably).
House over AP by 45 Pts (Expect a fine showing from the House early on as they try to atone for a slightly disappointing end to 2010).
West over Kew by 3 Pts (Basically have no idea in this one. I do not expect either of these teams to figure prominently, but suspect Brunswick boys will be tougher at the footy).

Can’t wait for tomorrow.

All the best

Quasi.

I'm sure she will be in fine form. Could ruffle a few feathers this year for any team not ready for the shriek.

Nothing to say but wow... classy unit, after a tyradeof abuse I had to book in for a haircut as per her advice.

anyway, Hoes had a win, struggled without Francis early but we found a way to win without him.

only other comment would be that I forgot how great the D3 umps can be...

i see that monash has now got two boys from a club up bendigo way. (daniel wills and orry mann) just wondering how they played today?? any truth that there mate jeremy kennedy might be signing there??

Was waving the flags at Kew's game against West Brunswick yesterday.

Good honest game, where the wind was such a deciding factor.

I think the margin of 6 goals West Brunswick's way didn't really tell the full story, as both sides showed a fair bit.

Speaking to Kew's new coach Ian Aitken afterwards, he was far from disappointed with the result.

Interesting results yesterday. Still more questions than answers.

Was unable to get to Mt Lilydale yesterday. Delayed at customs. Still by the sounds of it, Mt Lilydale had us on the ropes and we'll take that as a very good win on the road.

Uni High had a big win and must rate themselves a big chance after yesterday. I see no Mahoney for Elsternwick. Out for the year or just absent?

West Brunny took the chocolates as expected agains Kew. NToo early to rate that form.

I expect Hawthorn to challenge this year so that puts Monash way up the rankings. As the poster above said, some good country rexruits???

The House is on fire! AP are a quality unit so does that put the House in premiership contention?

Prahran should take the flag this year so on that for, Yarra Valley seem in line for promotion???

As I said, more questions han answers a this stage!

I went to the monash v hawthorn game yesterday.Very entertaining game,the result could have gone either way in the last quater.
I would expect both of these teams to be around the mark this year.

Also went to the Hawthorn/Monash game. Quite a good game to watch with both teams running the ball well from defence. Will be interesting to see how these teams shape up this year as I was impressed by both teams.

Having watched numerous flag unfurlings at Toorak P. with Xavs my mate and I decided we'd leave leafy Armadale and go watch the co-tenants play over at Yarra Valley. Apart from the 2 pathetic comedians parading as field umpires and who wished to be the centrepiece of the afternoon we witnessed a very good competitive game of footy which could have gone either way. YV will be a graveyard for most visiting teams and PA did well albeit a little lucky to get away with the points, however they are far from the overwhelming flag favourite as predicted by most on this forum. We're a long way from home but I'd suggest both clubs will still be around come finals.

Dont know what others thought, but the umpires in Ivanhoe vs Lilydale were also shockers. They were missing blatant high tackles to the point where it was laughable. I really hate slagging off the umps, it's a tough gig and they put up with alot, but some of the decisions, mainly in terms of missed free kicks, was very poor!

Also some pretty crook goal umpiring but that's a different story.

bring on rnd 2!

Completly agree with umpires in the lower grades however I do not see what the way forward with this is. Unfortunately down in the lower grades the standard of umpiring diminshes (as does the football) from A grade etc. Must be a tough spot for the league who are only to well aware of the need to bring in fresh talent to officiate however just can not drag them in! Just hate to see any gmaes be won or lost over a few decisions either given or missed!

There's no simple answer to the umpire debate.
Do VAFA provide boundary and goal umps in higher grade?

Do all VAFA clubs pay the same fee's? the $16k or whatever?

if they all pay the same, and only the top grades get the full umpire service, is that not a tad unfair... paying for something you aren't getting?

either way it wont be changing soon.

I have a simple philosophy on the umpires:

They're going to make mistakes, and that's fine.

I'm playing D3 footy. I make mistakes. Sometimes I drop a mark I should take, or let a tackle slip, or miss an easy shot at goal. This happens (sadly) all too regularly: pretty much every game I make at least a couple of errors. If I made fewer errors I'd probably be playing at a higher level, but I don't, and I'm not.

Not once has an umpire abused me for making an error, no matter how obvious the error was or how simple it would have been to get right, not even if my error might have been the difference between my team winning or losing a game.
Nor do I expect the umpires would abuse me for making an error. They know I wasn't trying to stuff up, I was doing my best.

So I figure once an umpire starts abusing me for my mistakes, or once I play a flawless game with not one error, then I might be justified in getting stuck into an umpire when he makes a mistake. Maybe...

Until then I'll keep my mouth shut, do my best as a player, and leave them to do their best as umpires.

Well said Redgum. While everyone can get frustrated by individual decisions, it is very rare that an umpire contributes to a result one way or the other and if one side gets a rough deal one day, they normally get a good go the next.

Frustration at the umpires normally comes from a lack of willingness to accept responsibility for your own poor performance; I know having been there myself.

I'm playing D3 footy. I make mistakes. Sometimes I drop a mark I should take, or let a tackle slip, or miss an easy shot at goal. This happens (sadly) all too regularly: pretty much every game I make at least a couple of errors. If I made fewer errors I'd probably be playing at a higher level, but I don't, and I'm not.

Not once has an umpire abused me for making an error, no matter how obvious the error was or how simple it would have been to get right, not even if my error might have been the difference between my team winning or losing a game.
Nor do I expect the umpires would abuse me for making an error. They know I wasn't trying to stuff up, I was doing my best.

So I figure once an umpire starts abusing me for my mistakes, or once I play a flawless game with not one error, then I might be justified in getting stuck into an umpire when he makes a mistake. Maybe...

Until then I'll keep my mouth shut, do my best as a player, and leave them to do their best as umpires.

That my friend is a very solid post and a great way to look at it. If we could all follow that we would have alot more umpires to cover games and of no doubt better quality also.

G'day Folks, just wondering if you know how UHS-VU does its recruiting? I am UHS old boy who plays in a metro comp and didnt even really know my old high school had a team. Do they play in Royal Park? Do they have any affiliation with the high school? Excuse the dumb questions but I have no idea.

Do they recruit from the high school because I can tell you it was by no means a breeding ground for good footballers? Are they uni students who cant get a game for Uni Blues/Blacks? Is it more a social team? Any answers would be appreciated. I would love to get down to watch a game if I wasnt playing. Pull on the old poo brown and olive brings back some fond memories.

Agree with that post 100%, as i beleive i posted earlier, I don't like getting stuck into umpires. I understand its D3 footy, I don't expect them to get some of the more technical, or 50/50 free's right, and I know they aren't going to be consistant all day... just like me on the field shanking kicks and making errors.

I just find it hard to take though when a blatant free kick is missed, especially when it is something that could have been dangerous or inciting a fight! I know it's both ways too, I collided with someone late and probably high on the weekend with no malice (im not as quick as i think), but the ump didnt blow his whistle and I was shocked. 1 of our blokes after he took a mark took 1 in the head right in front of ump and not 25m, and it wasn't in the play, it was several seconds after it.

anyway i promise not to post about umpires again i just gotta get it out of my system now after seeing some stinkers on the weekend!!!

Boy didn't my "comedians parading as field umpires" comment attract some attention..!!...and I agree with all subsequent posts ( particularly Red Gum ) about the situation and that this forum not be used for further 'umpy bashing' as we're all well aware that really there is nothing to gain as the lower grades appear not to be a priority for the VAFA moguls....surely some of the clubs' hefty affiliation fees could be well put to invest in the overall umpiring standards and training and to encourage earlier participation by those who no longer require to play the game but wish some sort of involvement. All I see at the moment are 2 guys who walk out most times into the centre of the ground and who not only don't look the part but then proceed to officiate accordingly...and don't appear to have 'a feel' for their chosen sport which I feel is an important attribute. We shouldn't have to make excuses for umpiring standards but instead do something about it (through club delegates) at their reqular VAFA meetings and discuss some sort of umpiring program implementation...you guys are paying for it so why continue to accept mediocrity...?....D3 standard this year IMO will be very healthy indeed and I'd like to see officialdom keep pace....not a great ask I'm thinking....

What happened to Serge d'Angelo? I thought he was your coach ?I see it is now Leigh staffford-again! When did that happen?

Sorry I can't shed much light on that situation Rocky as I'm not in the inner sanctum there - in my inner sanctum however (the local) the word is that Leigh Stafford was a principle in getting the merger to happen with Assumption and kudos to them for doing so as I believe the club would continue the drop without doing anything (Prahran didn't really have a feeder system in place as such). I heard a few of Serges' addresses throughout the year and he was an impressive orator so I'm not sure what happened and if in fact he even re-applied...his real problem was that he only had a few quality cattle to work with and little depth.... having 5 wins and the club still being relegated was a little stiff when compared with the other grades....Stafford was appointed late last year I believe....

Boy didn't my "comedians parading as field umpires" comment attract some attention..!!...and I agree with all subsequent posts ( particularly Red Gum ) about the situation and that this forum not be used for further 'umpy bashing' as we're all well aware that really there is nothing to gain as the lower grades appear not to be a priority for the VAFA moguls....surely some of the clubs' hefty affiliation fees could be well put to invest in the overall umpiring standards and training and to encourage earlier participation by those who no longer require to play the game but wish some sort of involvement. All I see at the moment are 2 guys who walk out most times into the centre of the ground and who not only don't look the part but then proceed to officiate accordingly...and don't appear to have 'a feel' for their chosen sport which I feel is an important attribute. We shouldn't have to make excuses for umpiring standards but instead do something about it (through club delegates) at their reqular VAFA meetings and discuss some sort of umpiring program implementation...you guys are paying for it so why continue to accept mediocrity...?....D3 standard this year IMO will be very healthy indeed and I'd like to see officialdom keep pace....not a great ask I'm thinking....
Jesus mate. It's your soapbox , but can you just make it brief. Dribble on all you want down at at Toorak Park, I'm sure they will lap up your snot, but really!

UHS-VU[/B] v Elsternwick - 23 points. Elsternwick aren't known as the great trainers, so generally have slow starts to the year. They also play a better on the postage stamp as they don't have run as much. They seem to have picked up a few Chadstone lads so not sure how much that will help them. UHS have picked up 30 odd blokes this year(a lot from WRFL) so I think they will take the extra step and play finals this year. Grace(which one? I don't know, they all look the same to me) to be the shining light for Elsternwick.
Take into account the fact that UHS-VU is associated with Flemington Juniors in the WRFL and so every season there will be a large chunk of players transferring to the club as they progress from Under 16s to Under 18s.