Do Brisbane need a priority pick?

Maybe a Brisbane fan could tell me if I am right here but from an outsiders perspective I think what Brisbane needs more than anything is a sort of in and under clearance machine type of players in the Josh Kennedy or Patrick Cripps kind of mold.

If that is accurate the annoying thing this year is that the best midfielders are more the lighter silky skills type which isn't exactly what Brisbane most need (though I am sure they would not say no to them).

Thanks for caring but TBH players are the least of our issues ATM. Massive debts, no fixed training facilities, paying well under the administrative soft cap due to debt, a state which barely knows what game it is we play (let alone our club name), players who wish to get the best out of their often short careers wondering what damage our impoverished situation is doing to their progress; often understandably translating into them leaving due to "home sickness" (which is a polite way to say they deserve better treatment).

The AFL love to talk up junior participation in QLD but it just isn't translating at the senior levels. You only need look at how much effort the NRL puts into making sure their QLD teams are successful to understand what an uphill battle it is here just to be noticed, let alone followed.

The saddest part is the rusted on Bears/Fitzroy fans' kids are turning away from the club, we are losing an entire generation and honestly we won't get them back. :'(

Yes they do. Perhaps even 2 as that will mean Essendon do not get a first round draft pick. Essendon do not deserve the number one draft pick. In who's right mind would you reward a team for cheating. Its not due to them having a poor list. The fact they will end up on the bottom is due to WADA sanctioning players for taking illicit drugs nothing to do with the playing groups performance. Yeah they have paid the price but not at the expense of other teams that have abided by the rules of the game,

Brisbane most definitely don't deserve a priority pick and Essendon most definitely don't deserve pick 1.

There is quality in that Brisbane midfield that is being completely mismanaged by poor coaching and poor development. And injuries aren't helping their cause either, considering Beams and Rockliff are struggling to get on the park.

Yes they do. Perhaps even 2 as that will mean Essendon do not get a first round draft pick. Essendon do not deserve the number one draft pick. In who's right mind would you reward a team for cheating. Its not due to them having a poor list. The fact they will end up on the bottom is due to WADA sanctioning players for taking illicit drugs nothing to do with the playing groups performance. Yeah they have paid the price but not at the expense of other teams that have abided by the rules of the game,

Spoken from a Carlton fan that's a bit rich! Carlton were rewarded because of the way they suffered from their salary cap punishments. In 2005 Carlton were awarded a priority pick along with their No. 1 pick!!

Carlton got picks 1 & 4 because of what they did in 2002 in 2005. And Pick 1 in 2006!! The AFL made Carlton terrible but then rewarded them with 3 Top 4 picks in 2 years!!?!?!? Were you complaining then about 2005 & 2006 drafts?

So you're saying Essendon got punished for what they did in 2012 by being thrown out of the finals in 2013, being stripped of draft picks, and had the 2016 season ruined - that's two seasons ruined plus the draft pick penalties and financial sanctions.

So Carlton got rewarded for their penalties with a No. 1 pick in 2005, a No. 4 pick in 2005 and a No. 1 in pick 6 - caused by AFL penalties. And you say what you say despite that?

It makes you a hypocrite mate.

Brisbane most definitely don't deserve a priority pick and Essendon most definitely don't deserve pick 1.

There is quality in that Brisbane midfield that is being completely mismanaged by poor coaching and poor development. And injuries aren't helping their cause either, considering Beams and Rockliff are struggling to get on the park.

There are problems besides on-field but to give the Dons no1 pick due to their circumstances is mindless. You're club's had PPs on 3 separate occasions, we've had none, we even lost top picks when GWS & Suns were introduced.

Are you interested in our game developing?

we have been down in the bottom few of the ladder at the worst possible time ie. expansion teams coming in and mopping up all the best talent. if we had a few of the suns/giants players we would be in a better position.

the go home 5 year is looking more and more like a disaster with the form of yeo, docherty and polec although IMO in the years since our players in and out have been no better or worse than any other club who has been down for an extended period.

i would like the priority pick but if we don't get it i would not be overly concerned, of more importance to us is a new admin/training base, a retention allowance that is applied on a sliding scale to all clubs based on the percentage of local talent on your list. with the continuation of the academies the need for this allowance would hopefully disappear over time.

But from a Brisbane perspective, I'm pretty disappointed that Essendon will get pick 1 after we've so spectacularly bottomed out. We'll still be in a similar position next year whereas they'll have some of their best 22 back. Just our luck I guess, bottoming out during GCS/GWS compromised drafts and then this. I'm happy that we're at least pushing the point.

I wouldn't be too bummed about it tbh. You've picked a good couple of years to get pick two. Last year you would have gone Schache with pick one anyway and this year the race for pick one is apparently so open you could wind up similarly in this draft getting the guy you want most anyway.

Not sure the Lions deserve a priority pick given Melbourne never qualified. Probably better for the AFL to step in and help with upgrading facilities and getting rid of their coach. Seriously, the board has their heads up their arses on the coach. They need someone to turn things around and Leppa has been worse than Voss I reckon. Makes me wonder why they even sacked Voss when Leppa's been given so much latitude.

Spoken from a Carlton fan that's a bit rich! Carlton were rewarded because of the way they suffered from their salary cap punishments. In 2005 Carlton were awarded a priority pick along with their No. 1 pick!!

Not much of thinker are you? Carlton lost their priority pick along with pick one. They were not rewarded with this. They had it stripped from them, along with a whole bunch of other top draft picks. It wasn't the penalties that landed Carlton the wooden spoon in 2005. They were already in that position before the penalties. No. It was no reward to still be a bottom of the ladder basket-case 3-4 years later, I can assure you; getting a priority pick (along with two other clubs) and a first pick, was just delayed access a system that normally allows a club to rebuild and rise from the lowest position on the ladder.

Maybe a Brisbane fan could tell me if I am right here but from an outsiders perspective I think what Brisbane needs more than anything is a sort of in and under clearance machine type of players in the Josh Kennedy or Patrick Cripps kind of mold.

If that is accurate the annoying thing this year is that the best midfielders are more the lighter silky skills type which isn't exactly what Brisbane most need (though I am sure they would not say no to them).

That's what Dayne Beams and Tom Rockliff are for.

Dayne Beams and Tom Rockliff are both elite contested ball and clearance beasts, but they've played very little footy together so far since Beams moved north.

I wouldn't be too bummed about it tbh. You've picked a good couple of years to get pick two. Last year you would have gone Schache with pick one anyway and this year the race for pick one is apparently so open you could wind up similarly in this draft getting the guy you want most anyway.

Not sure the Lions deserve a priority pick given Melbourne never qualified. Probably better for the AFL to step in and help with upgrading facilities and getting rid of their coach. Seriously, the board has their heads up their arses on the coach. They need someone to turn things around and Leppa has been worse than Voss I reckon. Makes me wonder why they even sacked Voss when Leppa's been given so much latitude.
on vossy-leppa, completely different board, the last board was one of the worst in AFL history. in hindsight voss did a remarkable job given what he had to work with. i would be giving leppa until the end of the year, there has been a massive turnover of our list since the 2013 off season and a revamping of the board and off field staff eg. the lamberts, damian austin. i may be delusional but i still think we will get some good results by the end of the year.

also agree with you on the need for financial assistance for a training base being of much more importance. there has been talk on the lions web site that there may be some good news coming on that front.

No. Priority picks don't help anyone. Its stupid and they shoud never have given them in the first place. Teams should be responsible for their position. And no I don't think Carlton deserved one either.

Yes for me. The caveat being that if they want it and get it they need to trade it.

I personally think they're set for youth (Hipwood, Keayes, Schache, Andrews, McStay, Allison and their prospective first rounder is a solid base) and a coaching upgrade will no doubt help, but I think some maturity in their key talls would certainly help.

With an even run of injuries and fair draw next year they'll definitely improve, IMO.

I'm just saying if you look over the last decade Melbourne has had a lot more help from the AFL than Brisbane has and Brisbane are bad enough now (especially considering how long they have been down) to warrant some help from the AFL. A priority pick won't solve their problems but it will help as Brisbane desperately need some midfield talent.

As far as PP's go we've only had 3 (2 before round 1 picks)

2003 - Colin Sylvia (pick 3)
2008 - Sam Blease (pick 17)
2009 - Tom Scully (pick 1)

We've had help from the AFL but so have Brisbane (and other clubs). I'm not saying they shouldn't get more, just trying to get the facts straight.

Brisbane fans are funny, they refuse to take responsibility and admit their club royally ****s up most things, yet keep that chip on their shoulder about being Brisbane.

The whole hiring of Leppistch was a mess. Sacked Voss (who took them with an inch of finals in that same year) based on the assumption they would get Paul Roos, only to get knocked back and end up having to get Leppistch.

I don't buy this Go Home Factor. Brisbane isn't that bad a place to live for a young bloke. Hot weather, close to the coast, hot birds, get to go out and not get heckled. Create a good club and players will stay.

I don't understand why Brisbane fans aren't livid (and other club fans) after seeing what Beveridge and Bolton have done at their clubs.

I'd say majority of our supporters agree the club has screwed up most things.

The whole Leppa thing was a mess. We'd just sacked Voss and had a a shit board that sacked Voss to secure Roos even though the bloke hadn't even committed to us. Since then the board has had a big change. Can't blame that on our current board.

The Go Home Factor exist's. Players who have left have said so themselves. But we certainly deserve some of the blame, can't put every young player who leaves down to the Go Home Factor. We didn't do enough to make their transition of moving to a new state away from family and friends easy enough for them. That comes down to the coaches at the time(Vossy and Co) and we've changed that too. We've starting focusing a hell of a lot more on player retention. What the Lamberts are doing is sensational. They did the same thing at GWS. It's a hell of a lot easier to retain plaayers after continuous on field success like the Swans for example.

I'd say most of us are very livid with our performances. We have a young, but capable list imo. We've been struck down with injuries to key players the last 3 years. With that said, the whole "We're young and have injuries" argument only gets you so far. Can't blame every flogging on it.

But we've gone through somewhat of a unique set of circumstances compared to the Bulldogs and Carlton did with Beveridge and Bolton.

It's not the AFLs fault that they keep doing things like this so why should they be rewarded with a Priority Pick?
CkQv0plVEAAP4iL.jpg

A club like us has difficulty in attracting top level AFL players. I'd still take all those trades though.

West has been handy in the past and even this year lightening the load on Martin, who hasn't looked right since the May incident. Had a nasty injury last year too. A depth premiership ruckman for pick 41 is something I can live with.

Karnezis was talented and from a very tight Greek family. He never had the desire to become a quality player though. Even after going to a club ith the facilities and development history of Collingwood. The trade looks like a Loss-Loss scenario. But I thought Paine showed a bit in defence the last couple of weeks.

Christensen for pick #21 is something I'd do again. I feel we need him to be playing through the backline and midfield. He was building into some nice form prior to the broken collarbone. We play him deep forward far too much.

Beams has been ravaged by injury since joining us but the bloke is elite at his best. I'd still do that trade too. Just need him to come back in 2017 fully fit. If we can get Beams and Rockliff on the park through the midfield, it'll go a long way to transforming our midfield.

Happy enough with the Bastinac deal. He's been handy without doing anything spectacular. Gained us all the picks we needed to secure our academy boys in Keays and Hipwood too.

Tom Bell is an interesting one, he's had some good games with us and some stinkers. He's one I want to see continuously used on the HFF. His kicking is seriously poor. But he's best games with us have been up forward occasional rotating through the midfield. Not the other way round.

Josh Walker for a third round pick is probably a win-win/loss-loss type. He adds a mature body up forward with the ability to take a contested grab. Which we have not had since Brown. Won't ever be a star. But he'll lighten the load while Schache and co develop. Should be playing Seniors as the deep forward where he can use that body.

Jarrad Jansen was good in his debut against Carlton. Showed a lot as a big bodied inside mid. Picked up 21 disposals, 5 clearances, 5 tackles and a goal. Could prove some value for a third round pick.

How good is Brisbane's academy crop this year? I have an idea.

Watson probably the only one I have firmly inside my top 20 at the moment. He can probably push top 10 if he keeps his current form up. Rolls has been good and can continue to push inside it. Allison has been pretty bloody poor all year.

Who cares? The players will just leave after their contracts expire and we’ll be having the same conversation again.

On what basis do you claim that? The Lions have just had two more players re-sign, bringing the total number of Brisbane Lions players that have re-signed with the club since the end of last season to 17.

Do Brisbane need a priority pick?