• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 Division 3 2011

My spies tell me that a certain Big Footy Forumite is preparing to hang up his boots after this weekends final round.

If you can guess who it is, you will be well reWARDEd.

And maybe a little bemused...

Krusty, gimme $10 on it. You'll need to reveal yourself so I can pass u the money.

you'll definatey be passing on the money Johny, the lilydale ground is a bog (understatement) and Prahran only just over the line there 2 weeks back. Lilydale haven't trained on the ground in 6 weeks and if a team kicks 15 goals at the bog it's seen as an outstanding result. Hope the showers are hot this week!!

That ground is so far from fit to play on it's not funny.

If anyone had the cohunas to call it unsafe they would be well within their rights, particularly if it hasn't been rolled whcih unfortunately the club has no control over from what I understand.

Hopefully the $$$$$ for the resurfacing and drainage make a difference for next year, because you have to admire anyone who sticks by their club and plays in that week in week out and they deserve better.

All of us away teams got it easy only having to play there once, respect to the Mt Lilydale guys down there every other week, not to mention even thinking about training on it twice a week.

All I can say for Elsternwick is good luck getting a margin in the 100's, particularly given they play the ground so well!!!

That ground is so far from fit to play on it's not funny.

If anyone had the cohunas to call it unsafe they would be well within their rights, particularly if it hasn't been rolled whcih unfortunately the club has no control over from what I understand.

Hopefully the $$$$$ for the resurfacing and drainage make a difference for next year, because you have to admire anyone who sticks by their club and plays in that week in week out and they deserve better.

All of us away teams got it easy only having to play there once, respect to the Mt Lilydale guys down there every other week, not to mention even thinking about training on it twice a week.

All I can say for Elsternwick is good luck getting a margin in the 100's, particularly given they play the ground so well!!!

Do the guys at Elsternwick realise that under VAFA rules they can request to have the game transferred as the ground is deemed to be unsafe.....not talking about the knee deep mud but the fact they have an uncovered cricket pitch in the middle of the ground.....

Don't believe me....call the Ammo's and ask....

Do the guys at Elsternwick realise that under VAFA rules they can request to have the game transferred as the ground is deemed to be unsafe.....not talking about the knee deep mud but the fact they have an uncovered cricket pitch in the middle of the ground.....

Don't believe me....call the Ammo's and ask....
Ive heard a rumor that the VAFA is in fact inspecting the ground and a change of venue is likely.
Hence a 100+ point thumping is likely.
Krusty. Worried?

Ive heard a rumor that the VAFA is in fact inspecting the ground and a change of venue is likely.
Hence a 100+ point thumping is likely.
Krusty. Worried?

I have heard the same rumour johnny. I think I just saw Krusty driving to the airport to catch the first plane to tassie.

The final home and away round and still plenty of interest as five teams look to extend their season and a couple of teams look to avoid the drop.

Round 18.

Yarra Valley vs Kew
Ivanhoe vs Prahran
UHS-VU vs West Brunswick
Mt Lilydale vs Elsternwick
Albert Park vs Monash Gyphons
Hawthorn vs Power House

Progressive 67 from 96.

Monash Gryphons vs Yarra Valley - 22 points.
Elsternwick vs Hawthorn - 44 points.
West Brunswick vs Ivanhoe - 34 points.
Power House vs UHS-VU - 21 points.
Prahran Assumption
vs Albert Park - 56 points.
Kew vs Mt Lilydale - 12 points.

Progressive 73 from 102.

I think some of you blokes need to harden up. So what if the ground is a little muddy? Are you afraid a bit of mud is going to mess up your hair? What a bunch of Gen Y pansies. It doesn't make for pretty football but there's still a good contest to be had and better teams can handle diverse conditions. On to the tips...

Yarra Valley vs Kew - 55 points. Kew don't have anything to play for here Will be hoping to get this game over and done with so they can start their mad Monday celebrations. Yarra valley are a classy outfit and will be there last chance to make any tweaks to their setup before finals. I noticed the better Yeo didn't play last week so if he is back in watch out.

Ivanhoe vs Prahran Assumption - 21 points. Ivanhoe will be wanting to impress before finals to get some respect from the top two. They have knocked of YV and if they can do the same here might put a scare in to the top two coming in to finals. Prahran have too many good players to pick from so will just say it will be a team effort.

UHS-VU vs West Brunswick - 44 points. Round 2 this year both these teams were on top undefeated. Then in Round 3 WB came crushing down with an almost 100 point loss to UHS. Both teams have a bit to play for and expect a harder fought contest this time round but Johhny is kidding himself if UHS are going to give the Wicks even a sniff of a chance of making finals. I still think WB will probably stay up.

Mt Lilydale vs Elsternwick - 55 points. Elsternwick will win comfortably but they will rue some of those early season losses. Maybe a big preseason next year and they will take the next step but knowing Elsternwick there will still only be 6 on the track next March. The Rams will be going back to D4 where they will regroup and probably have a serious challenge at finals as they will have players come back.

Albert Park vs Monash Gryphons - 44 points. This too is a bit of a nothing game. Neither team has much to play for. The Falcons too will be thinking of their mad Monday celebrations. The Gryphs will be just wanting to play some good footy coming in to finals.

Hawthorn vs Power House - 12 points. Match of the Round. It's sad when the finals are pretty much settled, so in round 18 the interest is in the relegation battle. Whoever wins this will be guaranteed to be in D3 next year. Whilst the Hawks have the ability to kick goals, their defence may as well be witches hats. Edwards should kick enough goals to ensure he wins the Coleman Medal. This is a superb effort from him considering how is team has gone this year and, lets face it, he is getting on in years.

Round 17 Preview

Wicks over Hawks by 41 Pts (There is likely to be an upset victory by one of the bottom four this round, but surely it cannot be this one. Elsternwick were disappointing last time out, but had no contribution from Justin Hunter and still remained competitive for much of the day. The Hawks are imploding and cannot kick or defend a score. Hawthorn will fight hard but will have to rely on defeating the House in the final round in order to avoid the drop).
PA over Albert Park by 45 Pts (The margin may be far greater, but the Falcons recent form has been most encouraging. However, the Four Blues have the uncanny ability to derail a side when they hit top gear – see Elsternwick R. 15 – and Albert Park may be on the receiving end. Christoforo to be back and boot at least a half D as the juggernaut rolls on).
Hoes over West by 6 Pts (I sense the real chance of an upset win as West need to win one of their remaining fixtures to avoid the drop. Ivanhoe play the press as well as anyone in the competition and will look to choke the Pies, but players such as Anthony Stewart and Anthony Gibson will toil hard for the home side. Ivanhoe have the double chance to secure if they win and I expect they will with Ben Plowman best afield).
UHS over the House by 7 Pts (I could easily just ditto the previous review with this one as the stakes are remarkably similar for the home sides. However, Uni High are playing far more consistently of late and will not want to give the Wicks a sniff of finals. The Powerhouse defence is solid enough, but Captain Kirk may force them to place Paul Edwards down back and this will dry up the home side’s ability to score. UHS for me, but it will not be easy).
YV over the Gryphons by 26 Pts (No doubt the Bushrangers will find it difficult to win at East Caulfield, but of all the games Monash have played this year, no one has destroyed them as easily as Yarra Valley. The strong bodies of Yeo and Britt up forward will prove too much and will force the Gryphs to play one loose in defence at a minimum. Unless Harry Madden carve a hole in the visitors’ defensive structures the Gryphs will fall short. I cannot see how anything will change if these two sides meet in the finals).
Kew over Mt Lilydale by 35 Pts (It’s been a disappointing month for the Bears, who were outsiders for the finals a few weeks back and now technically can be relegated. They are fortunate however, that they face the ‘Travelling Rams’ – sounds like a Swedish Death Metal band – who’s form on the road has been deplorable in 2011. One would expect Brazzale to give the scoreboard operators a workout and officially place Mt Lilydale in D4 section for 2012).

Round 17 Review

6/6 (69/102 cumulative) was the return I’ve been looking for all season and finally we had a round that went largely to script! UHS were the big winners with their hard fought win at Ross Gregory as they now have secured 5th spot unless The Wicks can somehow turn around 143 points in percentage. Of course, if Uni High account for West Brunswick tomorrow, as is likely, all this is futile speculation. The Hoes survived a huge scare from an impassioned Pies outfit that were playing for their survival. It took a superb all round game from Ashleigh Close to secure the double chance for the visitors as they stormed home and broke the hearts of the West faithful. Ditto at Victoria Park, where the Rams played arguably their finest football on the road all year, but fell agonisingly short in the final stanza. Mick Bailey was in fine form for the Bears, who are now safe of relegation but playing with little of the zeal that made them such a formidable unit midway through the year. Yarra were made to work hard against the Gryphons, who had a ten minute lapse in the third term which cost them dearly. The Four Blues were pushed to a certain extent by Albert Park, but the class gap was evident from early on. Thanks to other results, the Falcons are now officially safe. The Wicks destroyed a dispirited Hawthorn to try and bridge some of their percentage, but they played their elimination final the week before. Hawthorn now face a do or die battle against the House who will do them no favours and look set to be amongst Point Cook and Chadstone in 2012.

Round 18 Preview

Yarra over Kew by 88 Pts (It will be interesting to see if the Bushrangers rest a couple of sore boys for the Qualifying Final next week as they had a bruising encounter against the Gryphs, however, even if they do, this game will be a blowout. The Bears put the ‘cue in the rack’ a few weeks back and will be thinking about their Vote Count and End of Season Trip more than the woes of keeping Britt and Yeo under wraps).
PA over Hoes by 12 Pts (Everyone has awaited and almost longed for Prahran to slip up and this may be the game it occurs. However, it will take a braver man than me to tip against them. Ivanhoe were far from their best last time out, but play the style of game at Hoe Park that could seriously frustrate the Four Blues. Still the margin was close to eleven goals when these two sides met back in June and home ground advantage will only bring the sides a little closer together).
UHS over West by 15 Pts (Should be a cracker between these two bitter rivals and the fact that it is on neutral territory mean the Uni ‘Vagabonds’ will be no sooner comfortable here than at McAlister Oval. That being said, the combine would love nothing greater – save for a Premiership – that to relegate their Derby rivals and this is their best chance in years. West will fight hard but be checking their twitter accounts come 4.45pm to see if the Hawks have failed).
Wicks over Rams by 18 Pts (The horse has bolted for Elsternwick and although some on this forum believe a 143 point margin is possible – say Wicks by 100 and West by 45 – I reckon the Straight Six at the Valley would be more likely. The Rams were valiant last time out and at home will push the Wicks for much of the day. Brian Mahony to be best afield).
Monash over the Falcons by 10 Pts (For some reason, the Gryphs have always struggled against Albert Park and I suspect this will continue. The Bankers stated they wanted to take a big scalp before the season’s end and the Gryphs are their final chance. Monash will not want to take poor form into the Elimination Final though and should be just good enough to win. Matt Fletcher to be best afield).
House over Hawks by 25 Pts (It is fitting in such a hotly contested home and away season that the final game also has the most riding on its outcome for this round. If Powerhouse win, they are safe so that ought to be enough, but stranger things have occurred in Round 18’s past, so nothing can be taken for granted, especially at Rathmines. The Hawks will also stay up with a win and in that scenario the House have to rely upon West losing to remain in D3. I have over-analysed already…Hawthorn haven’t played good footy in ages and will be over-powered by a stronger more committed team).

Good luck to all

Quasi

My spies tell me that Prahran are loading up their best side for a run before their week off before the finals.

My other spies are telling me the Hoes are not showing their hand this week.

IMO YV is on the improve and Prahran are fraying at the edges.

Nothing to be gained from this week's contest.

My spies tell me that Prahran are loading up their best side for a run before their week off before the finals.

My other spies are telling me the Hoes are not showing their hand this week.

IMO YV is on the improve and Prahran are fraying at the edges.

Nothing to be gained from this week's contest.

The PA's by about 700 points this week Wamba !!

The only thing to celebrate down here at Hoe park is the playing of our 47th person for the year through the seniors this week!!

Chumpy not happy as I still can't get a game.

The PA's by about 700 points this week Wamba !!

The only thing to celebrate down here at Hoe park is the playing of our 47th person for the year through the seniors this week!!

Chumpy not happy as I still can't get a game.

Chump, maybe if we use as many players in one year as you played games in your career you might be in line for a senior recall:p

Still be ahead of me though:(

Have just been informed by a 'reliable' source that the vafa Division3 will only be relegating a single side for 2012 with obviously only one coming up from D4.
If this is true I would have to say that with 1% between Mt Lilydale and Hawthorn the battle is not done! MT Lilydale would need the win and hope Powerhouse knock off Hawthorn.......Interesting!

Also P.A would be playing D2 and maybe D1 finals if in either of them divisions this year, they are that good.

Have just been informed by a 'reliable' source that the vafa Division3 will only be relegating a single side for 2012 with obviously only one coming up from D4.
If this is true I would have to say that with 1% between Mt Lilydale and Hawthorn the battle is not done! MT Lilydale would need the win and hope Powerhouse knock off Hawthorn.......Interesting!

Correct my well informed friend but the senario is not!
"____ _________" is set to follow Bentleigh south. This means 2 up to D2 but only one down [Westbourne] & then 2 up from D4 & just one down. This means the Lilys could survive with a win.

Chump, maybe if we use as many players in one year as you played games in your career you might be in line for a senior recall:p

Still be ahead of me though:(

Correct Wamba ......I need an expanded bench .......and that's not just to hold my expanding ass!!

It was only a touch over 50 games more than you Wamba ....so not that many:eek:. Thankfully we are not counting good ones.

Chump.

Correct my well informed friend but the senario is not!
"____ _________" is set to follow Bentleigh south. This means 2 up to D2 but only one down [Westbourne] & then 2 up from D4 & just one down. This means the Lilys could survive with a win.

Parkdale is the one leaving.

I heard that. Well, I guess they are seriously cashed up as Uni High finished end of Season in fourth position with just 10 wins.

I dont think Prahran would be too worried about UH. However if thats the case good on them for leaving no stone unturned in the flag quest. Who coaches that side. I want to entice him over to the Gryphons.
Whats with Elsternwick this weekend? Still with some chance to make the finals they can only kick 1 goal. What a joke.
Looks like I owe someone $10

I dont think Prahran would be too worried about UH. However if thats the case good on them for leaving no stone unturned in the flag quest. Who coaches that side. I want to entice him over to the Gryphons.
Whats with Elsternwick this weekend? Still with some chance to make the finals they can only kick 1 goal. What a joke.
Looks like I owe someone $10
Get over it. Crap ground....Footy trip beckons. Not much point washing mud off the boots for nothing. The Vafa only worry about Premier sections. The rest can fend for themselves!

I heard that. Well, I guess they are seriously cashed up as Uni High finished end of Season in fourth position with just 10 wins.

Gees you GUYS think! Obviously the Gryphons organized the video for this week. Won’t need it anyway we have always had the wood over UHS anyway. As they say, its in the can.

Hoes outclassed on the weekend by Prahran who look as if they'll have a full book up and running for the finals.

Yarra Valley also very impressive. Hoes are going to have to be hard at it to get up this week.